We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry House Inn

Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (2)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Ferry House Inn is a beautiful 16th Century Country Public House situated at the edge of the Swale Estuary on the peaceful Isle of Sheppey. It is set in three acres of terraced lawns and offers a superb panoramic view over the water.The Inn has recently undergone major refurbishment throughout with particular attention to retaining its old character and charm, by incorporating open log fires, traditional wooden beams and solid oak floors. In December 2005 we opened the doors to the new Barn Restaurant.The Inn also has three double bedrooms and one twin bedroom, all beautifully furnished with en-suite facilities and offering visitors all the comfort needed for a perfect nights sleep. We can also cater for a variety of events, so whether you need a peaceful and idyllic setting for your Wedding, or a venue for your corporate event, the Ferry House Inn is quite simply ‘the perfect venue’
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
79Reviews
49Photos
0Q+A
18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 10
  • 5
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had Sunday lunch and the service was second to none. The waitress helped above and beyond her duty. The roast dinners were really delicious, as were the desserts. We were seated in the Barn Restaurant, which is a delightful place to spend a couple of hours.
Read more
We took a couple of elderly relatives here - we had been before and enjoyed it but this visit was poor. Burgers were under seasoned and practically tasteless - including the premium offering which had some ingredients that were indistinguishable. Chips were nothing like the
Read more
FHI caused us such disappointment on our wedding day. If you are thinking of using them as a wedding venue or simply a place to stay, just look elsewhere. This is our experience of staying in the rooms above the Inn, which formed part of a 9 page complaint letter...to which
Read more
Response from VictoriaFerryHouse, Owner at The Ferry House Inn
Responded 3 Nov 2018
As I stated in my reply to you at the time, the reason I have not responded to every point in your 9 page letter is I cannot agree with most of what you have written, my replies therefore won’t change your opinion, nor your dissatisfaction with myself or my company, therefore doing so will only antagonise you further. Your letter & subsequent reviews have all made some very personal claims about myself, and states several points that are factually incorrect to the point of libel, including several claims that I am a 'liar'. - We did not at the FHI 'control / force' you to choose the wedding date you did - We did not lie re being fully booked on specific dates so you could not book them - I did not 'lie' about the 1st September not being available to you for your wedding - there was a twilight wedding on this date... - I did post on Social Media we had morning appointments to view the venue on 1st Sept as the wedding did not start until 4pm… - We did not “control even the time you want to get married” – as above example (4pm Ceremony) we have had weddings from 11am to 7pm... - We did have some cancellations – (as they were under very sad circumstances we chose not to go into the history behind these) and therefore we advertised at late availability prices last minute, just like any other venue does. - Your comments regarding us advertising late availability discounted dates on social media, when you were told almost a year prior we were fully booked - again is difficult for me to answer – you were more than welcome to take the ‘risk’ of a late available cancellation date, and book only a few months ahead if you wished… - I find it difficult to reply to the points regards us “denying” you a premium peak date, when you expressed – clearly – on several occasions your dissatisfaction with our mid-week best value prices for the venue, cottages and any items we provide – yet a premium peak date is more money…so I am unsure what we could have done here to satisfy you? - We did not “lie” about knowing we would start works to the rear of our property (nowhere near the wedding areas of the Inn) before your wedding date. This, again, is not correct. - We did indeed get planning some time ago, but no start date was ‘green lighted’ until our funding came through, this is not unusual, and is not an instant process. We discussed this openly with you via email. - We were not building on the morning after your wedding, nor were we drilling. (Building works did not start until 2 weeks after your wedding... the only work done before your wedding was the removal of the dilapidated out building) - As advised prior to your wedding (in February), we had put fencing up as we were preparing to start the build at the rear of the property. We have received and continue to receive a lot of compliments on the chestnut fencing, and many of our customers have requested the suppliers details – I am sorry it is not to your taste, it is the same fencing that we have used in the wedding garden so most people feel it is in-keeping, and improved the prior view of our ‘back of house’ which included a dilapidated barn, small industrial unit and other unsightly items. It has also far improved the bridal car arrival shots as now there is a far nicer background & has created a reserved parking area for the bridal car. - Your claim of ‘half the car park was ripped up’ again is factually incorrect, we have more car parking now than we ever have done previously, I did explain this at the time. - The other comments such as being disappointed with your photographs because our staff are seen in them sitting to Play the music for the ceremony, sitting where we have done to carry out this essential task for over 10 years, is a difficult one to respond to. We don’t control your photographers choice of angle, and we have never had this feedback before. - Your evening food, as stated in your complaint, was described as very good by your guests so I am surprised at your dissatisfaction. The correct quantities were served as per agreements. The 'shape' may well have been different slightly - when you ate this at your taster you were served your cones on a plate, as you were seated for a formal tasting meal. Your guests dining experience was different at your evening reception, informal cones with chip forks not cutlery, the shape of the meal in the cone needed to allow for sauce in it - not on a plate as you had, and the lack of formal cutlery etc. To be honest I've never been asked, ever, in 18 years to do a pre-tasting of the evening food so I genuinely did not think to mention that we would alter the shape of the cod to suit the guests needs. - I also find it difficult to accept that it was our fault, as you have stated regularly, including reducing one of the waitresses to tears the morning after your wedding after your Groom shouted at her, that one of your guests, an unsupervised child, broke your china when she was trying to help you the morning after your wedding. Finally, the insinuation that “Once they have your money, they could not care less” is absolutely not the case. When you sent your first complaint [regards the announcement of our build works to the rear of the venue], I was very shocked and concerned that you were not happy. I stated at that point very clearly, even though these works would have no impact on your day, I was more than happy to issue you a full refund or alternative dates if that was what you preferred, as, and I quote from our correspondence at the time, “it is your day and your feelings which are most important.” Ultimately, whether rightly or not, you believe we did not deliver for you and I am sorry for that, we can certainly say without question the entire team has learnt a lot from this experience.
Read more
We didn’t stay here but took a drive out for a meal. Not a very good welcome for us here. The lady behind the bar struggled to talk let alone smile. The area was so quiet we felt we had to whisper to have a conversation. The menu in my opinion was limited and when the food was
Read more
Response from VictoriaFerryHouse, Owner at The Ferry House Inn
Responded 6 Oct 2018
I was disappointed to read your review of our service, this certainly does not represent the level of service that we wish to be remembered for. We champion Kent produce in our menus and we have a kitchen garden, our menus are designed around our home-grown ingredients. Our menu usually has a selection of 3-4 starters, 6 main courses, a range of 4 steaks, 5 desserts and a range of sides. We also have a daily specials board & mid week set menu offer. Could you let me know the date you visited back in August so I can investigate further? Please contact me via our website/contact page. Our staff always table check to make sure our guests are happy with their food, apologies if your food was cold, was this communicated to the staff as this should of been dealt with on the day and corrected by our team? Yours sincerely Nicola S
Read more
I know this is the South of England where people are typically standoffish but the quality of the welcome makes the experience. The barmaid had neither a smile, a co-operative approach nor any conversation. She was about to tell me that, at 5.57, it was too early to order food
Read more
Response from JaneM4507, General Manager at The Ferry House Inn
Responded 5 Nov 2018
Dear Steve, I am genuinely disappointed to read your review and to learn that our hospitality on the day of your visit was not up to scratch. We, of course, welcome visitors and are always delighted when guests have made the trip down the Harty Ferry Road to visit us. I will be investigating your comments with our team and ensure this is not how you find us on your next visit, which I do hope will happen again in the future? In regards to your comments about ale and food costs. I believe our bar prices are reasonable and match other local pubs in the region, we certainly are not loading massive profit margins into our costs. I can confirm that all of our food is made from scratch here at The Ferry House Inn, with beef reared on our own family farm and much of the produce you will have been served coming from our own kitchen garden. Our menu is not designed to be mass produced but designed around seasonal availability in the region, for this reason, we could not compete with a fast food restaurant who might offer much cheaper prices for a burger but we can offer you a good dining experience with food from sustainable & accountable sources. I really do hope you will be able to visit us again and I would personally be delighted to welcome you and show you around our kitchen garden if you would like? Please just book ahead and ask for Jane M.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
The only other tatty unit!
One of two units
Hanging space
The only shelf!...a windowsill,
The other unit��
PreviousNext
12
"Did not stay"
"Use plenty of sun screen and wear a big hat."
"luxury pices budget food and slow service"
"Lilac room"
"Don't stay in room 2 smell from toilet was disgusting"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of SheppeyHarty
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing