We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Berehayes Holiday Cottages

Berehayes Farm Lower road, Whitchurch Canonicorum DT6 6RQ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 cottage in Whitchurch Canonicorum
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Berehayes is just 2 miles from the World Heritage Jurassic Coast in West Dorset near Lyme Regis. Guests have exclusive access to the Berehayes Spa which includes a heated indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. A private, bookable 1-2 hour sessions are now provided in the pool complex each day. Rated a 4 star self-catering complex by the AA and 5 out of 5 on tripadvisor. 8 self-catering cottages set around an enclosed courtyard. Each accommodating between 2 and 7 guests. Converted from 16th century listed stone barns. Village pub has homemade food and is just a 5 minute walk. Free 20 Mbps in-cottage WiFi. Alpaca feeding. Games room and guest Laundry. Pet friendly in some cottages Just 2.5 hours from M25. Designated car park spaces. 2 miles from Britain’s premier fossil beaches (sand & pebbles). A peaceful, relaxing, sanctuary in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Romantic breaks and family holidays. Berehayes has been rated a 4 star self-catering complex by the AA and 5 out of 5 on tripadvisor. With alpacas, a village pub, WiFi and games room. Some cottages take pets.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Bicycle rental
Game room
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Golf course
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
96Reviews4Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 9
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Monika W wrote a review Jan 2024
Nottingham, United Kingdom121 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed for the New Year’s Eve weekend with family. The location was good, and the cottage had enough space for a family of three. While it might be suitable for many, it didn’t quite meet our expectations. The pool was disappointingly cold at 25 degrees, which wasn’t acceptable for our three-year-old and affected our overall experience. Additionally, there was a musty smell in the cottage; while we appreciate its age and character, improved ventilation might be necessary. The place could benefit from some tender loving care and upgrades, especially considering the £300 per night cost. Unfortunately, these factors led us to cut our stay short by one day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do your food shopping before you arrive. Bring extra towels as no replacement provided. Bring...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hayley Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 4 Jan 2024
We're really sad to see you have left us a 2 star review Monika. As you were aware we had a problem with the pool heater for a few hours one afternoon, the pool then returned to temperature. As you say the cottage is 500 years old, it has plenty of windows for ventilation. The price you paid was considerably less than you have stated and over New Year You left late evening before your check out day because of the stormy weather. Unfortunately we were't the right fit for your stay, as self catering cottages we do not provide daily towels etc.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lindsay K wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
We've just come home from a week at Berehayes, staying in Squirrel's Drey which was just lovely. The cottage was clean when we arrived, beds were comfy, plenty of cooking equipment in the kitchen - the absolute best part for us was the pool - Super clean, crystal clear water (A little chilly but fine once in and swimming, although I would advise a wetsuit for babies / toddlers) We loved the online booking for the pool, so easy, and loved having it to ourselves. The kids enjoyed the games room with pool / table tennis and darts (there was a gathering of adults in there late one evening which disturbed us as one of our bedrooms was next door so could hear the loud chatting / cheering / shouting of the adults as well as the pool balls falling into their rack and ping pong balls hitting the wall. A shame as they should have known better! I would be tempted to lock the games room door about 8pm Laundry room was good to have The cottage soon got warm with the electric heaters so was cosy, I would bring my slippers next time for the stone floors Water in the cottage is very very hot, good for showers and washing up, but the bathroom upstairs really needs a mixer tap (the present taps are way to short so you can't get adult hands under them, and water is too hot to wash hands under the hot tap) Overall a super stay, I would recommend to friends and family and we will defiantly be back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hayley Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 4 Jan 2024
Thank you for your lovely review Lindsay, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we will certainly take your comments on board. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael B wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here as a base to explore the local area. Great spot close to lots of wonderful things to see. Kevin was also on hand for guidance and advice. Great bloke to deal with and I hope we come back. We ended up getting stuck and needed to get a fair bit of extra assistance after having some car issues. Kevin was very accommodating and helpful. Thanks again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Thank you for your review Michael, so glad you got home safely!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bowyers wrote a review Jul 2023
Preston, United Kingdom13 contributions20 helpful votes
Let me say from the outset that we have enjoyed our time at Berehayes, the self-catering accommodation suited us, we could come and go, cook or eat out as we wanted and generally relax & enjoy the facilities. Firstly, when coming to write this I was very surprised to see that the most recent review on this site was nearly 12 months old - why? Communication with the owners was very good and we were well-informed about the facilities & wider area via the 'manage your booking' link. However, there are instruction signs absolutely everywhere which we found a bit OTT. We weren't greeted by the owners as promised, not a problem but it would have been nice to say hello. Definitely good advice to bring provisions with you, particularly milk unless you are happy with the few sachets of UHT provided. The local biscuits were a nice touch. We went to the local pub (Five Bells) on our first night, the food was basic but good and it was very welcoming, obviously very used to holiday makers. The whole place lacks a little love e.g. the courtyard furniture could do with cleaning/staining and some of the flowers beds were neglected. The play equipment at the entrance, particularly the table tennis table, need upgrading, after all, that's the first area guests see - first impressions and all that. The bathroom towels were quite small and thin and the tea towels looked quite old and discoloured. The pool area is good but the jacuzzi wasn't working properly (sometimes no bubbles, never any jets) and the pool, despite info to the contrary, we found quite cold. The sauna was OK once it was hot. The TV in the cottage wasn't showing all the usual channels until I worked out how to retune it. We logged into our own online channels & logged out when we left. The Silentnight mattress (feedback requested by another notice) was OK but I wouldn't rush out to buy one! Disappointed to find someone else's socks under the bed - when was it last vacuumed??? Book direct - it may save you a few £££s!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Many thanks for your review Janis, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Berehayes. We have recently re-opened (after spending a lovely few months catching up with family in New Zealand post Covid) and all teething problems are now resolved. We do hope we get to host you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sid F wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions
+1
What a beautiful place. Our cottage was gorgeous and well cleaned, and had all we needed for our stay, e.g. fridge, kettle, toaster, oven, towels etc. they leave some coffee, tea bags and a couple of rolls of toilet roll as a little welcome pack, as well as a small treat such as biscuits. I do recommend doing a food shop on your way. The cottages are very close to the coast, around a 7 minute drive to Charmouth beach and around 15 minutes to Lyme Regis. Our cottage had a smart TV, however the WiFi can be very temperamental which resulted in us giving up and watching normal freeview TV quite a few times. There are times when WiFi Speeds are good, depending on where you are physically standing and the time of day, but my only negative would be the WiFi speed, I also struggled to get any signal to use my mobile data at Berehayes, so bear that in mind! I actually enjoyed not having constant access to the Internet, it helped us to unwind and relax even moreso. The courtyard is gorgeous, I enjoyed many a morning sitting out in the courtyard to read or enjoy breakfast. The swimming pool was a huge plus for us and was very well kept, the jacuzzi is lovely and warm and having the pool complex to yourself was a massive bonus, just choose your slot the evening before and you get the whole pool for that hour, and It was great to find out that after your swim, you can book another slot for the same day and swim twice! My 10 year old loved the pool, and the games room, which consisted of a full-sized pool table which is FREE to play, this can turn into a ping-pong table, bats and balls provided. They also have a darts board as well as a small selection of toys for little ones. Just outside the games room and pool complex is a swingset and slide, which my 10 Yr old spent lots of time in, it was nice that they could run off and play whilst being safely contained within Berehayes. We spent a lot of time in the Paddock getting to know the animals, which consisted of Alpaca's, Chickens and Sheep. The animals are very friendly. We had a jar of alpaca food in our room when we arrived and we had great fun feeding them, when we ran out of alpaca food, the lovely housekeeper was happy to provide us with more. She was just a text away and very kind and helpful. There is a laundry room, a small fee to use these facilities, was worth it as I washed all of our clothes the day before we left and saved myself a job at home! We absolutely loved our stay at Berehayes and didn't want to leave, would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Dorset! * * * * *
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 26 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a fabulous detailed review, it's really appreciated! We're so glad you had a great time and do hope we get to host you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jules083 wrote a review Jun 2022
Essex, United Kingdom50 contributions78 helpful votes
Had a very disappointing stay, arrived after 4pm, unpacked including a full fridge, went swimming then out to dinner. Arrived back around ten, ceiling lights were working but all sockets were dead including our full fridge, on the hottest Friday of the year. Phoned the number and was told someone would be there in the morning, we mentioned our fridge and we were told to move items next door, which was empty. Next morning someone knocked at 9am but by the time we got up and quickly dressed they were gone. A few minutes later someone knocked and it was the house keeper saying she was trying to get someone that day. We were asked to move the fridge again to a communal area and left. Shower didn’t work properly, couldn’t dry our hair, no breakfast, phones flat! Luckily our son was renting another cottage so we made do at his, went out and came back at 4pm to find sockets working. Truly disappointing situation, which should have been deserving of a partial refund since we paid over £800 for 3 nights, one of which had no power. What would we have done if our son wasn’t there? Owner said it was a simple fix but that really wasn’t our problem, if we hadn’t moved the contents of our fridge 4 times we would have lost £200 worth of food. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 25 Jun 2022
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. As you have stated we did everything we could do at 11pm in the evening by giving you full use of the cottage next door to use the fridge, hairdryer, charge phones etc. We booked an emergency maintenance call for you but after an hour they were still unable to access your cottage. We offered you a complimentary late check out which you took. It's so disappointing you feel all our efforts result in a 1 star review, we have now realised you didn’t want us to so helpful as you were after a refund instead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pino wrote a review Jan 2022
Watford, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Heaven in England! At a time where we all need a break from our 4 walls & still trying to be safe, this is the BEST place to be! Self contained quaint cottages. Private, clean indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi & sauna (with an excellent booking system). Games room & a few animals for feeding all homed in an idyllic, natural beauty - what more could you ask for? Friendly, welcoming people maybe? Well that's there in abundance! Seriously, you may think initially when booking - cor that's a lot for a UK holiday - but it's worth every penny! Some tips for you - *five bells pub - do visit it! Food is lovely. *do pop to the shops B4 u arrive! The nearest shop really is a drive away! *do use Kelly from the beauty treatments list - she's amazing! *go to Lyme Regis - it's beautiful! Park in the b&b car park diagonally opposite the Cobb Arms, just up the hill. If they've any free spaces it's only £3 all day! *Don't eat at the Royal Standard - it's nowhere as amazing as The Cobb Arms! *Do visit the animals at Berehayes! They're wonderful! *Do read the amazing website with all the info u need on it! Makes life so easy! Thank you Kevin & Hayley! The A-Team had the best time! (and mama even managed to squeeze in 3 massages by local masseure Kelly of @Lyme Bay Beauty too!)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Read the website in detail B4 u go. Do buy breakfast food before you go as a shop is a drive...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 26 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a fabulous review. You are great guests and we loved hosting you!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kirsti W wrote a review Sept 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We’ve been visiting on and off for years, and both our children learned how to swim in the Berehayes pool - so when we started to look for a last minute UK holiday in April (as our overseas holiday was cancelled), we were thrilled to get a cancellation! We stayed in Dairy barn, had our usual relaxing time on Lyme and Charmouth beaches; visited the village dog and flower show; wandered around gorgeous Mapperton and dined at the Shave Cross Inn on Kevin’s recommendation. We absolutely love this place, and Kevin and Hayley have always made us feel really welcome, are generous in sharing their top tips and make great recommendations. Having the indoor pool is an added bonus if the weather isn’t great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hayley Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 1 Oct 2021
It was fabulous to have you back here again and to see how your lovely children are growing up! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We hope to see you back here again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
adamjohn86 wrote a review Aug 2021
Oxford, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely little cottage (we stayed in Honeypot). Lots to do locally but it was also very easy to spend a day on the site with the games room, pool and paddock to keep you occupied. Our little boy loved feeding the animals on Saturday morning. The facilities are well appointed and the pool is amazing. The cottages have been upgraded since our last stay (new mattresses). The cottages are quite rustic. Lots of beams and exposed stone walls which I think is in keeping with the history. The entire environment is vey relaxing which we found ideal. Would certainly recommend for families.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: WiFi is patchy but we did not find this an issue
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hayley Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 1 Oct 2021
It was so lovely to have you back here again and thank you for taking time to leave us a lovely review! Hope to see you here again soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
janetn108 wrote a review Jul 2021
Ilkley, United Kingdom31 contributions27 helpful votes
Having not holidayed in the UK for many years, we were a little wary of a self catering cottage, but we needn't have been. What a lovely place to stay, we were just disappointed we couldn't stay a full two weeks. Apple cottage was just what we needed after the last year, perfectly formed and equipped, and even had a private sunny patio area. The sole use of the pool - just an added bonus. Hayley Kev (and Andrew) all were so welcoming and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. We could not fault any part of our stay. The area too was stunning, although could have been a tad more scenic with lower hedges? :-) We will certainly be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hayley Clausner, Owner at Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a lovey review, very much appreciated, and thank you for being such wonderful guests, we certainly hope to be hosting you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whitchurch Canonicorum area.
PRICE RANGE
£189 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetWhitchurch Canonicorum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEREHAYES HOLIDAY COTTAGES - Updated 2024 (Whitchurch Canonicorum)

Frequently Asked Questions about Berehayes Holiday Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Golden Cap Estate (2.2 miles), Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre (2.4 miles), and The Town Mill (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whole Hog Lyme Bay, Baroque, and Red Panda Lyme Regis.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Berehayes Holiday Cottages located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Whitchurch Canonicorum.
Are any cleaning services offered at Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Berehayes Holiday Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Town Mill (3.8 miles), Belmont (4.1 miles), and Bridport Town Hall (4.7 miles).