We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Melia Las Dunas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Las Dunas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,174: English reviews
Mechanicsburg
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The management and condition of this hotel is in a single word: awful. The staff were unresponsive and unapologetic for the lack of service. Our displeasure ranged from a 40 minute wait to be shuttled to our room after checking in, a damp and fishy smelling room, dirty (greasy) dishes at the buffet stations, poor quality of food and room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank luv2travel813
New Glasgow, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

resort OK , beach very very nice , so if you love beach its A1 , you can walk for miles . Rooms very dated , we stayed on adult side and I was disappointed there was lots of kids there . Food not very good at all , poor even for cuba . But lots of bars open never...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennifer132017
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

been here a lot of times. whatever bad reviews you see in here does not weigh the overall experience. food may be 4 star, resort is 5 star, services 4.5 star, overall is 5 star. not because I saw a dirty pillow case, or one staff ignored me, or I saw condom on the garden means i'll rate the overall...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AngeloOlegna11
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went to this resort with my family, including 3 kids under 6. We were placed on the kids' side obviously. Although we asked to be placed together, they couldn't comply. it was still fine as the buildings are close, even though the resort is huge, if you are on the same side of the resort, you don't have to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Marie-Eve B
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Marie-Eve: Many thanks for give us the possibility to know about your experience. It has felt very good to read your review. We understand you have had a really good time, even when your experience has not been exactly as expected. We will take into account every detail you are referring us and work very hard in the...

Calgary, AB
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been to Cuba 3 times before and realize you can't expect everything you have back home. That being said, we found the resort wonderful! It was a bit big, but we had block 2, which was pretty central. The pool was wonderful, the entertainment staff so hard working. I loved the morning stretching and Zumba and aquafit. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank NHana
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: It is been a big pleasure that you have chosen Melia Las Dunas for your vacation. We appreciate that you take the time to post such a nice review on trip advisor; we are very happy to know that you had a nice experience in our hotel Melia Las Dunas; and for sure we will keep us working...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We travelled to Cuba for our family holiday beginning December 27, 2016 until January 3, 2017 at Melia Las Dunas, and our vacation was absolutely ruined due to the services provided throughout this resort . I was in such a big shock that i am still recovering from my vacation. When I returned from Cuba, I definitely made the decision...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank 22iryna
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holyday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We had during end of december to first of this month few issues,...

Campbell River, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited Melia las dunas Jan 9-16 with our two older teenage kids. We read tons of reviews about las dunas , but decided to go anyways and judge for and see for ourselves. So... the food was horrible. We've been to Cuba before, and stayed at an Iberostar, and loved the food. For the families with small children there...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank stephanisaunders
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holyday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We had during end of december to first of this month few issues,...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having spent three nights at this resort we came with great expectations but left disappointed. Bartenders, wait staff, house keepers and entertainment staff were all hardworking and exceptional. The problem is this is a large resort appearing to be divided between an activity (kids section) and a relaxation (adult?) section. In reality poorly behaved loud and clueless parents and kids...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RusD48
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holyday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We are surprised about your comments about smoking everywhere, because we are not...

Summerside, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I visited the Melia Las Dunas for the 2nd time in 3 years, and I was not disappointed. The resort is beautiful, and the people that work there are amazing. I visited with two friends, and we were all treated very well…from the lobby, to the beach, the restaurants, and everything in between. We enjoyed all of the restaurants with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shelley B
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Shelley: Thanks a lot for taking your time sharing your experience on Trip Advisor web site and showing to all the travelers how good is our hotel. Thanks also for your nice comments about our staff, they are a hard working men and ladies that makes our guests happy, I will mention your comment with all people involved....

Barrie
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Holiday from Jan 7th -12th. Rooms are in need of some repair. Toilet didn't work, 110 plug broken. Called numerous times to have it repaired. No luck. Food has gotten worst, but always found something to eat, (Starch can't go wrong). Friends that we travelled with all got sick from the food. We were fine. They ran out of what...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SoccerbumBarrie
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Many thanks for give us the possibility to know about your experience. It has felt very good to read your review. We understand you have had a really good time, even when your experience has not been exactly as expected. We will take into account every detail you are referring us and work very hard in the improvement...

10,438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10394)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1924)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2845)
Viewed
Room/Suite (787)
Viewed
Bathroom (128)
Viewed
View from Room (171)
Viewed
Dining (692)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (128)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (74)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (25)
Viewed
Other (3620)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
0.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 13 in Cayo Santa Maria
5,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 13 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,015 reviews
231.3 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
228.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,176 reviews
141.5 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 62 in Varadero
4,456 reviews
230.9 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magic and Legend unveils an ancient story that goes back in time to 1492, with the discovery of America. Melia Las Dunas, a 5 star resort, All Inclusive, ideal for your vacation with your Family, Reunion & Incentives, Weddings, Honeymoon Distinguished by the variety of services, the inviting atmosphere and the confort of its facilities, Melia Las Dunas offers the vacations of your dreams. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Las Dunas

Address: Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara | Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: £114 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Dunas 5*
Number of rooms: 925
Also Known As:
Melia Las Dunas Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Hotel Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas Cuba
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and other travellers.
686 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (686)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a large resort, buildings 21, 22, 23 are close to everything.”
 of 5 bubbles 746shelleyb, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“BW 31, to 36 close to the family pool, buffet, and lobby bar.”
 of 5 bubbles SoccerbumBarrie, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good. Any location works.”
 of 5 bubbles danielq620, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Villa 2100 good location but awful smell and full of bags.”
 of 5 bubbles mariolaa256, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor for sure!!”
 of 5 bubbles isa18690, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5