We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard

Cnr. Melbourne & Coronation Roads, Woodstock 8000 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (212)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (213)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Woodstock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard Hotel, assures affordability and everything else you have come to expect from Southern Sun Hotels. Offering spectacular views of Table Bay and the Harbor, this hotel affords easy access to the N2 which will take you to the CBD and some of the world's most beautiful beaches in one direction and the delightful Southern Suburbs and Winelands in the other. Close proximity to city centre and Table Mountain.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
1077Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 333
  • 384
  • 207
  • 93
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rose R wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Do not even try, worst experience ever, rooms were not cleaned on time, no internet, no porter service to carry luggage to the room, restaurant service very wanting,they do not answer their telephone extensions at the reception or room service, the pool was extremely crowded and had no lifeguard, I do not even understand what is happening here
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Come with your own internet, they have no intenet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Mackay, General Manager at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns with a few points that you experienced during your stay. These were all addressed while you were still at the property by Bulelani, and as mentioned It is very disappointing to hear that you were not enjoying your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology and as mentioned we will be addressing all the points that are in our control. We would appreciate an updated review or feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bridgette T wrote a review Nov 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa18 contributions14 helpful votes
I thought that this would be a great place given that it is a Tsogo Sun hotel. I was wrong. It is not 5 or even 4 star. I’d say a 3 star. It’s not terrible but it’s not great either. A few reasons why: No ventilation in the bathroom. No fridge, you need to go down for an ice bucket. They also only have a few of these. I called for an iron on Sunday and it never came, I got it after calling again on Monday. Breakfast 😭 - Not much of a selection. Same menu all 4 mornings we were there. I actually didn’t even go down for breakfast the last day because I was not in the mood to have the same meal again. I think for the price I really was expecting better. The staff is friendly I can’t fault them. I think the hotel as a whole needs to change though. New chef, new management maybe just to keep up with the times. Would I stay here again? No Would I recommend it? Yes but with clear warning on the above.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Mackay, General Manager at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
Responded 19 Nov 2023
Good day Thank you for your feedback, this is valuable to us. In response to some of your comments. We are a 3 Star hotel and are not rated as a 4 or 5 Star property. We are looking at installing fridges in the future, however in the meantime they are available on request from reception. We have extractors for all our bathrooms that are centrally controlled. With regards to our Breakfast, the core menu does not change as there are certain items that are expected and are standardized at breakfast i.e Bacon, yogurts, fresh fruits, omelettes etc. But we change daily one type of sausage, a chef special dish, fish dish, potatoes dish and vegetarian dish. Please accept our apology for the delay on request for ironing board, I have addressed this the team. We did have high demand this past week. Thank you for staying with us and hope we will see you again in the future. Warm Regards Ian Mackay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tebogo M wrote a review Oct 2023
Pretoria, South Africa29 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel is in decent location, easy access to and from main roads. In a very quiet area. Overlooks the harbour and the city. The breakfast is decent. There is however no brush for toilet, you have to wait for room service to clean the toilet. Baths are small. Staff is friendly. I would book it again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is safe Rooms overview harbour
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Mackay, General Manager at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
Responded 30 Oct 2023
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted you had great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Warm regards Ian Mackay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard Y wrote a review Aug 2023
Edenbridge, United Kingdom30 contributions16 helpful votes
The welcome and the help from staff is Excellent. The staff did go over and above at mealtimes and with other hotel services. Where it dropped a mark was general maintenance. Parts of the hotel needed renovation (external). Being a very windy city you don't tend to sleep when even the hotel name on a metal board flaps like it wants out of the hotel trade and in to an orchestra! Still, the squad needed a refuge for the World Cup and we won that so I applaud the hotel in having a part to play in that success!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the pool photo. It is a lot smaller and in October, despite +20c, very cold....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Mackay, General Manager at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
Responded 23 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your kind words and congratulations on winning and happy we could be part of this. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. The issue with the sign has been resolved and repaired. We look forward to welcoming you back to Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard in the near future. Warm Regards Ian Mackay General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Henrik Andersson wrote a review Feb 2023
Cape Town, South Africa13 contributions
Hotel location is good. Decent connections to main roads. Hotel breakfast is also alright as well as the views from some rooms / areas. The negatives: 1. AC is noisy and insufficient 2. No bottled waters in the rooms 3. TV starts automatically after power cuts, wakes you up at nights 4. Fitness center is a joke ( all machines out of service) 5. No dedicated staff at the bar 6. No dedicated iron or any board in the rooms 7. No mini bar / fridge in the room 8. Mold in the bathroom
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Mackay, General Manager at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
Responded 22 Feb 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate your feedback and raising your concerns with a few points that you experienced during your stay at the Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard. In response to some of your comments, as a Garden Court water is not provided in our hotel rooms, this is brand standard throughout the country, we do have mini bars and irons are available on request from reception. With regards to rest, please accept our sincere apology and I will be addressing all the points that you raised and assure you that this is not our usual standard. We appreciate you bringing these comments to our attention, as we need to see the service from our guest point of view, as we strive to meet our guest’s expectations.We look forward to welcoming you back to Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard in the future Warm Regards Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thiago d wrote a review Feb 2023
25 contributions4 helpful votes
My door was open when I arrived back one evening! Nothing was missing but it shows the level of careless of this establishment. In addition, the service was horrendous from check-in to check- out. Staff are unfriendly, badly trained, extremely slow and often confused. The room and corridors stank and the furniture is way past its due date. The dinner buffet and the breakfast food was as bad as the rest of the experience. Overcooked and tasteless, with very little choice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Mackay, General Manager at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
Responded 8 Feb 2023
Dear Thiago d Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it very disappointing here about your experience, we appreciate you bringing to our attention your concerns with a number of issues that you experienced during your stay at the Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard. In response to one Southern Sun has a 5 year plan which includes various refurbishment we are in the plan, however no dates have been confirmed. The rest are not acceptable and please accept our sincere apology and I will be addressing all the points that you raised and assure you that this is not our usual standard. We appreciate you bringing these comments to our attention, as we need to see the service from our guest point of view, as we strive to meet our guest’s expectations. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Explorer56431525969 wrote a review Dec 2022
Johannesburg South, South Africa
Breakfast is bad. Bad selection, breads are not even nice, Pancakes look horrible doesn't even look like Pancakes, Building not maintained. Sinks dripping. Smells dirty. No porters to help with luggage, i was alone and had 3 small kids with and had to offload my own luggage and pull all my things up like a hill inside before getting into a lift with no help at all, they call it self service. The only thing nice is the 2 big beds as like all tsogo sun's that cater for families. I would recommend to go for a different one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: There's no minibar in the rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Mackay, General Manager at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
Responded 13 Dec 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate you bringing to our attention your concerns with a few points that you experienced during your stay at the Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard. In response to a few points, we do not have porters, but if assistance is needed one of our team will help and this is not a brand standard for Garden Courts which is our 3 star brand. With regards to other issues, please accept our sincere apology and I will be addressing all the points that you raised with my team. We appreciate you bringing these comments to our attention, as we need to see the service from our guest point of view, as we strive to meet our guest’s expectations. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NJC112 wrote a review Feb 2022
Mossel Bay, South Africa116 contributions16 helpful votes
Don't be fooled by the outside appearance or the location. Inside, you find a well-run hotel, with excellent caring staff and good amenities. The breakfast buffet was tops! Only negatives: (didn't impede our stay) No bar fridges Air conditioning can be upgraded Flies and other pest in the restaurant- which was brought to Managements attention. I special word of thanks must go to Canduce who was amazing and caring.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the parking quiter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mohammed Maeez Hoosain wrote a review Jan 2022
Windhoek, Namibia8 contributions
Certain aspects of the room was dated, such as carpets and cupboards. The checkin process took long, but the service since then was top class. Candus at Reception attended to several of our requests, without a flinch and deserves a medal for her patience and professionalism. Chef Owen unassumingly accommodated the halaal requirements of our meals, and Gerry from Maintenance quickly replaced the battery on our room safe. I will return to this hotel when next in Cape Town
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nina Tshabalala wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
They don’t have bar fridges. Someone (staff) ate the food we asked to keep in their fridge. Someone came knocking on our door, left the half eaten food outside (that we hadn’t asked for). It’s basically self service up in that place. The hotel staff would pick and choose who to be helpful to and lol wasn’t us. We would ask for their iron in the morning and they’d get back to us HOURS later, knocking at our room talking about “do you still need the iron”??? Breakfast was SO ok, it’s ridiculous. We always had to ASK housekeeping to change our towels and refill coffee/tea station. Location was great tho. Outside the hotel, we had a great time. Cape Town SLAPS.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Woodstock area.
PRICE RANGE
£66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
garden court eastern boulevard hotel cape town central
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Garden Court Eastern Boulevard
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownWoodstockWoodstock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
292
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GARDEN COURT NELSON MANDELA BOULEVARD - Updated 2024 (Woodstock, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
Which popular attractions are close to Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard?
Nearby attractions include Juma Art Tours (0.5 miles), Market at The Palms (0.7 miles), and Brewers Co-op (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Test Kitchen, Saucisse Boutique Deli, and Andalousse Moroccan Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard have airport transportation?
Yes, Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Woodstock.
Are any cleaning services offered at Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.