We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club

Avd del Atlantico S/N, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife Spain
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (3045)
Room & Suite (444)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 resorts in Golf del Sur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club is situated on the southern tip of Tenerife’s Golf del Sur, in San Miguel de Abona, and overlooks the Atlantic Ocean. It features a large heated outdoor pool, children’s pool, outdoor whirlpool, chill-out terrace, fitness centre and spa with sauna and whirlpool. Other activities include a children’s Creature Club during the day, playground, a game room and a disco in the evening. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. The air-conditioned apartments include a well-equipped kitchen with oven, hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee machine. Each apartment has a private bathroom with bath or shower and hairdryer. Satellite TV, a DVD player and iHome alarm clock are also provided. Some apartments include a balcony or terrace. The popular Melrose restaurant offers a range of local and international cuisine and guests can enjoy a drink or snack in the pool bar. For your convenience a grocery store is also available on-site. Siam Park is just 10
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Diving
Aerobics
Indoor play area for children
Car park
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Avd del Atlantico S/N, 38620 Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife Spain
Name/address in local language
Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
3,429Reviews490Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,912
  • 1,008
  • 268
  • 114
  • 127
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kristy S wrote a review Yesterday
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked this hotel when we booked a trip to Tenerife to catch some sunshine after the depressing British weather we've been having lately. The hotel looked nice, the pool looked great - our son swims so this looked a great size for him to swim in. We arrived around 2am to the hotel, checked in - the reception area seemed nice. We'd read reviews that you have to pre-book sunbeds , which it doesn't say anywhere on the hotel description, so we asked about that when we checked in. The guy at reception said "yes" ... OK ... how do we book sunbeds please? We were told we had to go to the pool guy when the pool opens and he will allocate us beds. I've never heard this before, but OK. Just chit chatting to the receptionist we asked if they were busy, he said they were completely full. We were shown to our room. Baring in mind it was 2am, we were tired and just jumped into bed, but we did notice the bathroom was dirty ... but we just slept. In the morning, woke up, opened the curtains to our balcony, to be greeted by sunbeds right up against our balcony wall (we were on the ground floor), and the sunbeds were RIGHT UP AGAINST our wall, I'm not joking! There was no privacy whatsoever, oh, and no sun! We then noticed the bathroom in better light, absolutely filthy, the bath we would not have washed in, it was disgusting. When we opened our front door we were hit with sewage smell! it was horrendous! The smell made me feel sick (I'm not exaggerating). We went out to the pool to book our beds, to be told you have to book a day in advance, and 2 to get a good bed, so we were stuck with some beds at the back of the hotel in the shade, and when we found them someone had put their towels on them so we effectively had 2 beds for 4 of us! We didn't come on holiday to sit in the shade! The beds we'd managed to book the next day were also at the back of the hotel, on the walkway of everyone. I do want to say the pool looked great, it was a good sized pool. However, by this point, we'd had enough. We went to reception - our 16 and 11 year old children both said it smelt like "poo" when we opened the door again - informed them we were checking out, and the reasons why, they said they'd move us to a different room (but I thought you were full??) so they mean they would have given us someone else's room who was arriving and give them ours ... nice! We checked out and went to a hotel up in Cost Adeje (Ramada) which was a similar star rating to this, but so much nicer! My son commented on how lovely it smelled when we got there! I put a complaint into the company we booked the hotel with, to which I received a response from the hotel direct to say if we had told them the bathroom was dirty they would have cleaned it for us, they also offered us a different room, but we said we'd already booked into a different hotel. I replied to say I shouldn't have to tell them my bathroom is dirty, it should be clean when I arrive! I was quite shocked at their response. Won't be going back there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We didn't stay long enough, but we ordered a car as it's a gold report so not much around. There...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ketty Alvarez, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded today
Dear guest Thank you for sharing your experience with us and at the same time we apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. We have taken note of the aspects where the hotel has not met your expectations and they have been passed to the heads of these areas for their consideration because we always try to make our guests feel special and regret that we were not successful in your case. Once again we are sincerely sorry to read that we were unable to meet all of your expectations as we constantly try to provide our guests with the best services and experiences, and we can only hope that you may reconsider giving us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and change your unfortunate opinion of our hotel. Best regards Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lackofsleep2014 wrote a review Mar 2024
Farnborough, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Just got back from Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We only stayed for 5 days. But a great 5 days. Everything is how it should be. I really like booking system for sun beds, Hotel happy hour and general appearance of the whole building and facilities. Shop well stocked, Staff very helpful, apartment had everting you needed for your stay. I would go back and I would recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Cordido, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking your time in leaving your comments in regards to your stay with us and always a pleasure to meet our clients expectations. Look forward to see you again in the near future. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
M4B wrote a review 10 Apr
Burnopfield, United Kingdom74 contributions96 helpful votes
We booked this as a short break (just 4 nights) when we saw cheap flights and took a chance on a good deal with Booking.com for this hotel. We wish we’d had longer as we loved it here. Fantastically clean and spacious apartment with modern amenities and excellent facilities. We loved the reserved sun beds idea as it just meant you didn’t have to set alarms to claim beds. The pool was warm too which is a bonus for Easter time. The only reason why I didn’t give it 5 stars is because check in was slow and we’d had a long day and it was frustrating. Location: a few okay restaurants to the right when you come out to the beach front. But if you turn left and walk the coastal path, you’ll come to San Blas with more choice of bars and restaurants. Highly recommend this walk as the views are stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ketty Alvarez, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest First, we would like to thank you for choosing Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club hotel for your previous holidays and for your time in sharing your views in Trip Advisor. Your feedback is extremely important for us as it allows us to detect areas of improvements. We are very sorry for the problems occurred during your holidays in the check in. Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Best regards Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Colette O wrote a review 9 Apr
1 contribution
