We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 11: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Hotel
 Click to rate
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a nice spacious room with a balcony (big enough to fit 2 chairs and a table) facing the boulevard. We had room 303 and paid 9 dollar a night. Breakfast (included) was just right, you can choose between bread with egg, noodle soup, pancakes, coffee and tea. The owner speaks English and is very helpful! Only downside was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
Morinville, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

View is nice that's about it. The bed was hard as a rock. The bathroom stunk. The hot water in the shower lasted about a minute till it went freezing cold. There was ants everywhere.. on the floor, on the walls, even in our BREAKFAST!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adomo13
catba S, Owner at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Hi I so sorry . but what happens, does not mean 100% true this feedback I disagree, That was a mistake and not polite to our hotel thank you

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Great hotel on the sea front with good views over the harbour / bay Clean rooms and large bathroom/shower and fridge in room Food was also reasonably priced and good value for money Organised our tour around Halong bay at a competitive price and our bus to Hanoi Would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Tourin C, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

thank you has good advice about our hotel Thanks much more

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

When we stayed on cat ba we found thousends of restaurants. So its not difficult to find something to eat. We went to the sunset hotel restaurant because it wasnt full of partypeople and not crowded. We ate twice there and it was the best food we had in vietnam so far. Also the size of the meal is perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philipp L
catba S, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your good thoughts about my hotel restaurant. I do not know what to say thanks

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay on the Cat Ba strip. Lo & his family are very helpful & relaxed. The rooms are large and the ones in the front have a great balcony overlooking the strip for a very reasonable price. Tours and motorbike rentals can be arranged easily from the front desk as well. Would definitely stay at the Sunset...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse H
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We went here with a group of backpackers and enjoyed it. The beds are really hard and in one of the rooms the AC didn't work, but we had a nice balcony with a good view. The staff was friendly. $4 a night including breakfast was reasonable for this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This is a review for the restaurant. We ordered and paid 40,000 dong for two banana shakes, what we got were two glasses each with half a banana shake in them. The shake was tasty, but it would be nice to get the full glass we paid for. I didn't stay at this hotel, so I can't comment in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tourin C, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. I served in the hotel restaurant sunset. drinks there is also the right thing. but if you want more. Your drinks will not tasty Your assessment is so fair to the restaurant we were not understanding and your debugging of all animal species this review thank yo

Lille, France
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Our room had not been cleaned, we had to ask for clean bathroom, bed sheets and towels. And to wait and ask again! The staff is not kindly and does not care about you. The hotel is really old fashioned, the AC disfunctioned in our room, no wifi during our one night stay : definitely our worst hostel experience in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank titibo59
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Rooms in this hotel are cheap and quiet ok. It is worth paying a bit more for a room at the front with a balcony and view at the harbour. Rooms are spacious and clean. During our stay we did not receive much attention of the receptionists but on the other hand they did not try to sell us all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilse_en_Marcel
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here for over a week while rock.climbing. Would recommend one of the balcony rooms on the top floor. While the room itself was clean, I thought the bedsheets could really use some scrubbing, but the room itself was far from what i would call filthy. Very good value as it was one of the better deals on an expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lukeghyselincks

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.3 mi away
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
#16 of 18 in Cat Ba
60 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cat Ba Mountain View Guest House
0.0 mi away
Quynh Trang Hotel
Quynh Trang Hotel
#7 of 50 in Cat Ba
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thao Minh New Star Hotel
1.0 mi away
Little Cat Ba Hotel
Little Cat Ba Hotel
#6 of 61 in Cat Ba
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Pont Bungalow Hostel
Le Pont Bungalow Hostel
#10 of 61 in Cat Ba
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
cat ba sunset Hotel & Restaurant is located between the main road of Cat Ba resort, next to the Sea Cat dreamer. 5-storey hotel include a restaurant, bar and music, has started from 19/04/2012, the hotel has received much attention and support from guests and partners around the world. It has 20 luxurious rooms with elegant design brings to relax and feel comfortable as a second home for tourists. All of the hotel's front desire Cat Ba Bay, behind the hotel is a room with a view of the system how far all of the resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: 180, Street 1/4, Cat Ba 180000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Price Range: £19 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hard to say what would make a good room.”
  • From front facing room to sea front
 of 5 bubbles GraR_11, 13 Dec 2011 | Read review
1 of 1