Château de Grasse
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Château de Grasse

6 Place Francis Paulet, 06620 Le Bar-sur-Loup France
Château de Grasse
Traveller (69)
letto con veduta
Room & Suite (14)
View of the terrace just off the bar area. We had picnics here.
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Le Bar-sur-Loup
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Chateau de Grasse is a family-run hotel set in a castle dating from the 13th century, 6 km from the centre of Grasse. Panoramic views of the Loup Valley are offered from the terrace and free Wi-Fi is provided. Each of the traditional rooms is individually decorated and offer a view of the surrounding mountains. The private bathrooms are fitted with a bath and they include free toiletries. A continental breakfast is prepared every morning. Regional cuisine made using fresh, local products is available in the restaurant in front of the hotel, and pizzerias can be found in the village. With free parking on site, this hotel is 10 minutes by car from Grande Bastide Golf Club. The International Perfumery Museum is only 6 km away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

6 Place Francis Paulet, 06620 Le Bar-sur-Loup France
Name/address in local language
99Reviews2Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 28
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
4MarkK wrote a review Sept 2016
Warsaw, Poland53 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located just far away enough from the Côte d'Azur to be able to maintain a sleepy French hill village atmosphere Le bar-sur-loup provides a great backdrop for the chateau de grasse. This was the one place on our holiday itinerary that I kept as a surprise from my family .. And it was a HIT ! Fantastic rooms with gorgeous views and a breakfast room that appears to hang over the valley - well worth visiting!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Gérant at Château de Grasse
Responded 23 Mar 2017
Dear guests, Thank you for your comment. We hope to welcome you again. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OTVB4me wrote a review Sept 2015
Rome, Italy16 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a great Cannes work stop over that offered free on site parking.
I particularly appreciated the spacious bedroom & bathroom with good quality sheets & soft towels & pipping hot pressurized water.The furnishings are sober but tasteful with pretty fabrics & téra côté floors & rugs & wood beamed exposed ceiling.We had a family room as that's all that was available with two beds a joined together so you kind of sunk down in the middle but it was quite a comfy mattress non the less. Im sure that you can get a room with a double bed if you book well enough in advance.I would definitely suggest booking a second or third level room for the stunning views of the valley.
The room was lovely.

Disappointingly, I couldn't help having dreamy visions of re designing the guest lounge sitting area next to the bar & the polyester ceiling tile being used in a chateau setting.I know.. but someone has to say it!! The manor house property is in itself quite sparse but non the less charming & in my opinion lacks only a few minor provincial warming design touches that the french are notably renowned for in order to make the place really outstanding & perhaps a little more cozy & enjoyable to sit & drink something indoors after dinner ,since there is very little else to do in the area if it gets a little chilly in the evening.
They do have an outdoor area as well as an indoor bar with seating & very fair drink prices.
The bar serves a delicious local rosé & I believe a cheese & meat platter on the weekends only.
I would,however,return & definitely recommend staying here in terms of location quality & price & friendly service.
The owners are extremely kind & assisting in every detail to make your stay enjoyable & even made several advance dinner reservations for us.
This appears to be an absolute must if you don't want to be turned away as we often witnessed .The Jardiniere was definitely by far my favorite.

I cannot comment on the breakfast as we preferred to drive down to a café by the coast for an early start to our day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Château de Grasse
Responded 16 Oct 2015
Dear guests, Thank you for this comment. It's a pleasure to know to enjoyed your stay and the area. About the desining (especially ceiling !), we agree with you, we are working on this point ! We really hope to welcome you again. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ketil K wrote a review Aug 2015
Oslo, Norway9 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a very nice two night stay at this hotel. Fantastic location in a beautiful small french village. Nice views over the valley and in close range to the mountains, with a lot of opportunities for trekking and sightseeing. Panoramic breakfast room. Spacy rooms. We liked our stay and would gladly come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Château de Grasse
Responded 6 Aug 2015
Chers clients, Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire, c'est un plaisir que de savoir que vous avez apprécié votre séjour. Nous espérons vous recevoir à nouveau. Bien cordialement.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MariaE wrote a review Apr 2015
London, United Kingdom72 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel for a night during the easter break. We wanted to visit St Paul de Vence and Grasse during our road trip in Cote D'Azur, so this hotel suited perfectly into our plans. It is located in a little village called Le Bar sur Loup on top of a hill, having beautiful views across the valley. It is about 10-15 min drive from both St Paul de Vence and Grasse, and around 25 mins from Nice airport by car. The castle per se has a history that goes back to the 13th century, but the current structure was contructed around the 18th century. We had a very spacious room on the third floor (and from the floor plan in the room I think it was one of the smallest), was extremelly comfortable and an AMAZING VIEW! Also, Heinrich was a great host and all the staff was extremelly friendly, giving us tips and sharing the history of the village and the region. The breakfast was also very good so even if it was not included I totally recommend taking it. Overall great experience!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Château de Grasse
Responded 16 Apr 2015
Dear guests, Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad you spent a nice time in our establishment and you enjoyed the county. We hope to recieve you again for a futur stay. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kateto999 wrote a review Oct 2014
Varna, Bulgaria62 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although off the main routes Le Bar-sur-Loup is definitely worth visiting. It is a typical French village with romantic narrow streets and spectacular views.
Chateau de Grasse is situated on top of the hill and still in the very center of the village. The hotel has very good service, offered by the owners, warm atmosphere and nice spacious rooms, very well cleaned and maintained. The hotel hosts are very attentive and helpful, and surprisingly for Provence they speak German as well.
There are two good restaurants in the village - one of them is situated close to the hotel (about 50 m away) and the other one is a bit far down the narrow cobbled streets. We spent only a night in Le Bar-sur-Loup and had to choose which restaurant to visit for a dinner. We chose the second one because we wanted to see the village at night as well and it was definitely worth it. It serves typical French cuisine in a stone building with Medieval ambiance.
On the morning we wished to have spent at least one more night in this hotel and in this village.
We recommend it to all travelers who want to have a real French experience, not far away from the big city.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Château de Grasse
Responded 17 Mar 2015
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your comment. We will be glad to recieve you for a futur stay in France. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DJClayworth wrote a review Sept 2014
Kitchener, Canada67 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Chateau de Grasse is set in the tiny hilltop village of Bar-sur-Loup. This village could be a post-child for French villages. It has an old fort, a Gendarmerie, a boulangerie, a petanque court, narrow streets and old style houses. And the Chateau de Grasse will add to your sense of atmosphere. With old stone walls, earthenware tile floors and sturdy wooden furniture, yet combined with up-to-the-minute plumbing and facilities, huge rooms, fabulous decor, and especially spectacular views over the Vallee du Loup. About 30 minutes from Nice airport, we picked this as a final stop before flying out of France, and the only thing we regretted was not having more time to spend there.

Some disadvantages: the GPS seemed to get very confused on the way here, trying to take us up two private roads before finally putting us on the narrowest lanes I've ever driven on. Other reviewers have said the same. The hotel also lacks a sign giving its name, which worried us when the door didn't open to our push. But it turns out that the reason is that the hotel was being run single-handedly by the owner. Since there were only two couples staying this didn't turn out to be a problem, and he couldn't do enough for us, but sometimes you did have to ring the bell and wait for him to appear from wherever he was.

We also discovered that there was no air conditioning. A combination of high altitude and thick stone walls meant this wasn't a problem, but if you are very sensitive to heat and in peak season, it might be an issue. None of these disadvantages would put us off returning.

If you do stay, absolutely try the Donjon restaurant literally across the square - people come from literally miles around to it.. And as a bonus, see if you can find in the village the statue of Amiral de Grasse, who "by defeating the British fleet in the Battle of the Chesapeake, allowed George Washington to take Yorktown and ensure the independence of the United States". And if, like us, you are forced to depart for Nice airport before breakfast is served, the boulangerie opens at 6am to provide croissants and espresso.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Château de Grasse
Responded 17 Mar 2015
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your comment, we are taking good notes. We improved the signaling. We hope to recieve you for a futur stay. best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill C wrote a review Nov 2017
Limoges, France27 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel run by a very personable couple who provided a very warm welcome. Room was large with stunning views across the mountains and the town. The bar and restaurant were closed as the season was finished. But there was a lovely restaurant just opposite. Would definitely go again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim C wrote a review Sept 2017
207 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Extremely good service at this hotel. One of the best. Large room by any standard. Extremely clean and well decorated. Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast in the morning. But the thing that makes this hotel is the view. Too beautiful to believe. Short walking distance to some great restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Château de Grasse
Responded 5 Oct 2017
Dear guests, Thank you so much for your comment. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bridgeji wrote a review Sept 2017
windsor,ontario32 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a B&B only, not a classic hotel. It is located at a small village, so the room is a little bigger compared to those hotels’ in France, however there is no air conditioner in hot Summer. Also, do not be fooled by the pictures on their website or any booking agent, there is no way to access the patio which you though you might be able to have dinner or drink there.
The worse thing is that they might charge your credit card more after you leave, with any amount they want and without informing either you or your agent. Once you found them double billing, they just gave you a bunch of ridiculous excuses, like spit on the floor, poo on the wall (your imagination is fantastic!!!)
In all, facility of this place is just ok and the way to do double billing is dishonest and mean. I do not understand why it got so high scores that was why I booked this one before. Maybe it is the best of the worst.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Château de Grasse
Responded 17 Sept 2017
Mr Zheng Ji, What you are doing here now is ridiculous. You are upset because we have charged you ONE of the four rooms you have had because you have left it in a deplorable condition. I am sure that everyone reading this will not find that, to SPIT ON THE FLOOR and behave so bad that there was POOP / EXCREMENT on the walls, are ridiculous excuses. And nothing here is fantastic Please put yourself in the position of the person who had to clean that!!!!!!!! Our establishment is a Hotel offering breakfasts and drinks, there is no restaurant, no air conditioner. All this is written in our description. Our profession is to provide clean rooms and do as much services as we can. We are doing it with passion and devotion, always there to do our best for our guests. Cleaning the rooms is of course one of the biggest job and it is normal of course, but how you have left this room was really soulless, inhuman. You are now trying do damage our reputation but as you can see we have excellent reviews everywhere, NINETY here on tripadvisor, HUNDREDS on other reservation websites. Your case was the first like that for us in four years running this place. And again we are doing our best and always try to improve thanks to the all comments we have. Of course we cannot meet the expectation of 100% of our guest and every remark is extremely important for us. All we can do is consider every observation to correct and improve. Trying now to revenge this sort is "dishonest and mean". But Maybe were you the cleanest of the dirtiest? Best regards, heinrich von hirsch
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corvus wrote a review Sept 2017
Vancouver, BC54 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A boutique hotel with authentic old world charm but also warm comfort, Chateau de Grasse is in the heart of Le Bar-Sur-Loup. We stayed for two days and it was a terrific base to tour my favourite local villages of Grasse, Tourrettes-Sur-Loup, Mougins and Biot. The town itself has a few very good restaurants and is very picturesque (including a wonderful view).

