Gara Rock Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gara Rock Hotel

East Portlemouth Near Salcombe, East Portlemouth TQ8 8FA England
Beautiful pool
Traveller (692)
This was my amazing starter
Dining (34)
Room & Suite (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 small hotel in East Portlemouth
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hugging the unspoiled Devon coastline and located directly on the South West Coast Path. Guests can enjoy the indoor and clifftop outdoor swimming pools, jacuzzi, treatment rooms, the beach and breath-taking views. The exclusive selection of apartments and suites at Gara Rock are perfect for a romantic getaway, family holiday or solo break. The dramatic landscape that surrounds this seaside retreat is perfect for walking or activity holidays. With Salcombe just a short ferry trip away, why not explore the many different galleries and many water based activities it has to offer? Please note, booking is essential for our restaurant. Please don’t be disappointed if we aren’t able to accommodate you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
608Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 310
  • 106
  • 68
  • 58
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul S wrote a review Mar 2020
Devon52 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lets start by saying if I could give this hotel a six star rating i would the following deserved six star ratings.
1) Location, the South Devon Coastline is stunning.
2) The Apartment Decoration and Furniture - we stayed in the Signal House
3) The facilities, the bed, the beautiful white crisp sheets and very large fluffy towels, the toiletries, the ample tea / coffee and fully equipped kitchen area.
4) The hot tub which unfortunately we did not use but I lifted the lid and yes it was hot.
5) The Cinema Room.
6) The indoor swimming pool and spa.
7) The attitude towards dogs is very refreshing.

The recent refurbishment of 8.5 million pounds has been carried out the highest standards.

However there were some minor niggles that prevented the stay being perfect

1) The apartments are heated by underfloor heating, the previous guests had this set to 27/28c, because it take a long time for the temperature to stabilise the first night was not as comfortable as it should of been. Management need to ensure that the heating is checked when guests check out. This would reduce energy usage and minimise environmental impact.

2) On the second morning the water temperature in the main bathroom was only just above warm.

3) The apartment had three TV sets, we used the one in the master bedroom and the one in the lounge, the channels were all over the place making it very difficult to select the Chanel you wanted.

4) We arrived on a Friday and had lunch before booking in the lunch menu was quite simplistic surprisingly, there were no lunch time specials apart from soup, the lunch was fine but lacked the WOW factor. I had a cheese board as a desert which comes with a flat bread ( You need very good teeth if you go for this option).
Because of the lack of the WOW factor at lunch we decided not to eat in the restaurant in the evening. We visited a local farm shop and used the apartments kitchen which was fully equipped.

5) Breakfast - on both mornings the poached eggs that my wife and I had were a little on the hard site, you have to order toast with your breakfast order (I like white toast but this option was not available). The continental breakfast did not have any continental meats, cheeses or smoked salmon all of which I would expect at a high end establishment like the Gara Rock.

So yes I will return as the location is stunning and I hope that the minor niggles experienced during this stay are not repeated.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Signal House has its own garden and hot tub and three sets of patio doors, would be out of...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy K wrote a review Jan 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom19 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Returned having spent 4 days over the New Year at Gara Rock.
Beautifully curated hotel (hesitant to call it hotel as it feels very home from home)
Recommend the Junior Suites; ideal having a separate living space, plenty of luxe amenities in the suite itself, and close to the few other spaces in the hotel you want to visit. Rooms are cosy (sometimes a little too cosy, but swing open the balcony doors, + be reminded of the sea below!)

We planned on doing very very little, so rotated between coastal walks (take a flask of something to Gara Rock Cove, but definitely wear walking boots!) swimming - breakfast swims were the quietest times, and lounging around the upstairs bar or our suite.

We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner atleast once across the 4 days. Slightly inflated prices for the options provided - would’ve liked more for the Vegetarian as ended up having pasta two days in a row - BUT it was delicious pasta, well cooked dishes, and hats off to the serving staff. Very attentive.
Breakfast, again, I’m sure would’ve been accommodated if we had asked to go off menu slightly, we didn’t so maybe didn’t have the breakfast experience that felt as in keeping with the rest of a top notch break. A beautiful destination and a camera film full of snapshots of our first days of 2020.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JayneGaraRock, Manager at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear Lucy K, Thank you very much for your five star review, I am delighted you enjoyed celebrating the New Year with us. It is an amazing compliment to hear Gara felt like home, as it is exactly how we want our guests to feel. I am very sorry that you found the vegetarian options limited, our head chef is happy to cater personally for any dietary requirements to ensure you have the best dining experience possible. The more communication we have prior to your stay the better as we would much rather tailor a menu specific to your taste than have you leave feeling unsatisfied. I hope you do come back to see us again in the near future, if so please contact me directly and I will have our chef arrange a menu for you to enjoy. Kind regards, Jayne Cartwright Head of Guest Experience jayne@gararock.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrandMrsS wrote a review Sept 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve just returned from Gara Rock hotel after a rare child free weekend to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary. We had a very special weekend and we couldn’t have wished for a better place to spend it.

The front of house staff at Gara Rock are exceptional. We were greeted warmly wherever we went and the reception staff and restaurant staff were welcoming and knowledgable and clearly love the hotel and the area. We had good advice about places to visit and how to reach the foot ferry to Salcombe via the coastal path. This is a decent stretch in foot (about 70 minutes each way) but completely worth the effort as the views are stunning. The foot ferry now also takes contactless payments which was useful to learn. It’s worth booking somewhere in Salcombe if you want to eat when you get there.

We had a garden suite which was stunningly furnished and decorated and we had masses of space. Large bi-food doors lead to a garden area that has a gate straight to the beach path. There are private sunbeds and patio furniture for the room, although the garden area itself is shared by the garden suites.

The walk down to Gara beach is about 20 minutes down a path and there is quite an incline on the way back so you will earn your dinner! The beach is a wonderful place to explore and offers stunning views.

We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The breakfasts are substantial with a continental selection with granola and yoghurt on offer, followed by a cooked selection. There is a varied menu for dinner and we indulged in three courses. I can particularly recommend the treacle tart. There are social distancing measures in place e.g food and drinks are set down next to your table for you to reach yourself. Some of the staff opt to wear PPE whilst serving and some do not. Hand sanitiser is readily available.

The food was well cooked and the ingredients were fresh and locally sourced. Service was swift and the staff were attentive and chatty. The majority of the staff are young but all courteous and professional. The wine selection was good.

The only couple of niggles were minor; the suite was very warm at times as the bathroom radiator and underfloor heating were on. We did have beautiful weather though so this may not have been a problem in more typical September weather! One breakfast cup had to be sent back as it had lipstick on it. The waitress was very apologetic and quick to deal.

The hotel has a real family atmosphere and there was a good mixture of couples and families. It feels luxurious and loved. We left feeling very relaxed and taken care of and look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jayne Cartwright, Guest Services / Front Office at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Oh my days scottandjoannas! What a wonderful review - we can't thank you enough for taking the time to let everyone know how lovely it really is here. You've hit the nail on the head with regard to our team too. We do love the hotel and the area, so thanks for noticing! Your comments in relation to the Suite are also spot on both in respect of their stunning furnishings and propensity to be a tad warm. Underfloor heating has proven to be less controllable than one may think and so we're planning to introduce some air conditioning to balance it out! Please do let us know when you're planning to visit again, as we'd love to make it extra special. Thank you again....... guests like you make it all worthwhile.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caitlin G wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner stayed here for a few nights and although an impressive location, we felt that the food especially was really quite extortionate. We decided to go for the Gara set menu but found that a starter and a main each still was really expensive. We were disappointed in that there was no scheme for customers staying at the hotel for a discount, and there was also a compulsory 10% service charge that must have been in very fine print; which turned out to be a fair amount considering the size of the bill. We felt that this was really quite unfair considering there was only two of us.
The room was beautiful, however the bed sheets did have some holes in which were evident from when we first walked in. The bed itself is on wheels so when we were laying back relaxing and watching tv it slid a lot!
The service was good, the room was comfortable and the views were nice although we unfortunately couldn’t predict the weather so we weren’t able to enjoy it fully!
We decided to drive into Salcombe for tea on the second night and really enjoyed the picturesque town.
All in all, comfortable and relaxing but I don’t think we would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JayneGaraRock, Manager at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear CaitlinAlys, Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear you had a relaxing break and were well looked after by our team. I am dreadfully sorry that you found holes in your bed-sheets and the bed slid around... this is a first in both instances and I will follow up with the relevant departments. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I am saddened to learn you found our food prices to be extortionate, we believe our Simply Gara menu is competitively priced at 2 courses for £19.50 and 3 courses for £24.50. We also have a bar menu available should you prefer not to dine from our à la carte dinner menu or Simply Gara menu. Please note that the 10% service charge is discretionary as stated clearly on your restaurant bill. Should you have a change of heart, we would love to have you return to Gara Rock. If you have any concerns please do contact me directly – jayne@gararock.com. Kind regards, Jayne jayne@gararock.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GJKirkley wrote a review May 2021
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates4 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 2 nights in a suite (at over £500 a night) based on the Gara Rock website description of a "Luxury Boutique Hotel". The experience was definitely not one of luxury.

The quality of the grounds, building, "suite" furnishings, cleanliness, toiletries, bed, fixtures and fittings we experienced could in no way be described as luxurious.

The staff serving drinks and dinner were young, inexperienced and some were rude. There is no daily room service "due to Covid", which we didn't understand having arrived from Carbis Bay Hotel in Cornwall, where we had daily house keeping.

The dinner menu was limited and service was very slow. There was a restricted food and drinks menu, with only one unheard of Champagne brand, one local water and beer offering and "own brand" toiletries from a pump dispenser in the rooms.
Having stayed in hundreds UK & international hotels and lived in many for long period, I consider the accommodation cost at Gara Rock is very over priced, (noting you can stay at the Ritz in London for less). Saying that, like most coastal hotels in the UK, the Gara Rock looks to be fully booked for 2021, so I suppose the owners set rates to what the market will pay. However, I do believe as we come out of Covid lockdown, the well travelled will not pay over £500 a night to stay at Gara Rock and look to get better value in the UK or abroad.
I understand The Gara Rock Hotel is owned and run by Aria Resorts, which has 14 holiday caravan/holiday parks in the UK. Maybe, that helps explains the attitude and standard of "offering", guests can expect. I hope this helps those who are looking for break in a "luxury" hotel. I would definitely not recommend it, unless direct access to the excellent South West Coast Path is your primarily objective, as opposed to obtaining value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jayne Cartwright, Guest Services / Front Office at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 25 May 2021
Oh dear me.... we really have failed to impress on this occasion, and for that I am sorry. Expectation and price point are always a tricky one as they're so subjective, which you'll no doubt see from other recent reviews from very happy guests. What's sublime for some may be average to others but what would life be if we were all the same! Gara may be the first hotel in Aria's extensive portfolio but thankfully they took great care to place it in the hands of some very experienced, five star professionals and oddly, some of your 'lacking luxury' items such as the Thienot Champagne and bespoke organic toiletries were hand-picked, as they're not commonly found in other hotels. Once again, we are really sorry that the Gara brand of luxury wasn't for you and we do hope that overall, you enjoyed your time in gorgeous Devon and Cornwall.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madeleine H wrote a review May 2021
West Bridgford, United Kingdom49 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 3 nights in one of the newly refurbished suites on a breakfast included self catering deal. The rooms are really nicely decorated and the toiletries provided are lush!
However nice the room was I do not feel it was good value for money. What you are provided for breakfast for the price of the stay seemed a little stingy. We expected that you might get topped up during the stay but maybe due to Covid reason staff do not go into your rooms and breakfast supplies were not replenished.
We also had issues with the music system in the room and made enquiries with a member of staff who said he would get back to up and he never returned.
The saving grace is the Gara Van which also residential guest to preorder for dinner - the food is AMAZING.
The location is beautiful and as a luxury hotel stay when you would be able to eat in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner I imagine the stay would have been faultless I just think pricing needs to be reconsidered for self catering. Personally I wouldn’t go back for £600 a night I would rather find an air b&b and miss out in the view.
I do not like leaving negative reviews and appreciate the hotel has made adaptations surrounding Covid restrictions but the price to me is way too steep!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jayne Cartwright, Guest Services / Front Office at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 12 May 2021
Hello there and thank you very much for your review (even though it's only a 3 star one!). You've used some of our favourite adjectives... 'lush, beautiful and amazing', so we certainly don't feel you're being negative and your comments regarding the price point are accepted as it's always very subjective. Breakfast has indeed been a bit of a tricky one, as when we decided to reopen our self-catering accommodation in line with the ongoing Government restrictions, it was initially on the basis of exactly that. Our desire to improve the guest experience and go that wee bit further, resulted in the inclusion of breakfast provisions and so we're sorry to hear that it presented as stingy. That really wasn't the intention. Now onto our forgetful member of staff. Rest assured, I shall track down the miscreant who left you in the lurch with the music system.... that really isn't the Gara way and please do accept our apologies. As you quite rightly point out, once we're able to open our gorgeous restaurant and lounge, then we'll hopefully be able to add 'flawless' to the list of adjectives...... just like the priceless view.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ejtyrie wrote a review Sept 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Being reluctant to book a holiday abroad this year we decided to treat ourselves to 3 nights at Gara Rock. Considering the cost per night, we couldn't afford to stay longer but we were very excited about the trip and getting a chance to recharge and relax, after not holidaying for nearly two years due to covid.

Firstly the good bits… the hotel's interior is just stunning. The room we stayed in was a junior suite and was beautifully finished.

Fair play to the housekeeping staff, the room was immaculately clean, as were all areas of the hotel.

We had massages by Amy in the spa which were amazing, the best we've ever received. She was so friendly and very knowledgeable.

The food was always on point. Every meal was delicious and Megan in the restaurant was especially attentive.

Now the bad… it was really important to us that we get lots of decent rest. We don't get much at home these days so we were really looking forward to settling in and getting a full night's undisturbed sleep. Unfortunately that didn't happen for three reasons. Firstly the pillows are hard as rocks. There were no alternative pillow options in the room so we asked at reception the next morning. They advised that some softer pillows would be delivered soon. They didn't arrive and we had to chase this up. When they did arrive at 7pm, they seemed to be the same pillows with some filling removed so no more comfortable than the previous ones. My husband had to use the scatter cushions from the bed on the last night.

The guests in the room above seemed to be jumping/dancing/pogoing until gone midnight and up at 5am. We mentioned this to reception on the first morning and the receptionist assured us that those particular guests were checking out that morning and she would arrange for some rugs to be put down. Before we went for dinner that night we could already hear the loud banging from above so my husband called reception again. We were told that reception would speak to the guests but low and behold that night, banging, crashing until late and up early again.

The room was also extremely warm. We slept with the balcony doors open each night but it was still too hot so we didn't use the duvet and instead slept under the throw that was on the bed when we arrived. There is no air conditioning or way to control the temperature in the room but I was very relieved to have found the fan in the wardrobe.

All this really affected our trip as we were getting very disturbed and fragmented sleep leaving us very tired during the day.

At times, the service in the dining room and bar was slow, painfully slow. We waited 20 minutes just to have our drinks order taken on the first night and at breakfast the next morning, and a further 25 minutes for the tea to arrive by which time we had finished our toast and pastries. Unless you visit the restaurant when it's empty, expect a slow service.

Overall the location and views are amazing but for the price of the stay I wouldn't recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jayne Cartwright, Guest Services / Front Office at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 30 Sept 2021
Hello there and thank you for your review, although it's clearly not our proudest moment. We were really sorry to learn that there were aspects of your stay that were disappointing and completely agree that fragmented sleep is not the desired outcome of a staycation. We're cross that your pillows were too hard and that we weren't able to properly rectify that but have now asked our Housekeeping team to source some softer options. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We'll also investigate why the room was so warm, as all of our heating was switched off due to the recent bout of fabulous weather (it's back on now sadly). Please also accept our apologies on behalf of the pogoing guests upstairs.... I wonder what on earth they were up to?! On the other hand we're thrilled to hear that you loved the location, room, food, housekeeping standards and our fabulous Amy in the Spa. Thanks again for the feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MTECH40 wrote a review Nov 2021
26 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyable stay, made more so by the staff. It’s certainly a unique place, with a huge amount going for it. Though there is something missing, and in my opinion the price point does not marry with the ad hoc level of service on offer. Its not that the staff are not competent, as they are. There is just not enough of them. Having stayed at similar hotels that price themselves at a certain level, it is small details that make the difference. Sadly a lot of the details were missing. On the upside breakfast was beautifully presented in a wonderful setting. We had a light lunch a few times, which was great , though for me the menu was very limited. One of the reasons we ate out in the evenings. It’s a strange one, as some elements of the hotel are 5 star and luxurious , and as many that are not, and it is that inconsistency that lets it down. To justify the new rates , there would have to be a number of changes and a level of detail that is not apparent at present.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gara Rock Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Many thanks for your helpful and insightful review..... we do indeed have the most wonderful staff but at present, not enough of them! We're very much hoping to increase staff and service levels and deliver true justice to our unique setting as soon as we possibly can. Despite this, we're thrilled you had a great stay and appreciated the great people we have here at gorgeous Gara.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KLV wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Gara rock was a treat to ourselves following lockdown earlier in the year and the inability to go abroad on holiday. We decided to invest the money in a luxury experience in the UK, booking Gara rock for a three night stay in one of the 3 bedroom apartments. Unfortunately as soon as we arrived we realised the luxury experience that we had invested our money in, would not be experienced.

Upon checking in, we requested to book a spa treatment throughout our stay. We were directed to the spa and were told there were no treatments available, the spa was fully booked for the entire 3 days with no solution or desire to help offered. We requested to be informed about cancellations and were told quite rudely that "next time you should book in advance". With no prior warning about reduced capacity, we were shocked to see this somehow positioned as our fault. If we had been informed to book in advance, to ensure we could use the facilities advertised, we of course would of done that.
In addition there was a professional photo shoot taking place across both indoor and outdoor pools, meaning use of both pools was also limited across the 2 day period. The next best thing for relaxation was to use the facilities in our room and have a bath. We quickly discovered that the bathtub leaked through the ceiling and flooded the kitchen, which had already been identified as an issue by the maintenance staff but left to us to discover. There was no offer to move room, so we were left having paid for three nights in a luxury hotel with "relaxation facilities" without being able to use any of them, or even have a bath in our own room. When the big things don't work out, you start to become less tolerant of the small issues. Broken door handles, stains throughout the carpets and marks on the walls did little to reassure in these times.

The staff were really friendly throughout (aside from the spa) and knocked off a few drinks from our final bill, but when you come to a place like Gara Rock you do so in the expectation that you will gladly part with your money for a wonderful experience rather having to quibble for a refund. An unbelievably stunning view, but as much as we would have liked to recommend it we simply can't for the experience we had vs the price we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jayne Cartwright, Guest Services / Front Office at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Hello KirbyV1 and thank you for taking the time to detail your disappointment with us. I agree entirely that the experience you've described is not at all what you should have expected. Please accept our apologies for letting you down and our assurances that we are investigating your comments with a view to improve both the accommodation and service. This is not in anyway meant to be an excuse, but I would like to take the time and try to explain some of our shortcomings. The situation with the spa is indeed a tricky one as we only have two treatment rooms (it's a small spa) and coupled with COVID restrictions, the extended cleaning and preparation time has eaten into the time available to our lovely guests. I don't think we fully anticipated the demand for treatments post-lockdown and so we may have been a little slow to adapt and update the website as well as our Call Centre, to advise that pre-booking is essential. It goes without saying that we're onto that now. We desperately wanted to undertake a refurbishment program of our Apartments this year, however it just wasn't possible with the ongoing uncertainty. It is however something we're now scheduling and so all of the issues you describe will be resolved. We've been so heavily booked since re-opening in July, issues we're aware of cannot be addressed. This clearly will need to change. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our friendly staff. We do all try our best and I intend to discuss your observations with the spa team as you certainly shouldn't feel at fault for something that's ours. Anyway, apologies again and thank you for the kick we clearly need to get these issues ironed out.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura H wrote a review Sept 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom13 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've just returned from two nights at Gara Rock Hotel and I'm really shocked at some of the reviews I've read, please ignore the bad reviews and visit the hotel if you are considering it. It was truly beautiful and the photos do not do the hotel justice at all, the views, coastline and resort. Every part of our stay was perfect and I haven't stopped talking about it since getting home.

Yes, the drive to the hotel is very windy and the roads are extremely narrow but we avoided South Pool as advised on the website and found there were plenty of passing spaces. The minute you see the resort, you forget all about it!! (The roads were the same in Salcombe / other areas we visited)

We stayed in a Sunset View Room and were blown away by the views, the room was spacious and the decor was lovely. We used the swimming pools (outdoor is heated) a number of times both days and often had the pools to ourselves. We couldn't believe how good the facilities were, both pools had amazing views.

We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant both days and the food was stunning, we didn't have a bad meal and thought the portions were generous. The seafood was exceptional!! The prices were in line with what we paid in the centre of Salcombe for seafood. All staff in the hotel were accommodating and friendly, they couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. My partner (now fiance) proposed during our stay and the restaurant staff were genuinely thrilled for us.

A wonderful stay and we will definitely be back to return. I still can't believe how amazing the resort was when looking back over photos and we felt a million miles away from the UK!!! Very sad to be home.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Sunset View Rooms, stunning!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jayne Cartwright, Guest Services / Front Office at Gara Rock Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2020
We think you're just great lauraG! Thank you so very much for the stunning review and huge congratulations on your engagement...I do hope you picked up a wedding brochure (as you may have just read, we do a lovely job). Sometimes we get a bit shocked by the comments we receive as naturally, we're very proud of our 'amazing resort' and all the people in it. As always, it makes such a difference to learn that we're not the only ones! Thank you again....... come back and see us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wincanton asked a question Feb 2021
Wincanton23 contributions60 helpful votes
Are there any twin bedded rooms? I would like to visit later this year with my sister.
Answer from Ralphi669
Trowbridge22 contributions13 helpful votes
Hi, sorry for the late reply, I didn’t see any twin beds but being a hotel, I’m sure they can arrange something. P
Answer from girlvoyage
London, United Kingdom13 contributions12 helpful votes
garden apartment with our doggie was amazing!! she just ran out the doors for a bit of fresh air and a wee and came back in! They loved dogs and it was a dream to have her with us!
Ali asked a question Mar 2020
so53 4tp1 contribution12 helpful votes
Is there a full cooker and a proper fridge in the garden apartments ?
Answer from Brian J
Herefordshire265 contributions120 helpful votes
Hi. The kitchen is fully equipped with fridge, freezer, cooker, microwave, kettle, coffee carafe with a very flavorsome free sample and all utensils you may need. Enjoy.
Answer from Gara Rock Hotel
Hi Crickets, our apartments do have microwaves and a cafeteria. We also supply tea bags, coffee, sugar and milk upon arrival. Please do get in contact if I can help further - Jayne, Head of Guest Experience Gara Rock
Answer from Gara Rock
East Portlemouth, United Kingdom
HI Deborah, I would like to assure you that we have taken all the feedback on aboard and have responded as quickly as possible. We did have a large change over in management and staff after the Christmas period but we now have a new management team in place who are managing the transition very well.
FWD L wrote a tip 10 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Adult-only use of pool 8 till 10am and 5 till 8 I think and beware the roads are very tight leading to the venue."
Read full review
Lucie373 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Somerset, United Kingdom150 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe pre book a table if your walking from salcombe for a drink as it’s quite far to get to if then you arnt allowed to have a drink"
Read full review
Clare K wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you take a walk to the beach it is breathtaking!"
Read full review
j0anneburchell wrote a tip Apr 2024
Sidmouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cant comment on the room's as I went for a meal. "
Read full review
stacey w wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Indoor pool is generally more quiet in the evening if you would prefer an adult only swim and use of spa facilities. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Portlemouth area.
PRICE RANGE
£345 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEast Portlemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GARA ROCK HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Gara Rock Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Gara Rock Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Salcombe Distilling Company (1.5 miles), Salcombe to Bolt Head Walk (1.4 miles), and Start Point Lighthouse (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gara Rock Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Gara Rock Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gara Rock Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gara Rock Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Braai Guy, Twenty Seven, and Maha-Bharat Indian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gara Rock Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Gara Rock Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of East Portlemouth.
Are pets allowed at Gara Rock Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Gara Rock Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Overbecks Garden (1.5 miles), Kingsbridge Quay (4.4 miles), and St Edmund King and Martyr Church (4.7 miles).
Is Gara Rock Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.