We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ankobra Beach Resort

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ankobra Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ankobra Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Spend a great long weekend at Ankobra, clean, unfussy chalets nicely done up with local prints, excellent food and a lovely beach which we happily swam from every day. There was never more than one other family on the beach during the day and the rocks at one end provided interest.

Thank oguns
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I and my 5 year old daughter spent 2 weeks in this nice place. It is a wonderful location for kids. The see is perfect during low low tide. Also the sand, the showers on the beach, the sommerhuts, and the palms which makes perfect shadow for the kids, the playground, the friendly people and the clean, secluded areal makes...

Thank ghanaurlaub
Sandema, Ghana
Reviewed 22 April 2010

The hotel was beautifully landscaped with the bugalows set back from the beach. While they are close to one another once inside a bungalow there is a sense of privacy because the view from the windows shows no other bungalows. The room was artistically decorated with bright Ghanaian fabrics and local art on the walls. The lamps were also made...

Thank sevichase
Wallington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I first stayed here in 2000 and have long regarded the beach on which this hotel is locates as one of the finest in the world (that was before going to Sierra Leone but that is another matter). I therefore decided to take my father and another relative both in their 70s when they visited me in Ghana. I heard...

1Thank AndrewF007
Reviewed 29 December 2009

i think its fair to say that he previous reviews on this resort was not to its best.Beach not suitable to swim as on the shore line their are many rocks and my friend and husband both cut their foot, all guests went to nearby resorts, axim beach and Lou Moon.Food was horrible, over priced, breakfast was not as said...

2Thank susuAccra
witchswitch, Manager at Ankobra Beach Resort, responded to this review

This was 2009...shortly after we took over the management with lots of challanges! The place has transformed totaly - that´s what people tell us daily! Now all rooms do have aircon, tv, fridge and hotwater. The beach is hudge and has special recommended accesses where you definetly won´t find any rocks! Sorry if you got hurt! Rocks are seasonable only...

Reviewed 11 September 2009

If you haven't been to the Beach Resort at Ankobra lately, put it on your agenda next time, because the place has seen a grand transformation! There's a new German management in place and the change is palpable: new childrens' playground, attentive management, better food and services. The old magic is back, the beach is still magnificent, clean and safe....

Thank Asonabakwadwo
Reviewed 10 September 2009

we stayed in ankobra for almost a week. the beach is wonderful - clean and flat - and the bungalows are perfect for the few steps from the beach so you can take an afternoon siesta. the staf are friendly and helpful. there was no hassle - as you sometimes have on the beach in ghana. Klaus and Ines -...

Thank lostinwestafrica
Reviewed 4 April 2009

The Ankobra Beach Resort is a wonderful and exquisite natural resort in the south-west of Ghana. It has a few charming and very clean bungalows in green and well-tended environment. You get breackfast and culinary delights of Africa and Europe in a central open lodge. Very welcome people, helpful and well organized! Very clean and lonely sandy beach with service...

1Thank ottomuc

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (103)
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Room/Suite (3)
Dining (1)
View from Room (5)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (34)
Room/Suite (6)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Dining (3)
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axim
3.5 mi away
Axim Beach Hotel
Axim Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Axim
127 reviews
69.0 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takoradi Select
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takorad...
#2 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Akwidaa Inn
Akwidaa Inn
#1 of 1 in Akwidaa
3 reviews
23.5 mi away
Busua Waves Resort
Busua Waves Resort
#1 of 1 in Busua
63 reviews
24.8 mi away
Green Zion Garden Ecolodge
Green Zion Garden Ecolodge
#3 of 24 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ankobra Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“eco room does not have aircon”
charlesbG3570AV, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The executive huts are the nicest and best location, but all of the other accommodations are nice also.”
travelingirl56, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Chalets are next to the beach and surrounded by vegetation;”
vet0n0, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Great value, good level of comfort!”
martinsL3190RS, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Standard rooms have a better view of the sea than the Eco rooms which don't have direct view to the sea.”
VCMO, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$30* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates