We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Penhein, Llanvair Discoed, Chepstow NP16 6RB Wales
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (23)
Videos (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 01/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Penhein Glamping
Updated 01/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Penhein is an award winning family-run farm and glampsite set in 400 acres of rural south Wales. Home to eight Persian alachigh tents, a luxurious shower block, communal tent and a shared kitchen, Penhein Glamping is tucked away in a coppiced wood, surrounded by wildflower meadows and sweeping views of the Monmouthshire hills. The tents at Penhein - huge and round with a high, domed ceiling, custom-built locally for glamping - are beautifully decorated and kitted out with everything you need for a luxurious camping experience. Comfy beds sleeping up to five adults and draped in colourful blankets are banked by rustic bedside tables made from wooden pallets. A wood-burning stove keeps the tent cosy and warm and doubles up as a hotplate for cooking food prepared in the adjacent kitchen area or on the fire pit outside each tent. There’s running water, cupboards ready-stocked with kitchen essentials, and a table and chairs for eating dinner by candlelight under canvas. Each tent has a private en suite flushing loo and its own dedicated shower either just outside the tent door or in the glorious showerblock, with its underfloor heating and monsoon showers. The campsite can be booked exclusively, and there’s plenty to keep big groups entertained onsite and further afield. Guests can escape to nature straight, with miles of nature trails to explore, lots of local attractions to discover, and plenty of outdoor activities to enjoy. After a day of adventuring and a pint in a nearby pub, guests return home to Penhein to relax in the Victorian style roll-top bath or freshen up with a hot shower, get the barbecue going on the fire pit, play cards and board games in the communal tent, before cosying in at night surrounded by the sounds of nature.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Archery offsite
Canoeing offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Clothes dryer
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Fireplace
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
78Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lucy B wrote a review Apr 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom15 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We booked literally the morning of our first night! We were not disappointed! The tents are beautiful and well equipped! We were very comfortable! The shower block was 5 star! We loved the little extra touches like the local produce pantry etc. My daughters made lots of friends during our stay. They were able to run around happily and safely around the site! Would love to return with friends and family in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Hi Lucy. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for such a lovely review. We hope you come back and see us soon! Best wishes from us all.
Read more
Laura Y wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
+1
When we decided to go glamping with a young baby we had a few items on out wish list of the perfect place to stay. When browsing all the different types Penhein caught our eye and it didn't disappoint. When we arrived a lovely member of staff met us and gave us a quick tour, showing us which shower was ours, cheats kitchen and finally to out yurt. She explained we could use the fridges in chests kitchen for the baby milk or any other items that we did not want to use the cool box in our yurt for. She also checked we knew how to light thr fire and had everything we need for the baby and our older son to be comfortable. The accommodation is beautiful, it has everything you need for your stay all you have yo do is turn up with clothes and snacks. The beds where super comfortable and we got fantastic nights sleep. The lack of electricity was no issue as plenty of other light sources are included tealights, solar lights and tilly lamps. The star lamps above the bed illuminated the yurt in a magical way. When the stove was on the yurt was toasty warm. The only little niggle we had was the lack of curtains, one of those being the window opposite the bed. We ended up coming up with a solution to give us more privacy and after speaking to a member of staff it's my understanding that curtains are in order to solve this issue. Site facilities are excellent cheats kitchen was good for making a quick cuppa and bottles. The community yurt was great for playing games and meeting others staying on the site. The meadow was beautiful and gave plenty of room to run around in. My son really really enjoyed the park and it was a great place for children to make new friends. We really enjoyed using the campfire and we got to see some amazing stars due to the low light pollution. For us this place was great for getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and ditching technology for abit whilst still being comfortable. This place definitely delivered. Our autistic son struggles with new places at time but he absolutely loved it her and some of that was down to how well the staff interacted with him, so huge thank you for that. It was also perfect for taking a young baby. We look forward to planning another visit here in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is a real tonic for the team to hear such good things from our guests! We would love to see you all back at Penhein one day soon. In the meantime, best wishes from us all!
Read more
Hussar6838 wrote a review Oct 2021
UK and the EU17 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights as two families of four with children all under seven. Weather wise it hammered it down both nights and the days were drizzle but we had a blast! The setup is a good balance of camping with the fire, the stove cooking and the lack of electric light; and the hotel touches with the bed, the en-suite, the cheat kitchen and the hot bath/or shower. Yes it’s not real camping but it’s a hell of a lot more fun this way with small children. Lovely team and nice touches in the arrival box. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 24 Oct 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review - you certainly weren't lucky with the weather but we are delighted to hear you all had such a good time. Many thanks for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back another time. Very best wishes from all of us at Penhein, Helen
Read more
Justine W wrote a review Sept 2021
Times Square, New York9 contributions
+1
We stayed for two nights. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely member of staff who filled us in on all the information we needed. The tents are set up perfectly and completely spotless . They are super cozy and having amazing privacy . Having no electricity is so nice and the log burner and candles are ideal . All the facilities are extremely clean and well maintained. We will definitely be visiting again in the future and recommending to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 5 Oct 2021
Hi Justine. Thank you so much for such lovely comments. We are so pleased you had such a good stay. And SO excited that you would like to come back again. Our fingers crossed that it will be soon! Thank you again and best wishes from all of us at Penhein.
Read more
Mandy M wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
Wow what can I say I have never in my life stayed at such a beautiful clean place that is in the middle of the forest the beds, shower ,kitchen, where as clean as a house and this was all outside the hampers the coffee , tea , jams, wine and all the cooking facilities were all supplied free what amazing place helen you and your staff are just outstanding I can’t put into words how wonderful and relaxing this was I have never been camping for over 35 years and you have made this my new world we will be back next year with our families once again a big thank you for everything the place is amazing we meet some amazing people & views not forgetting the amazing wildlife xx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 5 Oct 2021
Hi Mandy and Terry. It was a pleasure having you to stay, and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! It is so appreciated and means a lot to all the team here. Please come back and see us again SOON! Best wishes from us all at Penhein.
Read more
Leigh A wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
+1
My two friends and I all work in secondary schools and after a very difficult year this was a perfect place to come and unwind. We were welcomed by the lovely Michelle who made us feel very welcome and was so kind. The site is absolutely stunning, from the tents themselves to the surroundings we couldn’t fault a thing! We stayed in the Coombe so were allocated the roll top bath. Everything was spotlessly clean and the covid safety measures could not have been more thought out and were extremely well organised. This is definitely a hidden gem and I look forward to returning again soon and showing more people the Beaty of the site.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Hi Leigh. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We loved having you to stay and are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Please do come back soon, we would love to see you again! Best wishes from us all at Penhein.
Read more
ninasmith2011 wrote a review May 2021
Mountain Ash, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Such a wonderful location, the grounds at the estate simply beautiful. Out alachigh tucked away near a wild meadow, with everything you need. We had a fabulous time and look forward to returning in future - with additional family and friends. Helen was a great host and ensured we had everything we needed. Highly recommend the Penhien glamping.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Hi Nina. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and we are delighted that you had such a good time! We are looking forward to seeing you back at Penhein! Thank you again and best wishes from us all.
Read more
Maggs2021 wrote a review Apr 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom4 contributions
Magic sums up our perfect weekend get away and much needed escape from reality. The place is beautiful, peaceful, clean and comfortable. The owners are so communicative and friendly and their attention to detail makes for a relaxing stay. We explored the surrounding woodland, dens and playground and took a trip to nearby Chepstow Castle and market which were all an added bonus to the stay. Thanks so much - can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 21 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely kind words. We loved having you stay and are so pleased you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you back with us again soon! Best wishes from us all.
Read more
Rays wrote a review Apr 2021
Abergavenny, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend break at Penhein with our children aged 10 and 4. From the excellent communication and hospitality at the time of booking to the stay itself, I can not fault anything. Beautiful location, exceptional cleanliness and a magnificent Alachigh. We had a beautiful welcome hamper made with local ingredients which was enjoyed by all of very much. Our youngest claimed the whole bottle of apple juice to herself! The inside was spotless and spacious. The en suite was just perfect. The children loved the playground and the dens in the woods. As parents it was a pleasure to watch them connect with nature (and each other!) without the distractions of technology. We loved listening to the owls at night time and being woken up by birdsong. We loved cooking on the stove top inside and also on the fire pit. The cheats kitchen was a lovely addition for us as first time campers! Lovely walks to spend the day finished by a toasty fire and s’mores. Cannot wait to return with extended family members once Covid rules are relaxed. Many thanks Penhein for the wonderful memories created! It was the perfect camping experience with all the comfort and luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Helen Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 7 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Such kind words mean a lot to the team here. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Penhein one day very soon. With best wishes from all of us at Penhein!
Read more
DayTrip293346 wrote a review Sept 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
A really beautiful place. Located in an idilic location, tranquil, yet close to everything. The pods are amazing, every detail has been thought about. very tasteful decor, I cant recommend enough. Will definitely be going back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from James Hearn, Owner at Penhein Glamping
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Helen and all at Penhein
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesMonmouthshireChepstowLlanvair Discoed
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Penhein Glamping
Which popular attractions are close to Penhein Glamping?
Nearby attractions include Cute Farm Experience (4.8 miles), Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes (2.9 miles), and Caldicot Castle (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Penhein Glamping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and off-site archery.
Which room amenities are available at Penhein Glamping?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a dining area, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Penhein Glamping?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Penhein Glamping?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Penhein Glamping?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Greyhound Inn, The Golden Lion, and Millers Arms.
Is Penhein Glamping located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Llanvair Discoed.
Are there any historical sites close to Penhein Glamping?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caerwent Roman Town (1.9 miles) and Mathern Mill (3.8 miles).