We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merry Pebbles Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Merry Pebbles Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merry Pebbles Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed in the "Plettenberg", right on the river. Small, yet functional, clean accommodation, at a reasonable rate. The facilities are not new or flashy, which doesn't matter at all, considering how immaculately it is maintained. From accommodation, grounds, kids facilities, swimming pools - to the well-stocked shop and the restaurant, it is clear that attention to guest comfort and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlduToit
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Carl, Thanks for the positive review, hope to see you back soon. Regards Walter

Pretoria
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The cleaner washed the dishes as well as the rest, that was nice. Clean space. One bathroom for 7 people is a bit just hey... Lovely weather in august, not too hot and not too cold. Big closet space available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 750ul
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your positive review, hope to see you guys again soon. Regards Walter

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Been there before many years ago, always expected to be back, just as good, if not better. Did not use all the facilities as we were only one night. Convenient, open spaces, quiet, large chalets with first classes finishes! Will be back with the family for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggnw
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ggnw, Glad we met your expectations. Hope to see you soon again. Thanks for the positive review. Regards Walter

Barberton, South Africa
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The camp sites are all beautifully maintained and the ablution blocks are clean. Camping next to the river is a wonderful and relaxing experience and my husband enjoyed fly fishing in the river. Sitting in the river itself, sipping on a cocktail was the best however. Nature at it's best. The shop is well stocked with everything you might need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elize44
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Dear Elize, So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon. Regards Walter

White River, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Spent a long weekend at Merry Pebbles in Sabie. It was a wonderful four days to relax and watch the wildlife. My husband done some fly fishing an I watched the resident otter fishing. Camping facilities are very clean and each spot has its own power point. Ablutions are clean and well maintained. The little shop is well stocked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazvw
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Cazvw, Glad you enjoyed your well deserved break with us. Regards Walter

White River, South Africa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Very good value and peaceful.The Sabie River was unfortunately too low for fishing for the elusive trouts , but the rest of the caravan park , chalets and ablutions are being looked after very well.. .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 271carelj
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Carlej, So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope the rains come soon. Regards Walter

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Lot's of great waterfalls to view in the Sabie surroundings, horseriding at Grant (Yorkdale stables) is lovely and the Blyde River Canyon is stunning. The house where we staid was clean and spacious, we didn't miss a thing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yessekles
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Dear Yssekles, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you soon. Regards Walter

eMalahleni, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Our stay at Merry Pebbles was really relaxing, we will definitely return. The biggest attraction for us was the mountain bike trails in the area. Our only complaint is that the hot water was not really hot, I suspect they run a solar heating system, which will be sufficient in summer, but not really in winter.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gehardd2016
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Gerhard, So glad you enjoyed your stay at Merry Pebbles, we are busy upgrading our hot water system. It was supposed to have been complete in April but due to a few setbacks we are running behind schedule, all should be online next week. Regards Walter

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Merry Pebbels is a terrific place to camp for a few days. Great amenities and very good security. No day visitors is allowed which makes it very nice and quite. On site shop with liquor store. One complaint that I have. In the bottom men's bathroom, the motion sensor that controls the lights, does not pick up movement in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Koen K
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Hi Koen, Thank you for the review and constructive advise, we will look into the issue. Regards Walter

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Stayed in the lodge with family and friends. The location is awesome, close to attractions and activities. Enjoyed the lodge facilities such as heated pool, volleyball etc. Reception and restaurant staff were very friendly. However, the rooms were quite cold due to winter, no sufficient heating provided which affected the sleep quality. Cleanliness and room service can be improved. Nevertheless,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 295em
waltercomley, Owner at Merry Pebbles Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. Regards Walter

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
0.5 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
2.3 mi away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#7 of 16 in Sabie
67 reviews
11.9 mi away
Valley View Backpackers
Valley View Backpackers
#5 of 13 in Graskop
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sabie River Camp
Sabie River Camp
#2 of 16 in Sabie
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
1.0 mi away
Sabie Self Catering Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merry Pebbles Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Merry Pebbles Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are multiple options to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles zohaibk167, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are fine”
 of 5 bubbles yusufs515, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“stand 42 is best.”
 of 5 bubbles 48charlies, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
“No. 20 is my favourite withna lovely view of the river and gardens”
 of 5 bubbles umfana, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Great camping ground to visit Kruger, National Park”
 of 5 bubbles Heepa, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5