We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Baar, Switzerland
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The breakfast is simply great with a very large choice of fresh food! The rooms are nice, well maintained and the beds are comfortable. Unfortunately, the hotel is accepting pets and the main issue is the smell of the cleaning products used to try to kill the pets' smell!!! Our room was smelling that product during 2 days even with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
Christian R, Manager at Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review and for which we were allowed to be your hosts. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast. At the same time we regret that you were disturbed with the smells of our cleaning agent. In this case, the only option is to adequately ventilated. Furthermore, we are sorry that when you shampoo...

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We have been here several times and the hotel has maintained its good standards. The mattresses are not really good, we noticed this when we both experienced back pains in the morning. Excellent restaurant with some staff which perhaps need a bit more customer service training. All round a polite, helpful staff with local knowledge. The pool is disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Christian R, Manager at Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Christian Bernhardt (Ass. Hotel Manager) & Team

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Good standard for this hotel close to the beach. Classic and quiet room at the 2nd floor without lift. Bad pillows and average mattress. No real frisian charm but competent staff and quite satisfying experience. Better for german people than for foreigners. Be careful of hidden costs like water in the room or magazines. Not enough veggie food at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A R
Christian R, Manager at Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen....

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 4 January 2015

The price is outrageous for the hotel, we were lodged in a so called studio with the bedrooms and bathroom in the cellar, dark and a bit smelly (bathroom without window) - in winter, I cannot imagine how it would be in the summer. On the plus-side, the breakfast was excellent, lots of fresh fruit - and all things typical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YNNYN
cbernhardtSYLT, Manager at Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Not a 4 star hotel I would say more like a 3 star. This is because the rooms are small and a little dated; the pillows are completely useless more like a tea towel with a few rags in it; and wifi is not free it's €10. On the plus side staff are nice; the breakfast is very German, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel has a great location close to the beach. The breakfast is plentiful, and the staff mostly very friendly (though one seemed to have been asleep during training). But otherwise the picture is one of getting things right, but then failing on important details. Rooms were comfortable, but the pillows were inadequate; different guests have different preferences, so a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was my first stay in Sylt and it really is an island stuck in the 60's and 70's. The Windrose is right above the beach with two restaurants right in front. The beach is 2 mins walk away and costs 3.5 euros to enter. The hotel has a nautical feel to it and rooms are spacious, clean but dated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skytourist
Düsseldorf
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The LIndner Windrose is close to the beach in Wenningstedt - you could hardly get closer. The roooms are spacious and the breakfast buffet is out of this world. Everything you can think of, even fish and crab salad in the morning. Very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mendack
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This review if for the Lindner Hotel am Wiesensee, not sure that TripAdvisor is linking it correctly. This hotel was ok, I gather there's not much choice in the area and this is the best there is. I don't know about the value as we were paid for, but I guess it's a good business hotel. It has a homogenous,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlphabetFondue
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2010

You are basically paying for the location of this hotel. While it is about as convient to get to the beach as possible and the staff are friendly and very responsive, there isn't much else that can be said about this hotel. The rooms while clean are somewhat dated and basically everything felt like what you would expect for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kr3m3Puff

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wenningstedt
5.4 mi away
Dorfhotel Sylt
Dorfhotel Sylt
#2 of 6 in Rantum
131 reviews
7.0 mi away
A-ROSA Sylt
A-ROSA Sylt
#1 of 3 in List
348 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dorint Strandresort & Spa Sylt-Westerland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sylter Domizil
Sylter Domizil
#2 of 10 in Wenningstedt
70 reviews
4.0 mi away
Severin's Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Walter's Hof
Walter's Hof
#2 of 5 in Kampen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Island Life - with sea air, sunshine, beach and more.Wenningstedt – a place with the typical flair of Sylt. Here, guests who are in search of an exclusive atmosphere surrounded by sea air will find an oasis of calm and relaxation: the Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose. Only some steps away, the beach invites you to go for a walk, to take a bath in the waves or simply to sit down in a wicker beach chair and relax. The hotel cuisine for most refined demands and the attractive recreational and wellness area – all this makes your holiday a pleasure on an island like no other: Sylt. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose

Address: Strandstrasse 19, 25996 Wenningstedt, Sylt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > North Friesian Islands > Sylt > Wenningstedt
Price Range: £116 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotel Wenningstedt
Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose Sylt/Wenningstedt, Germany
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lindner Strand Hotel Windrose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Facing the sea, but there is no direct sea view”
 of 5 bubbles W173JDmichaell, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Do not accept to be lodged in the souterrain-studio it is really dark in the bedrooms and bath and kind of depressing. Also you hear EVERYTHING from the apartment above.”
 of 5 bubbles YNNYN, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay