We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shuktara Nature Retreat

Uddin Hills, Shahporan Uposhohor Khadimnagar, Sylhet City Bangladesh
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (239)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 ranch in Sylhet City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shuktara Nature Retreat is a boutique holiday home. It is an eco- friendly Nature respecting place situated on a hill top with a panaromic view of the surrounding hills, tea estate and the Khasia/ Jaintia mountain range in the horizon. Shuktara is located only 7.5 Km. from the city centre on the N2 Sylhet - Tamabil highway & within short distance to some of the famous tourist sites of Sylhet..
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
87Reviews6Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 32
  • 13
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mustapha Khalid wrote a review Mar 2023
Dhaka City, Bangladesh321 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Though located in close proximity of the city, entering into this resort compound would drift away the guests from the hustle and bustle of the city life. Those who look for a hideout, Shuktara Natural Retreat is the perfect spot for them. All of its physical developments are imperfectly perfect imparting a natural hegemony all over the resort. The service, crews, food all are up to the mark for such a natural retreat. We almost 30 people visited Shuktara and everyone enjoyed the stay there without any complain.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Please don’t forget to request for mosquito net before going to bed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahmud Murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 2 Apr 2023
Dear Mr. Khalid, Your reputation as an Architect, lover of Arts & Culture preceded us much before you came to visit Shuktara. We are extremely delighted & grateful for your gracious comments about Shuktara. In fact Shuktara was conceived with Nature loving Eco friendly people like you in mind. Our place has been created with a rustic ambience & mainly for our guests to enjoy nature & wild life. We are glad that you came & had an enjoyable time. We shall be indebted if you kindly request your large circle of admirers, friends & family to visit Shuktara. We also eagerly look forward to your return trip. Stay well Warmest Regards. MHM. Shuktara Nature Retreat.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dr Rahman wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Its a nice resort in the city of Sylhet, bit pricy with rooms getting old,bathroom and rooms are not so clean, breakfast not so great, but overall its good, enjoyed the stay. They should renovate the rooms
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahmud Murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for your critical review. Just to put Shuktara in the right perspective we are quoting one of the reviews out of the numerous such reviews we have received, for your perusal. We shall however take your suggested seriously & try to improve. Thanks for coming. "A day in the wilderness Stayed for one night in this amazing nature retreat. The blend of wilderness and modern amenities is spectacular. I enjoyed best the night view of the retreat. At night, the entire place seems full of wildlife as they venture out at this time.You can also enjoy the variety of butterflies and the chirping birds at day time. I would suggest a minimum two days stay at this place. Otherwise, you might terribly miss this place and regret for staying too short a period. The food is fresh and tasty. It is a bit expensive but the quality and fresh, warm food will make you forget it. This aesthetic place is a treat for all nature lovers and the people who really need a break. Go enjoy your stay and thank me later!"
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fuad wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Pros: A nice and quiet place, full of green and different types of flowers, hill view looks good, familial environment. Helpful manpower at reception, restaurant as well as at front security desk. Cons: Room price was high compared to room quality. They don't provide standard bed sheets and pillow covers. Too many rooms in a small space. They have less professional manpower to work for them. In such a quiet place they talk too loudly with each other. The behavior of inside security personnel wasn't pleasant. They gave weird looks and were talking too loudly at late night too. Food quality wasn't up to the mark, complimentary breakfast was too poor, and had fewer options.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Its environment is too cozy for couples.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from mahmud murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Instead of trying to say much about your complaints, we are copying a review out of many such reviews from a guest. You may also go through the numerous reviews we got to have the right perspective. Thanks for coming. A well-kempt natural beauty on the outskirts of Sylhet Shuktara is a hidden gem and definitely a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of Sylhet and Dhaka. The grounds are meticulously kept and the resort is surrounded by greenery. First, the food is excellent, the Indian and Bangladeshi dishes are by far the best. The breakfast buffet has a good selection and they vary it from day to day. The views from the hillside rooms are gorgeous and they even play peaceful music on speakers outside. With all that said there are a couple of things that need work: the mattresses are very hard, cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms could be improved, and it would be nice if there was some type of guide or information provided on what there is to do in the area. We would have been willing to do a tour or activity but didn't know what was available. Overall it was a good time and worth the price! Landryjoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
oishi khan wrote a review Dec 2021
Dhaka City, Bangladesh9 contributions
+1
We had three amazing days in Shuktara Nature Retreat. All the staffs and management team was very well behaved and helpful. They didn’t give us a chance to complain. Those who are looking for relaxing tour, must come here. Greenery all around. Location was perfect, from there we visited zaflong, tamabil,lalakhal and bichanakandi
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahmud Murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 22 Dec 2021
Dear Ms, We are humbled by your generous comments about Shuktara Nature Retreat, infact we had wonderful guests like you in mind when we conceived of this place. We never claim to be a luxury resort but nature respecting & homely. Our efforts seem rewarding when we hear guest comments like yours. We have built up our staff mostly from the locality as a responsibility towards the community, the staff although not the most experienced professional, have been instructed to cater to the needs of the guests as far as possible and courteously. Make our guests feel that they are at home. We are happy that you were looked after well. We shall be very grateful if you kindly spread the word amongst your family and friends. We shall be delighted to have you back as a returnee guest. Please mention whilst booking for the returnee discount. Thanks and regards. Shuktara .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joe L wrote a review Nov 2021
Ottawa, Canada58 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Shuktara is a hidden gem and definitely a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of Sylhet and Dhaka. The grounds are meticulously kept and the resort is surrounded by greenery. First, the food is excellent, the Indian and Bangladeshi dishes are by far the best. The breakfast buffet has a good selection and they vary it from day to day. The views from the hillside rooms are gorgeous and they even play peaceful music on speakers outside. With all that said there are a couple of things that need work: the mattresses are very hard, cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms could be improved, and it would be nice if there was some type of guide or information provided on what there is to do in the area. We would have been willing to do a tour or activity but didn't know what was available. Overall it was a good time and worth the price!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from mahmud murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 7 Nov 2021
Thanks wonderful guest. Very honestly, we had guests like you lovely people in mind when we conceived of this place. We never claim to be luxury but nature respecting & homely. It truly makes all our hard work worth every penny when we hear gracious & encouraging comments from true admirers of Nature like you all. Regarding the tours, our front desk is very much in the know & is always ready to assist in the planning & hiring of transport, guide etc. Moreover all the activities & tours possible has been detailed in our website under the Activities section. It may have been overlooked. There are a lot of wonderful sights to see in & around Shuktara & we regret that we were unable to advise. Next time maybe. Thanks a million for coming. Do visit us again with family & friends and we shall be delighted to offer you the returnee discount. Regards. "Shuktara".
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dr Md Mahbubur wrote a review Jun 2021
Sylhet City, Bangladesh125 contributions66 helpful votes
I visited this place in 14th February to celebrate Valentine day and have a candle light dinner with my family.Lovely place to move around and stay also but i enjoyed my candle light dinner here.It was very beautiful arrangement from there site.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You have to make a call before go there
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahmud Murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Thanks wonderful guest. Very honestly, we had guests like you lovely people in mind when we conceived of this place. We never claim to be luxury but nature respecting & homely. It truly makes all our hard work worth every penny when we hear gracious & encouraging comments from true admirers of Nature like you all. Thanks a million. Wishing you two a long Happy Married life. Do visit us again with family & friends and we shall be delighted to offer you the returnee discount. Regards. "Shuktara".
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John C wrote a review May 2021
Umm ar-Rasas, Jordan10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
First of all, if you're looking for the creature comforts of a western hotel, you won't find them here. This is not a Hilton or a Marriott. My colleague and I stayed here for an extended period of time while on business in Sylhet, nine weeks. A few things we didn't like were the horrible beds, the local mosques' loud speakers all hours of the nights, poor insulation resulting in very hot rooms, power failures about 12 times a day, and the mosquitoes. Now that the bad is out of the way, on to the good. To start with, it's an absolutely charming place. Beautiful grounds with every type of flower and plant you could imagine. Wonderful and friendly staff who are helpful and will do everything to make sure you are happy. The food is excellent. The chicken tandoori is the best chicken I've ever had! The owners are a lovely couple and are very proud of the little slice of beauty they've carved out of the Sylhet hillside. Closely situated to the palm forests and tea fields of Sylhet, there are some amazing sites to see; take plenty of walks while you're there. We will be returning to Sylhet and we will definitely stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from mahmud murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 26 May 2021
Dear long term guest, You are right, ours isn't a luxury resort & was never intended to be so. We are an eco friendly, nature respecting place with a rustic charm. We are so sorry to hear about the beds being described as horrible, would be a great help if we knew in what way. However, since you were there for a long period , it would be possible to make the necessary changes for your comfort, only if you would let the Team know. Anyway we shall try to meet your needs during your next visit. Just as you, we are quite frustrated with the mosque loud speakers despite having a 14 acre area, sound does travel far & wide. Electricity is produced sufficiently in our country but transmission as you saw is a serious problem & is a great mystery to us. We are heavily dependent on the generator & consequently supply disruptions do happen. On behalf of the govt electric supply & ourselves we regret that it wasn't uninterrupted & apologise for the inconvenience. Mosquitoes are a menace & we have so little control over them as our place is quite forested. We are sorry for that too. We are very grateful for you generous comments about the place, grounds, flowers, staff & last but not the least, Food. The couple were delighted to have met you two lovely people & thank you for befriending their Bhalu. We eagerly look forward to your next visit when we would like to make things better & your stay comfortable. Stay well with Warmest Regards. Shuktara.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Akram Pavel wrote a review Mar 2021
Dhaka City, Bangladesh9 contributions1 helpful vote
In morning decided to go in sylhet. And we found the beautiful hotel. Near by the town. Natural resort with quiet place . Very eco friendly . Best pace to enjoy our time. The resort properly well maintained. Garden , flower gives us extra freshness. Cleaned room gives the comfort. Reservation and front desk was so fast responses. Once you entered the resort no need to go out and you won’t like to go outside because of the resort environment. Nice restaurant and the delicious food available. Room service for food need to add in their service. Villa and tower separated gives us the privacy. View from room it was so nice , hill is my priority and we found the view from room. During check out time reception arrange us the transport to airport. That was very helpful for us. As after end of winter the tree was less green but was full of flower I wish very soon in Rainy day to see the real beauty of Shuktara Nature Retreat. It’s makes our honeymoon memorable and will be back to recall our memories and enjoy their service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from mahmud murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 24 Mar 2021
Thanks wonderful guest. Very honestly, we had guests like you lovely people in mind when we conceived of this place. We never claim to be luxury but nature respecting & homely. It truly makes all our hard work worth every penny when we hear gracious & encouraging comments from true admirers of Nature like you all. Thanks a million. Wishing you two a long Happy Married life. Do visit us again with family & friends and we shall be delighted to offer you the returnee discount. Regards. "Shuktara".
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fazal Mahmud Roni wrote a review Dec 2020
Dhaka City, Bangladesh482 contributions87 helpful votes
+1
Me and my wife wanted a gateway from everyday chaos, office stress. So checked in Shuktara for a night. The resort is full of green and peace. Its architecture, decoration everything give you a sense of calmness. It had hill view and forest view rooms. Both are fine. It has, if i am not wrong, 4 types of room offering- rate and details are available in their site. They have swimming pool, not a big one but its nice; but they should keep warm water system there. Dining space is good. Food is good but a bit expensive, offers a standard breakfast in the morning that covers both deshi and American breakfast. A coffee at Veranda is must. They have play zone down stairs from dinning. A pool (board is sloppy), keram boards and table tennis (bats need to be changed). Light is poor for playing table tennis. Anyway, still you can spent some time. Oh, they have library room with lobby...liked the initiative. They have a small trail to a nearby tea garden, 10mins walk only. Staffs are nice. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Beds are ok too. Ac works fine. The best part of the resort is its not so big but offers a lot of greenery. On the way back you can buy some money-plants for your own. NB: room usha has a whole in the door which gave me a feel that my privacy is compromised, luckily i had no Neighbor in next room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from mahmud murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 24 Mar 2021
Thanks wonderful guest. Very honestly, we had guests like you lovely people in mind when we conceived of this place. We never claim to be luxury but nature respecting & homely. It truly makes all our hard work worth every penny when we hear gracious & encouraging comments from true admirers of Nature like you all. Thanks a million. BTW on your observation the peephole in the door has been fixed. Do visit us again with family & friends and we shall be delighted to offer you the returnee discount. Regards. "Shuktara".
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mukutsaha123 wrote a review Oct 2020
32 contributions20 helpful votes
Shuktara resort is in the perfect location for refreshing your mind. Surrounded by green trees on all sides. The architecture and the design of the resort is also splendid. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. However the apart from the complimentary breakfast, all the food we ordered from the menu in our two days stay was of very poor quality, quantity and taste. Prices were a bit high which is understandable and fine since it was inside the resort. But the quality was just appalling. Their aloo paratha and chicken tandoori is the safest choice in their menu. Others are not even worth trying. If shuktara pays more attention to its food and improves the quality then 10/10.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahmud Murad, Owner at Shuktara Nature Retreat
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Thanks Dear guest for your kind, encouraging at the same time critical observations. It is our pleasure to be able to serve Nature respecting guests like you. We never claim to be a luxury resort but homely & Eco friendly. We are disappointed to learn of your displeasure regarding the food. We have been mostly appreciated for the taste & freshness of our food as we don't ever serve pre cooked or stored food. Our prices may seem a little higher than most city based restaurants on the roads. This is because of our location & the higher cost of procurement & overheads.We wish that you tried the few Continental & Indian dishes from our menu. People have appreciated what was served. We shall however look into all your recommendations & shall try to improve. We hope that you shall visit us someday again to see the difference. Thanks & Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sylhet City area.
LOCATION
BangladeshSylhet DivisionSylhet City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHUKTARA NATURE RETREAT - Updated 2024 Prices (Sylhet Division, Bangladesh)

Frequently Asked Questions about Shuktara Nature Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Shahjalal Dorgha (4.4 miles), Khadimnagar National Park (2.7 miles), and Ali Amjad Clock Tower (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Panshi Restaurant, Platinum Lounge, and Woondaal King Kebab.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shuktara Nature Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Shuktara Nature Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.