Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa

S.S. 120 Km 200, 95012, Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily Italy
Traveller (1081)
Breakfast in room_Il Pìcciolo Etna Golf Resort & SPA
Room & Suite (151)
Chef at work_Il Pìcciolo Etna Golf Resort & SPA
Dining (96)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 5 hotels in Castiglione di Sicilia
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Embraced by the Park of Etna, from Nebrodi Park and the Alcantara River Park, this elegant 4 * hotel offers its guests a unique atmosphere. The hotel counts 98 rooms, four Categories: Classic, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, a spa area of 950 square meters, a fully equipped fitness room and an elegant restaurant. Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa with its 6 meeting rooms is the ideal setting for meetings and special events. The 18-hole golf course, Il Picciolo Golf Club is situated along the slopes of Mount Etna and has a unique and spectacular view on the most important volcano in Europe. The Club House features:15 rooms, Restaurant, Driving range, putting and pitching green, Equipment Hire. Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & SPA is located on the north-eastern side of Etna, southwest of Taormina. This is a very interesting area both from a landscape and from a natural point of view. Besides Etna being World Heritage as well as the most important volcano in whole Europe, there are also other important natural parks nearby. In a very short distance there are two wonderful architectural jewels such as Catania and Taormina with its famous Greek-Roman theatre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
1,423Review18Q+A26Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 608
  • 461
  • 200
  • 82
  • 72
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
VicMeli wrote a review Oct 2020
Island of Malta, Malta91 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We upgraded to a suite as we preferred to have a bigger room with a seperate living area, the room was lovely overlooking the 18th hole on the golf course.
Coming from a hospitality background myself, I would have welcomed a free room upgrade especially considering how quiet the resort was (I guess due to lack of tourism due to COVID). The bar in the evening was quite dead, not much atmosphere at the resort really.
We did have lunch once from the main restaurant and it was good enough. We had our own car so it was easy to drive for around 15/20 minutes to nicer more authentic restaurants.
Ps. The golf course isn't well signalled, but still manageable.
I would return as overall its a good value stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom15 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a week on the coast near Taormina and a week here at Il Picciolo to golf. What a lovely chilled friendly place. The golf course is brilliant with intriguing holes, spectacular views, and friendly staff that can't do enough for you. There was always a nice breeze to cool the temperatures and lots of trees on the course as well, so despite the hot temperatures, we were still able to golf at mid day without melting! Food and staff at both the hotel and the golf club were excellent.

We had a room with view of the volcano and the vineyard next door - basic room (Classic") that was still spacious, outdoor seating area with table and chairs, excellent air conditioning. The room was cleaned to a high level each day and the hotel was spotless. Apparently the golf club and hotel are under new management and they are upgrading and improving constantly.

The beds were very comfortable (always a big priority for me) and outdoor pool was brilliant, lots of sun beds and umbrellas, lovely big grey towels provided. Prices at the snack bar and other outlets were reasonable, unlike some resorts in the area.

Would have liked a coffee maker and kettle in room, as well as an iron and ironing board, but apart from that, zero complaints! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room - ours was the basic "Classic" room and it was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mauro Virga, Direttore generale at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 18 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for your nice words and for having shared with us your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our resort and we apprecciate your advice. In regard with it, we are glad to inform to you that we are planning to change our room furniture and insert obviously coffee makers and kettles in all our room in 2023. Looking forward to welcoming you in future! All the best General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SARAHK187069 wrote a review Sept 2023
Seville, Spain40 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Outdated and remote.
We were allocated this hotel as part of a fly-drive holiday.
We don’t play golf so felt a little outnumbered!
Room basic,old fashioned but very clean.
Staff helpful, especially at pool bar.
Very remote and no taxis, had to book a transfer to nearest town for a restaurant which cost €60 for 20 minute round trip. Also kept waiting.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want restaurants, bars, lively evenings don’t book in. Outside areas nice but internally...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mauro Virga, Direttore generale at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Dear Mrs Kelly, Thanks for your review! In truth we think you should send it to the tour operator/agency that took care of your booking.Our resort is ideal for people with their own car who are searching for relax and obviously play golf. In your case we think that your agency should have booked an hotel nearby the seaside. Best Regards The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
66worldtraveller wrote a review Mar 2022
Bad Nauheim, Germany114 contributions31 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We spend one week with our golf club at the hotel, played the course 5 times and took a sightseeing tour to the Etna. The golf course is challenging, has interesting holes and is in reasonable shape, except the bunkers. In the bunkers there is basically no sand, but quite a lot of small lava stones and the edges are not cut properly. The very large clubhouse was one of the positive elements during the trip, there is a small bar next to the golf reception, offering small meals and snacks with very attentive service people. There is another, larger restaurant on the upper floor, which we did not try, because the open ging times were limited to weekends. One can leave the golf bags in the caddy room, they were cleaned every day by young person, which all golfers appreciated very much. Apparently the golf course changed ownership about one year ago and some improvements have been implemented during this time.
The hotel, so we were told was only acquired about three month ago out of receivership and not much has been done since. Management was not visible, but I was able to speak to the manager of the golfing activities and pointed out very many items that require urgent attention. The wellness area is in terrible state, it is run down, many things like the showers do not work and it needs a big renovation effort. I was told that a new management company would be brought in to do this in the future and the current poor condition was being blamed on the previous ownership, for not maintaining the place in reasonable shape. Maintenance is missing in major areas such as the elevators in the hotel, the TV system is totally antiquated and only shows some Italian programs, if one figures out how to operate it with two different devices. The breakfast does not meet international standards for a 3 or 4 star hotel, there are about 10 different type of cakes for breakfast, but if one wants fried eggs, an omelet or boiled eggs, there is an extra change. The service personnel at the restaurant differed by person, a couple of younger men were attentive, another one was called Mr. Grumpy by our group.
While much in the hotel has to to with lacking investment, the point that I made to the golfing manager, that did not seen to be understood, was the lack of pure and simple housekeeping. We asked for a boiled to make some tea in the room, which we go, but the cups that came with it were very dirty on the inside. This is a matter of training and attention. The same is true for many of the items in the wellness areas, which have not been cleaned for month. This could and should have been seen by the new management that came in three month ago.
Overall, the price that is being charged for the quality is not justified and by no way competitive with golf hotels in Spain or Portugal.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan A wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I came with my family for a two day holiday. Staff were not understanding at all, 10 year old could not swim in indoor pool. Were advised to swim in the outdoor pool in October. No one advised. Very very disappointed. Never again in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian_999 wrote a review Oct 2020
Königsbrunn495 contributions253 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We played this course once and were disappointed.
We payed 150 Euros for 2 players plus cart plus rental clubs and it wasn´t worth the money. The holes are not badly designed but in a sorrow state of maintenance, especially the tee boxes, cart paths and everything right and left of the fairways. Nobody seems to care about repairing pitchmarks.
Restaurant was closed, only the halfway house was open.
the whole place looks like it could be closed soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kofman_sonia wrote a review Nov 2023
Moscow, Russia10 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated in a nice natural landscape. Unfortunately the service is absolutely weak. The access to the pool inside is only possible after paying the spa. If you register for the visit and cancel like 20 min later- they book you the full day. I was offered a special price abo, but it was not informed about any rules of use, spa was overbooked all the days and I could not use the abo and basically had to overpay twice. Never experienced such a poor customer service. Personal even impolite. Not flexible or guest oriented. I described my issues- ladies at the reception were zero interested to solve. The restaurant is not oriented on people with food restrictions. Is basically almost not possible to avoid gluten or sugar even upon request. Got big issues after a week stay as could not follow my diet. Really pity- the nature surrounding is very nice. But the stuff is just following some rules, stricter then in a governmental organization not communicating them properly and oriented zero on the customer comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mauro Virga, Direttore generale at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 27 Nov 2023
Dear Ms. Kofman, First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sincerely sorry for the disappointing experience you had during your stay. But at the same time, we are very surprised by your review because it is really far from the reality, mostly the comments about our staff, which is made of professionals trained on customer service. Contrary to what you report, we tried to do our best to make your experience satisfactory and find a solution to your discontent in line with our management guidelines. But none of our efforts to negotiate seemed to be enough. You made your reservation via booking.com and as you could clearly read in the booking details, access to the spa was not included. Although the fact that the Spa access had an additional charge was clearly indicated on the description of the services, we still offered you a spa access package at a discounted price, asking you to sign a bill where the cancellation policies were unquestionably clear. Regarding the restaurant and dietary restrictions, we apologize for any difficulties you encountered. We understand the importance of catering to various dietary needs, and we will work to improve our communication and options for guests with specific food requirements. Despite the issues you raised about your stay, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful natural surroundings. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future with an improved experience. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
London 272 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We traveled to the Picciolo Etna hotel for a hastily arranged golf break. Without a doubt, the care, effort and wonderful customer service that received from Valentina made the whole trip seamless and very memorable. From dinner and vineyard recommendations/bookings and transport, nothing was too much trouble.

Good customer service can be manufactured, but when it is genuine like it is here it can make your trip. Special mentioned to Carla who was also great on the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna B wrote a review 14 Jun
Buffalo, New York23 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we walked into to the lobby of the resort we knew we made the right choice to stay at Piccolo Etna resort. The receptionist was kind and helpful and our room was splendid. The room’s patio overlooks a beautiful vineyard with views of Mount Etna. Golf was also spectacular because of all of the magnificent vistas on each hole. The Birdie Bar had delicious food before golf and Breakfast at “La Ghiandaia”was amazing, so many choices.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t miss breakfast it was fabulous. And The Birdie Bar’s offerings were so delicious.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ajcs wrote a review Oct 2023
Harrogate, United Kingdom84 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week here in September on a group golf holiday. The outstanding thing about this resort is the staff who cannot do enough to help you and make you welcome, both in the main hotel and the golf club. If you are looking for faceless 5 star luxury then this is not for you, it’s a little quirky and lacks things you might take for granted elsewhere like kettles/irons in the rooms but it is very comfortable and we had a fabulous stay. Lovely pool area. My only regret was not hiring a car at the airport as it is quite far from anything and I would have liked to have seen more of Sicily! Note for golfers - bring lots of balls as it’s very narrow!!🤣
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Hire a car as taxis very expensive and bring lots if golf balls!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mauro Virga, Direttore generale at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Responded 27 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that the standout feature for you was our dedicated staff who went above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Providing exceptional service is our priority, and we are thrilled to know that our team contributed to a fabulous stay for you and your group. We understand your observations about our unique character and quirks. We are currently in the process of renovating and elevating our services to achieve a 5-star status. Your comments about the absence of certain amenities are promptly noted. As part of our ongoing improvements, we are actively working to enhance the guest experience, and your feedback helps us prioritize areas for enhancement. We're glad you enjoyed the lovely pool area, and we regret any inconvenience regarding the distance from other attractions. Your suggestion about hiring a car is valuable advice for future guests who wish to explore more of Sicily. Thank you for the note to fellow golfers - we'll make sure to emphasize the importance of bringing lots of balls to the course! We appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ElinorV asked a question Dec 2017
Malta406 contributions53 helpful votes
is it petfriendly?
Answer from patrizia v
Catania, Italy200 contributions36 helpful votes
I'm sorry, I don't know but since it's a rather elegant resort and golf club I would think it's not! I went there around three times and don't remember seeing pets with their respective families! You can always leave it with me if U wish ....Not kidding! From fiumefreddo di sicilia, autostrada exit (where I live), just follow Etna nord Etc Etc best wished Pat
Answer from Kristy S
San Antonio, Texas58 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed here in April. There was a mini fridge in the room, and the hotel is air conditioned. The hotel has nothing to offer by way of a gift shop or even medicine in case a guest becomes ill. It is very sparse. The nearest town is about a 10 minute drive down a very windy hill so take advantage of the conveniences of the town before you arrive at the hotel.
795eliy asked a question Feb 2016
1 contribution1 helpful vote
hello, how far your resort from Taormina Thank you, Eli
Donna B wrote a tip 14 Jun
Buffalo, New York23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t miss breakfast it was fabulous. And The Birdie Bar’s offerings were so delicious."
Read full review
CLC2008 wrote a tip May 2024
Lazio, Italy35 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool was not open yet (May 11-13) despite warm weather."
Read full review
Jet59561587524 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is very clean and tidy. Breakfast is fantastic and the food in the restaurant is excellent. My third visit and ill be back. "
Read full review
ajcs wrote a tip Oct 2023
Harrogate, United Kingdom84 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hire a car as taxis very expensive and bring lots if golf balls!"
Read full review
SARAHK187069 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Seville, Spain40 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want restaurants, bars, lively evenings don’t book in. Outside areas nice but internally old fashioned and basic."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Castiglione di Sicilia area.
PRICE RANGE
£118 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
etna golf hotel castiglione di sicilia, etna golf resort and spa
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of CataniaCastiglione di Sicilia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IL PICCIOLO ETNA GOLF RESORT & SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Gola dell'Alcantara (4.3 miles), Le Gole dell'Alcantara (4.3 miles), and Gurne dell'Alcantara. Francavilla di Sicilia (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vitis Vineria Bottega, President Ristorante Bar, and Osteria VinEtna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
All Castiglione di Sicilia HotelsCastiglione di Sicilia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Castiglione di Sicilia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire