We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
1 Woodend Cottages High Stittenham, Stittenham YO60 7TW England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 06/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast
Updated 06/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stittenham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A charming, former Woodsman's, country cottage, luxury retreat set within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty just 25 minutes drive to York and 3 miles from Castle Howard (famous as location of Brideshead Revisited) and Richard III's Sheriff Hutton Castle. Beautiful views, great walks, abundant wildlife, peace and tranquility mean you can "get away from it all" and still enjoy all York has to offer.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
92Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sherpa791856 wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We love this place! So quiet and peaceful and everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Kim and Richard are very friendly hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The apartment had been thoroughly cleaned so felt confident staying here. The breakfast was delicious - especially the home-made plum jam. Would definitely stay again. Would recommend a visit to Castle Howard. The grounds are beautiful. Also had an amazing meal at the Queen's Head at Amotherby - Cantonese food, well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
luxorqueen2 wrote a review Aug 2020
Horwich, United Kingdom15 contributions37 helpful votes
Booked the Boot room (loft room above a separate apartment, which can also be used as a full cottage). We booked this in January 2020 before the pandemic and suubsequent lockdown, as our base for Castle Howard's Last Night of the Proms event which sadly did not take place this year. We have camped, stayed in various lodges and static caravans during our many visits to the prom but this time as our ages have increased found this little gem of a b and b set within 2 miles of the castle. Thank god we did. It more than met our expectations. One enormous bed, big enough to maintain social distancing lol. Small hotel style fridge, tv, kettle and toaster etc. We opted for the small breakfast which was ace. Farmhouse bread, crumpets, home made yoghurts, cereals, home made jam, fresh fruit. Cafetierre coffee as well as the most instant coffee and what else but Yorkshire tea!!!. We were messaged by our hosts to say that we would be checking ourselves into the unit as a result of the rules regarding b and b's reopening which we did but were greeted at the gate by Richard and then Kim who offered to help us with our bits of luggage. What a lovely, friendly and approachable couple they are. The Brush and Boot is located in a gorgeous area with very few neighbours and is ideal for people wanting a quiet holiday away from everything but many facilities exist within a 5/6 mile area anyway. I have to mention The Geapes Inn at Slingsby were we ate with our daughter and her partner, who were camping a couple of miles away. 4 meals and drinks and only came to just over £64 - bargain or what. As regards the Brush and Boot, we wouldn't hesitate to book again in we are visiting the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Burn, Owner at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Thank you so much...that is really very kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review. Kim and I are very grateful and also so “chuffed” that you have found us now and we will both look forward to seeing you again sometime, perhaps the next Prom in 2021. Very best wishes to you both. Richard & Kim
Read more
Sammie wrote a review Nov 2019
Lancashire, United Kingdom33 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Stayed five days in October 2019. Will definitely return. We were able to take our two house cats, what a beautiful property. Everything you could need and more. All conceivable needs were met to a very high standard. Spotless clean throughout. Although it was a chilly time of year we were toasty warm with the underfloor heating. Well stocked kitchen with toaster, microwave, even washing up liquid and tea towel. I would say just bring your clothes and food. All linen is provided including bathroom towels. The hosts Richard and Kim were lovely and when we arrived we had forgotten milk. Richard came back with milk and some of Kim’s plum jam, we will be booking again. The area is so beautiful and so quiet. TV and DVD player in cottage, only a short journey to York city. A chip shop and Tesco express, chemist, pubs all in small village 10minutes drive away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Lovely and quiet
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Passenger307267 wrote a review Jul 2019
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Visiting with family neaby in Welburn, the Brush & Boot was the perfect place to stay for a few nights. Quiet, comfortable, with everything you need. Richard and Kim very responsive and helpful. Great location for visiting Castle Howard and nearby villages and walking.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
RavenJacq wrote a review Jul 2019
Glenrothes, United Kingdom35 contributions14 helpful votes
The Brush and Boot is a hidden gem tucked away in the Yorkshire Howardian Hills. Kim and Richard give you a warm welcome and are there if needed for anything, otherwise you are left alone. The loft room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. We had the continental breakfast which was left in the room : homemade jam, butter, milk, fresh orange, fruit and homemade fruit and yogurt pots. Cereal, biscuits, tea and coffee on a tray and all equipment required was available. We liked the freedom of being able to get up in the morning at our leisure and the sound of sheep occasionally made this a very relaxing and enjoyable break.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireStittenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Yorkshire Lavender (2.0 miles), Castle Howard (2.6 miles), and Kirkham Priory (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Blacksmiths Arms, The Grapes Inn, and Quarmby's Delicatessen & Coffee House.
Is Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Stittenham.
Are pets allowed at Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castle Howard (2.6 miles), Kirkham Priory (3.7 miles), and Sheriff Hutton Castle (1.9 miles).
Is Brush and Boot Bed & Breakfast accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.