We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bell At Sax'

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bell At Sax\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The restaurant here is really good value for money. The three of us had a three course meal which was interesting, tasty and very well presented. The pulled pork spring roll was really excellent as a starter as was the French onion soup. The main courses from the moules, battered haddock and steak burger were really excellent. We finished with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mysteryfoodtaster
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights in January and the room and bed was massive with great bath etc. Food was lovely - all cooked fresh and hot - big portions as well and very reasonable prices. the t,v, was bit small and on side wall which was difficult to watch while in bed but we did have two nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nuttynetty1953
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend managed to find a great weekend away for us - two couples didn't know what to expect but this place was fantastic friendly warm staff great food and our room was brilliant ... yes you can't park on site but it's only a short walk from a cheap car park can't fault this place great base and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anniemac42
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sorry for taking so long to write this review as we stayed at The Bell from 24th to 26th December and enjoyed their Christmas package. We booked 2 rooms, the superior one with the super king sized bed and the twin room for our grown up children. We all had a really enjoyable time, the rooms, the staff, the food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This attractive pub is welcoming and cosy, nicely furnished with two dining areas and a bar. We were there for lunch on a quiet , rainy day. As we planned to dine out in the evening, we only wanted a light lunch so each chose two starters. I had a lovely French onion soup, which was everything you could want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simmkat
Rugby, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights here on a Groupon and found it to be a good base for getting to see Suffolk. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and service was good. Our room (number 2) was perfectly adequate if not luxurious, being clean, well decorated and with the amenities you would expect. Free Wifi reception was very good. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRugby
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

KINGS LYNN
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our 4th stay at the Bell ! the lovely staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms nice and clean the bar well stocked and the food 1st class and not over priced. I just have to say well done to the chefs the food was excellent again the scallops were so good I had them both nights and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KingsLynnRobo
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you, that is high praise indeed! We do aim to please and look forward to that 5th visit.

Llandudno Junction, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good food, looks good, tastes good. Service very friendly. Nice atmosphere. We have been for another meal and were equally pleased. First meal was a Christmas special which was very good so we went again for my birthday and were not disappointed. Would recommend and we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann e
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

That's lovely, so pleased you enjoyed your meals with us.

UK
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The hotel feels a little cold on entry owing to its old flagged floors but its maintenance of a traditional décor is one of its attractions. Our room (at the front, overlooking the main road) was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was unusually spacious and surprisingly modern compared with the fittings in the rest of the building. Plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hpboap
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do try to keep The Bell cosy but as you mentioned it is an old building and this can be difficult. Our breakfasts are good and yes you do get generopus portions with all our meals. Hope to see you again.

Cambridge
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We stayed on New Years Eve as we were attending a wedding nearby so probably not the best night for a review. We had a good size room with comfy beds and decent bathroom - it was a bit chilly when we arrived, only having a turned down radiator by the front door and not in the bedroom, room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It most probably was not the best night to stay and we did accomodate you as best we could. The bar did close to the public at 6pm and we did finish serving drinks for the party at 1am, so apologies for that and just bad timing I am afraid. I do hope we can...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxmundham
3.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
655 reviews
6.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,369 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
705 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
9.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bell At Sax' is a laid-back welcoming 10 bedroom restaurant-with-rooms, in the heart of Saxmundham, surrounded by the Suffolk Heritage Coast and the stylish destinations of Southwold, Aldeburgh, Framlingham and Woodbridge. Here at The Bell, we are all about good cooking, carefully prepared by owner & head chef Jonathan Nicholson and his team, into hearty elegant dishes, made with fabulous local ingredients from our artisan producer friends around East Suffolk. We welcome weekenders, business travellers, holidaymakers, parties and small weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bell At Sax'

Address: 31 High Street, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England (Formerly Bell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell At Sax' 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bell At Sax' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Sax' Saxmundham, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bell At Sax' staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bromley, United Kingdom
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell At Sax' staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter rooms not overlooking back yard preferred.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisRugby, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We only used the restaurant because we live close by.”
 of 5 bubbles 662anne, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not attic rooms we were told if you're tall.”
 of 5 bubbles ukopinion, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 has a sloping roof so seems a little smaller”
 of 5 bubbles GUARDSMAN, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is great, very soundproof and spacious!”
  • Our twin room
 of 5 bubbles katebeaarch, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5