Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Staunton Arms

Staunton Arms High Street Nr Newark, Staunton in the Vale, Newark-on-Trent NG13 9PE England
Traveller (44)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£105
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
£105
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 inn in Staunton in the Vale
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our eight fully-refurbished en-suite bedrooms are available throughout the week, so making a night of it at the Staunton Arms has now been made even simpler. We also have a spacious family room, with separate twin room, sofa bed and Wii facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Video game console
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Desk
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
259Reviews0Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 204
  • 34
  • 9
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sam B wrote a review Jul 2020
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom18 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to make our first post lockdown lunch at the Staunton Arms & it did not disappoint! We were made to feel very welcome with safety of the customers & staff treated sensibly.

Burgers were top notch as was the Sunday & cheese board - particularly the Brie.

Great pint of Shipstones Gold Star too!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Lewis, Owner at The Staunton Arms
Responded 23 Jul 2020
Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian P wrote a review Jul 2021
Redditch, United Kingdom17 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 3 wonderful nights in the cottage for my wife’s birthday. The cottage has got fantastic facilities and wonderful scenic views. Everyone at the Staunton Arms made us feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The cottage was spotlessly clean with everything you need for a self catering break there is even a portable air conditioning unit in the open plan kitchen/lounge area. It’s only a 2 min walk to the pub.

The log burning Hot Tub was the icing on the cake, perfect to relax in after long walks or too much food and drink from the Staunton Arms.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Lewis, Owner at The Staunton Arms
Responded 2 Aug 2021
Hi, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your meal with us at The Staunton Arms. We can't wait to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VeganMunki wrote a review Sept 2021
Luton, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Usual hotel near the office was fully booked so ended up here unexpectedly. Really glad that I did. Was such a stress free experience. Quick and easy check in. They’d already reserved a table for me on the off chance that I’d not eaten yet. Decent Vegan option on the menu and the waitress enquired about dietary requirements which always helps put your mind at rest in a new venue. Dinner was great so for food alone I’d recommend. Good sized room for an individual and I guess due to the small number of guests compared to a larger establishment- really quiet. Certainly got a good nights sleep. Cooked breakfast in the morning and fruit salad made to order so all in all a great experience. May have to change my usual regular hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Lewis, Owner at The Staunton Arms
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you join us again soon. Kind regards, The management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian M wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have eaten at this establishment on four separate occasions and always found the food to be extremely good. This time I was left feeling rather disappointed and unfortunately a bit embaressed as I had invited my parents to join us for lunch and it was nowhere near the standard of previous visits. The table service was good and the young lady who serves us was friendly and polite. The food on the other hand was mediocre at best. Thin sliver of fish in a thick coating of batter, soggy crackling on belly pork described on the menu as "crispy", large chunk of gristle or bone in my daughters burger and the presentation needs to be reviewed. To be fair when the problems were highlighted, the offer was to replace the affected meals and an apology was forthcoming. Fresh meals were declined as at that stage half of our party had finished theirs our confidence in the quality of what was being presented was well and truly blown. We were offered a discount on our final bill but that wasn`t the point to me, at one stage this establishment was offering well presented quality meals and In my opinion, either the Chef has changed or, there has been a change in Management, either way it`s not for the better and regretfully we won`t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan P wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have had a booking confirmed on the app and traveled all the way up here to then been turned away at the door because there’s 5 of the same gender. There was purely no other reason for this and I think this is a disgrace. I spoke to the owner on the phone and he was extremely rude when I only asked what the reason was for. He even put the phone down on me mid conversation. We are now stuck up here with no where to stay and plans already booked. There was no information on the website or app that explained they don’t allow same genders. This has ruined our holiday and how rude the owner was for no apparent reason other then assuming stereotypes is completely unacceptable. I would like something to be done about this. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE. He would allow girls but not boys, defiantly something fishy about the owner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Lewis, Owner at The Staunton Arms
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Hi there Jordan, In response to your review, on Bookings.com where you made the booking it does say before booking you need to always read the fine print. It states: 'Please note that this property cannot accommodate stag, hen and similar parties. Please note that if your booking exceeds a total of GBP 500, Staunton Arms will require a 50% deposit.' You were turned away as you simply fall under this category, 5 gentleman staying in a room we just don't allow. This has been in the fine print for some time as we have had issues in the past from both males and females. The owner, kindly spoke to you when you turned up to the property and gave his reasons. When sent away insisted on calling us back. If the owner was abrupt down the phone this is because we were becoming busy as it was Sunday at 12:00pm and also he had already spoken to you previously. In response to your 'we would allow girls but not boys' this is completely wrong, we never stated to you that we would allow a party of girls and we definitely wouldn't in the same case as you. No stereotype was assumed at all, all properties have terms and conditions for a reason to stop any body potentially damaging the property which we have learnt from in the past. If you have any further queries please get in touch.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul M wrote a review Nov 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited the Staunton arms with my son today. When we arrived we saw that only 5 people ( party of 3 and one of 2) were sat in the bar area. The party of 3 had been eating a meal.
I asked to sit in the bar area as it’s much nicer than the space they call “the restaurant” as it’s too bright there and quite stark looking.
The lady told us ( despite nobody being there) “ Sorry, the bar area is fully booked and reserved for customers!” There is a table for 2 in the ‘restaurant’ … I looked at her in disbelief, but accepted we had to sit in the restaurant ( or area they ‘call’ a restaurant.
We left at 8:45pm and NOBODY had ‘arrived’ to the bar area … so the only conclusion is, she lied!
I noted the staff didn’t have to walk far from the kitchen to their restaurant area, so perhaps it was “her” decision to round everyone up into a space “she” wanted people to sit? Fair enough …. But when you spend £71 on two mains, two desserts and 4 drinks, you should be able to sit where you prefer and not where a sarcastic member of staff herd you into.
The food? Below average and disappointing…. Burger tasted weird, custard was cold and lumpy and the brownies were rock hard.
Perhaps one to avoid for anyone looking for a hassle free, decent meal with good value. Over expensive and an uncaring place … it’s run like a cheap travel lodge is the impression I got. There are better places within a 5 mile radius.
Sorry to be negative but just putting this out there for people to be aware of. Thanks.
Trip typeFamily
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Lewis, Owner at The Staunton Arms
Responded 19 Nov 2022
Hello, In response to your review, we do find it very disappointing that you didn't enjoy your time here at The Staunton Arms. The bar was in fact fully booked and when being here it did fill up as we had all room guests down dining with us that evening & had stated to sit in the bar area. We do recommend booking especially if you have a preferred seating arrangement as we do get busy and on this particular day it was a busy evening. You were asked on 2 occasions whether everything was good with your food and nothing was stated had we of known we would've done what we could've to rectify your food. If you had let us know about the brightness issue again the lights are dimmable so we could've turned the lights down for you. Kind regards, The Staunton Arms Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan W wrote a review Jul 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom164 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We knew we could rely on great food, drink and service when we chose Staunton Arms to treat a friend for her birthday.

A trip out, via East Bridgford garden Centre, she was impressed by the countryside on the way to Staunton

As always a warm welcome, “a step back into a traditional pub” she said. The selection of drinks really amazed her and agreed The Harvest Pale was in peak condition - as was the Sauvignon Blanc

Friday meant Haddock and those Staunton chips for two of us and the pie for our friend - she took up the challenge and was very impressed.

Fire alarm didn’t spoil our meal as it was quickly resolved

The team might not be on Come Dine with Me but ensured we will all be returning

Well done
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Lewis, Owner at The Staunton Arms
Responded 4 Oct 2022
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The staunton arms management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graham C wrote a review Dec 2022
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom10 contributions26 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A Copy of the email I sent

Good afternoon ,
I feel I need to bring to your attention our visit for Sunday lunch on 20/11/22, the table was booked at 16.30 , I was one of the guests .
I ordered my started which was Chorizo Goats cheese and rocket , when the waitress brought it out I thought I had the wrong starter and asked her if this was what I had ordered ? She said yes ,,, to which I asked her to return it to the kitchen and ask to put some goats cheese on it as it had 4 tiny flakes of cheese on it !! To which she did, and promptly brought it back with a sparse scattering ( I have pictures) of goats cheese .
That is the worst starter I have ever had and imo totally unacceptable to serve to guests and charge £5.50. There was 3 small slices of chorizo, a scattering of rocket and the goats cheese was near non existent. The rest of the party ordered starters which were fine and quite substantial .
Mine and my partners main course was beef.
This was awful , stringy and tough , and cut so thin it was see through , the veg etc was very good but , again unacceptable to charge £22 for 2 courses.
We did not enjoy our experience with yourselves as the food was poor , especially my starter , and felt for a combined bill of £130 was no way value for money .
I look forward to your reply
Regards
Graham Chapman
I got a reply straight away apologising and offering me vouchers , which I was grateful.
These vouchers haven’t arrived despite a polite reminder by myself reminding the manager of his offer.
IMO , Avoid at all costs , there are better places to eat 2 miles away in long Bennington .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cassie T wrote a review Jun 2022
Elounda8 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I ordered a burger to take away whilst staying locally. Ordered to pick it up at a certain time but I got it and the burger was inedible, and the chips and onion ring very soggy. I don’t know if this was because they had it ready long before the time I was collecting it but it was a complete waste of money and maybe one of the worst burgers I’ve had… Must be better to eat in but they shouldn’t offer takeaway if they can’t do it half way decently.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Lewis, Owner at The Staunton Arms
Responded 4 Oct 2022
Sorry about this, like normal we are a pub so we don't have to deal with takeaways fairly often. If you had any problems we would've been more than happy to resolve this on the nights. Kind regards, Staunton Arms Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne R wrote a review Jan 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited this pub for a meal today with a group of friends. I ordered the large haddock and chips at £14.95. When it came the chips were hidden under the fish. I had the grand total of six chips as did a friend with the same meal. Those who ordered the light meal which I believe was £7.95 were given four chips with a smaller piece of fish. At least my fish was large even if the batter was overcooked. The chips and mushy peas were small , as was the very small piece of lemon.

The service was also poor. We waited a long time between courses and I had my coffee long before my dessert. The dessert itself was not the best. I usually enjoy an ice cream sundae but this one had very large chunks in it . I felt that someone had not used sufficient care to only add bite sized chunks. I would not repeat either course and I would probably not return to this pub
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Lewis, Owner at The Staunton Arms
Responded 14 Feb 2023
Hello, We are sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. However, we do follow a strict check back policy and if the chips were mentioned we would've got you some more free of charge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Gillian M wrote a tip Feb 2024
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom18 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It has a huge car park, my husband doesn’t walk very well due to having a stroke years ago but he didn’t struggle with anything."
Read full review
John F wrote a tip Jan 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reserve a Table fur dinner "
Read full review
Rob H wrote a tip Oct 2023
15 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early for Sunday"
Read full review
Teamxxx wrote a tip Jun 2022
Bottesford, United Kingdom107 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to book as often busy"
Read full review
Graham B wrote a tip Feb 2022
Leicestershire, United Kingdom21 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking, gets busy due to there success."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Staunton in the Vale area.
PRICE RANGE
£106 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottinghamshireNewark-on-TrentStaunton in the Vale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE STAUNTON ARMS - Updated 2024 (Staunton in the Vale)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Staunton Arms
Which popular attractions are close to The Staunton Arms?
Nearby attractions include The Alpaca Centre at JandJ Alpacas (4.8 miles), Orston Shooting Ground (2.5 miles), and The Chequers Inn (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Staunton Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Staunton Arms?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Staunton Arms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Staunton Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Durham OX, Caffe Velo Verde, and The Thatch.
Is The Staunton Arms located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Staunton in the Vale.
Are there any historical sites close to The Staunton Arms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary the Virgin's Church (2.8 miles).
Is The Staunton Arms accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire