We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandpiper Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sandpiper Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Cartagena, Colombia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I knew it was a cheap place but that doesn't account for how dirty the place was! Finding hairs in the bed and dirt up the walls isn't acceptable no matter the price. Their were leak stains across the walls and the door got jammed shut and needed a good push to open. The TV looked fairly new but with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fern59095
Seal Beach, California
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed in the Sand Piper Inn for 8 days in June. If you are looking for a beautiful Beach, it is hard to beat the view from the Palapa. We sat with our friends and enjoyed the beautiful breeze and a Beach you only dream about back home. No big crowds, perfect waves, clean and soft sand between your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jahappyheart
Aladena
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We were 4 adults: one couple and 2 women so we booked two rooms. Upon arrival we were disappointed that the rooms (and hotel) were quite rustic. Although the rooms were fair size, they seemed small because of all the beds. Our double room for my husband and me had extra beds so there really wasn't room for comfortable chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TicaGirl2013
sandpiper222222, Owner at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review

So Ms. TicaGirl, let me explain, you NEED to do your part (as 65 - 70 year old seniors) in exploring where you are going before making false remarks about a property you don't know anything about, because you did NOT stay here!! TripAdvisor should read the review & stick to their "Guidelines" as False Claims are NOT allowed...TripAdvisor's words...

Dania Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This was my first time to Costa Rica. I met other parts of my family there and we stayed in one of the upstairs (larger) rooms which accommodated 5 of us. It is not a super large room, but plenty for our needs, especially because "who stays in the room too long anyways while visiting Costa Rica"? It is such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 2 August 2016

First time to Costa Rica and boy did we find the most fantastic place to stay. Greg and new wife Saritha could not be any better of hosts! The location of the Inn is right on the black sand beach so every morning you wake up to the view of waves and tranquility of the area. Sandpiper is 10 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronda b
manhattan beach, CA
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Thank you, Greg, for an awesome time at the Sandpiper. We woke up each morning to an excellent cup of coffee and an equally excellent view. The black-sand beach is quite beautiful. While we didn't surf ourselves, it was fun watching those braver than us take on some incredible waves. Greg, serving as concierge too, pointed us in the right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lvgMB
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Thisplace is owned by Greg, he is watching for every detail in the property, doing every thing without disturb guest. You will have a very small swimming pool but just 20 feet from the place the whole Pacific Ocean with big waves for those to like to surf, in fact, this area is one of the most famous in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Montero
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Good location and clean rooms. It is right on the beach in Playa Hermosa... walking distance to restaurants and you can surf right out back. We rented one of the ocean front rooms and it was right on the beach. The owner was out of town on his honeymoon, but Yerlin was friendly and very helpful with anything we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We spend the best days of our lives in Sanpiper, it's a perfect place for all kind of people, Greg and Saritha, the owners of this paradise picked us in the San Jose Airport and the adventures begin. When you arrive to the hotel you can see the palms and the beach just in front of the hotel, the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguel P
Reviewed 7 June 2016

First off, Greg (the owner) picked us up from the airport in a reasonable time and then drove us an hour and a half back to his hotel. Stopping along the way to shows us the famous crocodile bridge. He was able to provide great recommendations and answered all of our questions on the way in. When we arrived to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jbrezy

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
6.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Address: On the beach, in front of Soccer field | Playa Hermosa / Jaco / Costa Rica, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Playa Hermosa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandpiper Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Huntington, Vermont
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sandpiper Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all the rooms have views, but they are ALL only steps away from the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles jahappyheart, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get the upstairs larger room with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles C1852BBlisam, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For bigger parties the larger room upstairs was perfect, not to mention the view from the balcony is awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles rondab583, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All are good, but the two with ocean view are perfect”
 of 5 bubbles Marco_Montero, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Spend the little extra to get the beachfront room with an outstanding view.”
 of 5 bubbles Jbrezy, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5