We had a lovely stay in the Santa Barbara golf and ocean club. It was spotlessly clean and had all amenities. The pool area was so well managed the girls especially made such an effort to make sure everyone got a sunbed in their happy jovial manner even when I noticed some getting irate when their was a problem with a family not occupying their beds before 11am. The breakfast at the pool bar was a little disappointing with it been cold but the younger people in my family didnt seam to mind
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ketty Alvarez, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest We would like to thank you for sharing your positive review. We are delighted that your experience was so pleasant at our Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club We have taken note of the aspects where the hotel has not met your expectations and they have been passed to the heads of these areas for their consideration Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stewart and Ang... W wrote a review 2 Apr
2 contributions
Good hotel, spotlessly clean, excellent quiet location. Staff all very friendly. Restaurants and supermarket close by . Could do with better signage when exiting lfts. Food, which be believe is outsourced, not particularly good or value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ketty Alvarez, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest We would like to thank you for sharing your positive review. We are delighted that your experience was so pleasant at our Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. In regards the feedback about the food, as you may know, this is an external company, nevertheless we will pass this to our Food and Beverage manager. Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paulius P wrote a review Mar 2024
Staffordshire, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
BAD EXPERIENCE, WOULD NOT RECOMMEND FOR FAMILIES WITH YOUNG KIDS We booked a 1 beddroom appartament 4 months ahead of our visit. We sent an email with a concern of bed smells mentioned in reviews by other customers and was promissed it will be addressed once we arrive. But after checkin we found that our room is on the furthest corner of the entire hotel, straight in front of a sewer. Roo. 762. It was very dark room, with a bit of sunlight from 4pm and guess what, bad smells - every day. When raised this issue with staff, they "checked" but did not felt any smells. Why would they. We think, becasue we had a small 3y old child, we were moved to the darkest stinky corner of a hotel away from most other visitors, so that young families dont distract others guest. Dissapointed and will not be returning
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Cordido, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest Apologies for not being able to meet your expectations and a shame to know you won't return with us. Worth to mention that apartment 762 is facing the ocean, which was your request, not a sewage plant as you state in your comments and also smell does not come on a daily basis, this is something that rarely may happen and when it does, the external company goes to this sewage to clean and/or do proper maintenance and get rid of it, but it does not affect us only but the whole area Golf del Sur. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lmhighland wrote a review Mar 2024
Scotland, United Kingdom221 contributions103 helpful votes
If you are assigned room 203, prepare to be disappointed , as your balcony will have a view of …a wall. The images of this hotel online do not suggest that rooms can have , “ a wall view,” We asked several times for a room change, but were fobbed off and told the hotel was fully booked. Booking sites however, suggested otherwise. It was also blatantly obvious from the reactions of the desk staff, when we complained, that room 203 had been a problem for other guests too. .Disappointed, do not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 203 and potentially adjoining rooms, due to balcony facing a wall. Expect lengthy...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Cordido, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest We are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations while staying with us. In fact, most of apartments have sea/pool view, but not all and this information is well displayed in websites before our clients make the reservation. If you want to have a particular view or layout in the apartment, we invite our guest to make a request prior arrival and will do our best to try to accomplish it. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ath1343349 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Very comfortable and clean apartment with ocean view. Reception staff friendly and welcoming. Well stocked supermarket on site. General areas well maintained. Close to airport but not too bothered by aircraft noise.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Cordido, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for the score given to our property and for your comments. It is a pleasure to meet your expectations and look forward to your next visit with us. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
liciniu2015 wrote a review Mar 2024
Sibiu, Romania3 contributions4 helpful votes
the single thing missing was having a little beach nearby, otherwise very very good aparts , ultra equiped , quiet . Very affordable looking at other properties on the island. Staf was friendly , and the garage underground is a must on this crowded island.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Cordido, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest Thank you for taking your time in leaving your comments in regards to your stay with us. About a nearby beach, we only have pebble beaches around and town hall is under a project where a sandy beach should take place in the near future. Look forward to see you again in the near future. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bruceymou wrote a review Mar 2024
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Very enjoyable holiday in a well maintained resort. Having to book sunbeds, and only a day in advance, was like stepping back to Covid times. More notice is required for work carried out at front of resort as being woken at 0730 and told to move our car NOW is not the way to treat customers, we were recompensed so thank you. On arrival large towels in the apartment, when these were changed we were given smaller ones and never saw the larger ones again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Cordido, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and at the same time apologies for the call you received to move the car. I am really sorry about being woken up early in the morning to move the car from the car park outside reception, this was a programmed job that had to be carried out but unfortunately you were not aware of it, once again, please accept my apologies and at the same time, I am glad you were compensated for this issue. Also, worth to mention that our sunbed booking policy was carried to benefit our clients and allow them to have same rights for all and avoid booking sunbeds without using them. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Golf del Sur area.
PRICE RANGE
£75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
santa barbara golf & ocean club hotel san miguel de abona, santa barbara golf and ocean club, santa barbara hotel ocean, santa barbara resort ocean, santa barbara tenerife
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifeSan Miguel de AbonaGolf del Sur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
279
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANTA BARBARA GOLF AND OCEAN CLUB - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club
Which popular attractions are close to Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
Nearby attractions include Green Eleven - “A Compás” Flamenco Show (0.7 miles), Seven Islands Sports Bar (0.5 miles), and The Emerald Lounge (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arrozante, Pancake Cafe at Golf del Sur, and Old Fashioned 1986.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club have airport transportation?
Yes, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.