We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel J

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel J
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 324: English reviews
Frizington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel J is located on the coast an inexpensive, very regular, 30 minute ferry ride from the city. From Arlanda airport its a 45 minute 650 kr fixed price with Stockholm Taxi (really good). The hotel has great sea views and the decor/style is a Scandi/New England mix - lovely. Bizarrely breakfast is served in a close by, seperate but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timothy k
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear timothy k, Thank you for writing this lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our restaurant. Look forward to welcome you back in the summertime Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic sea front location, and a team of naturally kind and helpful staff. A new added hotel to the SPG but honestly very premitive with quality of service, amenities, breakfast and no recognition to loyal members or any treats. The bed is King size but poor in comfort, the bar is shrinked to a few self service and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KorsGeorge
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear KorsGeorge, thank you for staying at Hotel J and for your review. I'm sorry your expectations were not met. Hotel J is not a full SPG member but, together with The Design Hotels, is a partner hotel to SPG. That's why we do not give the same recognitions and treats that other full SPG hotels does. However I appreciate...

Patong, Thailand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely hotel, excellent rooms, very helpful staff, excellent breakfast and lovely views of the bays around Stockholm. It is a 30 min ferry ride or 20 min bus ride into Stockholm but that added to sense of a holiday. We felt we were in a country town rather than a capital city. A large shopping centre was a brisk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme5353
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear Graeme5353, thank you for sharing this lovely review. Glad you enjoyed our hotel and our staff. Look forward to welcome you back soon again Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

First, a quick summary on how to reach the hotel from Stockholm city centre. Unless you prefer to get a taxi, the best options are to travel by either bus or ferry. The bus journey takes only 13 minutes and departs from Slussen, just outside Slussen T-bana station. Get the 443 bus in the direction of Jarlaberg and alight at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Curly_Kale64
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear Curly_Kale64, thank you for taking your time to write this review Glad you enjoyed our hotel and our beautiful surroundings My team and I hope we can welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

Trujillo, Spain
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Great hotel, situated on Nacka Strand about 20 minutes ferry ride from central Stockholm therefore peaceful and relaxing after busy days spent sight seeing. Rooms are tastefully decorated in nautical themes with the Newport rooms overlooking the sea with fabulous balcony. Very comfortable beds, well equipped bathrooms with luxury toiletries. Breakfast is served in a small villa in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear Lucy M, thank you for this lovely review. I'm pleased you had a peaceful stay and enjoyed our hotel Hope we can welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm again Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

Reviewed 1 December 2016

Stayed here over a weekend in the late summer, August 2016. Upsides are obvious - beautiful views, peace and quiet, well designed rooms. I think it would be a great place to stay on a 2nd or 3rd trip to Stockholm, or for a weeklong trip. For a first time weekend trip as we were on, it was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen Z
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear Helen Z, thank you for staying at Hotel J and for taking your time to write this review. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm. Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Okay - let's go through it in the usual order... Staff: from reception staff to those in the restaurant and serving in the bar, they were all very helpful and polite, and spoke excellent English. They were quick, too, which is especially good for Sweden. Room: one of the nicest I've stayed in this year (and that's a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phinhall
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear phinhall, thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our services. Sorry for the weather, fortunatelly it doesn't happen to often! Warm welcome back next time you will be visiting Stockholm. Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I've not stayed in a hotel quite like the hotel J before. It has an ambience more reminiscent of a private members club than a hotel and this makes it a very addictive place to be. The main hub of the hotel is the guest lounge where a log fire and an honour based food and drink system are surrounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank latchy9
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear latchy9, thank you for writing this review and for your feedbacks. I'm pleased your overall stay was good and you hade a nice experience of our Hotel and our staff. Warm welcome back next time you will be visiting Stockholm Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with easy access to central Stockholm by ferry. Amazing to see the ships sail by at the bottom of the garden. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were comfortable. We had a partial view of the water for no extra cost. The bar and food area in the lobby was useful when we were too tired to go out for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wellopointgirl
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear wellopointgirl, thank you for sharing this lovely review My team and I are very pleased to know you had a pleasant stay Warm welcome back next time you will be visiting Stockholm Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in August and loved it. The hotel is stylish, the rooms are spacious, the views are amazing and the setting is idyllic. The hotel itself is modern, but breakfast is served in a restored building by the waterside complete with antiques and atmospheric candlelight. Breakfast is a large buffet with something for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate M
Management_Hotel_J, Hotelldirektör at Hotel J, responded to this review

Dear Kate M, thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review It's a pleasure to know you liked our venues and enjoyed the hotel and the food in our restaurant Look forward to welcome you back next time you will be visiting Stockholm Best regards Maurizio Barberis Managing Director

628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (367)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (224)
Viewed
J Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
J Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 159 in Stockholm
1,198 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 159 in Stockholm
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 159 in Stockholm
490 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 159 in Stockholm
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel J

Address: Ellensviksvagen 1, Nacka 131 27, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Price Range: £90 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County, Sweden - Nacka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel J staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel J staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have better views”
  • View from the front of Hotel J
 of 5 bubbles Graeme5353, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on floor 1 or 2 - otherwise you'll have a 2 elevator trek to your room.”
  • Snowy, but what a view!
 of 5 bubbles phinhall, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It's worth paying more for water views and a balcony or terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles katemF2934TC, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast in outer building on lower level”
 of 5 bubbles garethw199, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles erikb409, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay