Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel

Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (43)
lovely
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£41
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Pontypool
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The first thing you'll notice when you step inside the BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel is that it's boutique-style hotel, designed to put an instant smile on your face. So you'll be able to check in, sit back with a coffee from the on-site Starbucks, relax and enjoy your surroundings. A real gem of a hotel. Situated on the outskirts of Pontypool, The hotel is in an ideal location from which to explore South Wales - you'll be just a short distance away from a wealth of heritage, culture and countryside attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitWales.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Lowest Price When You Book Direct! CLICK HERE to view

Location

Lower Mill Field Gwent, Pontypool NP4 0XB Wales
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 36 out of 100
36
Cardiff-Wales Airport
24.7 mi
See all flights
Bristol Airport
25.3 mi
See all flights
535Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 303
  • 157
  • 40
  • 16
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rich m wrote a review Dec 2023
Southampton, United Kingdom4 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great value and a good base to explore the area. A nice room with a comfortable bed, a powerful shower and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was £9.50 each with toast, cereal, fresh fruit and hot food if that's your choice. I had sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, beans, mushrooms and tomatoes. There is also a bar if you fancy a drink. If there's nothing there you like. You can always walk across the car park (It's a big car park by the way) to get a Mcdonalds or KFC. I can't fault the place, for such a reasonable price.
Don't forget to have the 4 digit code to operate the car park exit barrier. It opens to let you in, but won't let you out without the code. Its with your room keycard but I lost mine and like a numpty, sat at the barrier cursing it for not letting me out.
Hope you enjoyed your stay as much as we did.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Thank you for the great review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TonyFretless wrote a review Feb 2023
Coventry, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay at Pontypool Metro regularly when visiting my elderly mother in a nearby residential home. It is the best value of anywhere I have found in the area.

Rooms are always clean, comfortable, the wi-fi is now reliable and delivers a very usable bandwidth. Breakfast is good, with plenty of choices, and the bottle bar offers a good selection of refreshment.

I have seen a few rather silly criticisms, which are very unfair.
To those complaining about the location, I would just say: use a map or Google Eartth, the location is easy enough to see!
To the guy complaining of a parking fine: the hotel makes it repeatedly, abundantly clear that you need to register your vehicle on the parking system, the screen for which is, itself, difficult to miss at reception when you check in; furthermore there are copious reminders on signs in the car park, and even in each bedroom. If you miss all of these, I wonder what your driving is like!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2023
Thank you for the great review of the hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen R wrote a review Aug 2023
Warrington, United Kingdom10 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A recent 3 night stay at this hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly, informative, hardworking and happy. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Although we did not have breakfast at the hotel for an extra cost a full cooked breakfast was available and had lots of choices. The room, the public areas and outside seating area were spotlessly clean,.The hotel is located within a service area, which we found confusing at first but for some could be ideal as it was among a KFC, Esso garage, McDonalds, Outlet shop etc. and across the road from a Harvester Restaurant. Its location to Pontypool, Cardiff etc.and the surrounding South wales resorts and landmarks is ideal and well signposted on the main roads accessing the hotel. In summary cannot praise this hotel enough for its location, above standard cleanliness and value for money, thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 2 Aug 2023
Thank you for the great review of our hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaryEByb wrote a review Jan 2022
Toronto, Canada21 contributions34 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff were not helpful. Were sick and coughing and did not wear masks, despite posting signs saying masks were mandatory. Made excuses when we complained that the room had not been cleaned in 6 days (of our nine day stay); did not enforce mask wearing of guests, were not friendly (with the exception of one staff who also ran the Starbucks counter). We were disappointed in the quality of the room, the bathroom was a disabled room and the bars and things were rusted. We had to ask for clean towels and toilet paper and for our garbage to be emptied and even at that we were given grief by the staff. I would never stay in this Best Western or any Best Western again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: December 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2022
Thank you for your review on this site and booking.com, Masks are worn by all staff in public facing area's when not behind the protection screens (inline with government guidelines. We do enforce mask wearing and provide masks for those that do not have them, however we are also aware of reasons for people to be exempt which we have to allow. Your room was serviced on request as this was also advised on your check in by our Manager (due to Covid we limit how often we enter your room and therefore ask you to request when you require the room cleaned) at both times you asked your room was serviced. My staff will happily provide extra towels toiletries, tea and coffee items from reception when asked.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Horace 580 wrote a review Sept 2021
Bourne, United Kingdom17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arranged a motorcycle trip for a group of 12 friends to tour in the Brecon area. The Best Western offer of 3 nights B&B for the price of 2 was £104 in total. In the event, 3 of us decided to stay an extra night which only cost an additional £57. 4 nights bed and breakfast for a total of £161 you would have to go some way to better. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Well done and thank you Best Western.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Thank you for the review of our hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cath wrote a review May 2022
29 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on Saturday for a date night, with my partner. First thing I noticed was how clean everywhere is. Pleasant staff, Lovely welcoming reception/ restaurant area, quick check in and our room, although on the smallish side, was spotlessly clean and modern. Tea coffee and biscuits provided in room and toiletries in bathroom, plus a fab shower with some gorgeous fluffy towels. Breakfast in the morning was hot and plentiful with a nice choice. The car park was big and secure, and I would have no hesitation in staying again
Thanks Best Western you’ve got a gem here
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms at front experience road noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 25 May 2022
Thank you for the great review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cochghoti wrote a review May 2022
Usk11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a seasoned traveller and on this occasion, travelling alone on business, I prefer to book my accommodation direct via their website (easy.)
Great location with easy access to Pontypŵl (Pontypool), Cwmbran and Y Fenni
(Abergavenny).
Upon arrival I was met by the smell of percolating coffee coming from the Starbucks café in the light filled lobby. The scenery was surprisingly beautiful and it was lovely to be welcomed into such a quiet and peaceful environment after experiencing the loud and busy surrounds. Registration was straightforward and I was provided with a much-appreciated upgrade and the pleasant front desk staff allowed me to check in early.
A big “Thank you” to all the professional staff who were efficient and pleasant. Staff took my bag and showed me to my clean and quiet room. The Internet strength was excellent. The room price reasonable and I would stay here again as it exceeded all my expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 25 May 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan wrote a review Mar 2024
Cambridge, United Kingdom53 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed in many times now , it’s always cheap but that’s never always an indication of quality expectancy . Yes there is no dinner BUT there is a great harvester across the road a KFC and McDonald’s next door if you don’t mind that for a night and here’s the best bit. The rooms are so clean and the beds are so comfortable that even some best westerns charging £50 more fail to meet the standards set by this one . Quick mention to the staff , I’m not sure if it’s a welsh thing but they have always been very friendly and helpful too. If you’re looking to stay in this area I can highly recommend you stay here
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 25 Mar 2024
Thank you for the great review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DorsetBrucieBaby wrote a review Aug 2022
Poole, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On 11th August I drove with my husband from Poole, to arrive at about 5pm. After confirming my reservation, a man at reception started talking quickly so that I could not take in some info. Therefore when went into room 214, my husband couldn't find the wi-fi password. He then needed to call the man at reception, who told me the password was on the back of the piece of paper with the number to get out of the carpark.
I had packed a cool box, so on the 12th I needed the ice packs to be kept frozen, and also my asthma inhaler and antifungal medication kept in a fridge. I spoke to a lovely lady (originally from Toronto) who said that I needed to talk to the man from the previous evening. Because he was busy at reception, she eventually asked for my room number, wrote it on paper and took my items away.
This evening, I asked a young woman on reception for the ice packs, and for a fan that worked properly, because it was hotter and the fan in the room would not work properly.
She asked me to wait, because she was rather busy with other customers. When she came back, she could not find anything relating to room 214 in the freezer, so told me that she needed to phone somebody,
My husband and I went up to the room and, after a while, the young woman knocked on our door with the found ice packs. We then stayed downstairs as long as we could and my husband took the fully-working fan back to our room.
At about 10:30pm., we were both getting very tired and needed to go to bed. After packing away items in order to leave on 13th, I realised that I had not collected my refrigerated medication. My husband kindly went back down to reception and asked the young receptionist for them. She could not find anything twice, and my husband told me that another woman and a man, who were also at reception were not helping at all. My husband told the receptionist that the lost medication could be life threatening and returned to our room.
Yet again the young receptionist knocked on our room door, I answered the door and there was my green carrier bag that had been found. I took it and told her that I could've died without my asthma inhaler!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Thank you for the review of the hotel, on check in you are always advised if you need anything else or want us to go over things again we are happy to do so. My staff took in your medication and stored in a safe place however as this Isn't something we usually do my member of the team who took this off you never handed it over to the next staff (something that we now have a log for), I see that the team quickly resolved and returned the items to you so unsure why such a negative review on here!! .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roy T wrote a review Aug 2023
United Kingdom90 contributions66 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were unlucky with our room allocation, just inside the main door to the rooms. The door was banging shut until the early hours as guests arrived back. The result was a very disturbed night sleep. Breakfast area was too small so you may have to do a bit of planning to ensure a seat. Great value, not quite as nice as a Premier Inn. No Aircon. Clean room and bathroom, the shower over the bath is very narrow so expect the curtain to keep sticking on you, very annoying.

I would not return unless it's possible to ensure a room away from the reception area doors, I suggest you do too. Shame as I had a very long drive to get there and the same long drive home in the morning after a very poor night sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Phone ahead and ask for a room away from the reception doors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2023
Thank you for the review, I will get maintenance to look into the raised issue regarding the banging door. Please accept my apologies on this. If you did decide to join us again we can certainly allocate away from this entrance if you pop a comment in the reservation to ask to do so. Thank you for reviewing the hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley T asked a question Jun 2022
Are fans supplied in the rooms?
Answer from Dean Sims
Pontypool, United Kingdom
fans are supplied in all of our rooms
Rachel F asked a question Mar 2021
Hi do you supply towels
Answer from Dean Sims
Pontypool, United Kingdom
All our rooms come with towels in
Monika F asked a question Apr 2015
Oldham, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
Is this a pet friendly hotel?
Answer from Dean Sims
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Hi Monika Sorry, we do not allow pets at the hotel.
Tracey S wrote a tip Apr 2024
walsall48 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"can be quite noisy due to the location at the side of a dual carriageway and the local food outlets"
Read full review
Roy T wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room on the quiet side and consider breakfast elsewhere."
Read full review
sjm73 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom27 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Loads of other hotels in the area, use them"
Read full review
Stephen W wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect value for money, spotlessly clean and very friendly staff"
Read full review
Gwendoline G wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need to eat locally there is a nearby Harvester, as well as some fast food restaurants"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pontypool area.
PRICE RANGE
£41 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesTorfaenPontypool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN PONTYPOOL METRO HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Teazer Inn (0.6 miles), Ty Poeth Farm & Shop (0.4 miles), and Pontypool Indoor Market (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aahar Finest Indian Kitchen, Harvester Pontypool, and The Open Hearth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shell Grotto (0.8 miles).
Is Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pontypool HotelsPontypool Hotel DealsHotels near Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire