Grassington House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Grassington House

5 The Square, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AQ England
Traveller (258)
Dining (66)
Our rooms
Room & Suite (54)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 3 small hotels in Grassington
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
**GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES WHEN BOOKED ON OUR 'OFFICIAL SITE OR DIRECTLY'- REDUCED AVAILABILITY ON OTHER BOOKING SITES AS DIRECT IS COMMISON FREE** Grassington House Hotel is an award-winning restaurant with luxury rooms set in the beautiful village of Grassington in the Yorkshire Dales, 9 miles outside of Skipton. The family run business features regularly updated menus, gourmet dining, fine wines & artisan ales, creating a genuine and affordable foodie haven as well as being a destination restaurant. Grassington House Hotel continues to be recognised with tourism accolades including a consistent Gold award from Visit England, 5 stars & 2 rosettes from the AA, Yorkshire Life Award Winners, Welcome To Yorkshire Finalist & TripAdvisor’s Hall of Fame and certificate of excellence, AA Gold Award, 2020 Editors Choice award from Good Hotel Guide and several Skipton Business Awards. The vibrant restaurant and bar are the perfect place in Grassington to catch up for a Fair Trade Coffee, lunch or to mingle with friends for dinner while enjoying a much deserved glass of wine after a hectic day. It also serves a traditional Sunday lunch.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Highchairs available
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English

Location

5 The Square, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AQ England
841Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 656
  • 135
  • 38
  • 9
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BPR wrote a review Aug 2020
Beverley, United Kingdom39 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to go and stay at Grassington House this time because we’d stayed there twice before and been so impressed with everything. We therefore had high expectations, which can of course lead to disappointment, but I am generally fairly easy to please. We chose to stay here for a treat, paying a little more than we would normally, and in many ways I was not disappointed. We arrived early and were able to park in the car park and make use of the facilities before heading off for a walk. Then when we checked in, we liked the room and were made to feel welcome with chocolates on a plate with the words ‘Welcome back’ piped in chocolate - a nice touch. We appreciated having both a bath (albeit somewhat quaintly placed on a stage in the bedroom) and a shower in the en suite and I love the toiletries they choose. I was also glad to have the menu in the room to give me time to study and choose without pressure. We both enjoyed our meal and were reassured by the social distancing measures in place. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The breakfast was also good. We were then able to leave the car in the car park and head off for another walk before leaving.
So why was it not as good as before? Maybe it is partly down to coronavirus and anxiety among the staff, which certainly can’t be easy. But I felt that enthusiasm for the food was slightly lost this time. We were a little disappointed at the lack of choices for vegetarians - in fact there were no choices for vegans. We opted to eat fish in the evening, but I do try to avoid this normally. The Bircher muesli was not as good as I remembered and we were abandoned once we had everything we’d ordered, so my questions remained unanswered.
I’m not saying I wouldn’t recommend the place; it is a lovely place to stay, but I remain a little disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Rudden, Owner at Grassington House
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review. I am so sorry you did not feel Grassington House was the same and more sorry you felt abandoned at breakfast as the owner that was serving you that really does upset me. We are currently extremely busy but that should in no way ever make you feel abandoned? As the menu is reduced we do note that should you require the chef to create a dish for you then just please ask the waiter so I am sorry you felt our reduced menu was not surfice. We hopefully shall see you again when more normality resumes. Kind regards Susan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dart4dtony wrote a review Sept 2020
Dartford, United Kingdom28 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Grassington (for the first time) for 5 nights for a special wedding anniversary, and Sue, John and the staff made it extra special. Every meal in the restaurant was spectacular and faultless - so delicious - made better by the caring and professional staff.
The Alcock Room was lovely and comfortable with an amazing large bath. The housekeeping staff looked after us really well and nothing was too much trouble.
In both the hotel and the restaurant, the staff wore masks at all times and worked with the modifications for the Covid restrictions well. The room was only serviced on request and otherwise we left towels and tea/coffee items outside the door to be replenished.
Thank you all for an amazing, memorable stay. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter O wrote a review Nov 2021
Guiseley, United Kingdom23 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
THERE is a school of thought that says that if you have fabulous memories of a place you should never return because it can never again live up to the hype of that first visit.
Well if that be the case then the Grassington House Hotel proves the exception to the rule.
We were blown away when we visited in May 2014 and concluded our report saying: "We will certainly be going again..."
Thank goodness we did for if anything the Grassington is even better thanks to a continued programme of refurbishment and a determination to maintain a boutique image backed by superb service and outstanding dining.
Mind you that dining started with a late lunch and fellow snackers in the bar must have thought Meg Ryan was reprising her role in "When Harry met Sally" so excited did my wife get about the tempura tiger prawns prawns in a coriander Marie sauce with lime sea salt(starter portion £10).
"Oh it's so good. It's the best ever. It is heaven wrapped in gossamer" she gasped. I swear as we left I heard a fellow diner say: "I'll have what she's having" but I could be wrong. -
And that food was created from a kitchen in crisis.
Owner and head chef of this family run hotel, John Rudden, normally spend 10 hours a day in his kitchens to ensure the restaurant keeps its two AA Rosettes but a horrible accident couple of days earlier had scalded the skin off his arms and he was hors de combat. It speaks volumes for his standards that his sous chef on the evening created food John would have been proud of.
And the standards were maintained into evening when my "Meg Ryan" in calmer mode, tucked into a halibut fillet with king scallops, lemon confit potatoes in a tomato and lobster bisque (£24.50). She then crowned her decadence with a dark chocolate cremeaux featuring a Horlicks mousse, hazelnuts and salted caramel ice cream (£7.50).
My choice was the John's award winning beef fillet mignon "rag pudding" with carrot puree and cabbage faggot in a red wine onion jus(£20.50) which brought back childhood memories of suet puddings taken to a different level. Again John's kitchen staff protected his hard-won reputation.
This time we stayed in the Red Room which not only boasted a shower big enough for two in the bathroom but also a free-standing bath in the bedroom in which Meg Ryan duly luxuriated.
John's accident from which he is thankfully recovering has jeopardised his wife Sue's annual pilgrimage to the Birmingham NEC for the monster Christmas fair from which she would normally return laden with decorations and new Christmas ideas.
But be assured, come what may, Sue is so determined that her Christmas display standards will not slip, that we immediately booked in again next month and luckily .....there was still room at the inn.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sandj89 wrote a review Jun 2021
Leyburn, United Kingdom176 contributions105 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We previously stayed here in October 2020 and had an enjoyable stay that time. We happened to see a late availability for The Square Room which the owner described as 'the best Room in the house'. It had nice wallpaper and was a decent size but, sadly, that's about it. The bathroom is very dated and the shower absolutely useless due to low water pressure.

However, what I really object to is the excuse that they cannot provide room service due to Covid. Firstly, I am sick to death of this tired old excuse, particularly when other hotels we have stayed in (and we stay in a lot) are able to provide this basic necessity for hotel guests. When you are paying £195 per night, you really should not be expected to make your own bed and collect towels from outside your door. I would not expect that at a Premier Inn!!!

The restaurant food was good but I do agree with other reviewers that, in particular, the male members of the restaurant staff are very surly and do not make any attempt to ingratiate themselves and make eye contact.

Sorry Grassington House but we won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Rudden, Owner at Grassington House
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Mr & Mrs Richardson, upon completion of our professional risk assessment of the Covid 19 risks & taking into account the latest Government guidance, our servicing regimes were decided based on this. The details all of which were explained to you upon check & not at any point did you advise there was an issue. We are trusted by ALL our guests & staff to keep them safe & I am proud to say we have not had ONE case of covid in the Hotel because we followed our risk assessment findings. I can only assume like most of the world we are fed up of following rules & this is why you have decided to publically review negatively rather speak to us directly . The water pressure again if we are not made aware we cannot fix it! The Square is our best selling room in the house and I'm proud to say we have 90% repeat cutom to that room so again I can only presume that the rules & restrictions have dampened your time at Grassington House. The visit in October had the very same restrictions in place but I fully understand that they are now wearing very thin. I hope that you can fully appreciate that having worked so very very hard to re-open the business reading this review hurts not just the business but all involved in it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandj89 wrote a review Oct 2020
Leyburn, United Kingdom176 contributions105 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely hotel, very friendly and excellent service. We were in Room 10 which had a great large shower, lovely big and fluffy towels and was very quiet. I would probably try a different room next time but this was adequate for our stay with a great smart TV so we could catch up with Netflix after a day walking.

We had a minor problem with the bedsheets being slightly uncomfortable due to them being brand new but this was resolved quickly and professionally.

We had dinner at the hotel both nights and the food and service were excellent. I had partridge on the second night and it was exceptional. Breakfast was limited but in a very, very good way. Everything was presented and cooked perfectly and upon commenting on how good the black pudding was and where we could buy one, we were told the hotel made it themselves and we were presented with some to take home with us.

Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert W wrote a review Feb 2020
Collingham, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My challenge is to keep this brief as I could not say enough about our stay at Grassington House! My wife and I stayed on Valentines night where there was a 5 course dinner. We are avid “foodies” and I would go as far as to say that this was one of the best meals we’ve ever had anywhere....in fact we couldn’t think of a better one! The choice, quality and attention to detail was impeccable....couldn’t find a tiny detail to criticise if I tried! The service was excellent, the staff were polite, friendly, and efficient and the atmosphere was spot on. The room was really lovely too - warm, cosy and well appointed with tasteful decor and so many nice little personal touches. The shower was hot and powerful which was just the job after a 25km walk. We’ve stayed at Grassington House a few times in the past and it’s become a firm favourite...can’t wait to go back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew259 wrote a review Dec 2022
Knottingley, United Kingdom136 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked one night stay at the hotel so that we could go to the Christmas market. We was given advice by the hotel to arrive early before 11 o'clock and before the road closures started so we could park at the good size car park to the right hand side of the hotel. We was met in reception by a lady called Kirsten ( Lovely lady who could not do enough for you) She explained that they would be extremely busy with a Christmas market and we could come back and check in at 3 o'clock, We asked if we could check in early and she said that she would ask the cleaning team to do our room 1st and we could see it outside on the stall and check we was given room number one. We went back to see it and checked in at 12:30 that done the room as she personally took us to the room and showed us every single thing in the room,a free bottle of water, tea's coffee's biscuits and how the lamps and the large bath/ shower worked. So before I mentioned some negative bits, I have to point out all staff at this property are extremely friendly, cannot do enough for you, absolutely top marks customer service. Room one has an extremely large bath with a rainfall shower that falls into the bath, You have to step down into the bath about 2.5 feet while straddling the piled wall, which had one cracked tile. The bathroom does not have a door on it, They could have quite easily put a sliding door on the inside of the bathroom or the outside of the bathroom. 🤢 So you best be quite happy to hear every single thing your partner's doing in the bathroo💩💩. The room is starting to look a bit tired with a chip in the sink. The hotels in a fantastic location right in the centre of the village. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah H wrote a review Nov 2023
Grassington, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Room 6, a stunning room at the top of the house with beautiful views over Grassington Square. The room was sumptuous in decor with a beautiful roll top bath in the room, an ultra comfy bed and a huge TV. It had all the amenities you would expect, including fresh milk for teas and coffees. The en-suite was modern and spotless.
The walk to the room up four flights of stairs was stunning and characterful. The huge reed diffuser in the picture window smelt divine.
The food at Grassington House is second to none. We enjoyed a sharing platter, followed by two mains and the mixed homemade ice cream, everything was delicious.
The breakfast was ample and again faultless, with freshly squeezed orange juice, home made black pudding and home made marmalade and jam to go with plentiful toast.
The staff were knowledgeable, attentive and friendly, throughout our stay, and a credit to John and Sue the owners.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris W wrote a review Oct 2020
12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a three night stay at Grassington House just before the August Bank Holiday weekend. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating, The room was luxurious the meals were fantastic and they had no problem catering for my wife's lactose intolerance. The weather stayed dry and we were able to get in a good couple of days walking. Covid precautions were excellent.
The village is now the filming location for the new Channel 5 series of "All Creatures Great And Small". We look forward to returning to try and identify which houses and pubs were featured.
An ideal location to explore the Yorkshire Dales.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: cheaper rooms are short on storage space
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seb G wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I took my girlfriend here for tea as we hadn’t been out for a date during lockdown, I’d heard really good things about grassington house and it certainly didn’t disappoint. The moment we sat down our drink orders were taken and we didn’t have to wait at all for them to be brought over to us. We then ordered the watermelon and feta salad for a starter and it was amazing. The rag pudding we had for the main matched its award winning status and the chocolate mousse pudding was equally delicious. The staff were really friendly and useful and answered any questions we asked about the food and they were always checking we were okay. We felt really safe with the social distancing measures they had in place and the team had clearly adapted to it really well. The owners, John and Sue were really polite and welcoming and I’ll 100% be coming back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cugs asked a question Feb 2022
England, United Kingdom469 contributions88 helpful votes
I see the Pod accommodates 6 people but is it squashed with 6 people in ?
Answer from Marie S
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We never dined in the Pod but were assured it can accommodate 6 guests. I personally wouldn't want any more than 4, unless others maybe be children. But as I say this is only my personal choice. Hope this helps.
Grassington, United Kingdom12 contributions
Good morning, Thank you for your room enquiry for 29th June to 2 July. We only have a smaller house double room with en suite shower room available for 29th and 30th June. The room rate would be £125.00 Bed and Breakfast per room per night. If you would like to reserve this room please contact our reservations on 01756 752406 between 8.30am and 7pm daily. To secure a room reservation we would require a 50% deposit. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Kirsten
Eric H asked a question May 2017
Fort Pierre, South Dakota11 contributions5 helpful votes
Telephone number please.
Grassington, United Kingdom12 contributions
01756752406
stoneboyhuddersfield asked a question Jan 2017
huddersfield27 contributions18 helpful votes
Can we bring our small dog?
Grassington, United Kingdom12 contributions
Hi I am so sorry we do not allow pets in the hotel, however we do alllow dogs in the bar area. I hope this helps with your query. Kind regards Susan Rudden
Tleeds1 asked a question Sept 2016
Leeds, United Kingdom307 contributions51 helpful votes
Which rooms have a double bath please?
Grassington, United Kingdom12 contributions
The Red Room and number 6 have a roll top bath in the room with separate shower rooms.
bigboymatey wrote a tip Apr 2024
Tonbridge, United Kingdom28 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re big people (6ft+ ask for a room with a king size bed) otherwise faultless!"
Read full review
Louise R wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a Christmas Market and a 1940s day each year in Grassington"
Read full review
Geech64 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Ayr, United Kingdom84 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available, town does get busy and so be early."
Read full review
Alex wrote a tip Dec 2023
112 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you intend to eat in the restaurant book ahead, the food is fabulous so it does get booked up."
Read full review
Simon B wrote a tip Nov 2023
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom78 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 2 is fabulous"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Grassington area.
PRICE RANGE
£150 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYorkshire Dales National ParkGrassington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRASSINGTON HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Grassington House
Which popular attractions are close to Grassington House?
Nearby attractions include Grassington Folk Museum (0.01 miles), Stripey Badger Bookshop (0.05 miles), and Grassington Congregational Church (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grassington House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Grassington House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grassington House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grassington House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Corner House Cafe, The Retreat Tearoom & Bistro, and Grassington House Restaurant.
Is Grassington House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Grassington.
Are there any historical sites close to Grassington House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Threshfield Quarry (1.4 miles).
All Grassington HotelsGrassington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GrassingtonHotels near Grassington House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire