Feversham Arms Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Feversham Arms Inn

Farndale East Church Houses Church Houses Church Houses, Church Houses, North York Moors National Park YO62 7LF England
Dinner, Faversham Arms Inn
Traveller (53)
fish and chips
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 B&B in Church Houses
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Traditional country inn set in the village of Farndale in the North Yorkshire Moors. Bar meals are served daily in the two dining rooms, snug & bar. We have 3 en-suite B&B rooms and a self catering holiday cottage. A beautiful relaxing beer garden overlooking the stunning views
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Farndale East Church Houses Church Houses Church Houses, Church Houses, North York Moors National Park YO62 7LF England
224Reviews1Q+A27Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 32
  • 10
  • 4
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Geraldo wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Feversham Arms Inn is a cracking place! I was in two mind whether to post this review incase I had problems booking in the future as it was that good. Where to start? They have well kept Beer which is one of my priorities ;-) Great food and a lush beer garden overlooked by rolling hills in a fantastic setting. The lady at front of house Rachel, tops this place off with her bubbly, friendly and approachable nature what an asset. Although we never stayed in the accommodation I spoke to others who said it was nipping clean and good value for money. Definitely going to revisit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YorkshiremanNorfolk wrote a review Jun 2022
Great Bircham, United Kingdom15 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just spent a week at Church Houses in Farndale and one of the high spots of the trip was the time we spent in the Feversham Arms. It has everything - a perfect location, a beautiful garden with fabulous views up and down Farndale and the North York Moors beyond, a convivial and lively bar, a very dog friendly attitude (there are a couple of dogs in house), great pub food (the fish and chips, pies and belly pork are especially recommended), Theakstones beers and very reasonable prices.

But the crowning glory of the pub is Rachel, the owner and host who, together with husband Alan and barman Peter, sets the tone and makes it probably the most welcoming pub I have ever set foot in (and I have visited more than I care to remember). Rachel welcomes everyone with a smile and she is invariably enthusiastic, hospitable, cheerful and solicitous and makes sure that every visitor thoroughly enjoys their visit. Every visit we made was an absolute delight. Go and visit and you will see what I mean. Terrific.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We only visited the bar and restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Feversham Arms Inn Farndale, Owner at Feversham Arms Inn
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Wow, what a lovely review, thank you very very much. I am so pleased you enjoyed everything about our pub, it is always a pleasure meeting people like yourselves. Best Wishes Rachel x
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IanWalker8795 wrote a review Sept 2020
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having not been to Farndale for 14 years and Croatia being cancelled we thought we would go back to The Feversham Arms. Well, I have to say we were not disappointed. Although under a new owner the place has kept its character, it's huge meals, it's welcoming owner Rachel and the friendly chat amongst walkers, people staying for B&B or locals popping in for a pint. If you're aroung Hutton Le Hole, Pickering and want somewhere to stay thats slightly off the beaten track but offers great access, views and comfort this is the place. The rooms are cosy, tidy and very comfortable and as alluded to the meals are for the hearty appetite and the quality of the food is excellent with a menu that caters for all. Overall I cannot place any negative thoughts on this place and highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dodo029 wrote a review Aug 2021
United Kingdom1,316 contribution370 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely setting with great beer garden . Pub interior ok , felt could do so much more with it though as did seem to lack a bit of atmosphere. Toilets clean . Staff seem friendly , the young waitress ( only staff member wearing mask) was really lovely and helpful and very busy , she never stopped rushing around , a credit to the pub team . What I liked she cleaned all tables plus chair backs when customers left , important in current covid times .
I ordered the steak pie which was very nice which lots of filling and a lovely pot of gravy . The chips though were soggy and tbh not very nice but the veg was very good .
I think would be helpful if the menu displayed where the meat is from ie is it from a local supplier? A local farmer ? Is it from Farndale itself ? Etc
Locally sourced food is always better and can be a great selling point for a restaurant.
If visiting be mindful of opening times though , they are very limited , only open 2 hrs from 12-2pm at lunchtime and then reopens for the evening at 6pm . On a Sunday though it opens at 12pm but then closes very early at 7pm so don’t expect to get a drink or meal on a Sunday evening which is a shame if staying at Farndale cottages as this is the only pub in the village .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check opening hours - very limited at times !!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Feversham Arms Inn Farndale, Owner at Feversham Arms Inn
Responded 15 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review, a little disappointing to have only received a rating of 3 when you enjoyed the beer garden, were happy with the service, thought the steak pie was very nice, vegetables and gravy was good.  Myself or the waitress will have re visited your table to check you were enjoying your meal, if you had mentioned you were not liking the chips we would have happily cooked you some more a little crispier.    You wrote that it would be good to know where our meat is from, it is written on the first page of our menu along with a small introduction of ourselves and the pub.   Following government advice all staff and customers are now given the option of wearing face coverings.  We decided to continue to operate with table service to avoid customers gathering in the small bar area.  Sanitiser is provided and a screen is still in place at the till area to protect customers when paying. Running a very rural country pub which does not have passing trade does has a huge impact on trade and recruiting staff.  This is why we open lunchtimes and evening and close early on  Sundays to make it profitable and to allow ourselves and staff some family time. Having bought the business 14 years ago we have learnt when there is demand and when there is not.  I do hope you call again if you are staying in the area. Kind Regards Rachel 
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark M wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place benefits from a great location with pleasant walks and views all around.
The drinks are ok however I would strongly urge against the food
We were not informed about the long delay when we placed our order, if we had been informed,with 3 small hungry children, we would have chosen to go elsewhere. After over a 50 minute wait the food did eventually arrive it was mediocre ,served warm and the children had to leave their chips because they were barely cooked and very oily .
I never normally give reviews but this needed to be said , the staff were defensive and full of excuses so be warned…
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Feversham Arms Inn Farndale, Owner at Feversham Arms Inn
Responded 8 Jul 2021
In response to your review. I apologise again as I did on the Sunday lunch time for you having to wait 50 minutes for your food. Unfortunately you arrived without booking during a very busy lunch time service when we already had lots of tables booked. All our food is cooked to order so sometimes a wait will happen. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your food when it did arrive as we had so many happy customers that day. As for my staff, they tried to apologise to you but you were rude to them, hence why I served you from then on as my staff do not come to work to be spoken to rudely.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Littlemisssunshineuk wrote a review Jul 2021
Dunfermline, United Kingdom42 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited here with friends as on holiday locally and thought we would eat out as a treat. The setting was lovely however unfortunately couldn’t say the same about the food. The children had the pizza and chips which when it came out was a 1/4 of a pizza with some greasy cheap frozen chips, the children were very disappointed and we’ve had to come back home to cook them some more food as they were so hungry because of the mediocre portion size! They also said the pizza tasted like a cheap supermarket pizza which when paying almost £6.00 for their meal I’d be expecting a much better quality and certainly more than a 1/4 of a pizza!
The adult meals had the same greasy chips which was disappointing and overall we felt the food was of very poor quality for the price we paid. Sadly we wouldn’t recommend visiting here for food.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Feversham Arms Inn Farndale, Owner at Feversham Arms Inn
Responded 10 Jul 2021
In response to this SECOND review from your family regarding the same visit. As before in my other response to the first review, unfortunately you had not booked and arrived when we were extremely busy. I can only apologise for your wait for food and would politely suggest you may book in advance in the future to hopefully avoid any issues.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
royandsuemorgan wrote a review May 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our local for a fortnight as we stayed in one of the Farndale Estate Cottages just across the road. We visited the pub about 10 times throughout our stay and were never disappointed with the choice of food or the quality, and the prices charged were certainly excellent value for money. We particularly thought the fish and chips, the slow roast belly of pork and the lasagne were particularly good. But more especially the landlady, Rachel, was really friendly, welcoming and helpful, not forgetting to mention Abbey, the dog, and of course, Alan, her husband, and Pete, the friendly chatty barman!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Feversham Arms Inn Farndale, Owner at Feversham Arms Inn
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Thank you Roy & Sue for such a lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Many Thanks Rachel x
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happyfoodie098 wrote a review May 2021
Hereford, United Kingdom24 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve just returned from a wonderful ten day break on the North Yorkshire Moors. One of the greatest pleasures was the two lunches we enjoyed at this incredibly welcoming pub in Farndale. We walked their twice, two totally different routes ( on footpaths), from our holiday cottage in Thorgill. Both times we were met with a terrific welcome and great food. Generous portions and delicious, accompanied by attentive (not overpowering) service from the owner and her staff. Definitely a five star rating. Our were also dogs made incredibly welcome as well both indoors and out. This comes with the highest recommendation to go and try for yourself. I can guarantee you won’t be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Feversham Arms Inn Farndale, Owner at Feversham Arms Inn
Responded 8 Jul 2021
Thank you for your lovely review. Really pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and food. Hope to see you again if you are holidaying in the North Yorkshire Moors some other time. Best Wishes Rachel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen D wrote a review Aug 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you to Rachel and co for a very relaxing stay. Over the last 5 years we have frequented The Feversham Arms for food and this is our second time staying. The rooms are of the highest standard and immaculate,the views are stunning. The menu is varied and are generous in portions, beautifully presented and delicious. There is a well stocked bar and service is of the highest calibre. In these difficult times, The Feversham have introduced a safe and workable option to enable an enjoyable holiday. If you are looking for an idyllic and relaxing place to stay, The Feversham Arms is highly recommended. We will return and wish Rachel,Alan and team all the very best for the future. Kevin and Helen
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
masarnen wrote a review Jan 2022
Cockermouth, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed with Rachel & Alan in the on site cottage with Breakfast provided in the pub. The cottage and pub are in a superb location in the small hamlet of Church Houses which nestles in the beautiful valley of Farndale. The cottage is warm & comfortable, the welcome and service genuine from the proprietors and locals alike and the food & beer plentiful and of very good quality. For anyone wanting a bolthole in which to explore the area in and around Rosedale & Farndale then look no further - this is an excellent facility and thankfully a pub that has not had the character ripped out of it. In summary - friendly locals, caring management and great food & beer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Poppeteta asked a question Jun 2017
Do you have a camping field?
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
A local farmers permits camping in his field that you arrange through me, it is no more than a field with a river. Thanks Rachel
wwhughesjr wrote a tip Oct 2023
Spartanburg, South Carolina306 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to reserve well in advance. Check in time begins at 6 p.m."
Read full review
Stephen G wrote a tip Apr 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be hungry. A warm welcome. We have only eaten at the Faversham Arms Churchouses so can't comment on the accommodation. "
Read full review
i_mitchell0 wrote a tip Sept 2022
Buckingham, United Kingdom25 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing is too much trouble, just ask."
Read full review
Wanderer643716 wrote a tip Aug 2022
Helmsley, United Kingdom33 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't eat here!"
Read full review
DiggoryP wrote a tip Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom177 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are walking or cycling Blakey bank is steep"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Church Houses area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireNorth York Moors National ParkChurch Houses
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FEVERSHAM ARMS INN - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Feversham Arms Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Feversham Arms Inn?
Nearby attractions include Chimney Bank Mines (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Feversham Arms Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Feversham Arms Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Feversham Arms Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Feversham Arms Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Graze on the Green, Dale Head Farm Tea Garden, and Lion Inn.
Is Feversham Arms Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Church Houses.
Are pets allowed at Feversham Arms Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Feversham Arms Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rievaulx Abbey (9.6 miles), Helmsley Castle (9.3 miles), and Rievaulx Terrace and Temples (9.5 miles).
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire