We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Shepherds Hut Retreat

Save
Share
Fordscroft Farm, Crewkerne TA18 7TU England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (180)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 6 Speciality lodging in Crewkerne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Four large and luxurious Shepherds Huts set around a beautiful lake full of wildlife. Each hut has its own private garden with bbq, firepit and a decking or patio. Inside you get a hotel-style shower room, fully equipped country kitchen and comfy bed/lounge area with books, games and dvd player. There is also a woodland sauna with outdoor shower on site and to top it all off you can visit the award-winning gastro-pub before returning to toast marshmallows on the fire pit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
103Reviews6Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 9
  • 3
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Porridge27072015 wrote a review Dec 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom11 contributions17 helpful votes
We came as a couple (30-35 yrs old) and stayed in Shepherd’s Zen for 2 nights. We paid £500 to give context of this review. The Good: > Location - right by a lake, beautiful, private, quiet and secluded > Facilities (tv, dvs, oven, kettle, shower etc) > SUPER COMFY BED!! > Lord Poulett Arms - would highly recommend for both food and service! The “Niggles” > Paying for logs (especially when we have paid so much and this is advertised as luxury accommodation) you get a small allowance and then everything after are asked for further payments. In my opinion, this should be included in the price. Especially as our hot tub took over 6 hours to be even “luke warm”. > Paying for gin… again, similar to above “the first two are complimentary but then, pay extra” > Nothing upon arrival, I emailed the host to say that this was booked for my partners birthday and could they do anything to decorate (thinking balloon, cake etc) all I was offered was a card.. again a bit disappointing for the price point. Also, this retreat is on a farm, so a simple carton of milk or eggs etc would have been a nice touch. I’ve had a “welcome” hamper at other places at lower price point. Felt a bit stingey, especially when branded as LUXURY. > Lost all water upon departure > Expected to strip the bed… I wouldn’t do this at a 4 or 5* hotel for £250 per night. > Poor lighting in the evening outside, could do with a lot more fairy lights! Tips: > Pre book any taxis! Fully booked when we tried to book! > Hot tub doesn’t take 2 hours… give it 4-6 and don’t expect “hot” - think more “warm” (especially in Winter) Overall, this was a lovely stay, but I think the problem here is that it’s branded as “luxury”. Yes, there’s a hot tub and pizza oven and you get privacy, but when you say luxury, you think no expenses spared… and this is more “extra expenses please”. As soon as you arrive it’s “2 free then PAY”
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Mar wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
They will scam you out of your money and will not give you appropriate refund! Do not trust! Very bad customer service. Was arguing with me over the phone whilst I was very ill with COVID so clearly couldn't make it for my holiday. Ridiculous behaviour. Do not know how to treat a customer. Will steal your money!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Sarahgraeme wrote a review Aug 2021
Bath, United Kingdom13 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
We’ve just returned from an amazing couple of nights at the Shepherds Hut Retreat where we were able to fully relax in the beautiful peaceful countryside. It really is a hidden gem! We stayed in Shepherds Keep which was so pretty and cosy, having everything you could possibly need and it’s very own little garden which went down to the edge of the lake, so beautiful views of the ducks & moorhens with an early morning cuppa or later on a glass of bubbly! There was a fire pit with all that was needed to make a fire, deck chairs, a bbq and the luxury of being able to use the hot tub each day of our stay. Listening to the owls hooting during the evening was a bonus and seeing deer in the fields. We’d recommend The Lord Poulett Arms in Hinton St George and also the Trading Post for fabulous food, but do book in advance. We loved our stay- it totally exceeded our expectations and would definitely recommend it. The owners were extremely helpful when we had to postpone our stay twice but it was well worth the wait! Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from andrew irish, Owner at The Shepherds Hut Retreat
Responded 8 Aug 2021
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon, we have a brand new hut being launched in the autumn in case you are interested.
Read more
whitwooHampshire wrote a review Jun 2021
Fleet, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in the ‘Shepherds Rest’ hut. Immediate impression - quiet location , peaceful , plenty of outdoor space . Overall impression - functional yes, tranquility yes , luxury NO! The hut is small and compact with limited storage space - there is a cupboard under the bed area but this has a weird damp smell and was being used to store paint cans !! Not really where you’d want to store personal belongings . The was clean but ‘grubby’ looking - we we cobwebs and marks on the wall. Tea and sugar canisters had a ‘grimy’ feel. No lock on bathroom door , which is fine however if you filled the screw holes from where it came off and a quick paint would make it look nicer! I’m surprised that lockdown wasn’t used to spruce up the hut as it could definitely use it. Items ‘included’ stated flowers : in reality a sad little bunch of dried dusty sprigs in a jam jar - I note however that a previous guest highlighted the fresh flowers , so I suspect Covid being used as a get out here? Also ‘bottle of wine’ - only a 200ml bottle of Prosecco provided - enough only to fill one of your flutes (see pic attached ) - this is marketed for couples so what’s the other person supposed to drink ? A full bottle would be better - you’re just being cheap and misleading! No milk ‘due to Covid’ - why provide a bottle of wine in the fridge but no milk - what’s the difference ? Too many rules for a ‘luxury’ stay : wash your dishes ( are they then removed from cupboard / drawers and rewashed for Covid - unlikely and we didn’t chance it so washed anything we used before using it!) , remove your rubbish and dispose of, don’t touch too many surfaces (if you are deep cleaning between guests why would this be an issue?) , strip your bed !!! (Your prices reflect 4/5 star - I have NEVER stripped my bed in a same star hotel) - again I feel you are using the virus as an excuse to get more of your job done for you! Honesty box - extra charges for another Bbq (£5!! Byo or buy locally for £2) and I really think you should provide adequate free wood if you have a fire pit and a bbq as part of the deal with the hut! Overall I feel they looking for maximum £££ with little input. Only spoke to the owner on phone on way down to see if we could check in early , told not really as deep cleaning taking place (questionable) . He recommended local pub - could get in as fully booked but this was due to staff shortage ! Suggest you book way in advance . Crewkerne has decent Fish n Chip bar and there is a Lidl & Waitrose if you want to bbq and eat in , which was actually nice to do! In summary I wouldn’t stay here again , but the local area is beautiful , lots of wildlife and the coast isn’t far so I’m sure you’d find nicer lodgings for similar or probably lower cost.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from andrew irish, Owner at The Shepherds Hut Retreat
Responded 7 Aug 2021
I’m sorry you felt so negatively, in response to some of your points, the dried flowers are a new feature as this is very much the trend now and are an upgrade, the Prosecco is complimentary as are the tea, coffee, local biscuits, instant bbq, logs, kindling, fire lighters and daily use of the lakeside hot tub. I’m sorry we can’t offer an early check in and that the local pub is very popular also deep cleaning is happening on EVERY changeover and we have worked tirelessly to provide upgrades around the site during lockdown. I’m sure you are used to the signage being displayed by all businesses relating to Covid and asking guests to wash up before they leave shouldn’t be necessary but is due to previous guests leaving the kitchen in a very unpleasant state. The hut is by no means small 21ft by 8ft and you will find most shepherds huts are a lot smaller Thank you for your enquiry, im afraid we are now full at that time but please check other available dates at this, the Prosecco has been introduced as guests were telling us they preferred this to wine, we have had to match the price point of the wine which means only a small Prosecco but as I have mentioned this is complimentary. Finally I think you will find that we are very competitively priced especially as this includes the lakeside location and use of the lakeside hot tub (both of which seem to be irrelevant?!)
Read more
River wrote a review Mar 2021
Kent, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
We’ve stayed here about 5/6 times. Loved it. Unfortunately the holiday we booked 7 months in advance, we realised after our circumstances changed due to the pandemic we wouldn’t be able to keep our booking. We gave 5 months notice. And we’re told in no uncertain terms no we could not have any of the £100 deposit back, or offered to re book later in year or hold deposit for another visit! No loyalty from Emerald to returning customers. Just aggressive emails and calls when told I was unable to speak as I was working. Rude hostile. Will never return. Great place, awful and shocking customer service. We’d been returning customers for the last few years. Means nothing to them apparently. Need our deposit to pay for the extensive upgrade to the huts and build of new hut they’ve taken out but pleaded poverty. Shocking service Do not recommend. Leaves a really bad taste.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Irish, Owner at The Shepherds Hut Retreat
Responded 12 Mar 2021
We are very confused by this review. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service. If a booking is made and the deposit is paid for specific dates this is non refundable which the guest agreed to in our terms and conditions at the time of booking. This needs to be in place to prevent dates being blocked on our calendar unnecessarily which is in line with other holiday providers.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetCrewkerne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Shepherds Hut Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to The Shepherds Hut Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Perry's Cider Brewery and Museum (3.2 miles), South West Deer Rescue (2.3 miles), and Barrington Court (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Shepherds Hut Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
What food & drink options are available at The Shepherds Hut Retreat?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Shepherds Hut Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Shepherds Hut Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cat Head Inn, The White Horse, and Pips Railway Carriage Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to The Shepherds Hut Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barrington Court (4.9 miles).
Does The Shepherds Hut Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.