We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Pittodrie House

Traveller (297)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (23)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
One of the finest 4-star hotels in the Aberdeen area, Macdonald Pittodrie House is set within its own ancient grounds and offers the best in breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. The hotel's beautiful setting within 2,400 acres of beautiful estate land means we're a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. This Aberdeen hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences - boasting superb guest accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, plus breathtaking gardens and surrounding woodland. Our hotel near Aberdeen by Inverurie is perfect for country adventures - roam the marvellous Aberdeenshire landscapes and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our fantastic AA Rosette rated Mither Tap Restaurant, where you'll find the finest of fare in a remarkable Scottish countryside setting.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Restaurant
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
742Reviews
302Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 398
  • 141
  • 85
  • 70
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We (two couples) arrived looking for a snack late afternoon. Could we have coffee for 4, scone for 1, and shortbread for 3 please? No problem. We were served coffee within minutes - while scones and shortbread were baked! They were delicious - with the scones served with jam
Read more
Response from Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie House
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Bill, Thank you for your 5 star review, we are glad you enjoyed our scones which are baked fresh daily by Edwin our head chef and his team and feel that it was great value for money. Maybe next time we could hopefully welcome you back for an overnight stay. Kind Regards Kenny McMillan
Read more
Just home from a 2 night stay at MacDonald Pittodrie House Hotel. Fantastic location to relax, bedroomwas excellent and bathroom spotless. The service we received by Kenny Macmillan and his team was first class. We ate in the dining room the first night and the food served was
Read more
Response from Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie House
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you Brian, thank you for taking the time to give us a 5 star guest review. We are delighted that you and your wife had a perfect stay at Pittodrie and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not so distant future. I will ensure your kind comments are passed on to the team, who work very hard and take pride in great customer service. Kind regards Kenny McMillan
Read more
We were hoping for a relaxing night away from children and stress etc. Arrival was fine but there was a wedding on. Our dinner was ruined by drunken classless idiots shouting and swearing about 6 metres away from our table, so we went back to our room. The walls were literally
Read more
Superb afternoon tea, sandwiches were good, sausage rolls were outstanding, great selection of cakes, lemon posset, scones fresh, booked through ITISON, so was very good value. Spoiled a little bit by a senior member of staff who clearly has to brush up on her customer
Read more
Response from Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie House
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Nnager, Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your feedback. I am glad that overall you enjoyed our ITISON deal which has proven to be very popular, however I am sorry to hear that you felt let down by certain aspects of the service. Your comments have been taken very seriously and relayed to the team, we will continue our ongoing training and focus on your points raised. Kind Regards Kenny McMillan
Read more
I have loved Pittodrie since I was a young girl, I even got married here which is why I am so saddened about how poor it is now. We came for lunch- even booking we felt unwelcome, with a woman verging on rude who took my booking. Didn’t bode well! It started badly. The empty,
Read more
Response from Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie House
Responded 2 days ago
Dear CherryRed, I have spoken to the whole team regarding your recent visit which you have titled "faded glory" and would like to point out that on the day when you raised your concerns, three senior members of staff apologised and discussed your concerns to try and resolve the situation. Just to clarify our Risotto is made using Arborio rice which is a grain and we only use wild fresh mushrooms including chestnut, enoki and oyster in our risotto's. Sunday lunch has proven to be very popular and we have received very good feedback on this from our guests since it was launched in January and has gone from strength to strength. Again, I would like to point out that it is a sad day when things can not be concluded on the day, instead of using trip advisor as a platform to offload emotional memories. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your exceptions on this occasion but would love the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the near future. I you could contact me direct at the hotel, I will book you in personally: 01467 622 437 Kind Regards Kenny McMillan
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Front of Pittodrie House grounds
PreviousNext
1234568
Hi, Can anyone tell me the rough price for afternoon tea here? Thanks
Think it’s £20 per person if it’s a weekend
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, Thank you for your enquiry, we do not have Kennels, your dog would stay in your room- there is an additional charge of £15 per dog per night. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance...
0 votes
Show all answers
Craigievar Castle is less than an hour away. Can't help with info on rates for Weddings.
0 votes
Show all answers
How close is this to Fraser Castle?
Dear ccn1959, Thank you for your enquiry, we are about 8 miles from Fraser Castle and we are also 16 miles from Fyvie Castle, both are very reachable and highly recommended. We are to soon have an offer go live on the macdonald hotel website with an overnight stay to include complimentary entrance into either Fraser or Fyvie Castle for 2 people and also afternoon tea at Pittodrie House, this should be live online by the weekend. If we can help you further please don't hesitate to contact me personally Best Regards Adam (General Manager)
0 votes
"Room 9, a bit of a walk from reception but worth it."
"Book early for a better price, get a room at the front of the Hotel."
"All rooms have spectacular views"
"Room 2 - the Keith! Great fluffy robe and coffee machine."
"Avoid the old part of the building"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald pittodrie house hotel inveruriemacdonald pittodrie hotelmacdonald pittodrie inveruriepittodrie house hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandInverurieChapel of Garioch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing