Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort

Rua Eupideo Alves do Nascimento, 104 Ganchos de Fora, Governador Celso Ramos, State of Santa Catarina 88190-000 Brazil
The deck of one of the special villas
Traveller (1233)
The deck of one of the special villas
Room & Suite (237)
Vista Praia
Pool & Beach (132)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 4 hotels in Governador Celso Ramos
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Located on a private peninsula, surrounded by a fisherman village on Brazil's south coast, it is the country's most exclusive beach resort. Within a short distance from Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo or Buenos Aires, this romantic getaway delivers the dream: a ridge of Green Mountains runs down to the clear water of the Emerald Coast, where three little islands meet a stunning white sandy bay. Contemporary interiors in 25 beautiful bungalows mix comfort and refinement on a rustic style and the service that is second to none. The Restaurant lies within meters from the beach, provides a great wine list (with over 220 options); for lunch and dinner a diversified and sophisticated menu is on offer at any hour - the doors only shuts when the last guest leaves. If you are looking for something more romantic, cross a small bridge and get to one of the islands where you will find a gazebo that's specially decorated at night with flowers and candles for only one couple per night have dinner. There's an indoor pool, tennis, games room, snooker room, fitness centre, restaurant, bars, business centre, and even a private cinema. Massages, ecological trails, snorkeling, scuba diving, and boat trips are also on offer. Due to local landscape and in order to maintain calm and tranquility, we do not accept children under 18 years old.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Rua Eupideo Alves do Nascimento, 104 Ganchos de Fora, Governador Celso Ramos, State of Santa Catarina 88190-000 Brazil
Name/address in local language
725Reviews43Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 668
  • 38
  • 13
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mannie P wrote a review Aug 2022
Atlanta, Georgia5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort met and exceeded our expectations. The service is impeccable and the attention to detail is one of a kind. At any given time, we felt like the only two people on the resort. When we visited, there were only five other couples there including ourselves. We like quiet vacations because we both have high stress, high demanding careers so it’s important for us to sleep in and not feel rushed for breakfast or anything. This resort lets you plan your stay according to what you feel like doing. Room service is until 1am and it’s an extensive menu so late night snacks were always available. We were able to eat breakfast whenever we felt like it, be it at 12 noon when we finally would leave our room. The breakfast menu is a tasting menu so it changes daily. Some choices were better than others but all in all, if you have an adventurous palate, you’ll be satisfied. There is an option for continental breakfast as well. Also whatever you like, you can always ask for more being as breakfast is included in your stay. Lunch and dinner were very good. Again, be open to trying new things and you’ll be surprised at how good it tastes. The chefs take their time preparing you well curated meals that satiate every palate. This is funny but I must say, the housekeeping must have walkie talkies because it’s like they know exactly when you leave your room and by the time you come back, it’s been cleaned or refreshed. I thought that was very thoughtful and just another way they made our stay that much more enjoyable. The staff is AMAZING! In particular Gabriel and Tania. We would have long talks about pretty much anything and they were so helpful with whatever we needed. All of the staff were great but those two went above and beyond for my husband and I and we truly appreciated it. We never go back to the same place twice as we are currently trying to visit a country in every continent, but the south of Brazil currently has my heart and Ponta dos Ganchos will see us again. I loved everything about our stay. Thank you so much!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: August is their winter months so the weather was cloudy and a bit cool.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isadora Bisol, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 28 Sept 2022
Dear Mrs. Ward, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Ponta dos Ganchos Resort. We are delighted by your kind review! Knowing we have reached your expectations with our services and facilities make us very proud and happy. At Ponta dos Ganchos Resort, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations. We are looking forward to meeting you again in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Isadora Bisol Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TandTSwitzerland wrote a review Nov 2022
Zurich, Switzerland1,175 contribution653 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in a very beautiful spot north of Florianopolis, overlooking the bay. The area of the resort is very large and there are only 25 bungalows, so it never gets crowded and most of the time you do not see other guests despite full occupancy. This is really great for people who like to have lot of privacy, I really appreciated very much. Please note that there is only a very small beach and the Quality of the beach (sand, water etc)is ok but not outstanding.

Everything is spread out, there is one small house for the reception, one for the breakfast room, one for the lunch and dinner restaurant and one for the pool and spa/gym. Be aware that the hotel is built on a hilly area so you need to walk sometimes steep up or ask for a buggy. I liked these walks as the whole area has soo much green plants and flowers, really well maintained and beautiful. I even saw some Iguana and Capivaras.

The bungalows are all large with much space, a bedroom and a separate living area, terrace overlooking the bay and a small jacuzzi. Some even have a sauna. I recommend to book the Esmeralda as they are newer than the others (the others show their age and some appliances are not Up to date). The Esmeralda bungalow is really nice, lots of space also for your belongings, two toilets, two sinks, two wardrobe, a sauna, a jacuzzi inside and also one outside on the large terrace. There is 100 percent privacy as you do not see any neighbors from your bungalow. Really very relaxing. I spent much time on my terrace enjoying the peace and the view.

The breakfast is very good with healthy choices and excellent fresh fruits. Lunch and dinner is also good, I especially liked the shrimp salad and the risotto with crayfish, excellent quality and taste. They have an extensive wine list with focus on local Brazilian and South American wines. Only downside: they tend to overcook the meat, but they made some great efforts in order that we have our meat the way we liked it. For dessert I highly recommend the fried banana, excellent.

Alll staff members are extremely friendly, and they are genuinely friendly. They often talk to you and smile, so you feel comfortable. The are also very helpful and flexible and try to accommodate your wishes. Sometimes it takes very long to get some drinks or food, but with their friendliness you can easily forget the long wait. I also appreciate the attention of the management, they really try to do their very best to make your stay enjoyable.

Tennis court, pool, kayak, SUP, private boat trips etc - many activities are offered and are worth to explore.

Overall a great stay, as mentioned I liked the privacy and the friendly staff. Thanks to the whole staff and management for their great efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the Esmeralda bungalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isadora Bisol, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 4 Dec 2022
Dear Mr. Thomas, Thank you for your comments about your stay at Ponta dos Ganchos Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your review. As a member of Leading Hotels of the World, the resort is constantly dedicated to meeting your needs and expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future. Kindly, Isadora Bisol Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guillermo Hoter wrote a review Nov 2023
Buenos Aires, Argentina207 contributions241 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Brazil is a huge country, has beaches all along its coast and tourism is very developed. They have enormous quantity of hotels but not in the upper luxury segment.
This hotel is a surprise for Brazil. It compares to any top luxury sea side resort in Europe.
It is owned by 2 partners who developed it and is managed by a Swiss descendant hotelier.
The location is on a hill overlooking a beach, nestled between 3 little islands, one of them accesible by a foot bridge.
They have 2 restaurants plus a breakfast room. Menus and food are of top quality.
The rooms consist of cottages spread out over the hill, of different sizes and categories.
We had an Esmeralda cottage and a Arvoredo cottage.
Both had a huge deck overlooking the sea, private pool, sauna, living room, plus bedroom.
Everything is decorated with taste and quality.
Landscaping throughout the property has been done In a wonderful way taking advantage of the Brazilian Flora with lush green leaves species.
They have a gym, indoor pool and massage area.
Staff comes from the little village on the doorsteps of the hotel and are extremely kind and well trained. Attention to detail is everywhere, from housekeeping to the restaurants and reception area.
Internet and AC work perfectly. Bathrooms are huge with fantastic shower heads. Just relaxing on the private deck viewing the sea is paradise.
I would say that this hotel with only 25 bungalows is a rare outstanding exception in Brazil’s hotel environment. I know Brazil quite well and have never seen such a property. It reminds me the hotel IL Pellicano in Italy, another 5 stars top luxury resort on the sea.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Esmeralda bungalow is the best although Arvoredo is a slightly less expensive good alternative.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fernanda Makhoul, Proprietário at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear Mr. Guilhermo, Thank you for your comments about your stay at Ponta dos Ganchos Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your review. As a member of Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel is constantly dedicated to meeting your needs and expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to be able to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Cris Barbosa Guest Relation
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mongdori wrote a review Mar 2020
Napier, New Zealand48 contributions78 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fantastic place to relax and unwind, amazing staff, who are a credit to the establishment very friendly but still very professional. A very nice restaurant / bar area right next to the waters edge, very private.
A number of walking paths to neighboring beaches / villiages with florianopolis just over an hour away. The resorts driver is very knowledgeable!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liviapcastro wrote a review Aug 2023
Campinas65 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning views, exceptional services. They go above and beyond in every detail.
There’s nothing I can say here that was not already said about this place. It’s absolutely wonderful.
Staff is incredible! A huge shout out to: Herman that made our experience very sweet - sharing his love of Argentinean dulce de leche with us!
Wylian that was very kind in every breakfast! Very attentive!
The concierge team that made our stay very pleasant and wowed us everyday with something special.

We did standup paddle boarding, relaxed at the beach, did hiking and enjoyed our private pool and jacuzzi a lot!!!

We plan to come back very soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isadora Bisol, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 13 Sept 2023
Dear Mrs. Castro Thank you for your comments about your stay at Ponta dos Ganchos Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your review. As a member of Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel is constantly dedicated to meeting your needs and expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to be able to serve you again soon. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nayara V wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing time at ponta dos ganchos celebrating 11 years of marriage. One of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. Everything was exceptional, staff were great, the room was beautiful, the view was spectacular and the food was above expectations, everything we tried was delicious.

Passamos momentos incríveis na ponta dos ganchos comemorando 11 anos de casamento. Um dos lugares mais lindos que já vi. Tudo foi excepcional, a equipe foi ótima, o quarto era lindo, a vista era espetacular e a comida estava acima das expectativas, tudo o que experimentamos estava delicioso.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isadora Bisol, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Dear Mrs. Vargas, We appreciate very much your kind words. Knowing we have reached your expectations with our services and facilities make us very proud and happy. As member of Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback! Kindly, Isadora Bisol Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Felix K wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The week we spend on our honeymoon there has been the best hotel stay we ever experienced.
For work I stayed in over 100 hotels and the service here is by far the best. Everybody is super friendly and tries to make every wish of yours come true.
Special thanks to Tania and Isadora for making our stay even more special.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Isadora Bisol, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Dear Mr. Kerger, We appreciate very much your kind words. Knowing we have reached your expectations with our services and facilities make us very proud and happy. As member of Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in a not too distant future. Personally, it was a pleasure meeting you and Mrs. Kerger. You two are a lovely couple and I wish you the best things in this world! Once again, thank you very much for your feedback. I look forward to seeing you and Mrs. Kerger again! Kindly, Isadora Bisol Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoergFurrer wrote a review May 2024
16 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic resort with very attentive staff. Top qualification in all areas.
Brilliant beach, first class accommodation and kitchen on world class level.
They have thought of everything. Every detail works and is well thought out. Will likely return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cris Barbosa, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Furrer, Thank you for your comments about your stay at Ponta dos Ganchos Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your review. As a member of Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel is constantly dedicated to meeting your needs and expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to be able to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Cris Barbosa Guest Relation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brussels-George wrote a review Apr 2010
Brussels1 contribution24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our travel agent's recommendation, the raving reviews on this site, the Relais & Chateaux seal and the extremely high price of this hotel made us feel confident that we were off to one of the best hotels in Brazil.

We are writing this review because we were very disappointed with this hotel, and feel that some balance is the reviews is called for.

We would rate the resort as follows:

Room rating 4 out of 5: We had booked a Bungalow da Villa. Disappointing. Especially the cramped outdoor area and the fact that it looked a bit run-down. To resolve this, we were upgraded to the newer Bungalow de Villa Deluxe. Very large, super facilities (nespresso, large TV and dvd, ipod dock, great sound system), and a large deck with a nice plunge pool. However, we feel the decoration could benefit from someone with good taste and attention to detail (for example the lighting is very uncosy with 'last forever / energy saving' lightbulbs everywhere.

Service 2 out of 5: We could go on and on about poor experiences in terms of service. But it almost feels unfair. The staff is really very nice and tries hard. But the vast majority come from the local village and have probably never seen another 5-star hotel. They do not realize what kind of service the guests are hoping for (or even expecting) and unfortunately are poorly trained by their managers. We had the impression that management was very young, inexperienced, present at the resort only haphazardly and more concerned with new projects than this operation.

Food rating 1 out of 5: The resort advertises with a renowned culinary Chef but it turns out this Chef only "designed" the flashy menu and doesn't actually cook at the hotel. The real cook unfortunately is incapable of actually making the dishes. We have tried numerous dishes on the menu and consistently they tasted bland (to put it mildly) and had lousy presentation. We ended up sticking to one simple dish every evening in our own room. Water was served at the table from small plastic bottles. The wines by the glass from those small turn-top wine bottles you get in an airplane. We could go on and on. We are completely clueless how this can be a Relais & Chateaux hotel. We stayed at EOLO in El Calafate Argentina (also a R&C property) the week before and the food was miles above the quality that we got here.

Design 2 out of 5: The hotel is mechanically designed. It ticks the boxes of all facilities but lacks good taste. We talked the room earlier. At the restaurant you can sit inside or on a deck that's covered with views blocked by vegetation. There is no place to sit in the sun or have your feet in the sand! The breakfast location has a terrace that looks into the trees while the sea view has not been taken advantage of. The indoor pool is a large lappool but quite awful. For a Brazilian hotel on the beach with great design better go to TXAI in Itacare.

Overall, we felt the resort falls short in many ways against the expectation of any $500+ per night hotel/resort. This doesn't mean that the people don't try hard. In fact they really do try hard and are very friendly. What they produce is bad (measured against a 5-star expectation). We feel this is all due to poor management of the resort. Poor training, poor day-to-day oversight. We will not return not recommend this hotel to any of our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MFMG, Resident Manager & Managing Director at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 30 Apr 2010
We have personally met and talked through all these items during Mr. Brussels-George stay. He arrived at the airport in Florianópolis (62 km away) on the evening and his travel agent forgot to book his car transfer so after waiting for a while he calls the hotel, furious about it, even though we were not responsible for it. Instead of wasting time explaining whose fault it was, we organized another car to pick him up in 20 minutes. By the time he got to the hotel, he was very upset and understandably in a bad mood. He didn’t want to hear the standard check-in procedure so the receptionist shortened it to the most, so did the bellboy, showing the room in brief. By 10 am next morning he had already expressed his anger and frustration to 3 different staff members and combined we had 16 different complaints from him, from the fact that there was no sun at the beach at 07:30 in the morning to the quality of chairs at breakfast... At one point, Mr. Brussels-George has also questioned what kind of guests we had. If our privacy policy was different, we are sure he would have felt ashamed for asking. Furthermore, our guest told us several times about this post in Trip Advisor, which we encouraged him to do as we feel this is a great tool and discerning readers can judge each case by themselves. It would be odd that other posts are so far from reality. All subjects pointed out are quite subjective and very much of a personal opinion, we feel these comments where inappropriate and insulting. We can only say we did our best to accommodate his demands, opinions and idiosyncrasies while he was with us. Best Regards, Miguel Garcia (Resident Manager) Nicolas Peluffo (Managing Director)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DnDC5 wrote a review Feb 2013
Santa Barbara, California7 contributions27 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I travel often and stay at some pretty cool hotels. After my recent stay at Ponta, I felt compelled to write my first Trip-advisor review. I was locked into a three day min stay and spent about US$1,600 a night. I typically spend about US$1,200/night when I travel and have come to understand this is what it takes to stay at the some of the very special resorts around the world. While booking Punto, I was surprised by the cost, but assumed there must be a good reason and I was game. Unfortunately I discovered a very average and dated resort, and felt taken advantage of.

My room had a great view and I enjoyed the oversized plastic bathtub on the outside deck. The bed was very comfortable and I did sleep well. The jungle landscape and topography of Brazil is super cool, and I was able to greatly enjoyed the natural surroundings from my room.    The main dining room served great meals and provided excellent service, and I really enjoyed eating late meals out on the deck.
 
The biggest problem with this hotel is that the decor and architecture is uninspired and does not measure up to other hotels around the world charging similar rates. Also, the resort is really boring, so much so that I left the resort day #2 despite being required to pay for my minimum three nights stay. I gave a lame excuse why I had to leave as I wanted to avoid a face to face conflict while on vacation.
 
Just prior to my stay at Punta, I stayed at the design-minded Fasano countryside resort in Punta de Este. Perhaps Ponta should give Brazilian architect Isay Weinfeld a call, I am sure he could rescue this property. As opposed to the equestrian-chic interiors of the Fasano that provided warm contrast, with granite and polished -wood surfaces and overstuffed linen seating, Punto went for the Sao Paulo airport sterile motif with white tile floors, beat up furniture, and an oversized purple foam purple couch that reminded me of the cartoon caricature Barney the dinosaur. The special feature in the room was a wood sauna that felt like a time transport to the 1970s.

Walking the property felt more hike through a public park than a relaxing stroll through an up-scale resort. The pool is tucked inside a nondescript, uninviting building. The focal point of the resort is cute little cove, but unfortunately the deck and surrounding structure are worn and dated. I imagined so many fixes to the property, such as a public infinity pool overlooking the cove.

During check out felt like as if I was being released from a maximum security prison. A security guard accompanies the bellman to pick up the luggage. Immediately the room is cased to ensure guest report every last minibar item. I assumed that the Nespresso coffee capsules were compliments, as this is what I have experienced at every other hotel. My bad! I was stopped in my car by the manager and I had to go back into the lobby to pay US$6 for three Nespresso capsules despite paying almost US$6,000 for a two night stay. A classy resort would let this small oversight slide and this incident highlights how much you will feel nickel and dimmed at this place.

Ponta dos Ganchos needs a reality check if they want to charge these world class rates. The resort is architecturally tired and in need a complete renovation. Thanks to Trip-advisor, our generation has been empowered to force change on resorts that exploit and overcharge guests.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julio J, General Manager at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Responded 18 Feb 2013
Dear Mr. DnDC5, Thank you for your candid feedback. We truly appreciate it. Design and decor are obviously a matter of one's personal taste, but nevertheless, we will take your comments into serious consideration on our future renovations, some to happen soon in fact. As per the Nespresso that was charged upon departure, I am really sorry. Although mini bar items are not included, charging for it after you had closed your account was a mistake. I completely agree with your point of view and in fact we share it. It was just an unfortunate mistake that I hope we can repair some day if you ever give us the chance, coming back to Ponta dos Ganchos. Sincerely
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nancy_Ottawa asked a question Jan 2020
Ottawa, Canada625 contributions630 helpful votes
What is the most practical way to get to the hotel from the airport in Florianópol?
Answer from FlyingWineman
London, United Kingdom79 contributions65 helpful votes
We used the private transport arranged by the resort to get from the new airport at Florianópolis to the resort. It takes around 50 minutes. The new airport is very modern and efficient, but be aware that there are zero restaurants in the terminal after passing through security/passport control on departure.
Bundiloi asked a question Aug 2017
Bucharest, Romania74 contributions29 helpful votes
Bom dia, qual e a melhor altura para visitar considerando o tempo? Quando chuva menos? Obrigada
Answer from Alison A
Algarve, Portugal46 contributions22 helpful votes
Olá. Fomos lá em março. Nem um pingo de chuva!
Answer from EderSgarabotto
Vacaria, RS90 contributions24 helpful votes
Hi, you need writing an e-mail To hotel asking this.
Guillermo Hoter wrote a tip Nov 2023
Buenos Aires, Argentina207 contributions241 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Esmeralda bungalow is the best although Arvoredo is a slightly less expensive good alternative."
Read full review
TandTSwitzerland wrote a tip Nov 2022
Zurich, Switzerland1,175 contribution653 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the Esmeralda bungalow "
Read full review
Mannie P wrote a tip Aug 2022
Atlanta, Georgia5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"August is their winter months so the weather was cloudy and a bit cool."
Read full review
Ferdi1982 wrote a tip Mar 2022
Greater London, United Kingdom83 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have an incredible view, but if you can pick one with the pool, certainly a great choice there."
Read full review
LuisBuresti wrote a tip May 2019
Buenos Aires, Argentina4 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Arvoreda Bungalows seem to have the best Q/P ratio."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Governador Celso Ramos area.
PRICE RANGE
£486 - £542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ponta dos ganchos hotel governador celso ramos
LOCATION
BrazilState of Santa CatarinaGovernador Celso Ramos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PONTA DOS GANCHOS EXCLUSIVE RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
Nearby attractions include Praia de Palmas (1.3 miles), Palmas Beach (1.5 miles), and Tingua Beach (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Edu, Restaurante Raizes, and Burger Box.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Santa Cruz de Anhatomirim Fortress (8.4 miles) and Forte Sao Jose da Ponta Grossa (9.0 miles).
Does Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Governador Celso Ramos HotelsGovernador Celso Ramos Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Governador Celso RamosHotels near Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire