The Falcon Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Falcon Inn

Traveller (44)
Room looking in.
Room & Suite (4)
Hearty breakfast.
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 guest house in Aberdare
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Eight letting rooms all with en-suite, TV, coffee and tea making facilities. Our guests will find a warm Welsh welcome in the cosy traditional pub and function room. With the river Aman running past our retreat and surrounded by woodland, our guest can leave the hustle, bustle and fast pace life and recharge and relax.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Budget
48Reviews1Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 13
  • 6
  • 3
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Graham B wrote a review Mar 2023
7 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed with my 7 year old son and perfect for our needs after walking up Pen Y Fan. Sue was a lovely host and really friendly. Hot shower, comfortable beds and quiet setting. Neighbouring rooms can be heard but same in many hotels. I always sleep with ear plugs anyway! No restaurant available at the moment but plenty of places to eat in Aberdare. Breakfast ordered the night before and brought to your room and it was really nice. It’s budget accommodation so if you want the Ritz with landscaped grounds then not for you. However, our room was nicely painted and bathroom was fine. Would come again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Look out for Sue’s text before you arrive on what to do as there’s no reception to report to....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paris S wrote a review Oct 2017
2 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the falcon inn, as soon as we walked in, our room stank of bleach! So strong. We only had two single beds when booked a double room, no tv as they said previous customers broke it and the guy had there was no double beds in the whole place which was a lie. There was an earwig in our kettle, spiders and cobwebs all over the room. So unkempt and dirty. Not usually one to complain but they charged me £52 for this room and it was so not worth it, I’d have paid £10 for the room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan B, Owner at The Falcon Inn
Responded 13 Oct 2017
1.We do use diluted bleach in the shower rooms, but we have never had a complaint that the room "stinks of bleach" - we are sorry if it offended you. 2.We do have double beds in 4 of our rooms - there are photo's of these on the internet. Unfortunately the room that you were allocated was mistakenly given to another customer and by the time I became involved they had gone out, I did offer you a reduction in the price you paid but never seen you again to give you the difference. No body had lied to you. 3. A previous customer had in fact taken the remote for the t.v. that had been in your room so we had to send for another remote. Again we did not lie to you. 4. We can not say anything about an "earwig in the kettle, spiders and cobwebs all over the room" apart from the fact that our cleaner has a schedule to follow with her cleaning, there have been guests in that room since that have been perfectly happy with its cleanlieness and we have plenty of reviews to say that the rooms are clean. Finally apart from the time of your arrival we did not see you even though the bar was open and we were available in person until about 11.30pm that evening and I was in the breakfast room until 11.40 the following morning, so at any point you could have raised your issues with us. If you didn't want to see us in person all the rooms have a laminated sheet with important information on which includes my telephone number so you could have at any time phoned or texted me directly. If you had pointed the faults to me and I had confirmed that these were our misdemeanors I would have been dismayed and also forget £10 charge I would have refunded the whole charge for the room as I am very proud of the work we have done since I have been here and would hate to think any of our rooms are as you have portrayed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nerdcity_Reviews wrote a review Oct 2016
London, United Kingdom4 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Yesterday I visited the falcon inn for a wedding reception in aberdare,wales. The ceremony was good and the staff were nice but there was some concerns. Firstly, two children were on the swing seat, just sitting on it and gently swinging, when suddenly the swing collapsed and fell flat on the floor. The boy at the end had minor injuries to his shin but it was still a health and safety issue. The scenery around the place was excellent; what with the stream right opposite (and a swing to swing over it) mountains, woods and even goats and shepland horses! Of course I didn't stay at the hotel as this is just a review of the function space.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amber Parry wrote a review Mar 2023
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
wow what an amazing place to stay!! We stayed here for a wedding and it was amazing. The room is so clean and so lovely with everything you need, the owner/host is amazing so lovely and welcoming and it is set in just a beautiful place with a running stream nearby and lovely scenery would definitely stay again cannot fault it !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chaim E wrote a review Mar 2023
Glastonbury, United Kingdom13 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely amazing host (Sue) and a beautiful place to stay - Highly recommended! Fantastic value for money too!

We originally booked 3 separate rooms to stay in for a group of 6 of us and Sue introduced us to her new build on the side of the retreat which had shared accommodation, which she kundly swapped us into. Very tidy and great views from several windows within the rooms. Spacious and homely feeling with a fire to keep warm, TV and plenty of facilities including showers, toilets kitchen and dining area.

Only a minute walk from the river that flows in front of the retreat and stunning views only a few minute walk up the road onto the hills.

Can't thank Sue enough for such a wonderful stay she was so kind and helpful - absolute legend!! We would all stay again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hollie T wrote a review Aug 2022
18 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The pictures absolutely do not show what a lovely place this is. Beautiful cosy rooms, balcony with a lovely view, and most importantly a wonderful host Sue who could not be more accommodating. From giving us the best directions to offering breakfast in the morning, nothing is too much to ask from her. The bar is amazingly cheap for good drinks and the standards in the rooms are 5* all round. Such a lovely place so close to brecon beacons
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Follow the directions from Sue that she will helpfully provide on the day of your travel, google...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melafellabulldogs wrote a review Jun 2018
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom63 contributions64 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In all my years I have never done a review but thought people should know not to book here,
The hotel is down a track, single lane , pot holes and branches over hanging which did damage to our vehicle, we were not warned about the track,
The hotel looked dated, shabby, unkept, on arrival the land lady said she never knew which room to put us in but said give her five mins , she returned about five mins later and said I will just put you in the one I just did, I don’t have the proper key I can’t find it so you’ll have to have mine, not very reassuring as we had valuable items with us,
She led us up a flight of steps to a room which can only be described as , hostel like, smelly, dirty, dated, a damp atmosphere and very unwelcoming, on picking up one of the leaflets to see where we could escape to they were covered in dirt , My wife was upset, we both said there’s no way this can be right, we went downstairs to see a lot of local people walking down with children all getting ready for the Friday karaoke, this was meant to be a quiet retreat, with stunning views , nope it was full of locals, ready to party, children running around throwing toys about, one local had sat on my car bonnet and was happily drinking a pint and not at all ready to move off it, on entering the bar area, it resembled a community centre, the land lady far to busy with her locals to ask why we were distressed, there were cigarette buts everywhere, music blasting from speakers out side our room and that was enough for us to contact booking agent to find another hotel, tried to speak to the land lady to hand her the key but with no luck, left the key on the bed and tried to make a sharpe exit, even on starting our car engine it took a man drinking with the man sitting on the car bonnet to ask him to get off. Absolutely disgusted , been in digs all over the country with work and never experienced anything like this. Had to book room in another town which was an extra cost to us, land lady I go red all communication since our departure.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
johnnyhewitt wrote a review Apr 2016
Guildford, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The Falcon Inn in reality bears little resemblance to the website photos. We were put in a room at the back with no balcony, unlike the rooms in the pictures on the website. The first problem was that the double, glass doors which were the entrance to the room (it was more like a shed) went from ground to ceiling level and the curtain didn't quite stretch all the way across the glass in the doors, so that people could see into the room from the outside. There was no wardrobe nor any pegs even to hang our coats. The TV had a very small screen - one of the smallest I've ever seen. It also didn't work! The nice looking restaurant, bar area shown on the website is, in fact, a dingy, badly maintained area which resembles a northern Yates' wine bar of the 70's. When I pointed out these problems to the owner she told us to leave because we were complaining too much, so we did - we left. A refund was offered and accepted although we haven't got one. Please don't go to the dreadful place. it cost £60 a night and we had paid already for 3 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The rooms at the front might be better, but it's best if you don't even go to this awful...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 31 Jul 2017
We are sorry that you felt you had a reason to write us a bad review. 1. The doors are 1/2 glazed and 1/2 wooden French doors - not totally glazed as you said and all of the curtains cover the double doors. 2. Unfortunately the previous guests to yourself had damaged the wardrobe so it had been take out, when you told me (the cleaner had not informed me) I immediately said that I would get a replacement, to which you replied "it doesn't matter we have plenty of draw space). 3. The T.V. was small admittedly but when you advised us of this we immediately came and when we turned it on it worked (we have since renewed all the T.V.'s here). You forgot to mention that you arrived at 12 and because your room wasn't ready (even though our checking in time is 2pm) we offered you food and a drink, you had coffee and our cleaner cleaned and finished your room before the others so it was ready within 1/2 hour. 4. Regarding the bar area (we did not have a restaurant then), along with the whole of the premises we were and are trying to up-date it. The property had fallen into disrepair when the old owner died in 2010, I bought the property in 2015 and have been upgrading it since. You also forgot to mention that after your initial issues you advised me that everything was fine and had a sleep in the room, then over 4 hours later when all of our other guests had arrived you came and asked for a front room (which overlooks the river and has the balcony), as I explained had you asked earlier we would have willingly changed your room to accommodate you but by then all the rooms had been taken. You found another hotel to stay at and we had a lengthy conversation at which I did say that you could leave if you wanted to (I did not tell you to leave because you were complaining too much) you then demanded a refund. Had I been able to re-let your room I would have gladly given you a refund - as I have with other guests who did not find our place suitable.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lynne b wrote a review Aug 2018
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom30 contributions44 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Beware when booking here. Very basic rooms with no way of opening any windows for fresh air. Down an awful pothole full road with no room for passing resulting in your car getting scratched with overgrown bushes bathroom doors wouldn’t shut and cold tap stayed on until pulled very hard to off. We stayed a Saturday night and returned to the hotel to a full on party and band in the room directly underneath us. We couldn’t hear the tv on full as there is no soundproof for the rooms and the band was as loud as being in the room. At eleven it finished and then the jukebox was put on full. When complained it was turned down but still impossible to sleep through. Every time someone went out to the car or for a cigarette the full on security lights outside the rooms went on fully illuminating the room. The party finished at 3.30 am then had the door slamming as people went to their rooms. Anything but a hotel or quiet country pub If like us you book here as dogs allowed an extra £10 lets you stay with a dog in travelodge
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Verity J wrote a review Jun 2016
4 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for 2 nights and only stayed for one. The hotel looks more like a hostel, in what seems to be the back of a council estate. We were put in a room on first floor looking at cars and a brick wall, to get to you walk up fire escape metal stairs and have rubber matts on the floor as walking on it would be unsafe - not brilliant for children running round.
The room was clean but extremely basic, the walls paper thin, could hear the room next to you (and behind you, interconnecting) talking, the taps pressed to turn on and twisted approx 30 times to turn off, shower was cold (too cold to wash my baby) the heater in the room looked dangerous and parts burnt on it, the tv was so small we didn't realise you could get one so small, wasn't even a thin TV. We was all disturbed by people coming back to their rooms at whatever time.
We left by 9am the next morning. Granted we didn't complain when there and maybe that was a mistake on our behalf, but by reading a review here sounds like we would of been asked to leave anyway if we did!
I did come home and write a letter stating all my points and asking for a refund on the 1 night we missed, I was told no (to be fair they probably need the money to help pay to do the hotel/hostel up) and my points raised were also dismissed. On asking how to make a more formal complaint as we couldn't agree I didn't receive a reply, aftercare and customer service requires some training!
Not a family place to stay, Infact, until it's had a lot of work done to it and staff taken a customer care course, I'd stay clear!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eileen D wrote a tip Apr 2024
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dog friendly, no evening meals but pubs nearby, breakfast needs to be ordered in advance ."
Read full review
Val P wrote a tip Jul 2023
31 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared to come away wanting to go back "
Read full review
Eileen D wrote a tip Jun 2023
8 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dog friendly rooms, breakfast to order only night before, taken in room or on balcony, no evening meals bar open limited times only, "
Read full review
Graham B wrote a tip Mar 2023
7 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look out for Sue’s text before you arrive on what to do as there’s no reception to report to. Access via Forge View road to avoid potholes"
Read full review
Hollie T wrote a tip Aug 2022
18 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Follow the directions from Sue that she will helpfully provide on the day of your travel, google maps will take you into potholes"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Aberdare area.
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesRhondda Cynon TafAberdare
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FALCON INN - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Falcon Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Falcon Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bike Park Wales (1.7 miles), Cyfarthfa Castle (3.0 miles), and Dare Valley Country Park (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Falcon Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at The Falcon Inn?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Falcon Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Falcon Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aberglais Inn, Pentrebach House Table Table, and Mango House.
Are pets allowed at The Falcon Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Falcon Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Morlais Castle (4.6 miles).
All Aberdare HotelsAberdare Hotel DealsHotels near The Falcon Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire