We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swandown Swandown Cricket ST, Chard TA20 4DQ England
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (253)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (10)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#1 of 10 in Chard
HOLIDAY HOMES WITHIN THE HISTORIC CRICKET ST THOMAS ESTATE.Wake up to bird song with a whole day ahead of you. Stroll across wildflower meadows, through ancient woodland and down winding country lanes. Glimpse deer grazing, kingfishers flashing downstream or cast a line across tranquil water.Sip an early evening glass of wine as the sun melts into the sky. Dine out; savouring expertly prepared food just moments away. Take a nightcap in front of the woodburner’s crackling flames as mist hangs in the valley. Do what you want when you want. Fall asleep with a smile on your face.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
248Reviews10Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 7
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cococlobo wrote a review Jan 2022
60 contributions42 helpful votes
Recommend to go, 100% the best time away! We always go away over our anniversary and birthdays at the beginning of every year. We was blown away by this place. We luckily stayed in number 9 kittwhistle Lodge, 2 bedroom 3 bathroom, open plan with big windows over looking the amazing estate views. As it is a self accommodation style I took everything I thought or normally need in others but needn't of as they think of everything. Kids plates and cutlery and high chair. Tea coffee and milk for when you arrive. Tea towel, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc etc. We had the check in time of after 5pm which is fine, nice to have an earlier check in to be able to spend more time there but completely understandable as the place was spotlessly clean. Check out time 9am which we just made, would be nice to have it after 10am but again understandable why. We had our hit tub which we used loads, it's checked twice a day to keep it clean. We also used the on site pool, do quiet had the place pretty much to ourselves whilst there which was so relaxing and peaceful. We walked miles on a few occasions around the estate, gardens and lakes. Saw the adventure trail but never managed to have the time to use it so we definitely want to go again and next time book for a longer stay. We didn't even leave the site whilst there. Local tesco superstore not far so can get esstials from there but the site has a little honesty shop in reception if you desperately need something. Also loved the games and puzzles you can borrow. All the staff super friendly and helpful. Our daughter enjoyed it especially the big estate road to ride her bike. Thank you to you all, we will be visiting again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Nr wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
Fabulous weekend at swansdown lodges for a friends 50th birthday. We had a goldenhaye lodge and kittwhistle lodge. Considering they are a few years old you would think they are brand new. Kitchen equipment plates, cutlery, etc plentiful. Several sets so can fill dishwasher and still plenty of extras. Very clean and tidy. Staff on site very friendly and super helpful. Beautiful walks around the grounds of cricket at Thomas. Only disappointment was when we booked we planned it as a spa weekend using facilities at hotel. With lockdown that’s now not possible. Pub nearby serves a lovely meal. Will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Response from Swandown Lodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges
Responded 14 Jan 2022
Hi, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you were able to have lovely break at Swandown celebrating a birthday and that our lodge had everything you needed for your stay. Yes, unfortunately we don't have any control over the hotel and the facilities but we do hope that they will open up for memberships again soon so that we can offer that to our guests again. We look forward to welcoming you back to Swandown in the future. Kind regards The Swandown Team
Read more
Sally S wrote a review Oct 2021
Newhaven, United Kingdom42 contributions28 helpful votes
Beautiful, spacious lodge with a well equipped kitchen. The staff on site were excellent, extremely polite & helpful. The hot tub was heated for our arrival, good accessibility & the grounds including views were fabulous.. The only negative comment is that we didn’t feel as secluded as we hoped because people from the lodges behind us walked past, near our hot tub. Unfortunately we didn’t have good weather so we couldn’t enjoy the outside seating area to the full. Because of this we stayed indoors playing games in the discomfort of the seating, It was a short distance to the indoor pool, approximately a 1 minute walk. When putting your lodge number on the board outside of the reception enabled us to use the facilities on our own for 45 minutes, this is an excellent idea. The negative feedback is that the lounge seating, armchairs are a disgrace. The padding is literally non existent. If you didn’t have a bad back beforehand, you certainly would when leaving. The check in time is ridiculously late, and the checkout of 9am is ridiculously early. This really needs to be looked into. We would like to return to this particular lodge year after year, but only when the check in & out times change. Also, the furniture replaced.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Response from Swandown Lodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges
Responded 14 Jan 2022
Hi Sally, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, apologies for the uncomfortable furniture and thank you for bring it to our attention, we have ordered new sofas and chairs now, please could I ask you to contact us and let us know which lodge you were staying in and we will get them replaced, I think it must have been 12, 19 or 20 from your comments. We are currently looking at amending out check in and out times, we do often offer early check ins when the lodge are ready before check in time. We hope to see you back at Swandown in the future. Kind regards The Swandown Team
Read more
Caroline A wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
We did a Mon-Fri break in lodge 12. Everything was to a high standard and the views and walks were amazing being in the Cricket St Thomas grounds there were so many walks to be done and not far a journey by car to Sidmouth and Lyme Regis , the pool was booked so you had sole use for 40mins and you could also use the facilities at Warner’s hotel for the gym etc (adults only). We are already looking for a date next year to return . Only thing I would say the sofas and chairs need attention as they are clearly in need of a replacement . Hope to see you again in 2022
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Response from Swandown Lodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges
Responded 14 Jan 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are pleased you had a lovely stay and were able to make the most of the beautiful walks around the estate. You will be pleased to know that we have purchased some new furniture for the living area 😊. We look forward to welcoming you back to Swandown later in the year. Kind regards The Swandown Team
Read more
Lady Grim wrote a review Sept 2021
10 contributions2 helpful votes
The site is beautiful, immaculate and very peaceful. We stayed in lodge 18, it was nicely furnished and very comfortable. It had almost everything we needed and was like a home from home. The use of the pool was great and can be reserved for a slot of 40 minutes for the occupants of your lodge. The little woodland walk that leads off the site has easy access to the local pub and a field with play equipment, there is also a shed stacked with balls and buckets and spades for the giant sand pit. The Site Manager was very helpful and friendly and came to greet us upon check in despite it being late into the evening. Would 100% without doubt come back to stay again in the future. We will miss waking up to the amazing views and birdsong.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Bring spare bin liners, cooking oil, salt & pepper if you're planning on cooking.
See more room tips
Response from Swandown Lodges, General Manager at Swandown Lodges
Responded 14 Jan 2022
Thank you for leaving us a lovely review. We are so pleased that you found the lodge met all your home comforts and that you made use of all the equipment at the field. We look forward to seeing you back here in the future. Kind regards The Swandown Team
Read more
United KingdomEnglandSomersetChard
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Swandown Lodges
Which popular attractions are close to Swandown Lodges?
Nearby attractions include Perry's Cider Brewery and Museum (2.0 miles), Forde Abbey & Gardens (3.5 miles), and Chard & District Museum/Heritage Centre (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Swandown Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Swandown Lodges?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Swandown Lodges?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Swandown Lodges?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eleos, Bath House Restaurant, and Pips Railway Carriage.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Swandown Lodges?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Swandown Lodges?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Swandown Lodges?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barrington Court (5.5 miles), Mapperton House & Gardens (9.7 miles), and Dawe's Twineworks (8.4 miles).
Is Swandown Lodges accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.