City Dance Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

City Dance Hotel

Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#41 of 109 hotels in Chaweng
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
City Dance is conveniently located on the main road, north part of Chaweng beach. The beach access is right across the road from the hotel. City Dance is only a short walk to the centre where there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants such as the Ark Bar, Solo Bar, Green Mango and more. It is less than 15 minutes drive from the airport, which makes it ideal for transit from the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

60/31 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut 84320 Thailand
Name/address in local language
177Reviews10Q+A14Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 108
  • 44
  • 17
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sani wrote a review Feb 2020
Zurich, Switzerland5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such lovely live music, best in koh Samui.
Didn‘t stay in the hotel but visited the bar every evening to enjoy the live music which was - as I mentioned - GREAT!
The prices were quite okay and the beach is very near by the bar. Abaolutly must see at koh samui.
Would go there anytime again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Faith G wrote a review Apr 2018
7 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location... 5 minute walk to chawenf beach.. 10-15 min max to bars such as 'ark bar'. Staff were just perfect. Rooms were homely, and the hotel overall just had a really relaxing welcoming and chilled feeling to it. Had noisey neighbours for a few nights but that's not the hotels fault. Staff are really great... and the best massaman curry I've had in Thailand!

See you soon guys!

Faith and Kel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FaithSeaDance, Manager at City Dance Hotel
Responded 31 May 2018
Dear Faith & Kel, We are so pleased to hear your found our hotel Perfect! Thank you very much for sharing your experience you had at City Dance. I think our location is one that is greatly enjoyed by our guests. Being able able to have a quiet peaceful rest while on vacation is important, and we feel our location offers that while only being a couple minutes to all the great entertainment venues, shopping and of course beautiful Chaweng Beach! I am so please you enjoyed our Massaman curry and the service of our team. I will make sure to share with them how your enjoyed your stay. All the best, City Dance Management & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan W wrote a review Feb 2017
1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great friendly hotel the owner and staff are the friendliest people couldn't do enough to ensure I had a good stay here , they have a really good live band 4 times a week , 1 minute walk to best part of the beach in samui , right in the heart of shops bars restaurants I highly recommend this hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marju K wrote a review Apr 2017
Tallinn, Estonia12 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved the hotel, would go back. Good location and friendly staff. Only minus would be the fact that there is no pool, but there is a lovely beach very near so that's really not a minus. Breakfast is nothing special, but it's not bad.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ZAMIL A wrote a review Mar 2017
Dubai, United Arab Emirates160 contributions113 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
clean , normal , deserve the price , bar next of lobby , no parking , no smoking , heart of they city , near from everything , better then others hotel by same price , try back last week but was full book
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: stander room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
clareday1989 wrote a review Feb 2017
Nottingham, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So we arrived at about 2pm in the afternoon to a lovely man waiting at the airport for us. He took our bags and helped us into the mini van. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by numerous staff who could not have been more friendly or helpful. They offered us a drink of fresh water and took our bags up to the room whilst I checked in. On first impression of the room it "WOWED" us. Fantastic air con, beautiful decor, spotless! Very comfy beds, great facilities and we had a little balcony for drying out all of our clothes. Went straight down for food which was very reasonable and very tasty. The cocktails are particularly nice!! The restaurant is full with ceiling fans and there is a good mix of shade and sun. The beach is 30 second walk through the shopping plaza and it's is a BEAUTIFUL stretch of white beach and that has a varied amount of street food (bbq corn, fruit, BBQ chicken etc) being done on the beach and hundreds of bars/restaurants. In an evening the bar becomes host to a live local band and let me just say, I have traveled the world and this band are one of the best ones I have ever seen. They play varied music and sing in English, they start at 8pm and play till 12 (much to our disappointment). There is so much to do within 10 minutes walk from this hotel yet we still found ourselves coming back to city dance in the evenings for the atmosphere, drinks and the staff. The staff went above and beyond for me and my family. They danced with my daughter (5) and taught her basic Thai. They wrote numbers down in Thai and English so she could learn and they always took time to ask what she had done throughout the day. Two of the days we got a transfer to the sister company sea dance and used their infinity pool which is free and it is on a stunning private beach where there are hermet crabs and all sorts of wildlife. They have a swing on the beach and an extremely good menu! I could happily boast about this hotel to any person with certainty that if they came they would leave with the same feeling we have...... I can't wait to come back to city dance next year! Thank you to you all for making our first holiday to koh samui so amazing xx
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jere L wrote a review Jan 2017
Kauniainen, Finland5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Definetly worth the money. Location is perfect near to all the best restaurants and the beach. Room was big and clean, and the shower was very good in thai standards. There is always someone ready to help you in the reception, at least as late as 3am which was the latest for us. Only negative things during our 4nights stay was that they don't provide beach towels, and the black coffee downstairs was the worst tried in chaweng.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FaithSeaDance, Manager at City Dance Hotel
Responded 23 Jun 2017
Hi Jere L, Thank you for taking time to share your City Dance experience. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed our location which is walkable to the the restaurants and bars areas either by the main road or via the beach. I am pleased to share that we have improved our bar with a good coffee machine and serve a fresh and very good coffee through out the day. City Dance has no pool and not on located on the beach however we are looking into whether or not to offer the in-room beach towels, with that mentioned the beach towels can be simply purchased at the near by shops. Once again thank you for being our guest and feel free to contact us directly at:info@citydancehotel.com should plan to visit Samui for the best rate. Best wishes, Poy & City Dance team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert B wrote a review Sept 2016
Sunshine Coast, Australia2 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're looking for reasonably priced hotel at chaweng, then i think city dance will be hard to beat in that price range.
It's in a good location. The beach is a short walk across the road and many the bars and restaraunts are nearby.
My room is quiet, comfortable and very clean. Everything is working and you get the usual inclusions, safe, jug fridge, lcd tv.
The staff are great and do their best to assist and make your stay a pleasant one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ayan Sinha wrote a review Dec 2019
20 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was quite good to stay for ko samui and always helpful for guests and easy access to bar and restaurants. And very quite place. This is in the middle of ko samui and they have own food where you can order yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesego mashigo wrote a review Aug 2019
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So I travelled to Koh Samui after a pleasant 2 night stay at the majestic Aonang Cliff beach hotel in Krabi, after being treated like a king there I thought I'd find a highly recommended mid-budget hotel in Chaweng obviously through Trip advisor like I always do but to my shock, the "8.0" rating City Dance Hotel got in 2017 seems to have dropped to "0.8" over the years. I guess the "excellence" they once got a certificate for depreciated because I couldn't think of any other reason why Trip advisor would award such an appalling hotel a good rating like that.

As i'm writing this I'm laying on their hard-worn out mattress bed, couldn't wait for check out time to write about my painful experience just so no one else gets caught in the same mess.

So from the ZAR2000 in cash that I left in my bag (because the safe in the room required me to swipe a credit card, which was dodgy) I'm now left with ZAR1000 and not even the Manager can account for like an HOUR gap missing on the hotel surveillance between check in time and the time I went to buy food at Central Patong shopping centre (that's when the cash went missing)

As if that wasn't enough:
1. I have to call reception every time I need a bottle of the daily complementary water
2. Tea & coffee only offered once at check in day then you buy from thereon yet they put a kettle in the room.
3. Bathrooms not well looked after, steel taps and hanging rails complete rust.

Wana dance in Chaweng beach?? Dance far from City Dance Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SeaDanceTeam, Manager at City Dance Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2019
Hi Lesego Mashigo, I've emailed you about the debit card that you've unfortunately left behind in the room, perhaps you're still traveling but please let us know where we can mail it when you have a chance - or we can dispose of it properly, whatever your preference. We encourage everyone to use the safe provided in the room, we do not require a credit card to use the safe, I can't imagine why it would be necessary, I've never heard of such a thing. Patong is also in Phuket, not Koh Samui, is it possible our hotel is being confused with a separate incident? Using the safe really helps avoid any possibilities of misplacing anything of value like your debit card that you may not use while you're in Thailand but certainly do not want to leave behind. Our current 4.5 Tripadvisor rating and 8.8 booking rating is not because we're perfect, it's because we really enjoy our City Dance guests and want them to have the best Samui experience and an incredible, fun holiday. We're happy to help make that happen in any way. I've noticed your partner has also left a 1/5 review but am happy to see that she found the staff friendly. We offer 2 complimentary bottles of water upon check in as a welcome courtesy, so yes, for your 2 day stay, you would have had to call one time for another free bottle of water that the staff are happy to provide. Water is also in the minibar fridge for just 10 baht and directly across the street at the 7/11 convenience store. Tea and coffee and the kettle are also a courtesy that our guests appreciate. It's an easy way to make a quick bowl of mama noodles before hitting the beach across the street. :) Faith & the City Dance Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from SeaDanceTeam
Ko Samui, Thailand10 contributions5 helpful votes
Thank you for your question. Happy hour is from 17:00 to 20:00 h, Happy hour price for small Chang is 60 baht. We are looking forward to your arrival.
Answer from Seadanceresort
Choeng Mon, Thailand7 contributions
There are few options to choose from bus, van and local Song Taew (a red pickup truck) price is around 100 to 150 baht per person, taxi is ranging from 500 to 1,000 baht per way, make sure price is agreed with driver before taking them.
emergency_holiday asked a question Aug 2018
brisbane64 contributions48 helpful votes
Hello, what beach clubs are nearby with pool access?
Answer from SeaDanceTeam
Ko Samui, Thailand10 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi, Thank you for your question. being situated on Chaweng, you have a great selection of beach clubs with pools. The most famous for evening party's and DJ's is Ark Bar. there is also Coast and Elephant club that perhaps you may enjoy. But don't forget to take advantage of our own daily happy hour here at City Dance!
meisoon k asked a question Mar 2018
Tehran, Iran33 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Could anyone tell me about pool? Does it have a swimming pool? Thanks
Answer from Lisa Adams
South Africa210 contributions66 helpful votes
No it does not have a pool.
lyn4x asked a question Feb 2018
Swansea County, United Kingdom
can you take lady back please?
Answer from Seadanceresort
Choeng Mon, Thailand7 contributions
lyn4x, Thank you for your question. Kindly note that we do not encourage that our guests bring visitors after midnight. All guest must be registered with a valid identification card or passport for safety and security of all our in-house guests. Poy B. Manager / owner.
OxyWat wrote a tip Dec 2019
Budapest, Hungary96 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"just on the upstairs with balcony"
Read full review
Globetrotter_ATC wrote a tip Apr 2019
Bucharest, Romania136 contributions78 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask a room closer to the stairs to be quieter."
Read full review
carltonacham wrote a tip Oct 2018
Dubai, United Arab Emirates2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"book a back room for more privacy and less noise"
Read full review
Vagabond World Traveller wrote a tip Aug 2018
Dubai, United Arab Emirates1,827 contribution147 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Gardenfront room"
Read full review
Jdevil wrote a tip Apr 2018
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Second floor was quiet we did not hear any neighbors. Walking stairs is required."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chaweng area.
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiBophutChaweng
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CITY DANCE HOTEL - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about City Dance Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to City Dance Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Classic International Suits (0.2 miles), Royal King International Suits (0.04 miles), and Samui Hong Kong Tailor (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at City Dance Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at City Dance Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at City Dance Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at City Dance Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to City Dance Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dara Serene Restaurant, The Tent beachfront restaurant and bar, and Baan Ya Jai.
Does City Dance Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, City Dance Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is City Dance Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Chaweng.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at City Dance Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to City Dance Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Sitlaram (8.2 miles).
All Chaweng HotelsChaweng Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChawengHotels near City Dance Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire