Royal Sun Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Royal Sun Resort

Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife Spain
What a view from our spacious terrace
Traveller (2831)
Panorama at the Royal Sun Resort
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (753)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Los Gigantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Standing proudly against the backdrop of the majestic cliffs that give their name to the tranquil resort village of Los Gigantes ("The Giants"), the Royal Sun Resort is set on one of the cliffs' highest points, with unsurpassed views of the village, the charming marina, and the sea beyond. Quality is the hallmark of every aspect of the Royal Sun Resort, from the tasteful, designer-furnished apartments and the choice of on-site restaurants, to the level of the service offered by the friendly staff. Two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults, are set in the middle of the complex, with a sparkling waterfall flowing from one to the other and superb panoramic views from their surrounding sunbathing terraces. Next to the swimming pools is the pool bar "Oasis Abraxas", supplying the perfect refreshments to keep you cool whilst sunbathing. From elegant dining in "Aqua" restaurant, managed by Lucas Maes, one of the prestigious Canarian chefs, to thematic buffets in the sophisticated "Regency" restaurant with its splendid views, the range of restaurants within the complex serves every taste. For evening entertainment, try the impressive "Imperial" bar and lounge, complete with an entertainment area where regular shows take place. If you like a bit of activity, the modern gym and the aerobics room should keep you busy. One hundred and twenty apartments are spread over six floors, linked by corridors and lifts. There one-bedroom, two-bedrooms and three-bedrooms apartments, all spacious and comfortable with designer furnishings including air conditioning in lounge areas, satellite flat screen TV, direct dial telephone, free wifi, and a complete kitchen. The bathrooms have a walk in shower. Bedrooms have a double bed and a large private balcony or terrace furnished with sun beds, a table, and chairs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Boating
Canoeing
Children's playground
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Snorkelling
Squash
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more

Location

Calle Geranio 16, 38683 Los Gigantes, Tenerife Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Sur Reina Sofia Airport
21.4 mi
See all flights
La Gomera Airport
27.1 mi
See all flights
2,913Reviews435Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,897
  • 770
  • 154
  • 52
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ruth L wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is lovely. We stayed in a luxury suite on the 5th floor. The apartment was really spacious and very clean with a huge balcony. They look exactly like the website so no need to worry that what is advertised is not what you get. We got sun from around 10.30 am until the sun went down so perfect for sunbathing. The view is sensational and the location we found perfect as it is a short walk into town but far enough up the hill that you get fantastic views. The village is lovely and felt very safe and quiet.

There were a couple of minor points- we asked for clean towels for the pool and we were told we would have to fill a form in, take it to reception and pay a Euro then take the form back to the pool for a new towel. It was not worth the effort so we just used our room towels. I think clean towels for people should be encouraged as it would be better for Covid rather than discouraging people from changing them and therefore swapping germs between sunbeds and the rooms. We are used to staying in hotels where you get new towels every day. We would rather have paid £5 extra on the price of our stay than pay a Euro every time and fill out a form.

Also there was no bar open in the evening or any evening entertainment which we were a bit disappointing in. However the A la Cart meals for the Half Board dining made up for this as the food was exceptional.

The water pressure in the shower was not that good, this meant we couldn't use the rain head shower and had to use the handheld. Bathroom facilities were good though, newly refurbished, two sinks, a bath, a walk in shower and an opening window.

All in all a fantastic stay and we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views, I don't think there are any bad ones.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Akkerman, General Manager at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Dear T9786VKruthl, Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor!! We are sorry to hear that the water pressure wasn’t good enough during your stay. We generally don’t have this issue in our apartments. I can only hope that you reported it at the reception so that it could have been fixed. Regarding the towels, I believe there has been a misunderstanding here, as no form is needed to be presented at the reception, but a small receipt accepting the charges when changing towels for a small fee of 1€ per towel/change. Sorry for the confusion. This is something we do to conscious people about wasting the precious resources in the Island. The small fee of 1€ doesn´t even cover the cost. Also, for your reassurance, all our sunbeds are disinfected after each guest use following the established protocols. That said, we´re pleased to know that you liked very much our apartments, clean, spacious and with panoramic views, not forgetting the huge private balcony that comes with it!! Thank you once more for choosing us and for the trust deposited on us. We hope you had a safe journey back home and we look much forward to seeing you all very soon!! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gog wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a week at the Royal Sun Resort. It is strange that the hotel does not appear in the tui brochure, but is online. Having arrived late we were ushered to the restaurant for supper whilst all the paper work was completed. We could not fault the reception staff throughout the week, always friendly, helpful and more important a smile. The accommodation is spacious with a fitted small kitchenette adjoining a lounge, large bathroom with a walk in shower and a sizeable bedroom with a comfortable king size bed. There is ample storage for clothing.Some of the fittings are worn and dated, but did not distract from the comfort of the accommodation.
The large balcony has superb views of the town below, the sea and the island of la Gomera. Do not miss the magnificent sunsets. The balcony is large enough for a table, four chairs and two sun beds.
We were on a half board basis and have no complaints about the food. There should be ample choice for all tastes especially the fresh fruit at breakfast. No complaints about the coffee machine! The fresh bread was delicious. As usual with buffet menus the cooked food could be a bit hotter. The dining room is very bright and it is a joy to eat on the terrace on a warm evening. The staff are very polite, friendly and efficient.
There are plenty of sun beds around the pool - and it is heated! Pool towels are available for 20€ deposit.
It was surprising that we had to pay 3€ a day for the security safe.
There is some evening entertainment, but not very well supported. This may be due to a lack of publicity and advertising around the hotel.
Other reviews have mentioned the location of the hotel so will not be repeated.
I have given an excellent rating because we were so happy with the accommodation despite minimal minus points which did not distract from the quality of the holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Excellent views from all floors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RoyalSunTF, Guest Services Department at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear cymro46, Many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!!! Thank you for your 5-stars scoring. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the resort facilities and the service provided by the team was topnotch. We believe that breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day, therefore we only offer the best product available, seasonal and cooked per order on a daily basis, thanks for noticing and sharing!! The resort offer certain free of charge facilities, such Wifi, squash court and gymnasium. We are sorry to hear that you found the safety deposit box to be a pay service. All in all, it seems to be that you had a great time. We invite you to return and we look much forward to it !! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gavinandchris wrote a review Jan 2020
Sulby, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had done a lot of research prior to our December visit to Tenerife, both about the resort and about Los Gigantes itself. The reviews were very helpful and accurate..... the Royal Sun certainly does have an exceptional location with magnificent views over the town, marina and cliffs and on a clear day La Gomera looks stunning. The facilities are excellent and the buffet breakfast on the terrace was a great way to start the day. We did find information about both on site restaurants hard to find however. Perhaps a more detailed leaflet showing menus could be part of the welcome pack in the rooms?

Los Gigantes itself is very attractive with many reasonably priced bars and restaurants. We took the bus to Costa San Juan to visit the Wednesday market and did the Whale and Dolphin two hour trip from the harbour. Both worth doing and the latter very reasonably priced although we only saw a few dolphins.

Would my wife and I stay at the Royal Sun again? Yes, most definitely! We have visited other parts of Tenerife before but this was certainly our favourite spot. I would also recommend trips to Mt. Teide and to Masca.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RoyalSunTF, Guest Services Department at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear gavinandchris, Many thanks for reviewing us on tripAdvisor!!! We´d like to start saying thank you for such detail review. Other travellers will appreciate reviews like your, especially when mentioning that other reviews are accurate. Yes it´s is true that we are in a privilege spot of the island and the surrounding and views are simply fantastic. Royal Sun Resort takes much effort to ensure everyone satisfaction, specially when food comes along. You see, we believe that in order to have a great day, it must start with a great breakfast!! Thanks again for taking the time reviewing us and we look much forward to host you once more in the near future. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paul e wrote a review Feb 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just about to leave here after 2 weeks of glorious sunshine.
When the coach dropped us off at first we thought oh my gosh, it’s a building site.
There are unfinished buildings with 2 huge cranes on site, metal shutters covering some of the site and another area where they’ve dug away the cliffs for another build, so it does look a mess.
However next to this is the Royal Sun Resort, the views are tremendous, you can’t get any higher in Los Gigantes. Reception was ok, quick and polite. The room was on the 4th floor, a large lounge, good size kitchen, separate bedroom with king size bed, very comfortable, and a large bathroom, all a little tired but very nice.
The views from the huge balcony are stunning, 180* of sea, cliffs and Los Gigantes.
To pay for these views you are 30 minutes walk down very steep hills to get to the town, or three and a half euros in a taxi. But we knew it was high up to get the views.
The breakfast was quite good, only complaint was everything was Luke warm, couldn’t eat the baked beans, they were so Luke warm it spoilt the breakfast.
Evening meal was a little disappointing, loads of salads, Luke warm soup, and a choice of fish or meat, freshly cooked whilst you wait.
If there were a few people in front of you , there was a 10 / 15 minute wait for your food.
Don’t put the garnishing on before you queue for the meat, it’ll be cold.
A little disappointing for the food, and the chef cooking the food was a little mean with the portions.
Drinks average price, but Lidl’s down the hill are very cheap on booze, and what a balcony you have to drink them on.
So a reasonable hotel, little tired, long walk up / down hills to the town, disappointing food generally, partly because everything was Luke warm, I did make a complaint to be advised we haven’t had that complaint for a while.
But speaking to other quests they agreed with me but didn’t want to ccomplain.
But had a brilliant time, mainly as the weather was glorious.
Would I come again - No.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: They all have fantastic views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RoyalSunTF, Guest Services Department at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Paul e, Thank you for taking the time reviewing us on TripAdvisor!! We are disappointed to hear you wouldn’t stay with us again. Reading your review, feels like you have judged us mainly for the construction site and the walk downtown. Many people like the fact we are away from the noise. Seems like Royal Sun Resort simply wasn´t for you. As per the food´s temperature, we must say that you ´ve been dinning in a buffet stile restaurant, were the food is exposed and so the temperature decrease. Shall you prefer something hot and recently cooked, then you had de option of enjoying your freshly meal cooked per order, however, you didn’t want to wait either. Sorry, but this is unfair… On the other hand, we are happy to learn that you have found the Team polite and efficient, and the glorious views was worth the exercise. Thanks again for sharing and we do hope you had safe journey back home. Bets regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
983jan wrote a review Feb 2022
Northwich, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay at Royal Sun. The apartments are very large and we rented a one bedroom apartment for two of us . The apartment had a very large bathroom, kitchen and open plan sitting area. The kitchen had a dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and oven with hob and grill. The toaster could have been a little more modern but that's just being picky.

There is a little supermarket on site for essentials but also an Aldi a 10minute walk away.

The bathroom was very clean with a large shower, toilet, bidet and built in wash basin. All completely tiled and fresh towels every day if required There was even a hairdryer next to a large mirror in the bathroom, unusual and great for females as it even had a diffuser and curl adaptor.

The lounge area had a sofa and two comfortable armchairs which was very comfortable, also a coffee table and television with English channels and great picture quality.

There was built in storage in the main living kitchen area with hanging rails and drawers and also storage in a built in cabinet under the television. From the lounge area there was a very large patio window leading onto the patio with sun loungers, table and chairs and drying rail. The view was overlooking the bay and harbour at Los Gigantes, a lovely place to sunbathe if you don't want to sit around the pool or take a trip into the town.

We had a very large bed which was two singles pushed together and comfortable pillows. The bedroom was light and airy with plenty of wardrobe space. There were bedside lamps and sockets.

If we had anything negative to say the apartment was a little old fashioned but it was very comfortable and very clean.

The staff at Royal Sun Resort are very helpful and courteous, each night except for one (due to the high winds) we would eat out in Los Gigantes. The reception staff would ring a taxi for us and it would arrive within 5 minutes and cost 5 Euros each way, Walking into Los Gigantes down the hill from Royal Sun is OK but its a bit far if over 30yrs! to get up the hill after a few drinks. Due to the Covid restrictions everything closed by midnight as they were in Tier 4 but it didn't spoil anything.

The restaurant buffet was really nice and good value, I think it was 20 euro each but you could help yourself to whatever you fancied, hot or cold food.

There is a very nice pool at Royal Sun with sun loungers and cocktail bar so you could be very happy spending the day relaxing around the pool. There is also a separate pool for small children on another level
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Apartments with a hot tub can be seen from apartments above you. All rooms have great views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Akkerman, Director General at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Dear 983jan, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. Your review is music to our ears; however, we can't determine what was missing to not getting a 5-star score 🤔. Nevertheless, we are still thrilled with reviews like yours!! We like to think we have everything you need (and much more) to ensure a great holiday; however, Covid-19 has made us re-think how to do things. Still, we are glad to say that where there's a will, there is a way. Thank you for your special mention to the staff, they indeed are unique as we would be the same without them. We hope you had a safe journey back home, and we look forward to seeing you back very soon. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seeingtheworld wrote a review Feb 2020
England
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very average establishment. The downstairs and entryway is drab and feels depressing. Compared to the 4star hotels in the area this one is significantly at the bottom of the choices available.
We won’t return to this hotel for the following reasons:

After waiting for some time at the lift the gentleman on reception shouted down to us to say the Lift was broken. Despite seeing we had 6 bottles of water and shopping he merely told us to use the stairs or walk to the farthest side of the hotel and try that lift. We chose to walk the 4 flights. We didn’t know where this lift was nor whether it was also broken. No one offered to assist.

The pool is small for the number of guests.

Although the balconies are spacious there is a distinct Lack of privacy. People above you are able to look down at you sunbathing and those to the side of you can see you unless you go right back towards the sliding door. You can hear people talking and the smell of smoking was unpleasant.

The kitchen is very dated and, most annoyingly, there is only one socket for the microwave, kettle and coffeemaker. This is ridiculous as in order to use more than one appliance you have to keep plugging and unplugging everything.

The tv monitor was faulty as it would judder when playing. You could see the pixels had been damaged.

There was no tea/coffee/sugar/milk/salt or pepper in the apartment. I asked at reception and the gentleman curtly responded they are not provided at all. In a 4 star resort you might expect at least the ability to have a cup of coffee or tea when you arrive. There are no dishwasher tablets so you must also buy these.

The location is fine provided you are fit.

The positives are the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom is spacious. The hotel was kept very clean throughout our stay. Our room was immaculate.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RoyalSunTF, Guest Services Department at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear perrygirl, Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor!! We are sorry to hear that you wouldn't return. Where most people seem fantastic food choice and great installations, you saw pretty much all wrong and negative, even the size of the light. Perhaps this resort merely isn't for you. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback towards the comfy beds, cleanness and space of the apartments. We are thrilled to learn that not all was negative and you've managed found something positive to share. Thanks again for your review and wishing you the very best!! Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jules F wrote a review Jul 2020
Wallasey, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We (myself, husband and 2 boys 12 and 15) stayed here in July 2020. The hotel were brilliant at making us feel safe after Covid-19 lock-down. Masks are to be worn, staff served us our breakfast rather than a buffet style and sanitisers were available throughout.
The hotel was impeccably clean, with the lifeguard regularly wiping handrails as people got in and out of the pool. All loungers were disinfected after every use, and parasols cleaned. No balls/flip-flops etc were allowed to be left at poolside for cross contamination. The hotel had an app, and a messaging service too which was really helpful.
The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient.
Lovely place, would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The balconies were massive, a lot of time spent here rather than by the pool too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Akkerman, Director General at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 1 Aug 2020
Dear julesf84, Many thanks for taking the time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor!!! Royal Sun Resort works very hard (specially lately) to ensure the safety of our employees and guests. Thanks to the effort made, we have received the certificate of Safe Tourism recently, so we couldn´t be prouder to create and safe environment and to be awarded for it!! Thank you so much for your feedback regarding the cleanliness and the efficiency delivered by the whole team. We hope you had a safe journey back home and we look much forward to seeing you all in the near future. Best regards, Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate321 wrote a review Sept 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went with my partner and my very inquisitive 18month old. We wasn't let down!! This was our 2nd time visiting (we stayed for 10nights 2years back) The Royal Sun Resort was top of our list, knowing how friendly and caring the staff are and how amazing the views and location is, not to mention the fabulous size rooms and balconies.

The food is always made fresh and is lovely, plenty of options and some stuff is made fresh to order.
My son has a food allergy and the chefs were brilliant. Made fresh omlettes for him every morning, and always checking what was in the food for us. It was never a problem.

The pool area and sunbeds are all spaced out nicely to current tier 3 restrictions and there's ample space & beds. No mad dash for a bed at 7am!!

It really does have such a relaxing zen about the place. The views out to sea are never boring, and you can sometimes see the dolphins!

The rooms are really spacessious and equipt with everything and more for self catering.
We went half board, and did a shop for lunch stuff (not that we really needed it after a big breakfast)
The bathroom is a lovely big size, and the balconies are massive!!

There are some building works going on but you can't hear any of the work. The big volcanic mountains swollows it all up. We regularly sat out on our balcony through out the day whilst works were going on and it really wasnt noisy at all. You only notice it when passing. Fun to watch too, my child's fav word is now digger!!

The staff where amazing on every level and across all departments! Even when I felt perhaps not all the guests/staff would appreciate a 18month old child running round of the evening it never felt an issue and the staff loved interacting with him. Everyone was really accommodating and the staff even more so.

Covid testing was really easy €5 in a taxi to the next town and it was done and dusted with our results within half an hour or so. Really easy 🙌.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gareth_williams17 wrote a review Feb 2020
Newport, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is clean and most of the staff polite and friendly however the reception desk can be abrupt, you boast show cooking where in fact it’s mass cooking, I totally agree with other comments saying the food is luke warm at best, only a few go in for breakfast but the chef insists on cooking over 30 eggs leaving them to go cold plus mounds of meat and other food stuff going cold, the hot plate might keep it warmer if they wasn’t so full, this food must all go to waste at the end of the sitting. I also found it disgusting you only change pool towels once per week, (unless you pay 3€) I’ve never heard of this before.
I hope the management takes this as constructive criticism.
Outside the hotel is a 20 min walk down hill to the very quiet restaurant and harbour area, tip of the holiday try the Italian restaurant up the road, just past the building site.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RoyalSunTF, Guest Servies Department at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear gareth_williams17 Many thanks for taking the time and reviewing us on tripAdvisor!! We are sorry to hear your disappointment about the food temperature and our pool towel policy. Please aloud me to clarify: For those guest that required freshly made dishes and hot but not warm, we have the Show cooking section, where dishes are bing prepared per order. Also, we have our attentive restaurant Team which are delighted to deal with any guest requirements. Not sure if you have spoken previously with someone at the restaurant, sincerely, I do hope so!! Our towel policy was fundamentally made looking and respecting at the environment. Not only Royal Sun Resort takes the planet and the resources very seriously, but also the very own Tour Operator that you have chosen when booking your Holidays. If you check carefully the TUI DIRECTIVE booklet, which is available at all times for guests to check over, state very clear the compromise to reduce contamination and resources, such electricity and water. We understand than some guests required more often change of towels, and therefore, the service is provided for a small fee of 3€. No one is forcing you to use the same towel, the choice is purely yours. Please note that many other resort may charge for pool towels use or not even give away one free change. Not only Royal Sun Resort provide de service completely free of charge, but we stand by our policies and the compromise to kind to the environment. We are sorry to learn that you don't see it the same way... We hope you had a pleasant flight back home and you manage to find something positive about our resort since you have mention none. Bets regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark R wrote a review Feb 2020
Surrey, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a family in a 2 bedroom apartment.

The apartment itself is perfect for self catering basis, and with supermarkets in walking or short drive location. The balcony is HUGE, complete with sun loungers, you don't need to leave to sunbathe!

Beds are comfortable, shower good, and kitchen does the job for sure.

Yes you're high up overlooking the habour, so yes an incline will be apparent when walking back up, but as people say you can get a taxi (we didn't) if you need it back up. We've holidayed in the Amalfi Coast, and this isn't steep!!!

A great eat out is Mamma Lucia at the end of the road - fantastic food and service but book in advance.

Royal Sun feels more a collection of apartments with a pool and reception than a hotel - we didn't eat in the hotel, as felt €12 per person (for 2 adults and 2 kids) was quite expensive .... would be a food idea to maybe subsidise guests for a day or 2 to try? Equally most other hotels we've been in have had a list up of 'themed food nights' for the restaurants as a 'tempter' didn't see this at all.

Again, if there was more info around the restaurants, even a discount for guests (as externals could eat there) it could tempt people further?

A word for the cleaners who do a fantastic and quick job in the apartments each day

All in all a great stay, fantastic weather, and would definitely consider again if we returned to Tenerife or the area
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RoyalSunTF, Guest Services Department at Royal Sun Resort
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear MarkR453, Thank you very much for you time reviewing us on TripAdvisor!! We are please to hear that you have found our apartments spacious and with everything you need for a great Holidays. Looking at your comments about the restaurant and discounts, We have some discount already on place when you buy breakfast of half board 5 or 7 days in advance at the reception. It's advertise all over the resort, also on the informative map given to you during check in. What a shame you miss it!! when buying 7 days breakfast, you will pay 10€ instead of 12€. Thanks for your kind words towards the Cleaning Team, they work so hard to ensure everything is sparkling clean, even better, when noticed by guest like you, THANK YOU!! We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and we look forward to seeing once more in the near future. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from John F
Newbold Verdon, United Kingdom1,001 contribution20 helpful votes
As stated no shuttle service. However the walk to the harbour is quite easy - downhill all the way. Three ways to go down - the road obviously. then from the end of the RS road there is a zig zag path that gets you down to one street before Tipsy Terrace. The third way is to walk down the road until after a couple of bends there is a path between buildings that comes to steps all the way down to the main square by the church.
allyheed asked a question May 2024
Coatbridge, United Kingdom101 contributions55 helpful votes
Hi there....do all the rooms have iron and hairdryer. thank you
Answer from John F
Newbold Verdon, United Kingdom1,001 contribution20 helpful votes
In addition if there is something you would like that isn't there just ask and there is every chance it will be provided. Back in Feb 4 of our family had an apartment for a week, So they could join us on our balcony (yes they are that big) we asked if we could have 4 extra chairs while they were there. They were provided without question.
Answer from Malcolm G
Southwell, United Kingdom65 contributions15 helpful votes
I think all the two bedroom (1 double, 1 twin) apartments have a single shower/sink/bidet/toilet between them. The penthouse rooms may have two, but they are slightly more expensive. Ring reception (phone number on their web site); they, or Erika, will be happy to help. Malcolm
Los Gigantes, Spain12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fantastic service "
Read full review
brendan c wrote a tip 5 Jun
Dublin, Ireland7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If going kind of off season and you want in-house entertainment please check ahead . But other than that the apartment is big enough"
Read full review
Barry H wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill, so a taxi is recommended for the less mobile."
Read full review
kelly a wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go and enjoy! "
Read full review
SEXYSTEVE wrote a tip May 2024
ELGIN1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of sun beds no getting up early to save a sunbed"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Los Gigantes area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal sun apartments hotel puerto de santiago
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifeLos Gigantes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL SUN RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Sun Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Sun Resort?
Nearby attractions include Teno Activo (0.2 miles), Los Gigantes (0.2 miles), and Highland Paddy (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Sun Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Sun Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Sun Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Sun Resort?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Sun Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tea House and Bar, Charlie's Bistro, and Tas-K.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Sun Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Royal Sun Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Royal Sun Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Sun Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Sun Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castillo de San Miguel (9.9 miles).
Does Royal Sun Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Los Gigantes HotelsLos Gigantes Hotel Deals
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire