We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bambu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bambu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Bambu
 Click to rate
Port Moody, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent 8 nights in the upstairs Palapa room. pros: Loved the balcony with hammock and chairs Hammocks on the beach were always available and there were lots of comfortable seating options Room was spacious and mosquito net was the absolute best we've ever slept under anywhere world wide. Easy to spread out your stuff. Lock box was great as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveller47
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving at the coast from the mountains, our van spit us out, a bit dizzy, from the ride from Oaxaca City. The charm of Bambu Ecocabanas, with the sparkling Pacific just yards fro our door, a funky, spacious communal kitchen, airy rooms and the unflappable Memo, soon won us over. It is no wonder that many of the guest we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is perfect. We had planned to stay a couple days and then travel a little more around Oaxaca. Not only did we not want to leave San Agustinillo we didn't want to leave Bambu! It doesn't get much better than this, so we extended as long as we could. Even the "budget" room that we stayed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan T
Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The setting is perfect for relaxation; shade when needed, sun when wanted, and ocean breezes. Bambu is a small hotel with friendly staff. We had a second floor room and absolutely loved it! We slept with the balcony doors open and were wooed to sleep by the sound of the ocean. I will definitely go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cshoemak
Paris, France
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This place is just perfect! The cabins are spacious, beds are comfortable, safety box, very clean, mosquito net, plenty room to store your things, and our bedroom had a good size balcony. There is a functioning communal kitchen and plenty of space to seat on the beach. The common grounds are clean. This place has no restaurant, compared to other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzethva
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I stayed 4 nights at Bambu, and felt that it was perfect. I really enjoyed the tranquil environment and all the staff were super chill and attentive to my needs. I stayed in a ´smaller´room upstairs with a balcony and only had to walk downstairs and 10 feet to get to the beach. It´s nice that they have a communal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanna B
london
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Bambu for 8 nights as a solo traveller early Dec 2016. I became aware of San Agustinillo because of the yoga and meditation center Hridaya. It is a very small coastal village so there isn't an abundance of accommodation - which can only be a good thing as the place wouldn't be the same if overrun with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chocbloc
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We loved the Bambu! First trip to Mexico as a family -- two adults, two teenagers -- hoping to avoid the whole all-inclusive scene.After many online searches and convos with friends who know Mexico, Bambu was the perfect pick! We liked the fact that Bambu is locally owned (yay, for Memo!), natural building materials, right on the beach, had space...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ccullen2016
Guillermo E, Propietario at Bambu, responded to this review

Great!!, we are so happy to know that you really enjoyed our paradise, and it will make us more happy to see you again. We send you many thanks and sun shines from all Bambu' s team. See you soon!!

Story, Wyoming
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Bambu', and the little town of San Agustinillo was exactly what we had envisioned and wanted. The room was light and airy and absolutely delightful. Memo is a terrific host - speaks English. We also enjoyed the in-house kitchen. The beach is long and lovely for walking, but the waves are almost too rambunctious for swimming. Perfect for boogie-boarding, however....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tupelok
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Although not The Holiday Inn in any form or fashion, Bambu offers its guests a little bit of heaven in rustic Mexico. The bedrooms are cleaned everyday. It is very peaceful and quiet and within walking distance to local restaurants. If you want to go to Mazunte or Zipolite, camionetas run every 15 minutes and can pick up up right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill1111

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Other (82)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustinillo
0.2 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta Placer Bungalows
Punta Placer Bungalows
#3 of 4 in San Agustinillo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
0.6 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
99 reviews
1.0 mi away
El copal
El copal
#5 of 6 in Mazunte
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Bambu

Address: Main Rd | Conocido, San Agustinillo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Agustinillo
Price Range: £51 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Hotel San Agustinillo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bambu staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bambu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs front Palapa or Bambu would be the rooms to get.”
 of 5 bubbles traveller47, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try for a second floor room for more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles cshoemak, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in both a downstairs room and an upstairs room. We LOVED the upstairs room and would recommend it to anyone.”
 of 5 bubbles tupelok, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“There are eight rooms total. One or two on the lower level are right on the beach, and several are upstairs w/ balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Bill1111, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at a two story cabin, it had a big balcony with chairs and a hammock. Great if youre traveling with another couple.”
  • Balcony with hammock
 of 5 bubbles U2088ZFanac, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5