We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Rimba Lodge should be viewed as an alternative to staying on your klotok (boat). It is up a river with poor land transportation with all services arriving and departing by boat. Therefore the price is higher and also a percentage of the money goes to the Orangutan Foundation. It is basic but there is air conditioning and the beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jane W
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your realistic report. We are a conservation company dedicated to empower local people with jobs to fight off the illegal attempts to destroy this wonderful national park with its eight primate species and millions of other species of fauna and flora dependent on the conservation of the orangutan. We are not a 5 star establishment; however we...

Waimea, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Travelled to Rimba Lodge in February 2015, the accommodations were not for us! We ended up leaving the Rimba Lodge after one night, and asked the guide and boat captain to take us back to civilization to get a hotel room for the night. Our Emerald Room (supposedly the best room), we could see water stains from the roof leaking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diana M
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We refheer to your report and certainly the room report will be investigated. This is likely to result in staff member in charge of your room being removed. Regarding your complaint re no power between 1000 and 1700. This has always been our policy but will change when our new solar power plant (currently being installed) is operational in around...

Reviewed 7 February 2015

We ‘only’ stayed at Rimba Ecolodge for 5 days, but what a big impact it made on us. It started with emailing about the possibilities. We got quick replies every time and with the help of ecolodges we decided to adjust the 3nights/4days to our wishes. We gave them our flight number, and from there on we didn’t have to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JosuaEnKim
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your report on our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge especially mentioning our guides and boat staff. You have captured the magic of the Rimba experience, which has been missed by many. Our company only employs local people, empowering them as a conservation measure and it is with such pleasure to know that the persons you mentioned looked after...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2015

I Travelled to Rimba in December 2014 and had a once in a lifetime trip. Greeted by my guide Eros, the 4 day tour was fantastic. The relaxed pace of the klontok cruising up and down the river, waving to other travellers and spotting the proboscus monkey groups, crocs and with our Captains skill, even wild orangutans, the tour was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gdoreian
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for your report about us especially the variation of wildlife around the lodge and the comments about our staff who are all local people as part of our conservation policy, namely to empower local people. Thank you

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We recently stayed 4 nights at Rimba Orang-utan Ecolodge. We had such an amazing time - the setting is just fantastic, with proboscis monkeys, langurs and macaques around the lodge which completely charmed us. In spite of being in such a remote area, the staff managed to prepare excellent and varied food and were very pleasant. We really appreciated being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kittyjacqui
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We greatly thank you for your report on our lodge especially about our restaurant staff and Hakim, the Head of our guide services. We believe this is a unique place and we very thankful that someone from South Africa, a rich place for lodges supports us.

Reviewed 4 January 2015

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ira S
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Reviewed 1 January 2015

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Pradeep T
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

surrey, england
Reviewed 3 November 2014

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smartcookie50
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 October 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swiss1981
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkalan Bun
15.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
#1 of 2 in Pangkalan Bun
145 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Kecubung Hotel
Grand Kecubung Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antoneri Lodge
Antoneri Lodge
#4 of 8 in Moni
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Arsela Hotel
Arsela Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
38 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A flat screen is NOT important. Depends on what you value in life.”
 of 5 bubbles intrepidtravellernz, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to have aircon, as we didn't choose the cheapest rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jackact, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask about different types”
 of 5 bubbles OrangutanEngland, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Diamond room is good.”
 of 5 bubbles most_peaceful, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The most expensive category is the newest - I'd go for this one”
 of 5 bubbles Onthemove201107, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5