We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Georgian Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saxmundham
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Georgian Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Nottingham
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am coming to the end of a four week stay at the Georgian Guest House whilst working in the area and have thoroughly enjoyed my time here. Great room (No5) with a four poster bed and a huge bathroom. In the morning I enjoy Muesli and fresh fruit followed with a lovely home cooked hot breakfast, I'm a veggie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrankMango
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from a delightful four days staying at The Georgian House run by Sara and Martin who were excellent hosts. Our room was very spacious and the beds were perfect! I am a fairly poor sleeper when I am away but here had no trouble at all! The bathroom was spacious too and it was a treat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much.... what a wonderful review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at 'The Georgian. Thankfully the weather held out for you... I'm pretty sure you saw more of Suffolk in the 4 days you were here than I've seen in 4 years! It was an absolute pleasure having you here to stay and...

Leeds
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have just had a very comfortable two night stay at the Georgian House. We were made to feel very welcome, our room was warm and cosy and the breakfast was very good indeed accompanied by lots of good strong coffee and more offered. We were visiting friends who lived very close by and we had travelled to Suffolk by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann N
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Saxmundham at 'The Georgian'

Elstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were four middle aged men in Saxmundham for a Masonic meeting. Both twin rooms were ideal - clean, comfortable beds and good facilities. Sara and Martin made us feel as if we were staying with family with a very warm welcome - what a lovely pair ! A roaring log fire in the lounge and a 'honesty' bar just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delsie65
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. I'm very pleased that you all felt 'at home' It really does make it all worthwhile when guests leave great feedback. We hope to see you again.

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for a few days. It was really nice. Sarah and Martin made us very welcome and the bedroom was nice and warm, bed comfortable and clean, a good shower and hot water. The tea, coffee, water and biscuits were replenished daily, all really nice touches. The breakfasts were absolutely brilliant, plenty of cereal, fruit juice, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willy099
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased that you were comfortable here; it's great when people stay for a few days as you really get a chance to get to know them. Your comments about the room and the breakfasts was really appreciated. I hope that you are able to stay again...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed with some friends for 3 nights while visiting the RSPB bird sanctuary at Minsmere which is just up the road. We were made really welcome. The rooms were great, very well equipped with nice little extras. The bed was really comfortable, Sarah was a very good host nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were superb with really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for the lovely review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and particularly enjoyed your breakfasts. Hopefully we will see you again in the spring when you may be able to get a glimpse of the Egrets. It was a real pleasure having you stay here and the fact that you are 'racing' fans made it...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2013

my parents (86) and I stayed here for just one night, but wished it could have longer. The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless with everything possible provided to ensure the stay is perfect. Breakfast was excellent - first rate and really 5 star. We will definitely be saying here again and have no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sue c
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so pleased that you were comfortable here. Mum and Dad are a marvel. I shall hopefully see you all in the future. Many thanks once again.

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Absolutely brilliant!!!! Extremely friendly and welcoming, excellent care of all who stayed and catered to our every need and more. Would highly highly highly recommend this beautiful Guest House. Wedding Party.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Xanthe P
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! What a lovely review... I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It was a pleasure having you all here and great fun. Many thanks ;)

Sussex UK resident
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Warm welcome from Sara and her dogs. She really did make us feel we were at home and made lots of phone calls to fix taxis and restaurants. Excellent breakfast and she made it fun with her opera-class (?) singing from the kitchen. Rooms are OK though there were a few little fixes needed - for example, we had three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnglishAssessor
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Peter. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. Your 5* review for 'service' is much appreciated. I'm pleased that you recognized that not only did I book venues and taxis for you; that when you changed your mind both times I managed to rearrange your bookings albeit on short notice on a Friday and Saturday. This...

Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and 9 month old son stayed in the enormous family room for one night on our way to our first family holiday. The best possible start. Sara is a delight and more like a loving Aunty than b&b owner. Nothing was too much trouble and I'm a picky vegetarian first time mom!Lovely house, lovely pets, just lovely! Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachdancol
landladySuffolk, Owner at The Georgian Guest House, responded to this review

Oh Rachel.... what a lovely review! Thank you so much. I'm pleased that we got you off to a great start for your first holiday. I hope you had a good time. Daniel is an absolute delight. Thanks again.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxmundham
3.4 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
634 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bell At Sax'
The Bell At Sax'
#6 of 25 in Saxmundham
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Holly Tree Cottage
Holly Tree Cottage
#2 of 3 in Darsham
76 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sibton White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cashman family would like to offer you a warm and friendly welcome to the Georgian Guest House. We are an award-winning guest house situated in the small market town of Saxmundham, Suffolk. This is an ideal place from which to discover the Suffolk Coastal area, including nearby towns Aldeburgh, Southwold, Snape and Iken. You can expect a warm welcome and an informal, relaxed atmosphere during your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Georgian Guest House

Address: 6 North Entrance, Saxmundham IP17 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham
Price Range: £65 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Georgian Guest House Saxmundham, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Georgian Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the rooms were of a very high standard”
 of 5 bubbles 422suec, 11 Oct 2013 | Read review
“The room with the four poster looks fab!”
 of 5 bubbles Carolyn074, 19 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Our room was at the back of the house and therefore no traffic noise. We were pleased that we were able to have our window wide as it was very warm weather.”
 of 5 bubbles RosalieW384, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Due to the house position with parking facilities it does not front directly to the main road and as such all rooms will be peacfull,rooms at the back overlook the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnSTaylor, 14 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Choose the downstairs room (room 7, I think) if you or anyone you are travelling with has limited mobility. Choose room 3 for a peaceful room at the back of the house overlooking the long garden.”
 of 5 bubbles LittleEmsy, 17 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5