There are only a few rooms in this hotel and it’s very quiet. There is an indoor shared lounge and also a bar with a shaded terrace. The bar is generally not operating as there are so few guests, but Henri, our host, was always there at a push of a bell to provide a glass of wine or answer any questions.

Our family suite on the third floor was spacious and beautifully decorated – with a large room for us and a smaller room for our son. We walked through his room to get to ours and there was no privacy door, but that was fine. Unfortunately, his room had no windows so it was quite warm in August (despite the electric fans provided). The bathroom was large with a separate area for the toilet which was nice ;)

You can choose the continental or full breakfast – we had the latter and it included a sort of made to order cooked breakfast and meats and cheeses with the continental fare of the typical croissants, fruit, yoghurt, etc.

I highly recommend this charming hotel – for the helpful host, the beautiful rooms, the outdoor terrace, the breakfasts and the location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Château de Grasse
Responded 7 Sept 2017
Dear guests, Thank you so much for your pleasant comment, we are happy you enjoyed your stay in our establishment and in the area. It's true it is a nice location to visit the little medieval villages around, it's a quiet place and we are lucky with the restaurants ! Because of the size of our establishment, we are just the 2 of us (with my wife Eva) taking care of the hotel, so we can't stay behind the bar, but as you said we are in the building (we are living inside) and if you don't see us in the public area, there are little bells to ring and we are at your disposal ! We really hope to welcome you again ! Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
comimi12345 asked a question Jul 2016
Jerusalem, Israel8 contributions4 helpful votes
was it okey without air condition? thanks the cohen
Answer from Heinrich_Hirsch
Le Bar-sur-Loup, France
Dear guest, It can be hot on the day but then it's cooling down on evening and in case on big heat we have fan's at your disposal. Best regards
LeFoulon asked a question Aug 2014
Greolieres10 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi - have you opened the restaurant too? If so can you send me details. Cheers, Nick
Answer from Heinrich_Hirsch
Le Bar-sur-Loup, France
Dear guests, We inform you that we won't do restaurant for the moment, but there is nice restaurants around (you can easily go by feet), one is just in front of the hotel. Best regards.
Reissuun wrote a tip Jul 2015
Helsinki, Finland90 contributions98 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure that you have a room with a view"
Read full review
lauren k wrote a tip Feb 2015
Coolum Beach, Australia74 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms look good, but we choose 2 rooms with single beds. Our teenage daughters were in one on the 2nd floor which was very large with great views and we were in one on the 3rd floor which was not as big, but still spacious and incredible views. Our bathroom had 2 hand basins in it as well."
Read full review
Backzapper wrote a tip Oct 2014
London29 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure it has a view of the valley."
Read full review
TerrigalWanderer wrote a tip Sept 2014
Terrigal, Central Coast, NSW12 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room overlooking the valley - I think that's south"
Read full review
human4jobs wrote a tip Jul 2014
Brussels, Belgium1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room that turn into the south side"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Le Bar-sur-Loup area.
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurLe Bar-sur-Loup
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHÂTEAU DE GRASSE - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Château de Grasse
Which popular attractions are close to Château de Grasse?
Nearby attractions include Tourrettes-sur-Loup - Village Medieval (3.6 miles), Forteresse Medievale De Gourdon (1.4 miles), and Musee Fragonard (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Château de Grasse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Château de Grasse?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Château de Grasse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Château de Grasse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Cocotte , SPELT Restaurant, and Les Délicatesses de Grasse.
Is Château de Grasse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Le Bar-sur-Loup.
Are pets allowed at Château de Grasse?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Château de Grasse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Porte Neuve À Grasse (4.4 miles).
Does Château de Grasse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Le Bar-sur-Loup HotelsLe Bar-sur-Loup Hotel DealsHotels near Château de Grasse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire