We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Hartington Hall

Orbitz.comUS$39*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Hartington Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Hartington Hall
 Click to rate
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here as a family and met some family. Rooms were next to each other, warm, clean, quiet with great views of lambs. We will definitely stay again. Food was nice, the grounds relaxing and a great place for the kids to play in. Well stocked bar and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chocolate999
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warrington, United Kingdom
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As far as youth hostels go you can't fault this one. We had a great time and as always the kids loved it. The room was spacious clean and the hostel had everything you needed. There is a spacious self catering kitchen drying room and laundry room in an annex away from the main building, you can also enjoy some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin481111
About Property's Favourite Review
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review! There really is something for everyone isn't there. I am so happy to hear that returned for an even longer stay and hope that we will see you again soon

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hall in a beautiful setting. Very spacious and comfortable lounge areas. Bedroom clean and comfortable. Communal kitchen a bit of a squeeze, oven was working which caused me problems cooking my first meal. Also no microwave or mixing bowls available. Very limited menu in the main restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen t
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the setting and communal areas here at Hartington Hall. Our self catering kitchen is being completely refurbished as we speak. I can only apologise for the lack of oven during your stay, we were waiting for our brand new one to arrive. In terms of microwaves,...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am not quite sure how to review this YHA. There were so many positives, such as the beautiful old building, lovely setting, great village on your doorstep, friendly helpful staff, nice room with plenty of space and a place to leave your bikes. It was on the food side we were a little disappointed. We picked the YHA as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alec B
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the whole. You'll be happy to know that our self catering kitchen is getting a complete refurbishment which is starting next week. I hope that you will return to try it out!

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is a beautiful old hall set in lovely, well kept gardens just a few minutes (uphill) walk from the village of Hartington with it's 2 pubs, 2 village stores, 2 tea rooms & lovely cheese shop. The staff are very friendly & helpful and dealt with my checking in problem ( i booked via YHA central office who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillM6808ZJ
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff helpful and facilities good. I can only apologise that you didn't receive your booking confirmation and additional information about the hostel, this is a standard process that for some reason must have been missed....

Knighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot recommend Hartington Hall YHA enough. This was our first time staying at a YHA with our children and it did not disappoint us. The room was spacious and had a lovely view of hills, sheep and lambs. We had arranged to meet with lots of other families from around the UK. The staff could not have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EcoMog
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hostel. It's always a pleasure to hear of such positive experiences from guests staying at the YHA for the first time, I hope that you will get the opportunity to visit some of our other hostels too. A lot of our guests use the hostel for...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly, clean and value for money - bus stop right outside YHA made for an easy journey! Nearby shops in Hartington. The cooked breakfast provided much needed fuel for long days of walking. People of all ages were staying, and we had many interesting conversations in the self-catering kitchen :)

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank celia_rosemary_gould
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a good time here. Our breakfasts really are a good source of fuel for those that are out walking or cycling all day!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Oddly we were put in the same room we had 2 years ago, which we complained about a vibration noise, once again we had the same noise but we are much wiser now and always carry earplugs! The self catering kitchen is small and a few items didn't work, toasters / oven but all is mostly clean and you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gorwydd
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I am very sorry about the noise in your room, I have just raised this matter and apologise for the inconvenience it caused. Our self catering kitchen is getting a complete makeover very soon so hopefully the next time you come and stay it will be finished. The village of Hartington is lovely...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We had a 4 bed room booked here for a surprise weekend away. The staff were great with keeping the secret and the venue was perfect. Reasonably priced, clean, if a little tired in the barn where we were sleeping. The main parts of the hostel are beautifully kept, the outside space is lovely, perfect for a few evening drinks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinyKitchen
Cat U, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for choosing our hostel for your party's surprise weekend away. I'm glad that the venue was suitable for your needs and that our staff managed to keep it all a secret! We are due some renovations very soon where we plan to spruce up the areas requiring a little tlc. We hope to see you again.

Lichfield, UK
Reviewed 25 March 2017

I have been to Hartington YHA several times and I always enjoy it for it's character and facilities. It is located in a lovely setting with plenty of opportunity to walk or cycle. I used the self catering facilities and had the YHA breakfasts, a good combination

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldAndrew
Cat U, Owner at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hostel. I am glad that you've always enjoyed your stay with us, it really is a great base to explore the local area. The beauty of our hostels is that you do have the choice whether to self cater or be waited on in our Restaurants...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
864 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.0 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
11.6 mi away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
63 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Price Range: £25 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall Peak District National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Hartington Hall staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Hartington Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring Ear Plugs”
Gorwydd, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One right away from the main building. Don't forget those ear plugs!”
2oldfarts, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"The Barn" is separate from the main building and is a little more peaceful. Hartington Hall has a preserved history plus modern amenities.”
, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the 3rd floor (top floor) and the room was much larger than other rooms that my friends stayed in.”
massimopB8879NY, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Roost was ideal for us - bedroom, bathroom and kitchen/lounge area.”
R_C_2014SA, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$77
TravelocityUS$39
Hotels.comUS$39
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates