We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mudlark River Front Lodge

Breede River Mouth, Witsand 6666 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 3 lodges in Witsand
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Mudlark River Front Lodge is situated on the bank of the Breede River. 5 double en-suite rooms with private decks and magnificent views over 5 kms of river. The lodge offers guided fishing, river cruises, 205 bird species, whale watching the best in SA, easy walks through the fynbos and along the coast. Lots of peace and tranquility.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic

Location

Breede River Mouth, Witsand 6666 South Africa
64Reviews0Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 13
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Marie-Louise V wrote a review Feb 2023
Sandton, South Africa116 contributions33 helpful votes
We spent 10 days here in December and were overwhelmed by everything Hilary is the perfect hostess. Our room was superb. Very comfortable with a sitting area. Lovely linen, all bathroom accessories an attention to detail. The breakfasts were scrumptious and the few dinners we had really Cordon Bleu. The position on the Breede River is just beautiful and the views towards Witsand outstanding. We will certainly be back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Clayton Kimber wrote a review Nov 2021
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
A beautiful setting, amazing hosts and brilliant food. Glad to have experienced this lodge. Fishing was good for the time of year. You must also visit Bent Head pub up the road, blows your mind. Will certainly be back with the family so that they too can have the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room 5 is the best view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
andreabaxter wrote a review Mar 2020
London3 contributions1 helpful vote
What a special place. Fantastic food, really well looked after and the venue is truly stunning. Amazing views from my room and the perfect place to relax and get away from it all. If you love birds, you will love this place as the birds never stop singing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Best views are probably room 4 or 5.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JBBest wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
So where do I begin in writing a review for such a MAGICAL place that, within the space of 3 days, left an indelible mark in my life...? Well, the first thing that struck me was the contrast between the golden fields on the 30 minute or so drive after turning off from the N1 and the LUSH GARDEN that meets you at the riverside over which mudlark lodge looks! The indigenous succulent garden is simply teeming with life - birds drink water and play around the bird feeders, bees buzz between the multitude of flowers and Hilary's lovely dogs are the first ones to come out and greet you on arrival! A fantastic way to ease right into your home away from home! The Mudlark lodge is positioned high up on the Brede River riverbank and the VIEW from the lodge and rooms is absolutely INCREDIBLE.Think beautiful SUNSETS glistening and gleaming over the river, fishermen strolling along the river bank, boats full of people chugging along as they go about their business, dogs running around and playing as they go, and the odd mudlark passing by with their own catch of the day! The lodge strikes a perfect balance between being LUXURIOUS yet HOMEY at the same time. The rooms are beautifully furnished and welcoming. The main living area has plenty of places to sit, relax, hang out and take in the multitude of interesting pieces of furniture and bits and bobs that Hilary and her parter have collected over the years.. Also make sure to check out the bookshelf for something interesting to read as you unwind and ease into a slower pace to that of the city! Hilary is simply an EXCEPTIONAL HOST and friendliest person ever! She went out of her way to make me feel at home and helped me tremendously to down-gear and settle in. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed our chats about life, the universe and everything! One of the things I loved about mudlark is that there's EVERYTHING you need to RELAX and have FUN, and that can vary depending on what you're keen for. I personally enjoyed walking along the river bank, fishing off the pier, picking fresh mussels off said pier, taking a short drive down to the beach for some shell foraging, and just hanging out in general. When I go back in a few weeks I'll make sure to go check out Witsand across the river, take a boat out for some proper fishing, kayak, and explore the numerous other ACTIVITIES on offer! One of the ABSOLUTE BEST parts of mudlark is the FOOD! I'd been to a "top 10" SA restaurant a few days before going to mudlark and can honestly, without a doubt say that Hilary and her head chef, Rodney, completely blew said restaurant out of the water! Dinners are a 3 course affair and breakfast consisted of some of the most beautiful spreads I've ever had the privilege of devouring! I would describe the culinary style as the absolute PINNACLE of HOME COOKING. Think steak with mushroom sauce, quiche, pan fried beans, apple crumble, and such.. AND Hilary's CHICKEN PIE is BY FAR the best I've ever had! I really can't speak more highly of the food at mudlark - it satisfied me somewhere deep in my soul, haha! Speaking of the food, Rodney is also excellent at preparing the local produce on offer. When presented with a freshly-caught stripe, he promptly filited and fried it to absolute PERFECTION. When presented with some FRESH MUSSELS which I collected from the pier near by, Rodney made a delicious, creamy mussel soup which was out of this world.. For anyone who LOVES food, it doesn't get much better than this and I honestly can't wait to go back for more! For those looking for a place to grab a couple of beers, listen to some music, hang out, or stock up on holiday supplies, look no further than the BENT HEAD! Less than 5 minutes away by car or a short walk along the riverbank, the Bent Head is an ABSOLUTE MUST-SEE. Marc has spent the last 5 years building and creating the place from scratch and the entire property is simply oozing with CHARACTER and INTRIGUE. In all my travels thus far, I don't think I've ever come across a bar more deserving of the title of "BURNER BAR" than the Bent Head! Every nook and cranny is filled with some kind of ODDITY. Everywhere you look is a STORY just waiting to be told. The GARDEN feels like something out of the MAD HATTER'S TEA PART. And the shop is filled with interesting items that Marc has created. Marc is also a seasoned TRAVELLER, having visited over 100 countries, and his WORLDLINESS shines through at the Bent Head! If you're feeling frisky, please do bring your odds and ends along for Marc to integrate into his constantly-evolving MASTERPIECE! Needless to say, mudlark, Hilary, Marc and Rodney made an impression on me and it was exactly the backdrop and they were exactly the people I needed to slow down, UNWIND, RELAX, REJUVENATE and REINVIGORATE my spirit. I can't reccomend Mudlark highly enough and can't wait to go back and visit Hilary, Marc and Rodney again ASAP!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MrsEFrantz wrote a review May 2019
Somerset West, South Africa29 contributions2 helpful votes
So we decided to spend my Birthday the weekend at the Mudlark Riverfront Lodge, located at the mouth of the Breede River. The lodge is basically in the 'middle of nowhere'! So make sure you take all you need along, as it is not easy to just 'hop to the shop'! If nature is what you like, this is a suitable get-away place to stay! The weekend was fantastic, the setting is absolutely magnificent and it's the perfect breakaway for some quality time and tranquility. Included in your stay is a hearty fully catered breakfast, from homemade muesli, rusks, fresh fruits, eggs, bacon, sausages, roast potatoes etc. And in the evenings a delicious 3 course meal is served. They also offer a recreational fishing adventure, where a boat, skipper/ghillie including all fishing equipment can be hired for your enjoyment. Other activities include scenic nature walks or merely sitting back, relaxing and enjoying the peace and tranquility it has to offer. Hilary (owner) and staff (Rodney and Victor) are very friendly and excellent hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: best views, tranquility, quality time
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
srwdca13 wrote a review May 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia23 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Spent several days here recently while visiting the area, what an amazing place. I can't wait to return. The calm of the space, and the peacefulness of nature envelops you like a blanket and holds you until you leave. A hint of Swiss Family Robinson with the wooded construction and the gardens, filled with birds that gently wake you in the AM, or invite cool creatures you can view while having dinner. Food is excellent, breakfast with fresh eggs of you like. Family style with the guests at a long table, you feel at an old family home in your new place first bite. Couple times the mains could have had a tad less salt, but the otherwise the food is wonderful and just the right way to end the day. No TVs in rooms! Yay! You can unplug here, read and take a moment to become present with yourself and the world. Gaze at the river, or explore the area and its natural riches. This is not a Four Seasons, so those with pamper me attitudes may miss the point of the Mudlark, and its strength. This is a personal lodge, very comfortable and welcoming in a way I have not felt in many years of travel. Use the honor bar to pick a nice bottle of SA red, and release yourself into a place that is connected with the land and the history of Infanta, and that shares openly with you the hospitality of its owners. You'll get a visit from some very friendly and well behaved dogs, that will make you smile. Or wave at turtle crossing the path by your room. It is worth the drive over a long, 70, unpaved road to Infanta. For a weekend or longer. The rooms are perfect and very comfortable. You return from breakfast and they are already serviced for the night. Not one to go on a fishing trip but I hear they are popular. For me this was an escape into Being with nature, away from the noise of our modern world. I can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Scenic29613471912 wrote a review Nov 2018
1 contribution
Wonderful view of the river, surrounding hills/mountains, & lovely grounds around the lodge, plenty of birds at the feeders & around otherwise, beautiful inside as well...& fantastic hospitality. Many thanks to Hilary & Tim!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
1966kimn wrote a review Apr 2018
Cape Town, South Africa25 contributions1 helpful vote
The last hour and half stretch of road to Mudlark lodge is dirt road and during winter would be bad as your vehicle slides in mud which I experienced with a little rain on the way there. Ordinary sedans can get there. The chalet is tidy but I was very disappointed that the room at the rate I was paying did not have a tea/coffee station, no TV in the room and bottled water in the room. Water is in a jug and it didn't taste very nice. I decided on Mudlark for privacy, quiet time and to be able to sit on the verandah of the chalet and sip tea and watch a few movies in the evening and enjoy fishing and nature. If I wanted tea or coffee I had to go up to the main house for it and drink it there. This was annoying. There was no access to TV or movies in the evenings which was a disappointment. I Meals are served around the same table - which I found strained but the three course dinners were delicious and they catered to me being a pescatarian. Breakfast also with every lodger and family member at the table passing food up and down - not really my cup of tea but the actual breakfast was excellent. Consisting of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, and full english breakfast. The fishing trip planned at R200 per hour was wonderful. The guy who took me was knowledgeable and very helpful but no water or drinks were supplied on the boat - so after 4 hours I was very thirsty. This I thought would have been included in the price but unfortunately not and I had to pay for a bottle of water back at the lodge. The bird life at the lodge is amazing and the birds are fed daily - so you could go up to the main house to watch them getting fed - even a genet a night time came to eat. If you want romance and enjoy the company of people all the time - then this is the place for you. This lodge is not wheelchair friendly at all, and children would have to be active participants in water sports or fishing or bring along their own tablets and games. There are a lot of mosquitoes at the lodge - par for any lodge on the river.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from hilarysouthafrica, Owner at Mudlark River Front Lodge
Responded 5 May 2018
Hi Kim I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. When I realised that you were on your own and your son had cancelled I did tell you that I had invited my family and a friend for the weekend, your responce was super and you needed a new familt as yours had all gone overseas. That is the reason we all sat at the table with you to make you feel more at home, I am sorry you were not happy with my family. There is a TV in the main lounge with full DSTV, I am sorry that you did not make use of it. You were welcome to take your teaa and coffee to your room, even down to the river where there are recliners. Regards Hilary
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PamboMaryland wrote a review Apr 2018
Maryland44 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed here 1 night as part of a birding tour of the region. We really enjoyed it and would have liked to have stayed longer. This place is nice, but probably not for everyone. The location is rather isolated, which worked well for us. The other guests were there for the fishing, which can be done right out front. The room we had was small, but perfectly acceptable. There is a large porch, which has views of the river and the owner's extensive bird feeding operation. There is also a nice living room inside that guests could use, but we were outside the whole time. The communal dining seems to be a sticking point with the other reviewers, but the food was good, and there are worse things than meeting new people.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from hilarysouthafrica, Owner at Mudlark River Front Lodge
Responded 5 Apr 2018
Thak you for your review Hilary
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jean0803 wrote a review Mar 2018
Piketberg, South Africa34 contributions2 helpful votes
Mudlark Fishing Lodge is a comfortable, no frills escape from everyday life. The lodge is situated in a beautiful little cove on the Breede River. The views from the rooms are all of the river and farmlands surrounding the area. The indigenouse garden around the chalets and rooms is beautifully kept and there is an abundance of wild birds, in fact the only noise you hear is birdsong. The meals are prepared by the owner and are simple, delicious home cooked meals. The lodge provides fishing boats and assistance if needed. The number of very keen fishermen who return throughout the year is testimony to the good service and good fishing in the river. If you need a wonderful relaxing place to escape to, this is your place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for room with best view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from hilarysouthafrica, Owner at Mudlark River Front Lodge
Responded 5 Apr 2018
Thank you Jean for your review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Witsand area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictWitsand
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MUDLARK RIVER FRONT LODGE - Reviews (Witsand, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mudlark River Front Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mudlark River Front Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Mudlark River Front Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mudlark River Front Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.