Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa

Beautiful furniture
Traveller (834)
Room & Suite (133)
George Runciman Restaurant at the Doxford Hall Hotel
Dining (97)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 1 May
Breakfast included
£185
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£215
Fully refundable before Wed, 1 May
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
£158
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Chathill
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Built in 1818, our much-loved country house, the epitome of Georgian splendour, has been lovingly restored over the years, including a wealth of exquisite craftsmanship, including fine wood panelling and a grand handmade staircase. Old stone fireplaces, classic leather armchairs, elegant sitting rooms, grandfather clocks – the sense of a grand but homely residence pervades. Conveniently accessible from the A1 and as Northumberland’s only four AA red star awarded hotel, in recent years it’s become very much a destination in its own right. We have 36 handsomely appointed bedrooms, elegant lounges and a fabulous spa, swimming pool and gym, making Doxford the ideal place to unwind after exploring the delights of Northumbria. Add to this the award-winning dining in our George Runciman restaurant, the yew maze and acres of landscaped gardens to explore and everything’s in place for a relaxing and memorable stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Internet
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
2,616Reviews27Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,596
  • 613
  • 265
  • 90
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
holidaysandsea wrote a review Oct 2020
Northumberland, United Kingdom350 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a two night stay in an executive room and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We have stayed there a few times previously pre COVID and were not impressed with the service (about 2 years ago). We therefore did not go back until this visit. The hotel was spotless and COVID protection measures were clearly stated and explained. I booked an hours slot at the swimming pool on both days, which worked very well. The first day I had the pool to myself for half of the time and the second day there were only three other people there.
We stayed in Alnwick room (14) which has a double aspect view, the front courtyard and the woods. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious. The bathroom was very luxurious with a show and roll topped bath. Gowns and slippers are provided. We opted for housekeeping to replenish the toiletries, tea and coffee etc. But u can choose to replenish them yourself from reception
We ate in the restaurant the second night and it was nice and relaxing with good service. The menu now combines the restaurant food and bar food but there is still a good choice. The food is well presented and the sirloin steak was perfectly cooked and tender. We found all the staff to be friendly. Breakfast each day was well organised and as they cannot have the buffet for cereals, juices etc. you can order any of these things from the waiting staff. The eggs benedict were very good. I know some previous posts had said the sausages were cheap supermarket ones but we were served sausages that were butcher quality. Even the scrabbled eggs were presented in a round tower and were delicious.
We will certainly be visiting again soon. Thank you for a lovely break.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Welcome back! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Doxford Hall Hotel& Spa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TonyG wrote a review Jul 2020
Durham, United Kingdom16 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is ideally situated within it’s own quiet grounds within easy reach of the many popular locations in Northumberland.
We stayed at this hotel for three nights on a DB & B basis. We chose an executive room which was very spacious with a large bathroom and view over the front of the hotel. We slept well.
Various changes were in place considering the present Coronavirus situation e.g. no servicing of the room once in your room. Any fresh towels, replacement coffees etc could be got from reception. Along with sanitiser availability and staff wearing masks, we felt perfectly safe and well looked after.
The public rooms are spacious so it was easy to keep your distance and an extra room was being used at dinner to ensure tables were well apart from each other.
Whilst menu choice was reduced due to a necessary reduced kitchen staff, it was varied enough and of excellent quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals.
The hotel is nicely decorated and furnished with beautiful grounds. We enjoyed an early evening drink outside on the terrace.
All staff were efficient and friendly. We were a little unsure before going given the current situation but were able to relax and enjoy the few days away and want to return soon.
As with all hotels at this time, the spa was not open so I cannot comment.
Well done and thank you Doxford Hall.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear Posislena, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you felt perfectly safe during your time with us which enabled you to enjoy a relaxing break with us and that you were well looked after by our team. We hope to welcome you back again to Doxford Hall Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil G wrote a review Oct 2020
Huddersfield, United Kingdom48 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had 2 fabulous nights at this lovely hotel. After a warm welcome from Kiera on reception we were given a brief tour of the hotel and shown to our room. The hotel has undergone much restoration to a very high standard which is obvious in the warm feeling each floor and staircases gives off. There is a lift for those who require assistance.
The rooms are traditional but have modern facilities with large beds and bath. Breakfast and dinner were taken in 2 highly furnished rooms steeped in history. With a separate bar and drawing room made for a relaxing after dinner area to sit.
The staff were courteous and attentive to ensure all guests remain safe during the current "social distancing regulations".
A pleasant surprise was the use of the gym and pool which are controlled through a simple booking system with hand and cleaning sprays on hand to enhance guest safety.
Thank you to everyone who made our break very enjoyable.
Phil and Sally (Room 22)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 15 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Welcome back! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Doxford Hall Hotel& Spa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathryn C wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The outward presentation of the hotel and its grounds are lovely and the food and the service in the restaurant was great. However some of the rooms need some work, the black leather chairs in the bar were worn. There were buckets and towels in the lounge. The lift wasn’t working either. The coach houses WiFi is broken and the heating controls don’t work. The room itself was a good size. The spa is open on a booking basis which is good to make sure there aren’t too many people. However I hoped that between each booking there may be a quick clean around, this clearly wasn’t the case, the bin for robes was overflowing and there were no members of staff around to sanitise the beds, there were no products for residents to do it themselves. I think the food and restaurant service was 4* but the hotel itself needs some improvements and was not on par with others that I’ve stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read you enjoyed the food and restauarnt service. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience of the spa and facilities. We are an AA Hospitality covid certified hotel which means we have rigourous covid procedures in place. We will also look into the coach house heating controls and we apologise our lift was out of order during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable and we will immediately address these concerns.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrs s wrote a review Aug 2020
Birmingham29 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Empty sanitiser containers in places, not available in the rooms. Cleaning is not their forte either, you just don’t feel safe. You would think that if they are not cleaning the room at all during your stay they would leave essentials in there, but you have to ask for everything at the reception, from toilet paper to (paper) tea cups. Bathroom floods after a shower and if you open the room window you will have lots of flies in. A dinner attendant called Kathy is very rude, incapable of saying “good evening “ or smile, she just wants you out of there as quick as possible. Very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear SoniaBirmingham, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us that you had a disappointing recent stay. As you are aware we have introduced a series of safety measures to ensure that our guest and our team feel safe whilst staying with us. One of these measures is our hand sanitisation stations. We have 20 hand sanitisation stations throughout the hotel and spa which are monitored on a regular basis and filled up when required. We were not notified that a sanitiser station was empty as we would have rectified this immediately. Another aspect of our Covid risk assessments is that we ensure the safety of our guests staying with us by limiting the contact and any potential contamination in the room so we can ensure your room remains safe. Therefore, entering the room even if we are not cleaning but to replace items also presents a risk. However, due to feedback we shall be introducing cleaning of rooms on the third night. This is subject to stringent new rules which will involve guests to ensure no guest belongings are in the room and stored away in the wardrobe so we can ensure there will be no contact with any of our guests belongings. The Covid process is new to us and we are learning all the time and this is why guest feedback is vital to inform the changes we might be able to safely make. Again, we were not informed of the flooding in the bathroom at the time of your stay and we will of course look into this and take any necessary actions where required. Finally, we do not have a member of staff with the name you state in the restaurant but we shall speak to the lady on duty that evening as should always welcome and greet our guests throughout the hotel, on this occasion your welcome in the restaurant has fallen short of our ususal standards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith R wrote a review Sept 2020
Orpington, United Kingdom102 contributions89 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for three days towards the end of August. It is 4 star hotel which certainly charges 4 star prices, there are many good things about it but also some niggling negatives. The building itself is impressively grand and it is set within extensive and lovely grounds. Inside the main building the rooms are large and traditionally furnished as in a large country house with a lounge, library and bar. The bar is however rather bland and undistinguished. Our superior room was in one of the cottages which are claimed to be just two minute walk away. OK in warm and dry weather not so convenient if pouring with rain! There is no WiFi so in order to connect to the internet I either had to go and stand on a nearby low wall outside the cottage or walk up to the main building, even there WiFi was only really present in the lounge. I find this rather strange that a 4 star hotel today should have such poor connections for its guests! Our room was really large and comfortable as was the bathroom however the net curtain by the door was torn which does not look good when you walk into the room! Another niggle was not being able to get close enough to the mirror to easily put in my contact lenses and there appeared to be no way of getting any ventilation other than opening the door. The underfloor heating seemed to be on almost continuously, very welcoming when coming in from a cold day but not so good at night. The final niggle was that the service was OK, but not what I would expect in a 4 star hotel, they were not especially helpful or welcoming. In the bar I ordered two Baileys which I had to collect from the bar myself and which came in mismatched glasses, small things but important things. So overall we did enjoy our stay but rather expected more!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for raising the niggles you encountered during your time with us so we can act upon these. All of our team are working in a new environment and understandably will not get things right all of the time but there is no excuse for just OK service as you have described and we do apolgise for this. As Doxford Hall Hotel & Spa is set in its our private country estate, we do from time to time have issues with wifi reception. We apologise for the issues you encountered with the underfloor heating and we shall look into why this happened. We have also alerted housekeeping to replace the torn net curtain. We do hope that you might give Doxford Hall Hotel & Spa another try, please do contact us direct before you make your booking and we will ensure you will be very happy with your room.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurie H wrote a review Sept 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 5 nights at this lovely location. All the domestic staff were friendly, helpful and thoughtful. The catering. bar staff and table service were of a high standard and chef worked to produce a great dinner menu which was limited to the hotel's normal range of choice due to covid restrictions. Excellent lunch and afternoon tea services are clearly a speciality here. Management is being let down by a cleaning agency which, when we stayed, was giving poor service to our room on some days. We had to request items eception always provided anything we needed and the manager personally cleaned our bathroom to a very high standards when we complained. There have been a few misplaced complaints here in recent weeks which in our view overlook the fact that Doxford Hall is providing its guests with a professional, enjoyable and relaxing experience in difficult times. The room was comfortable, breakfasts brilliant and vegetables sourced from the garden or locally.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 19 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us here at Doxford Hall Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to read you found the food and beverage service and our menus of a high standard. You did raise the bathroom issue with us whilst you were on property and as you mention a member of our team reassured you and personally cleaned the bathroom again. We do hope you got time to relax during your 5 night stay with us and enjoy the beauty of Northumberland. Our estate to plate kitchen garden and our handpicked local suppliers really do make all the diference to the quality of the dining experience and we are so pleased this was very much appreciated during your stay. We do hope that you might choose to return to us in the near future, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mal43212 wrote a review Feb 2022
Durham, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds in the Northumberland countryside a few miles from the coast.
We found the mattress on the bed very uncomfortable and in my view it needed replacing. On asking if we could change to another room Luke on reception quickly arranged this. Our second room was even nicer than the original and although the mattress was better it still wasn't ideal. The mattresses in both rooms are placed directly onto the wooden bars which make up the base of tge beautiful wood framed beds. I would say they need more support or maybe mattress toppers.
All of the staff are friendly and efficient and a real asset to the hotel. We were served at breakfast by Basha was was super friendly, a lovely person and also the ultimate professional who obviously loves and is excellent in her profession.
I felt the dinner menu was overly complex and not always executed as well as it could be. I returned one dish and it was replaced without question and an apology given which is reassuring. There is a vegetarian menu which we were not made aware of and heard about from another guest. This menu is good and offers further choice. Although not a vegetarian I ordered from this menu on our second evening and preferred the food.
I would definately recommend this hotel snd stay again but would personally next time choose breakfast only option as I felt the dinner menu lacked choice and most dishes were over priced.
A lovely short break - thsnk you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 28 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Doxford Hall Hotel & Spa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elcbee wrote a review Sept 2021
299 contributions165 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The grounds are beautifully kept as is the interior. The rooms are themed - we were in George Stevenson with themed plates, trains etc (though my railway nerd husband said the tender to the train wasn't right. Honestly!)
Comfortable bed, good linens and towels and the original , restored shutters meant a good night's sleep. Proper bathroom, not this 'bath in the room' nonsense.

Interesting menu and wine list; we enjoyed our dinner and breakfast.

Booked a time for a swim,; excellent pool though there wasn't a soul around to ask about towels/lockers etc.

Regretted not having time to explore the grounds or the maze.

Complaint : can hotels please stop with the tiny plastic bottles of toiletries? The plastic waste is horrendous and unnecessary. Stayed the previous night at a simple family run inn where large, refillable dispensers of quality (Bramble) toiletries were available. If they can do it, so can everybody else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 10 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us and thank you also for sharing your feedback about our in room amenities. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Doxford Hall Hotel & Spa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan B wrote a review Aug 2020
York, United Kingdom373 contributions160 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in the area for our 30th wedding anniversary so booked an evening meal at Doxford Hall to celebrate on the day itself.
First impressions were good, the grounds and house are lovely while the receptionist gave a warm welcome and showed us how to get to the dining room.
The dining room is grand and well-appointed but it was from here that things started to head south. Only one of us drinks so we ordered a glass of champagne but were told "we don't do champagne by the glass, only Prosecco". There was no offer of a full or half bottle of champagne as a substitute, you simply had to have Prosecco, so my wife did and it was served at room temperature, straight off the shelf.
We both had the soup for starter which was good, but the focaccia it was served with was not. It was dry, pale and simply white bread with some Italian herbs impersonating focaccia and doing it badly.
We ordered and my wife asked for a glass of wine to come with her main course. Unfortunately, when the meal arrived the wine did not and we couldn't attract anyone's attention to rectify this.
Service was in general slow and we couldn't even get a bill delivered to the table so I went to the till to get the bill and pay. My wife left the dining room at this point and was asked by the head waiter if she had enjoyed her meal. The reply was that she hadn't and following an explanation, the head waiter apologised and asked for a contact number so that the hotel could call us. My wife directed the head waiter to myself who was still trying to pay.
When I got the bill, the wine was still on it so I asked for this to be removed as we hadn't received it. There was no apology or comment beyond, "Oh, it didn't arrive?", before the bill was reprinted.
At this point, the head waiter arrived, apologised and asked for a contact number saying that we would get a call the next day. Some 3-weeks later I am still waiting for the call.
The hotel itself is lovely, the food wasn't bad, the service was lousy and aftercare non-existent.
The restaurant isn't cheap and really needs to pick up its game. If you set yourself up as a quality establishment you have to deliver quality in every area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Mark H
Gateshead, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
I wouldn’t say anything was in close walking distance
Susan R asked a question Oct 2022
Does the hotel have a lift
Answer from sunshine
Northumberland, United Kingdom81 contributions33 helpful votes
Apologies for late reply…. Yes there’s a lift
Stephen R asked a question Feb 2022
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
Do the bedrooms have fridges in them?
Stephen R asked a question Feb 2022
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
Do the rooms have fridges in them
Answer from Russ H
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom7 contributions
Sorry, only used the private function room.
stevey w asked a question Dec 2019
Sunderland, United Kingdom26 contributions3 helpful votes
Is it family friendly? We have two sons aged 7&8?
Answer from Graham s
Great Malvern, United Kingdom205 contributions123 helpful votes
Although we were there for two nights, I never saw any children but as others have commented, I am sure it would not be a problem
Andrew W wrote a tip 8 Apr
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book spa treatments well in advance - they are popular."
Read full review
Resort11493752015 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Staffordshire, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Communal changing at the pool (+ 2 cubicles). Eat from bar menu if you are hungry/like decent portions. Lift might be out of order."
Read full review
Kathy H wrote a tip Mar 2024
Mansfield, United Kingdom27 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some variation on the dinner menu choice."
Read full review
Karjacha wrote a tip Mar 2024
Durham, United Kingdom53 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please be careful with your car on arrival - the potholes are more like bunkers "
Read full review
Roger F wrote a tip Mar 2024
Lesotho47 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quite a few people use the spa in the morning so late breakfast slots can be busy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chathill area.
PRICE RANGE
£113 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doxford hall hotel alnwick
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandAlnwickChathill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOXFORD HALL HOTEL AND SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews (Chathill)

Frequently Asked Questions about Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Embleton Bay (3.5 miles), Low Newton by the Sea Beach (3.4 miles), and Beadnell Bay Beach (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Stable Yard, The Horseshoes Inn, and Rocking Horse Cafe & Gallery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beadnell Harbour and Lime Kilns (4.2 miles) and Preston Tower (2.9 miles).
Does Doxford Hall Hotel and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire