We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Old Post Office Campsite

Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UY England
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (94)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 3 campsites in Holmrook
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Old Post Office Campsite is a small family run campsite ideally situated on the western edge of the Lake District national park. First established in 1951 it has developed over the years into the perfect place to spend your holiday. Scafell pike is only 5 miles away which makes us one of the closest campsites to explore Wasdale . Eskdale is a short drive and equally beautiful including the incredible hardknott pass!!! Situated in the quiet village of Santon Bridge, the site is bordered on one side by the River Irt - noted for it's salmon, sea and brown trout, daily and weekly rods are available by arrangement with the owners. Short walk across the bridge is the Bridge Inn, serving bar meals and real ale. Also within walking distance is a Woodlands Tea Room and Santon Bridge gift shop and post box. Seascale, on the coast, is only 6 miles away with miles of sandy beaches, shops and childrens play area. For those who wish to travel further along the coast without driving the west coast main line at Seascale provides frequent and speedy travel to all coastal towns in Cumbria.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Public wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
177Reviews7Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 115
  • 32
  • 16
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Global57385042661 wrote a review Oct 2023
Stevenage, United Kingdom1 contribution
We booked and paid in full back for August 2023 but then needed to make an amendment to our dates. We tried calling, emails, social media but to no avail so chose to cancel. As per the Ts and Cs we expected to lose our deposit but get a refund on the rest of our booking. Again we tried calls, emails, social media and even sent a letter but still no reply. We are owed a £90.00 refund yet like many on here we have been unable to speak with the owners who quite simply don’t seem to care. Really disappointed but hoping a review here might help us resolve this situation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark B wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Plus points to the site - location, river running through site, close to a pub (although expensive) and Andy the site Warden who cant do enough for you, not to be confused with the owners who I’ll mention shortly. Bad points - very crammed site, no/very poor WIFI even though it’s advertised as having it, other campers who let their dog mess on the only small patch of grass on site and this it seems is acceptable. The owners who “run” the site clearly have no idea that customers may need to contact them after making a booking to make changes. We tried multiple times/methods but had no such luck. Overall not what we was expecting but was still ok, there are some lovely walks from the site and if Andy is around he will try his best to look after you, We did see a better site close by whilst out walking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bernie L wrote a review Jul 2023
19 contributions5 helpful votes
The location is perfect, being next to the river Irt just made it for us. Really friendly staff, clean facilities, perfect pitch sizes and pub right next door. If you're an outdoor swimmer it's perfect, lots of locations neartul e.g. wast water, blea tarn and of course the river that the site is next too. Andy who works and lives on signt is an enthusiastic swimmer too and gave us loads of recommendations. Great location for walks too and the seaside isn't far. There's also a resident cat, who was absolutely adorable and so friendly. Will definitely be back Thank you for a lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kate s wrote a review Jun 2023
Cheltenham, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
The location was beautiful. What a shame the site was the noisiest site I've stayed on. The pitch was really suitable for camper vans or motor homes. It was really kind that the owner was so helpful and gave us some rock pegs or we would have not been able to put our tent up. The freezers were grubby, although the toilets and showers were lovely and clean. The cockrels at 4am until 6 were a shame as was the noise from the farm and a busy road right next to us. The pictures rather oversells the site. It could be a wonderful place but sadly did not live up to the hype.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
teajay wrote a review Jun 2023
Bavaria270 contributions105 helpful votes
This is a small, personable campsite. Its facilities are basic, but clean. They do need an upgrade. 50p for the shower, which is hot and lasts about 10 mins. The hardstanding pitches are large and bordered, with all amenities. The guy who runs the place is very friendly, helpful, and does a walk around about 10.30pm, just so others know he's about. It sits on the river Irt, which can be easily accessed on site. There is a pub next door, expensive in my view. 95p for a dash of lime! There is also a tea shop, but that is all. No public transport. There are walks to Nether Wasdale. It takes about 90-120 minutes, but take a decent map. It's not well signposted. A couple of days were enough for us. Because it is smallish, a lot of people pop by and chat, so a friendly site.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Narrow roads, plenty of tractors, good walking, but take maps.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
FaginDuffy14 wrote a review Jun 2023
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
We had travelled as a group for a 40th birthday celebration. We had previously emailed the site and requested that our 3 pitches be together. When we arrived, this had been facilitated, and we were welcomed by the site supervisor Andy, who was friendly and very informative. The site was beautiful, set next to the river, surrounded by countryside and wildlife. The shower cubicles were simple and clean. There was a communal fridge and freezer to use if needed, and a sink facility for washing up. The site was quiet and appeared to have attracted like-minded people, who were out all day exploring the area, returning for food and relaxation in the evening, followed by an early night. Andy was always on hand to offer advice on places to visit. The site is well situated for Skafell Pike and Wastwater. The only criticism I would have was the lack of recycling facilities. However, this may be a local council issue rather than the site. My husband and I plan to return in the cooler months and maybe in one of the cottages on hire on site. A*****
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jmac wrote a review Mar 2023
13 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely campsite , very well kept with friendly atmosphere very much promoted by staff who were welcoming and super helpful. Clean facilities. Great location next to the river with views all around. Dog friendly with equally dog friendly pub next door. Walking routes from the door.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa V wrote a review Feb 2023
3 contributions
Just returned from our 2 night stay here. Lovely little campsite with everything we needed. On arrival we were greeted and shown around the site, we were given a pitch right next to the little river running through which was perfect. Showers lovely and warm, just need 50p to use them. Lovely little pub which we visited for tea both nights literally over the bridge. Thanks for a great stay. I’m sure we will return again soon :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mel S wrote a review Jan 2023
West Midlands, United Kingdom3 contributions7 helpful votes
Campsite, cancelled booking first the deposit booking and even though paid in full, no reason and no way to contact them, calls ring out, no voice mails returned and messages an emails ingorned, been trying to contact them since 9th January, pitch up are now trying to sort it out as campsite owners are not responding and bank needs to get the mo ey back as no refunds been given. Avoid this site.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gareth B, Owner at The Old Post Office Campsite
Responded 21 Jan 2023
Hi Mel Smith and thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of your inability to read. Please ask a friend to read the T&C’s before booking in the future as ours clearly state that we do not accept group bookings and if booking through Pitchup.com your deposit is paid to them as commission on the booking so only they could refund your deposit. Despite you breaking the booking T&C’s we have exchanged numerous emails, including several responses to your pathetic threats. We wish you good luck with your schooling. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Em L wrote a review Oct 2022
Yeadon, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
We loved everything about this site. We arrived to a very friendly greeting, the pitch itself was well kept and right onto the river with suitable parking for the car right next to the pitch which is ideal. The facilities were very clean as well. You have to pay 50p to an electric box to use the shower, but is a very small price to pay for a real electric shower as opposed to a swimming pool changing room style shower which you usually come across at campsites. Although we didn’t use them, access to a washer/dryer was also onsite which is a nice touch if you’re going walking in the area and need to clean your clothes. The local pub is also just over the bridge so was great for a nice pint before heading back to the site after a long day of walking. We certainly will be booking again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Holmrook area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictSeascaleHolmrook
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE OLD POST OFFICE CAMPSITE - Campground Reviews (Holmrook)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Post Office Campsite
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Post Office Campsite?
Nearby attractions include Wast Water (3.3 miles), Muncaster Castle (3.4 miles), and Stanley Ghyll Force Waterfall (4.1 miles).
Is parking available at The Old Post Office Campsite?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Post Office Campsite?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Woodland's Licensed Bistro & Tea Room, The Boot Inn at Eskdale, and Ratty Arms.
Are pets allowed at The Old Post Office Campsite?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Post Office Campsite?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eskdale Mill (4.1 miles).