We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shuktara Nature Retreat

Save
Share
Uddin Hills, Shahporan Uposhohor Khadimnagar, Sylhet City Bangladesh
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (192)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (14)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 Speciality lodging in Sylhet City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shuktara Nature Retreat is a boutique holiday home. It is an eco- friendly Nature respecting place situated on a hill top with a panaromic view of the surrounding hills, tea estate and the Khasia/ Jaintia mountain range in the horizon. Shuktara is located only 7.5 Km. from the city centre on the N2 Sylhet - Tamabil highway & within short distance to some of the famous tourist sites of Sylhet..
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
80Reviews4Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 29
  • 11
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Akram Pavel wrote a review Mar 2021
Dhaka City, Bangladesh5 contributions1 helpful vote
In morning decided to go in sylhet. And we found the beautiful hotel. Near by the town. Natural resort with quiet place . Very eco friendly . Best pace to enjoy our time. The resort properly well maintained. Garden , flower gives us extra freshness. Cleaned room gives the comfort. Reservation and front desk was so fast responses. Once you entered the resort no need to go out and you won’t like to go outside because of the resort environment. Nice restaurant and the delicious food available. Room service for food need to add in their service. Villa and tower separated gives us the privacy. View from room it was so nice , hill is my priority and we found the view from room. During check out time reception arrange us the transport to airport. That was very helpful for us. As after end of winter the tree was less green but was full of flower I wish very soon in Rainy day to see the real beauty of Shuktara Nature Retreat. It’s makes our honeymoon memorable and will be back to recall our memories and enjoy their service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from mahmud murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks wonderful guest. Very honestly, we had guests like you lovely people in mind when we conceived of this place. We never claim to be luxury but nature respecting & homely. It truly makes all our hard work worth every penny when we hear gracious & encouraging comments from true admirers of Nature like you all. Thanks a million. Wishing you two a long Happy Married life. Do visit us again with family & friends and we shall be delighted to offer you the returnee discount. Regards. "Shuktara".
Read more
Fazal Mahmud Roni wrote a review Dec 2020
Dhaka City, Bangladesh404 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Me and my wife wanted a gateway from everyday chaos, office stress. So checked in Shuktara for a night. The resort is full of green and peace. Its architecture, decoration everything give you a sense of calmness. It had hill view and forest view rooms. Both are fine. It has, if i am not wrong, 4 types of room offering- rate and details are available in their site. They have swimming pool, not a big one but its nice; but they should keep warm water system there. Dining space is good. Food is good but a bit expensive, offers a standard breakfast in the morning that covers both deshi and American breakfast. A coffee at Veranda is must. They have play zone down stairs from dinning. A pool (board is sloppy), keram boards and table tennis (bats need to be changed). Light is poor for playing table tennis. Anyway, still you can spent some time. Oh, they have library room with lobby...liked the initiative. They have a small trail to a nearby tea garden, 10mins walk only. Staffs are nice. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Beds are ok too. Ac works fine. The best part of the resort is its not so big but offers a lot of greenery. On the way back you can buy some money-plants for your own. NB: room usha has a whole in the door which gave me a feel that my privacy is compromised, luckily i had no Neighbor in next room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from mahmud murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks wonderful guest. Very honestly, we had guests like you lovely people in mind when we conceived of this place. We never claim to be luxury but nature respecting & homely. It truly makes all our hard work worth every penny when we hear gracious & encouraging comments from true admirers of Nature like you all. Thanks a million. BTW on your observation the peephole in the door has been fixed. Do visit us again with family & friends and we shall be delighted to offer you the returnee discount. Regards. "Shuktara".
Read more
mukutsaha123 wrote a review Oct 2020
32 contributions19 helpful votes
Shuktara resort is in the perfect location for refreshing your mind. Surrounded by green trees on all sides. The architecture and the design of the resort is also splendid. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. However the apart from the complimentary breakfast, all the food we ordered from the menu in our two days stay was of very poor quality, quantity and taste. Prices were a bit high which is understandable and fine since it was inside the resort. But the quality was just appalling. Their aloo paratha and chicken tandoori is the safest choice in their menu. Others are not even worth trying. If shuktara pays more attention to its food and improves the quality then 10/10.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahmud Murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Thanks Dear guest for your kind, encouraging at the same time critical observations. It is our pleasure to be able to serve Nature respecting guests like you. We never claim to be a luxury resort but homely & Eco friendly. We are disappointed to learn of your displeasure regarding the food. We have been mostly appreciated for the taste & freshness of our food as we don't ever serve pre cooked or stored food. Our prices may seem a little higher than most city based restaurants on the roads. This is because of our location & the higher cost of procurement & overheads.We wish that you tried the few Continental & Indian dishes from our menu. People have appreciated what was served. We shall however look into all your recommendations & shall try to improve. We hope that you shall visit us someday again to see the difference. Thanks & Regards.
Read more
ভ্রমণাসক্ত wrote a review May 2020
Sylhet City, Bangladesh3 contributions
Just 6 km from the city, this beautiful resort is built on a hill. A restaurant, 3 Hill view cottages, some cottages on the inner area and a cottage with a swimming pool – are the main buildings of the resort. There is also an open balcony next to the Hill view cottage from where view of the vast green hills can be enjoyed and there is also a bar-b-que arrangement. Nature and architecture – the combination of two completely opposite ideas – is so beautifully merged that it is hard to believe without witnessing it first hand. Most employees are polite and courteous enough. However, sometimes the quality of the service is not as much as one would expect from such an expensive resort. There is still room for much improvement in this case. Although there are many items on the restaurant menu, very few items are actually available. Moreover, the price of food is much higher but the quality of food is much worse than that. However, the tea here is worth trying.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Shuktara, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 31 May 2020
Thanks Dear guest for your kind, encouraging at the same time critical observations. It is our pleasure to be able to serve Nature respecting guests like you. We never claim to be a luxury resort but homely & Eco friendly. We are disappointed to learn of your displeasure regarding the food. We have most items on the menu available except some seasonal or special items. We have been mostly appreciated for the taste & freshness of our food as we don't ever serve pre cooked or stored food. Our prices may seem a little higher than most city based restaurants on the roads. This is because of our location & the higher cost of procurement & overheads. We shall however look into all your recommendations & shall try to improve. We hope that you shall visit us someday again to see the difference. Thanks & Regards.
Read more
Jesin S wrote a review Sep 2019
London, England, United Kingdom83 contributions32 helpful votes
We stayed in the resort for 2 days and received outstanding service from the staff. All our requests were addressed promptly. It is literally in the middle of a forest about 20-30 minutes from the Sylhet Town. You can get a CNG or arrange transfer from the hotel. There is a pool and many viewing points across the resort. You have to walk up and down mini hills with paved paths to reach the pool, reception, dining or rooms. It is designed to plug off from the city life and just relax in nature with forest and hill views everywhere you go. Would recommend for a good time out from day to day life or vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shuktara, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 7 Sep 2019
Dear Ms, We are humbled by your generous comments about Shuktara Nature Retreat, infact we had wonderful guests like you in mind when we conceived of this place. We never claim to be a luxury resort but nature respecting & homely. Our efforts seem rewarding when we hear guest comments like yours. We have built up our staff mostly from the locality as a responsibility towards the community, the staff although not the most experienced,professional, have been instructed to cater to the needs of the guests as far as possible and courteously. Make our guests feel that they are at home. We are happy that you were looked after well. We shall be very grateful if you kindly spread the word amongst your family and friends. We shall be delighted to have you back as a returnee guest. Please mention whilst booking for the returnee discount. Thanks and regards. Shuktara .
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
BangladeshSylhet DivisionSylhet City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shuktara Nature Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Shahjalal Dorgha (4.4 miles), Khadimnagar National Park (2.7 miles), and Ali Amjad Clock Tower (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Panshi Restaurant, Platinum Lounge, and Woondaal King Kebab.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Shuktara Nature Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.