We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandpiper Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sandpiper Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 May 2016

I felt compelled to write a review of Sandpiper after reading the last bad review. I couldn't disagree more with this person. We are a couple that have travelled to many countries around the world, and spent 4 nights at this hotel in April. I didn't find Greg to be aggressive, unorganized or disrespectful. The hotel is small, low-rise and...

1Thank carolg056
Reviewed 14 May 2016

My husband and I just got back from a week and a half in Costa Rica and we spent the first half of our stay at the Sandpiper. It was THE BEST stop! Greg and his wife Saritha were the best hosts. We were able to arrange for Greg to pick us up at the airport even after our flight...

Thank Kim_Nootbaar
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

The Owner, Greg, is aggressive, unorganized and disrespectful. Rooms are disgusting and not clean, have spiders in beds and are very outdated. Grounds are a mess. Hot tubs broken and outdoor bathroom had blood in the toilet. Wifi/cable is meaningless. Worse than a hostel! Just a little about us: We have lived in and traveled several cities worldwide mostly on...

2Thank walkeram328
sandpiper222222, Owner at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much Annie for the lenghtly venting! So let me start by stating a basic fact! You arrived about 4pm after a long 5 - 6 hour drive after getting lost on the way as you stated..After arriving, we showed you your rooms & gave you a complete tour of the grounds on how everything works as...

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 9 March 2016

My son and I spent the last three days of a wonderful 2 week vacation at Sandpiper Hotel, owned and operated by Greg Miller. Unknowingly, we had saved the best place for last in our journey moving along the South Pacific side of Costa Rica. The hotel sits right on one of the most beautiful beaches in the country and...

Thank bternst
Wyandotte, Michigan
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Great little oasis.! The room was clean. We had fresh brewed coffee each morning with the owner Greg Miller. He treated us like family..This was our first time to Costa Rica. He suggested things to do and see,wish we had more time there.The Sandpiper is walking distance to plenty of good places to eat. It's location to a little store...

Thank brian m
Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Thank breganoc
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Thank Nick M
costa rica
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Thank dac8555
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Thank Stephanie S
Reviewed 23 November 2015

1Thank Hjördís G

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (152)
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Family/Play Areas (3)
Room/Suite (1)
View from Room (5)
Dining (3)
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 44 in Jaco
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
184 reviews
3.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandpiper Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Huntington, Vermont
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sandpiper Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was at the end, closest to the ocean and we would recommend that one. Wish I remembered the room name.”
teamlove, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not all the rooms have views, but they are ALL only steps away from the beach.”
jahappyheart, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get the upstairs larger room with balcony”
C1852BBlisam, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For bigger parties the larger room upstairs was perfect, not to mention the view from the balcony is awesome!”
rondab583, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All are good, but the two with ocean view are perfect”
Marco_Montero, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5