We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2014

I read a fair few mixed reviews when we booked in to Balikana but overall, my stay was a positive one! They offered a very competitive price for that part of the island and the front bungalow rooms were beautiful - clean, well put together each day and the outside open shower room was a dream! We hugely appreciated the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lizzie W
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank your for taking the time to review our hotel, and for giving us the benefit of the doubt in sifting through the positive and negative reviews to form your own opinion. We are always trying to improve, and your critic of the grounds is right on. We presently have ground staff cleaning the back garden and have...

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I am writing this on behalf of me and my partner. We stayed at Balikana for 3 nights as a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of Central Gili T. Positives: fabulous pool, clean room, great beds, cool outdoor shower in the ensuite bathroom, good sunset location, yummy breakfast on the beach. The 3 huts upstairs at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bourkecm
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you so much for taking the time to write a critic on our facilities. We appreciate all input. We can only say how sorry we are that the roomboy did not provide on spot service for your toilet paper and soap requests. He is very diligent on the norm but we will speak to him about how...

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This place is dirty run down. You do not get the value for your money. There are no beach chairs to lie on and the pool is filled with bugs, smells bad and we would not recommend swimming in it. We stayed in the standard room our first night with a promise to be moved to an upgraded room the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, sorry for your nightmare experience. We appreciate your review because it gives us a chance to respond. We did profusely apologize for your unhappiness with your stay and personally paid for your ride out, a value of 75,000 rupiah. Your first room was 600,000 rupiah, and your upgrade room 650,000 rupiah per night inclusive of tax, service,breakfast, free...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

From the photos and outside looks very nice but all place look like after epidemic catastrophy... -lost in a past... receptionist sometimes working and usually no Room is big but not well maintained-toilette didn't work.shower had almost no water.long way from the city but beach is super pretty and not many people around.definatly need renovation,attention and Caring staff

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MyFlirtWithReality
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, a very big apology for any slight you might have felt while staying at Balikana. I have contacted Made at balikana and addressed this issue. Toilets and water are a tricky situation on the island and always is maintained and remainted. It is an on going problem for the island without infastruce. To update you on the situation...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We didn't stay at the resort but it looked sweet and cozy, mininum stay 3nights, little warned out. Might be a bit far for those looking for crowd and party. At the end of the day its a retreat place - feels like perfect escape place. There were more luxury, fancy or central places but we kept returning to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlechkaGuru
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review of our restaurant and feedback on your feeling of our hotel and location. The three night minimal was enforced for high season only and we do accept one night bookings. Extensive renovations have been in effect to beautify our gardens and to secure our property for the rainy season. We are...

Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is not a boutique resort - we booked here thinking it would be really nice but its not. The beach out the front is terrible, I ended up at the medical centre as I cut my feet on the coral. There was no hot water for the showers The door to the outdoor bathroom is difficult to use There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank narelle01
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It gives us an opportunity to update you and your group that stayed at our resort in September. You have mentioned so many issues so I will respond briefly, sorry about the coral on the beach, but it is an island surrounded by a coral atoll and September...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2013

To start with the positives..... 1. good pool 2.Made was very welcoming, friendly and helpful 3.nice breakfast included each morning and unfortunately this is about where it ends....... The negatives....... 1.over the 4 nights we stayed we did not once get a hot show, only a cold dribble from the outdoor shower, one day no water. 2.The bikes available for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rusto30
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We always welcome feedback from our guests, because it is only with your response that we can know where we excel and where we have room or improvement. To respond to your remark about our pool, thank you very much and we are glad that you and your friends enjoyed yourself at Balikana....

Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have been coming to Bali now for 25 years, we have been 3 times already this year, so we have stayed in many hotels here, so after staying at Balikana we were very disappointed. The photos on their website were taken a long time ago as it is in dire need of repairs. The beach area especially as all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jennyb_9
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are so sorry that the experience at Balikana did not meet your expectations. We have taken all your comments under consideration. There are now workers on site repairing all the damages to the property received during the high season, and if you give us a chance to show you how much we care about you and all...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very laid back place and beautiful rooms/bathroom AMAZING!!!!!! Wonderful swimming pool and beautiful beach just across the path/you have breakfast on the beach!! Its not a big razmataz place with fancy umbrellas, its just a place to chillax on the beach and brilliant snorkelling. The great thing is about Balikana is you can lie on the beach while your children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for positive comments. We are always striving to give the guests a memorable holiday. We are glad your stay with us was a good one. You have a charming family and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests in our home at Balikana. We are always striving to improve and now after the...

Paris, France
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Positive : location, nice owner, availability (we understood why after checking in...) Negative : room not neat, overall need of major renovation everywhere in the hotel, breakfast (awful, we ended up going elsewhere to have one) The pool is nice, just be careful not to get a shard on your feet while accessing it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Romain P
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are so sorry that your experience was a disappointment. We have noted all your comments and are now addressing all your issues. Our guests positive experience is most important to us, and there is no small detail mentioned that goes unnoticed. We hope that if you give us another chance we will excel in all your desires...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 33 in Gili Trawangan
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 33 in Gili Trawangan
534 reviews
0.0 mi away
Danima Resort & Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant
#6 of 33 in Gili Trawangan
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel Gili Trawangan
0.0 mi away
Gili Ocean Club
Gili Ocean Club
#27 of 33 in Gili Trawangan
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort
Pandawa Beach Villas & Resort
#25 of 33 in Gili Trawangan
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balikana is a family guest house situated on the north beach side of Gili Trawangan located in front of the prime snorkel location on the island. It is the place for romance, watersports, or relaxation. Eye stopping tropical garden, beautiful swimming pool, cozy traditional designed rooms with western amenities. A golden paradise retreat.Free wifi included with rooms. Lounge includes tv with satellite channels, lending library. Owner managed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

Address: Gili Trawangan, Gili Indah | Pemenang, NTB, Lobar, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £396 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Balikana Boutique Beach Hotel Gili Trawangan
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Balikana Boutique Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Paying a little extra for the bungalows is well worth it for the experience!”
 of 5 bubbles LizzieW578, 10 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Book early to get the front beachview rooms”
 of 5 bubbles johnb763, 11 Sep 2011 | Read review
“Look elsewhere. Just book in advance for peak time”
 of 5 bubbles janlorraine, 9 Sep 2011 | Read review
3 of 3