We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chateau de la Bourdaisiere

25 rue de la Bourdaisiere, 37270 Montlouis-sur-Loire France
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (507)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (168)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 castle in Montlouis-sur-Loire
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Hiking
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Chapel / shrine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
493Reviews6Q+A50Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 162
  • 74
  • 31
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TubaKoseogluOkcu wrote a review Mar 2024
Istanbul, Türkiye5806 contributions2573 helpful votes
+1
On our last day during our Loire Valley trip, we came across this castle and we allocated around 2 hours visiting it and walking around it. As we were there out of season, there were no crowds around, it was extremely serene. The gardens were enchanting, with some art installations and music. Each castle in the area is known for something special and this caste's speciality is tomatoes. There is a castle shop where everything about tomatoes is sold here from tomato paste to tomato seeds or tomato patterned clothing. Inside of the castle is a bit sombre but it fits the spirit of a castle. We were sorry we have not stayed here during our visit. Maybe next time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
hpommarede wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently chose the Bar a Tomates for our wedding lunch. While the ambiance of the venue was lovely and the food satisfactory, we encountered some challenges with the service. On a rainy day, our guests were directed to park at the park entrance, which required them to walk a considerable distance in the rain, even though there was an available parking lot closer to the restaurant, which we later found out was reserved for hotel guests. It was disappointing to see restaurant golf carts passing by our drenched guests without offering assistance or umbrellas, even to the bride. Upon our arrival, it seemed the staff-to-guest ratio was off balance, with 3 waiters attending to 30 guests, making it a bit difficult for them to cater to our needs efficiently. There were also some oversights like not offering drinks or assistance in rearranging the tables, and our request for towels for our wet guests was not accommodated. We reached out to the management with our concerns, but unfortunately, did not receive the response we hoped for. If considering this venue for special event, it might be helpful to set clear expectations upfront.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Responded 7 Nov 2023
We already replied to your remark and are very surprised by your description which doesn't reflect the reality. We undertsand that the bad werather affected your party but you can't blame us for that reason! You didn't take time to come and visit the palce before the event which affected your perception afterwards. If you are right that the parking lot is at the entrance of the castle, about 300 meters from the Bar à tomates, we allowed your guests to drop the family next to the Bar à Tomate.Some people were also carried to the place by our electrical Kart... Also you stated that 3 people to serve a banquet of 30 people is not much but usually for a banquet, you have 1 waiter for 12 to 15 people.... Also our colleagues spend lots of time at your arrival to assist you guests. You choosed to book a simple country style lunch with a very reasonnable price (less than 25€) so you can't expect to get the serviec of a gastronomic restaurant. You mentionned your mail to the management. You stated yourself on your mail that you received what you paid for (location and good food) but asked for a discount, we can see that your goal was very clear and your frustration clearly based on our fair answer . The bar à tomate is a very simple place and we clearly explain that to you when you booked it, If you had reserved the chateau itself the service and the price would have been more different.... Next time we would recommand that you share your expectations and we will adjust our serviec and price!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
a m wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom268 contributions295 helpful votes
We knew we were staying in the stable block as the chateau was full. Perhaps some guests would be less disappointed if the hotel called it “the stables” rather than “the pavilion”. Our room was huge but the mattress felt old and uncomfortable. “The tomato bar” is very basic and no substitute for an actual restaurant. Our set 3 course meal (with a laminated drinks list that had a choice of one red or white wine- unforgivable in The Loire Valley) was served with neither love nor flavour and we feel that the chateau needs an a la carte restaurant and guest bar. We didn’t feel that asking reception for a pre or post dinner drink was a good guest experience so we did without. As for breakfast, we were told we had to order it in advance and it was “sweet” therefore any savouries such as cheese, ham or eggs were “supplementary” but no cost was given so we cancelled breakfast. The grounds are a real asset to the property but we just didn’t “get” the children’s story theme. We found zero reference to the history of the building and we had to Google it. Why spend so much time and money on a children’s theme park in the garden and nothing for adults? We stay in a lot of chateaux in France and despite the friendly reception staff, probably won’t return. It has so much potential but feels currently underwhelming.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Responded 7 Nov 2023
We are sorry to read that we didn't meet your expectations. We took good note of your comments and will do our best to improve! Some remarks are surprising but we won't argue we'll concentrate on improvments!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andy C wrote a review Jul 2023
12 contributions6 helpful votes
I would have given more but the aircon in our room was totally inadequate and so we did not get a lot of sleep Breakfast was nice and simple and pleasant breakfast room We would stay again but in a different room Pleasant location with restaurants nearby
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Tank you for your nice comments. We'll be happy to welcome you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charles B wrote a review Oct 2022
France342 contributions145 helpful votes
Very nice place, comfortable rooms, breakfest is fine, service is absolutely professional and very comprehensive, they fill you being home Dinner is fine but not outstanding There is no room service but you join the desk and they have what you need
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room Henry 4th is a good choice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Thanks a lot for your nice comment!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trishspit wrote a review Oct 2022
102 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
This is a really beautiful chateau with amazing grounds not far from Amboise and well situated for discovering the Loire valley. Our room was beautifully furnished, warm and clean and the public rooms were fascinating. (Not so keen on the stuffed animals) As with many chateaus it shows signs of its age but is charming. The grounds are extensive and full of interesting sculptures and walks. The chateau gardens also contain 700 varieties of tomatoes as part of the National collection of tomatoes. The Dahlia collection is immense too. The only disappointment was with the lack of choice in food. The hotel offers one set meal in the evening eaten in the tea room / restaurant in the stables. Breakfast has to be preordered and is basic cereal, fruit and breads. Eggs are extra which sadly seems to have become commonplace on our journey this year. Overall it was a lovely stay in unique and beautiful surroundings
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a superior room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Responded 7 Nov 2023
We are glad to read that you had a lovely stay and that you loved our unique surroundings!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JoeCBansteadUK wrote a review Sept 2022
Bracknell, United Kingdom498 contributions314 helpful votes
We stayed for a total of 5 nights in late August/Early September. Easily found, with plenty of parking. Efficient reception staff speaking excellent English - just a little on the reserved/cool side. Perhaps a little jaded after a long/hot summer. Fortunately (in our opinion anyway) this chateau has not been overly renovated and modernised, retaining all of it’s character and charm whilst being subtly brought up to date with the plumbing etc. We stayed in two different superior rooms in the chateau itself - Charles de France and Diane de Poiters. Both were very spacious, clean and comfortable, with good quality bed linen. The bathrooms were large and well equipped - the former with a bath and shower cubicle and the latter with bath/shower above. Excellent shower water pressure. The former had a dual aspect over the grounds to the rear and the latter single aspect over the front of the chateau. We’d stay in both again. It should be noted that there were no in room coffee/tea making facilities or refrigerators. Whilst it was sunny and hot (30) during our visit, the high ceilinged bedrooms were cool enough for us with the windows open and fans in use. There is no aircon. The bar/lounge area was in character with the chateau and very comfortable. There is no bar as such, but drinks are served to order. The simple breakfast that was served was to a basic standard with good quality components, but very overpriced in our opinion. We only took breakfast the once. The evening meal (not on a Sunday) is served in the Tomato Bar, which is a couple of hundred yards walk away from the main building in the main garden area. The ‘bar’ is actually a lean to structure against a garden wall, with a variety of rustic tables and chairs arranged beneath an open sided gazebo type structure. The menu choice is simple - there is none - it’s a 3 course Plat D’ Jour. Good quality ingredients simply cooked in a ‘home’ style. The menu is a 3 day rotation - veal featuring twice. The location would not be pleasant in cool or inclement weather. We were aware that no meal would be available upon our Sunday evening arrival after a long day from the UK, so took the precaution of a cold box meal. However, in no uncertain terms were were instructed by Christelle the receptionist not to consume this (with a bottle of wine from the Chateau) in the lovely grounds or breakfast area - this had to be consumed in our room! Perhaps this was due to the grounds and garden being open to the public and ‘picnicking’ was clearly discouraged. Visitors to the gardens/grounds are allowed to tour the chateau public rooms. The chateau willingly booked an excellent ‘Sunday’ local restaurant for us - but this wasn’t any compensation as there were no taxis available and neither of us will drink and drive, so an excellent meal was sadly sans wine. The formal tomato and dahlia garden was wonderful. The actual grounds were fascinating, with much thought and effort having gone into creating a mindfulness theme along the walkways through the ancient forest. The underground cellars and ‘caves’ were equally fascinating. Several hours were spent just wandering, exploring and appreciating the estate. This review would be 5 star if only there were a proper restaurant on site.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Responded 8 Nov 2023
We thank for your complete explanation and your excellent review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anthony wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Lovely Chateau hotel worth staying at - all a little dated from an infrastructure perspective, but affordable. Shame there is not a nice restaurant - the simple dinner in the vegetable garden with a single menu only is very mediocre - so eat elsewhere. Breakfast not great, but halfway ok.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Responded 8 Nov 2023
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel. We also took note of your comment regarding the dinner.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CharlesMcCall wrote a review Jul 2022
Chennai (Madras), India171 contributions90 helpful votes
What an amazing hotel.. We stayed here as part of a group in June and everyone came away absolutely blown away! A beautiful hotel that oozes charm and character. The larger rooms were like a fairy tale, and even the more normal rooms were fantastic, with exposed wood beams and lots of charm. If you are in doubt about whether to stay or not, do it! It is a special experience...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrille Brayé-Lécureuil, Directeur général at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Responded 8 Nov 2023
Your review is fantastic! Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tmaddala wrote a review Jun 2022
Sunnyvale, California5 contributions3 helpful votes
We are a family of four, two adults and two teens. The beds were uncomfortably hard and there is no air conditioning. It wasn't super hot outside so it was bearable. The paint is peeling off in various places and the bathrooms did not seem all that clean (some mold). On the plus side, the rooms are quiet and dark for sleeping. The grounds are absolutely spectacular and relaxing. The breakfast is also nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montlouis-sur-Loire area.
PRICE RANGE
£104 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau de la bourdaisiere hotel montlouis-sur-loire
LOCATION
FranceCentre-Val de LoireIndre-et-LoireMontlouis-sur-Loire
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU DE LA BOURDAISIERE - Updated 2024 (Montlouis-sur-Loire, France)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau de la Bourdaisiere
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau de la Bourdaisiere?
Nearby attractions include Aquarium De Touraine (3.6 miles), Family Park (3.8 miles), and Grandes Caves Saint Roch - Blanc Foussy (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau de la Bourdaisiere?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Boulaye, Restaurant La Cave, and La Tourangelle.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau de la Bourdaisiere offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chateau de la Bourdaisiere?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Chateau de la Bourdaisiere?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eglise Saint Martin (3.5 miles), Prieuré St Jean du Grais (3.4 miles), and Église de la Sainte-Trinité (3.6 miles).
Does Chateau de la Bourdaisiere have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.