We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Skarsnuten Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Skarsnuten Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Have just returned from an excellent holiday at the Skarsnuten Hotel in Hemsedal Norway . Firstly I would like to say that the customer service is excellent , all the staff were friendly and very helpful , nothing was too much trouble . The facilities are amazing too . The food was fantastic , plenty too eat at breakfast ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miss-stigley
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited Hemsedal for our annual skiing holiday. We stayed at the Skarsnuten for 6 days! We were 1000 metres above the resort in a modern lodge style building. Staff were all very helpful, wifi worked, the views were fantastic, you can ski in/out and the restaurant serves great food. The downside: infrequent transportation to and from town, rooms functional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LikaHassiotis
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We are in Hemsedal for the first time and found this beautiful hotel at the top of Skarsnuten. The restaurant with pooltable is an experience for many reasons. Great "fika", service, atmosphere and the view from the terrace. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kallhed F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel with amazing views across Hemsedal. We had two rooms in the main building for a week over new year. Our biggest problem was the noise at night. The rooms were under the restaurant and in the evening became very noisy until about 1 or 2am in the morning. The hotel was fully booked so they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I visited over New Year. The Skarsnuten hotel is modern and well equipped. We stayed in room 4006 which is a Superior Double with a valley view. (Crystal Ski) The double sofa bed was used for my 11.5 year old daughter. The sofa bed was ok at best but not really suitable for a weeks' stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeremyfish
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this fine review. I see that both the resort and the hotel have somethings to work with here and its always good to get an honest review so we can try to make things even better. Kind regards Robert

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Me and my wife celebrated our wedding at Skarsnuten 02.-04.09.16 with 102 guests and had a dream weekend! All of the planning ahead, implementation, service, food and rooms were top notch! The hotel delivered 100% to expectations and more. We can highly recommend Skarsnuten to parties that require good organization, service and delicious food! Again, thank you so much for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Arvika, Sweden
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We stayed at Skarsnuten for three nights participating in a wedding and the location and views is unbeatable. The hotel worked very well for a wedding, good communication and service upfront and during our stay. The wedding dinner was enjoyable, though I think the starter was acctually too complicated, but the main really delivered, and paired with good wines. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MEfem
Sandnes, Norway
Reviewed 24 March 2016

The restaurant signed Geir Skeie is unfortunately not delivered at the level one would expect. Food is sometimes featureless, and not of a higher quality than of a mediocre restaurant. The impression is that they have to many seasonal workers that don't know what they're doing. One of our servers didn't know the menu, the drinks, and couldn't tell us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swoosh_N
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that we didnt lived up to your expectations this time. We are always struggle to try to get the best staff and train them within 4 months but this is always a challange for a seasonhotel where we only keep the staff during a short period. We will of course try to make both the recruit and training for...

Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Small portions, the cod in the fish&chips was wet like water, a frozen fish that has been badly cooked/fried. Tried the pizza "Tind", no success. No spices, nor taste. Personal looked uncomfortable and no smiles. No bread while waiting for the food... Use to come here every year, but this will be the last. We are going to Skigaarden instead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Svalasnubben
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your visit wasnt as you expected, this really seems like you caught us on a really bad day (we should not have such days) Both the food and the waiters didnt delivered up to the standard were we want to be and we can just hope that you give us another chance.

Baerum Municipality, Norway
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We spent five days at Skarsnuten Hotel. Actually our third visit. Sorry to say it, but there are alternatives in the Hemsedal area being more attractive. The staff is nice and service-minded, the view is excellent. But when you need to be a handy-man yourself (no one showed up despite several reminders) to fix the shower with sports tape in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel09-53
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

I know that we have a challange when you are living at the hotel for 5 days not to be tired of the menu, we can only try to do it more varieted for next year. Thank you for letting us know. About the shower we needed to order some parts so sorry for not informing you about that, light...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemsedal
2.1 mi away
Skogstad Hotell
Skogstad Hotell
#4 of 5 in Hemsedal
63 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fossheim Hotel
Fossheim Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hemsedal
36 reviews
24.5 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#6 of 13 in Geilo
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
172 reviews
17.1 mi away
Oset Hoyfjellshotell
16.1 mi away
Storefjell Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skarsnuten Hotel, at 1000 m.s.l, has a magnificent view to mighty mountain Hemsedal. Skarsnuten is a design hotel, where nature plays a prominent part of the architecture. Large glass surfaces virtually let nature right into the buildings. Extensive use of glass, stone and slated stone in the lobby, bar and restaurant, plus modern steel constructions, contributes to the typical Scandivian touch of this quite new hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skarsnuten Hotel

Address: Holdeskaret, Hemsedal 3561, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hemsedal Municipality > Hemsedal
Price Range: £151 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skarsnuten Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Skarsnuten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Skarsnuten Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the rooms in the main hotel building if you want a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles GregC535, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the 4th floor have the best view”
 of 5 bubbles P8770PQdanielm, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Require rooms with view towards the slopes i.e. south-west and not to the parking area.”
 of 5 bubbles Travel09-53, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with a view, but be prepared to pay extra for this.”
  • A Room with a view!
 of 5 bubbles MrsHSD, 13 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room with a view. The ground floor rooms turning against the courtyard offers no privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles VidarJ777, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5