Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel

Early morning view from our bedroom - looking left.
Traveller (129)
The bath
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (29)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£86
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Midsomer Norton
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel, with its relaxed and friendly environment, is conveniently situated between Bath and Wells. It's therefore an ideal place to base yourself when exploring the West Country! For families, Longleat Safari Park is a thrill just over 15 miles away, with Cheddar Caves and Gorge offering something a little different for those seeking to venture off the beaten track. Back at the family run hotel, the Restaurant offers a traditional yet modern menu at lunch time and in the evening, when you can combine the stunning view on your plate with that of our parkland golf course. The hotel is also attached to the Centurion Health Club which has a fully air-conditioned gym, with extra escapism available in the form of a steam room, sauna and spa pool. A delightful nine hole golf course means you really can have it all.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Golf course
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view
798Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 395
  • 264
  • 83
  • 34
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
RHW wrote a review Feb 2024
Kidderminster, United Kingdom22 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent room,superb shower. Restaurant food in the evening was very good. Didn't have breakfast but if the evening restaurant meal standard applies it will be very good.
All in all a very nice hotel with good facilities. Nine hole golf course would certainly appeal in summer months.
Well located hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve W wrote a review Jun 2021
Bourne End, United Kingdom39 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was very convenient for visiting friends and family in the area, and the 3 nights for 2 deal with breakfast included was what decided us. The hotel was comfortable and all staff were friendly and helpful, and the receptionist, Todd, who greeted us, went to extraordinary lengths to ensure that we had our preference of a room with a bathtub, and not just a shower. Dinner on the first evening was excellent and reasonably priced, and though the breakfast choices were a bit limited, having freshly cooked items is always better than a tired buffet. I used the fitness room one morning which was well equipped, clean and well organised with booking slots to prevent overcrowding, and we felt comfortable with all the necessary distancing and hygiene measures. It was pleasant enough sitting outside one evening for a drink, and again, all the staff we had contact with were unfailingly polite, welcoming and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be careful of the very short 20mph speed limit adjacent to the hotel entrance on Charlton Road !
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Skydiver012 wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom271 contributions166 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite the pool being drained, all the ornaments and cushions being gone and bare tables, the atmosphere here was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough. A lazy evening overlooking the golf course with a Pimms was just what was ordered on a business trip. Tea and coffee were still in the room and I took porridge as the breakfast bag wasn't suitable for dairy intolerant people. You get one set of towels and one shampoo now so you might have to request more if needed. The staff got me lactose ree ilk in for my coffee which was very nice of them. Chape price also.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: quieter floors not near a fire door
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi H wrote a review Oct 2020
Corfe Mullen, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived fairly late at the hotel at 10pm, but receptionist was friendly and check in was quick.

We booked a deluxe room and was definitely worth paying extra. The room was huge with a super king size bed and a sofa. It was all very clean and well looked after.

The room overlooked a pond and the golf course, which was very pleasant.

The room was very hot with the radiator blaring when we arrived. We turned it off and had the window open all weekend (October)

We opted for room only, so can’t comment on breakfast.

As we visited while there were still COVID restrictions, the spa had a booking system. We had a day out in the rain and booked for 5.30pm.

Considering current COVID restrictions, the water in the spa pool was very cloudy, so decided not to go in. The staff said that it had been heavily used and was due to be drained and cleaned. As we weren’t using it, he proceeded to drain and clean it, so that it would be ready for us to use in the morning. When we got to the spa in the morning it was crystal clear and very clean. The only down side was that the pump wasn’t working so there were no jets!! A little disappointing, but we used the sauna instead, which was lovely.
We avoided the steam room, as it smelt very musty and didn’t smell clean.
We didn’t use the gym and the swimming pool was closed for refurbishment (but we knew this before booking)

We had dinner here and the food was lovely.

Plenty of parking and a quiet location. Perfectly central for exploring Somerset.

Overall a very pleasant stay and would go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ebba Theodosia Russell wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom294 contributions86 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I just want to say staff were super friendly and lovely!! This is not atall a reflection on them!

We stayed Friday to Saturday night, the room was clean but there were a few areas that could do with a deep clean or replaced like the radiator in the bathroom, some areas had not been dusted aswell.
Pillows were dreadful and made it extremely hard to sleep, well, we barely slept, my husband put towels under his pillow, I tried to angle and fold the pillow, the mattress was OK but we had doors slamming aswell during the night to.
Double bed was very small it seem.
TV was very basic, so bring entertainment of staying awhile, we like to have TV on in the background going to sleep but it was just pretty much channel's 1-5.
Shower we had to turn the handle all the way to red to get some hot water.
Breakfast prices were extremely expensive when being a family, it would of cost £12.50-£15 per person, with me being vegetarian and then having an 8 year old, it's not value so we did not bother with the restaurant, we also got multiple emails and asked when we checked in (I know staff have to ask) if we want to book breakfast.

Positives again are staff, they were lovely!
Though the few areas, overall the room was clean and felt clean.
Plenty of seating and cupboard space if needed.
Good check out times if needed.
Location is OK, I guess depending on what you'll like to do.
Curtains are good black out ones it seems

If we were staying more then one night we would of mentioned the pillow situation or see if we could change, again, this is not about staff atall but I did not find it value for money as such, we wanted a good night sleep for a long drive the next day and spent most the night, if not all awake and sore in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S4fetyman wrote a review Jan 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom69 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When arriving at the hotel there was ample free parking, the check in procedure was efficient and the lady on the desk was very polite. the room was clean and very spacious, my evening meal was very tasty though the beer was a tad expensive. a very good night sleep which is very unusual for me as I am a bad sleeper. breakfast was excellent and the quality of the food was super.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: try not to have a corridor door close to your room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hlpendula wrote a review Sept 2020
Wisbech, United Kingdom56 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a 3-for-2 weekend through the Best Western offer. We found the hotel was well located and serviced the local golf course.
We booked a golf course view room on the ground floor which was close to the Reception but did not suffer from any noise whatsoever.
Understandably, due to covid, some of the facilities were reduced but did not impact our stay.
The room was very clean and tidy and appeared that it maybe had been decorated during lockdown.
All of the staff we had contact with were especially polite and smiling and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was served at the restaurant table and not in a box as described. All of the food was of high quality although the dinner menu had been reduced to cope with Covid staffing levels.
Overall we had a very pleasant and relaxing break.
No air conditioning in the room and we found the continental quilts very heavy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose golf view rooms at a premium, otherwise you will be overlooking the car park.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chiora wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom148 contributions120 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 2 nights here on a Wowcher deal - 2 nights B&B and dinner on the 1st night and it was excellent value. The best thing about it was the staff - they were all incredibly friendly, helpful and cheerful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The other outstanding feature was the food. The dinner was really excellent - so good we ate there on the 2nd night. Breakfast was also very good. Our room was fine if a little small and the bathroom was also small. It was spotless clean but the shower pressure was very poor. Fortunately there was a bathtub as the shower really was inadequate. The bedroom and bathroom looked like they had recently been refurbished but the public areas of the hotel were very dated and shabby in places. The main restaurant and bar were a little dull and lacking in atmosphere, but the conservatory where we ate was very pleasant and the grounds and outside eating areas looked fabulous, but sadly it rained for most of the time we were there. The hotel is a few miles outside of Bath but convenient for getting into Bath and the local area. There's a Park & Ride about 10 minutes down a straight road from the hotel. We had a nice stay here and once more I'd like to thank the amazing staff on reception and in the restaurant for their excellent, cheerful service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The manager at the centurion booked a heavy mental band to play all night, resulting in 80% of guests leaving very up set . Our group paid over £200 to have what we thought was going to be a good time with music and dancing and instead had to sit llistening to pink flloyd up to 10:30 with nobody able to dance. When we complained to the manager he said he liked pink flloyd that’s why he booked them with no apology and no consideration to a paying customer, we will never go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Centurion-Bath, General Manager at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear Mandy Thank you for your comments. Your 80% of guest leaving upset is absolutly incorrect! We advertised the band Ultimate Floyd to play for NYE and that is what we put on. After we had done food we did have guests up dancing to the music. We booked the band as the past twice they have played in our bar it has been full. I do completely understand if you don't like Pink Floyd then it wouldn't have been the night for you. But that is what we advertised we were doing and at the end of the night had a room full of happy customers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alexhall7 wrote a review Aug 2021
Derbyshire, United Kingdom19 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This exceeded expectations, when you enter through reception there is a lovely sitting room straight ahead when you first enter. The reception staff are warm and friendly and couldn’t have provided a better service. The great hospitality continued as we were shown around the gym and spa. The restaurant was wonderful, albeit a small menu to choose from the food was insane. The breakfast was also insane. The staff really make this place as they are so accommodating and it was a wonderful break. The rooms are modern and clean too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
james4011 asked a question May 2023
10 contributions10 helpful votes
Do you welcome dogs to stay
Hayasoleil asked a question Feb 2021
Wye, United Kingdom35 contributions16 helpful votes
Hi, how are the spa facilities? Pool? Sauna? Steam room? Thanks!
Paul B asked a question Oct 2019
Plymouth, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Will the swimming pool be open in November?
Answer from Escape49817720707
Stockport, United Kingdom1 contribution
Don’t honestly know Paul, I suggest you ring the hotel and ask.
Annette R asked a question Nov 2018
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Are there hairdryers in rooms ?
Answer from Derek G
Spalding, United Kingdom135 contributions60 helpful votes
Yes
Annette R asked a question Nov 2018
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Can towels be provided for jacuzzi ?
Answer from Derek G
Spalding, United Kingdom135 contributions60 helpful votes
Yes towels are provided for the spa
belliestravels wrote a tip Mar 2024
Weymouth, United Kingdom16 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and get free upgrade for gold course view from bedroom."
Read full review
Lisa H wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Order cooked breakfast, it's delicious, hot and fresh."
Read full review
TheSalfordOne wrote a tip Oct 2023
Manchester299 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don't like spiders, keep the windows closed."
Read full review
Leanne H wrote a tip Sept 2023
Andover, United Kingdom2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Website states the hotel has a spa but it doesn’t, it just has a gym."
Read full review
1stnubianq wrote a tip Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom33 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking included. A decent size gym is available. If visiting Bath, Receptionist tipped me to use park and ride. Best tip of all. Cheap n cheerful."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Midsomer Norton area.
PRICE RANGE
£77 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western midsomer norton, midsomer norton best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetMidsomer Norton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PLUS CENTURION HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Alexandra Park (2.2 miles), Radstock Museum (1.6 miles), and The Walled Garden at Mells (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Castello Restaurant, The Litton, and The Old Station Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Midsomer Norton.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Roman Baths (8.7 miles), Shepton Mallet Prison (6.7 miles), and Bath's Old Orchard Street Theatre (8.7 miles).
Does Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Midsomer Norton HotelsMidsomer Norton Hotel DealsHotels near Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire