Dara Samui Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dara Samui Beach Resort

162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut 84320 Thailand
Traveller (1486)
Honeymoon bed flower arrangement
Room & Suite (304)
Beach - Sun decks
Pool & Beach (294)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
£69
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 Jun
Breakfast included
£62
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
No booking fees
£56
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 25 resorts in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Welcome to Dara Samui Beach Resort, a 4-star beachfront resort with authentic Thai architecture, strategically located along the most exciting beach on Samui - Chaweng Beach. It is a short walk to a variety of important "facilities" for every visitor - Thai spas/massage, money changers, banks, 24-hour convenience stores, beach bars, restaurants, street shopping, high end shopping and night life. We have 24-hour reception, 5 room categories, complimentary wifi access in all guestrooms - lobby - restaurant, breakfast restaurant (7am-10.30am),1 beachside restaurant (6.30pm-10.30pm), room service (7am-10.30pm),1 freeform swimming pool (7am-7pm) with outdoor jacuzzi (10am-12pm and 2pm-5pm), poolbar (11am - 11pm), tour counter and airport transfer services. All rooms and suites have electronic key card access, rich wooden fixtures and fittings, individually controlled air-condition, private bathroom, in-room safe deposit box, satellite TV, sofa or day bed, balcony and complimentary wifi. Due to the structure of the resort, we do NOT recommend guest with physical challenges as there are many stairs and steps - no guests elevators/lifts. Since 01 November 2017, the resort operates as Adult Only resort - minimum age 12 years old.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut 84320 Thailand
Name/address in local language
1,464Review59Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 808
  • 395
  • 129
  • 65
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Budgetman1978 wrote a review Jan 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom169 contributions115 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 5 nights mid January with a mate on a chilled out break, room was nice, clean and well equiped, shower area is open plan with massive bath and 2 sinks, we stayed in room 214 which is on the lowwer level and perfect to come out of room and straight to the breakfast buffet which is nice and varied with fresh fruit freshly made omelettes and onto the beach and the pool area, which is not the biggest but then it didnt seem too busy so always got a sunbed and the staff that worked in this section were very friendly and always happy to help, you didnt have to lift a finger, food and drinks at pool bar/restaurant were reasonable with happy hour from 1-3pm, yes there is construction work on an adjacent new hotel but this is not that bad or hardly noticeable and the guys were building a new massage hut on the beach when we were there which was a great sight to see as it took shape over the course of the days and would like to see this little thing completed, also you can have a clean beach towel everyday from the pool bar, in the evening they turn the beach into an eating place which is nice, back to the room and the only one problem was on our last night I woke to find a spider on my head which we decided after looking on line was a wolf spider, so a shock was had but no harm done, cleaners everyday and they cleaned the room, made beds and clean towels.
The hotel is also right on the main strip of Chewang so lots of bars places to eat and much more and very lively although we didnt see much of this as early nights was had, be warned if you are a single traveller or a couple and want the hotel to get you a airport transfer it is 500B, in todays money that is £12.5 for a 7 min ride, expensive for this place, but if there are a group of 5-7 then it will be cheap, lots of positives and a little gem of a place with great staff and nice beach/pool to relax.
Overall I will stay here again if I come back to Koh Samui and Chewang.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Low floor was good in the 1-400 numbers.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMDaraSamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Budgetman1978 Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. Your detail feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. Dear budgetman1978, we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
l0vesunshine50 wrote a review Feb 2020
Bangor, United Kingdom154 contributions158 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were impressed with our room from the minute the member of staff walked us to it. Beautiful smell coming from the night burner. Great sized accommodation, bathroom area excellent. I found the bed too firm for me but a topper was put on after the first night. All staff professional and attentive. Very nice breakfast selection and the chefs were visible checking and topping up all dishes. I was very impressed with the way every dish was covered at breakfast including cloths over the plates and bowls, the restaurant is open to the outside which is luxurious in a hot country but off-putting if flies can be seen on the food, this doesn't happen here. Good hairdryer. Good sized balcony. Small sunbathing area around the pool if the water ir right up to the hotel but the staff were so accommodating at trying to fit beds everywhere and anywhere for guests. We would definitely return to the Dara Samui, there is a very welcoming feel to the whole place. The Ark bar is only a few minutes away via the beach, great for having a look in the evening and then returning the serene Dara.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and all have access to the beach, some with a further walk than others
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMDaraSamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear l0vesunshine50 Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. I sincerely thank you for sharing a detailed account with all readers the various aspects of what you enjoyed during your stay with us. Your feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. Dear l0vesunshine50, we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas K wrote a review Jan 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom108 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here while on holiday and this is a nice hotel which does nice food.
On arrival you are given a warm welcome by staff and given cold drinks and cold towels upon arrival.
The rooms are nice and comfortable and staff are very friendly to.
Of a night they have teepees on the beach were you can eat and the food there is fantastic.
Only problem we had here though were the mosquitos, we got so many bites here which was a nightmare. My girlfriend suffered really bad with them.
They do put a lavender lamp thing in your room but this wasnt any good. Other than that we had a fantastic stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMDaraSamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear ThomasK1698 Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. We are happy you enjoyed dining with us at our beach restaurant. As for the mosquitoes, we have our pest control to reduce this problem as much as possible. Your feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. Dear ThomasK1698, we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We are humbled and honored by your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ghost W wrote a review Mar 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most memorable thing about the Dara samui has the be the people that work there, From check in to our early morning departure they were all helpful and friendly without exception.
The hotel is not perfect but it is unique and even a little quirky.

The lavishly decorated lobby area is showing signs of its age both in its furnishings and in its decoration and the hotel does have a problem at the moment of not their own making as all of the rooms face a peice of undeveloped land that has become a hot bed of mosquitos.
The beach when enough is exposed for bathing does have sharp rocks and debris that can not all be seen beneath the water,

However the positives for us far outweigh the negatives and for the tarrifs that the Dara charges they are excellent value for money.

Their adult only policy whilst obviously is not ideal for families does make the hotel a serene quiet place and is a huge advantage for those not travelling with younger children. ( I understand that older children are accepted).

We had a Delux double room on their top floor, The room was nicely decorated, and serviced daily,
It was a spacious room and had a large bathroom with both a bath tub and a walk in shower.
The room had its own mini router making wifi access fast and reliable whilst in your own room. I don't know if the public areas had wifi or not the network I was connected to worked well with no signal issues.

Breakfast was good, very good, an egg chef was on duty every morning and a large variety of other items offered to suit all tastes and diets,
unlimited coffee (nice coffee) and juices.
On the day that we departed for an early flight a breakfast box was provided for us to collect at reception and the security man on duty in hotel bought our bags from the room for us.

The Dara does have a restaraunt set up in the evenings that looked very good. We did not have opportunity to eat there as we like to eat Thai style and graze on street food and experiment while in Thailand.

The Dara is situated at the end of the busy Chaweng beach road (Don't expect to see the beach from the Road)

On reflection perhaps Chaweng was not the right resort for us to stay in on Samui but the Dara was an oasis from the party town and most days we went out and enjoyed activities and places away from the hotel.
For this reason and because of the long journey to get to Thailand we do not like to repeat our experiences, we are unlikely to stay with the hotel again, However I can recommend the property to anyone wanting a hotel experience that is different from what the huge name hotel chains offer and want a break from the party town of Chaweng that can be left outside.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are steps and ramps to negotiate and there are no lifts (elavators). there are only 3 levels.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dara Samui Beach Resort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 13 Mar 2023
Dear ghostw733 A real pleasure having you stay with us and a delight to know you had a wonderful stay. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and we will continue to improve with the furnishings and decorations. As for the others, we will continue to extend our service excellence to drown out the challenges which are beyond our control. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Best regards. Mark Suppiah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
welove2travel123 wrote a review Mar 2020
southwest ontario82 contributions63 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 8 days after visiting Bangkok for 5 days. Chaweng Beach is a great area to shop and eat, and this resort is right on the main strip. The staff here are the highlight. A special shout out to Art, who was always trying to make sure we were taken care of. The staff bend over backwards to help you and to make sure you have everything you need. The rooms need some updating, and the view to the empty lot beside is unfortunate. However, even if there wasn't an empty ugly lot, you would be looking at the side of a building. This is just because of the way the resort is set up, so i can't fault them for this. The pillows also need replacing and they only provided two upon arrival. They are either very hard or lumpy. We asked for two more and they weren't any better. The beds are firm, but i prefer that. The breakfast had lots of choice, but most of the hot items weren't very warm. They do have made to order omelets though. Happy hour drinks aren't too bad, we liked the mojitos. We also did the dinner on the beach, which i would highly recommend.

The resort should replace the old steel loungers though. They are very uncomfortable. The newer plastic ones are better.
The pool area is quite small, but staff do their best to fit everyone around it as best they can.
This resort is a very traditional Thai resort, so don't expect modern, contemporary decor.
Overall, this resort worked for us. With a few updates, they could definately get four or even 4.5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMDaraSamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear welove2travel123 Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. Your feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. I have taken note of your comments about the room, the pillows and the sun loungers. Rest assured we will look into making improvements. Dear welove2travel123, we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
boxUk wrote a review Feb 2020
South Shields, United Kingdom35 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Dara for a week with my partner and you can't fault the location.
You walk out the front and your on the main strip of Chaweng beach.
The hotel is on the beachfront and has many sunbeds on the beach (the amount you can use varies as the tide comes in) there are very few sunbeds around the pool (less than 10) and you'll have to be up at sunrise to get one
The rooms are very big and Thai style and have hugh bathrooms and are cleaned daily
The staff are very friendly and even put a birthday cake in the fridge for me :-)
Cant comment about food as we were room only and to be fair there is so much choice of bars / restaurants on your doorstep your spoit for choice
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMDaraSamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear boxUk Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. Your feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. Dear boxUk, we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georg Knoke wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa55 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where in the world can you enjoy a sumptuous breakfast- with the sea and palmtree-lined beach literally 5 meters away- watching a gorgeous sunrise and being served by the most friendly staff? And later lying on comfortable beach lounges, soaking up the sun on a 'private' beach.The Dara Samui is a grande dame of beach hotels that maintains it charm. A high five to the efficient, friendly and helpful General Manager Mark Suppiah, who keeps a watchful eye over the daily operation of this gem. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, feeding the fish in the ponds lining the hotel adds a daily dose of happiness and the tourist desk is super efficient in planning day trips and even organizing our motor bikes! Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMDaraSamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Georg K Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. Your feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. Dear Georg K, thank you for your kind compliments and we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
That Danish Troll wrote a review Feb 2020
Odense, Denmark138 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
it could have been a 5 star rating from me if it wasn't for the really bad sun chairs and expensive drinks in the bar. However almost everything else about this hotel is amazing.
First, all the staff are so attentive, smiling, and greeting us at all times we pass. I have stayed at many hotels in Thailand but here the staff meeting you in a remarkable way.
Half way through our 10 nights at Dara we were asked to give feedback on our stay. We were urged to say if anything could be better.

The room is spacious and cleaned to perfection. The tv is old and needs replacement and I miss places for our clothes, it have stayed in the suitcases during the vacation.
But besides that, we like the room and the dekor very much
The breakfast buffet is extensive with both Western and Asian food, freah fruit, cereals, egg station, loads if bread and hot dishes.q MN
The restaurant at night has a romantic setting at the beach and once again the staff's outstanding.
The location on the beach to one side and the nightlife to the other is great and the fact that the hotel ia adult only is priceless.
We used one if the other beach clubs for tanning, because the loungers at Dara are awfully hard and uncomfortable.

We will return to the hotel next time at Samui with no doubt
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMDaraSamui, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Troels R Thank you for choosing to stay at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with readers on TripAdvisor.com My team and I are very happy to learn that we were successful in providing you with the high levels of services which met your expectations. Your feedback allows us to provide positive recognition to the team members who had contributed to making your stay with us more enjoyable. We have taken note of the feedback you had provided us and we are looking into resolving the tv, clothes space and our sun loungers issues.. Dear Troels R, we sincerely value your feedback as it is a great motivator to all of us to continue delivering exceptional levels of services to all our esteemed guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dara Samui. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neve05 wrote a review Apr 2023
United Kingdom50 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For our 50th wedding anniversary my husband and I, went to Thailand and for part of the holiday we stayed at the Dara Samui Beach Resort at Chaweng Koh Samui What can I say , everything about our stay here was wonderful. The building itself is traditional and beautiful and central for all amenities but also peaceful and quiet. Our room was on the third floor with patio doors onto a lovely sized balcony with a sea view and it was kept spotlessly clean . The cleaners were always pleasant and we were always greeted by them with a smile. The only downside to our room, which I have found in most Hotels lately, is there are no longer chests of drawers to put any of your clothes and odds and ends in, so anything that couldn't be hung up was laid in piles on the settee. We were not far from the pool which was a nice size. Because of the shape of the pool and the area around it there weren't many sunbeds but on the beach area there were plenty which were positioned according to the tidal flow. The pool staff always seemed to find beds and umbrellas for everyone. They were very helpful and pleasant, again there were always lots of smiles and hello's from them. The breakfast was very nice and again so were the staff. I now come to the staff on reception who were amazing. Nothing was too much to ask, there were always lovely smiles and greetings. My husband damaged both his large toes , one of them quite badly, on damaged paving on the main street. When we got back to the hotel we asked for a first aid kit as there was blood all over and the wounds needed cleaning. The staff came over and cleansed and dressed the wounds They were amazing. Every day for 5 days, twice a day one or two of the staff cleansed and dressed the wounds. Also the Manager , Mas came regularly to see how my husband was. She was very kind, helpful and pleasant. All the staff on reception contributed in some way but we must personally thank the staff that took care of his feet and without whom our holiday could have been ruined. They were Boom and Myo who were hotel staff and also the young lady called Not who was a Tour consultant working in the foyer of the Hotel. We would just like to say again a great big thank you not only to you, but to all the staff in the hotel for making our stay so wonderful Would we go back, you bet.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dara Samui Beach Resort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 22 Apr 2023
Dear Neve05 Thank you for staying at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. My team and I truly value your compliments with special mention of Khun Mas, Khun Boom, Khun Myo and Khun Not. It is our intention to provide you with the highest level of services to enhance your stay and making this a more memorable vacation for you. All of us hope Mr Murray's toe has fully recovered. Once again, thank you for staying with us, for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back at Dara Samui Beach Resort. Yours sincerely Mark Suppiah General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D G W wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in a superior room at Dara and loved this hotel so much that I have already booked it for my trip in May next year. The superior room was large with a very comfortable bed and great bathroom with lovely shower. This adults only hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of the night life yet far enough away giving you a great nights sleep. The breakfast has a good selection with an egg station too and the evening meals on the beach are beautiful but not cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dara Samui Beach Resort, General Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Dear D G W Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dara Samui Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us. Your feedback is important to us as we are always striving to improve ourselves. Our sincere appreciation for your kind acknowledgment and compliments about our team and our efforts to make your stay with us a memorable one. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you at your next visit to Koh Samui. Best regards, Mark Suppiah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Kevin W
Wakefield, United Kingdom18 contributions1 helpful vote
Separate bath and shower so should be fine
Answer from J P
livingston5 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, We stay at the hotel in August, by then the hotel was between 90 to 100% full. The pool area is not large enough to accommodate a lot of guest. You can still use the beach area. We didn't have many problems getting one. Even they don't reserve the sun lunges, we saw guests putting their towels on them before going to breakfast. Around 4 pm they start putting tables on the beach area for dinner. I think the best beach area is when you leave the coral barrier, heading south, more open sea water, clear and deeper, more sand. The main reason we moved there was because our first hotel has a very strong smell of a room that was closed for so long. We visited a few others and we have the same kind of smell. When we visit Dara the room was very fresh. Wish you a very nice trip. Javier.
angela m asked a question Jul 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom53 contributions14 helpful votes
Is anyone staying at this hotel no reviews since april getting a bit concerned
angela m asked a question May 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom53 contributions14 helpful votes
can you confirm if this hotel supplies hairdryer?
Navigator38758247197 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very noisy air conditioning. Under airport flight path. Many steps so not accessible. The fish on the pond were nice. "
Read full review
Faye S wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a sun bed on bed you get the sun all day long "
Read full review
Brendan T wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The perfect place for a quiet holiday by the beach"
Read full review
Lucia S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Milan, Italy4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dara samui is the best resort in ko samui still romantic and still relax in pool and on the beach very very very beautiful "
Read full review
CAROLINE M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Andover, United Kingdom77 contributions98 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 211 was great ! 2 pin adapters - book Jungle Club and Dr Froggs 2 weeks before you go. Best Fire Show at Elephant Club!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chaweng area.
PRICE RANGE
£56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dara samui beach resort & spa villa hotel chaweng, dara samui beach resort and spa villa, dara samui beach hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKo SamuiBophutChaweng
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DARA SAMUI BEACH RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Dara Samui Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Classic International Suits (0.10 miles), Royal King International Suits (0.1 miles), and Samui Hong Kong Tailor (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dara Serene Restaurant, Baan Ya Jai, and Pad Thai Traditional Thai Food.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Dara Samui Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Dara Samui Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Dara Samui Beach Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Chaweng.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dara Samui Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Dara Samui Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Sitlaram (8.1 miles).
All Chaweng HotelsChaweng Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChawengHotels near Dara Samui Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire