We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals

Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (116)
Pool & Beach (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Enjoy the most spectacular view in Tobermory from the Bruce Anchor Motel's "sunset deck". Our deck overlooks Georgian Bay and the entrance to Big Tub Harbour. The Bruce Anchor Motel is located within walking distance of the Chi-Cheemaun. It is a convenient place to stay overnight before boarding the ferry in the morning! All 37 deluxe motel units have balconies or terraces. Step out for a relaxing breath of fresh air, or to enjoy the scenery. A two-bedroom suite will comfortably accommodate a family of four, or two couples, or a small group of divers. All units have a mini fridge with freezer, except the king units, which have a mini fridge. All rooms have air conditioning, free wi-fi, cable tv, and a coffee maker. We serve coffee and tea in the office from 5 am until 2 am. We have a pavilion behind our motel complete with microwaves, toasters, kettles, charcoal bbq's, and picnic tables available to all guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Business
312Reviews
325Photos
15Q+A
71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 121
  • 125
  • 42
  • 9
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
We venture to Tobermory for Scuba Diving with our Adventure Sports Newmarket Dive club several times over every summer. We enjoy Bruce Anchor Motel for its cleanliness, convenience, and it is close to downtown Tobermory. They have a lovely covered patio in back with BBQ's, so
Read more
Staying here for just one night and it was really good. Nice and helpful staff, room was spacious and king size bed was perfect. Close to downtown, we had a nice walk, high temperature for mid-september, to dinner. Back at the motel we had a free coffee at the reception and at
Read more
Response from Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Responded 17 Oct 2018
We love our coffee! Great to hear you enjoyed a cup or two with us. Thank you for choosing Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage Rentals! We hope you will join us again one day!
Read more
and no smoking or cooking in the rooms - sign here! Great location, close to the water, views of the lighthouse and walking distance to town but otherwise it's basic accommodation. We had problems with the bedside lamps - had to plug/unplug them on and off because the knob was
Read more
Response from Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Responded 28 Oct 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, at Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage Rentals. We provide clean, comfortable, modern rooms conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Tobermory. We offer a pet free, smoke free accommodation to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We certainly appreciate your feedback and will check out those bedside lamps knobs. Thanks!
Read more
We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst exploring this end of the Georgian bay. It's a standard motel style accomodation - the rooms are big, some of them have nice views across the lake and in-general everything was as it should be. The standout feature is the location -
Read more
Response from Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Responded 23 Sep 2018
It sounds like you captured as much as you possibly could in the couple of days that you visited! Our location certainly makes accessing the village easy. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed it! Our boat tours are an exciting, scenic way to see areas of Georgian Bay that you can't see from the mainland. It's an outstanding experience that we are happy that you enjoyed! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Bruce Anchor Motel & Cottage Rentals!
Read more
This is a decent motor style motel. Location is great, the rooms are a little dated and a little musty smelling from the a/c units. They say you get a discount on the boat tours, but it is only the tours where you do not disembark the boat. That was a little disappointing. I
Read more
Response from Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Responded 17 Sep 2018
Thank you for staying with us! Our guests certainly enjoy our location - so it's great to hear that you did too! We are located at the end of Highway 6 in a gently wooded area, conveniently close to the village. It's unusual to have bears visit us, however reminding our guests how to properly handle and store food outdoors is critical in keeping them away. Our cruise discount details are available on our website. It sounds like you took advantage of a cruise while you were visiting the area - which is great! So happy that we got to share with you the beauty of our area in such a unique way!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
The Standard Room at the Bruce Anchor Cruises
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
The King Room at the Bruce Anchor Cruises
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
The King Room at the Bruce Anchor Cruises
Photo provided by managementBruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
The Bruce Anchor - Street View
Photo provided by managementBruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
King Room
PreviousNext
12345624
We have a waterfront cottage that we rent out. Please check us out online if you haven't already. Thanks!
0 votes
Show all answers
U close to a bus station
No, unfortunately we are not. Owen Sound is the closest bus station to us.
0 votes
It's an absolutely beautiful view of Georgian Bay. It's a clean and up to date cottage, fully furnished. You can see pictures of the cottage on our website. Thank you! Hoping you are able to join us this season!
0 votes
Hi there! Our website shows pictures of the waterfront cottage. It's clean and up to date. There are chairs on the deck, yes. Holly's cottage is not on the waterfront, no. It is a 2 minute walk to the water. I hope that you are able to join us this summer! Thank you!
0 votes
Show all answers
How to book this hote
Visit our website or give us a call at 800-591-4254.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Try to get rooms further towards the corner of the hotel as they had the better views"
"choose away from parking lot if possible"
"Get a lake side room."
"Room 38 was large, located near the office, ground floor, nice seating area outside the sliding glass door, nice t.v.. and minifridge."
"We called the hotel directly to book a room on the second floor with a balcony and view of the water."
PreviousNext
12345615
ALSO KNOWN AS
bruce anchor motel and cottage rentals hotel tobermory
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTobermory
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing