The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort

Traveller (1004)
Wild life
Room & Suite (226)
big lake
Pool & Beach (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Rookley
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Lakes Rookley is set in 23 acres of beautifully manicured parkland in the heart of the Isle of Wight and makes for the perfect leafy lakeside hideaway. Any day arrivals mean you can book any holiday with the arrival day of your choice and check-out on any day of the week! The flexibility of this offer makes it easier for you to plan a break that suits you and your family. Plus, the dog can come too! Facilities include and indoor and outdoor pool, adventure playground, an onsite bar and eatery, entertainment lounge with acts during the school holidays, water sports lake and a range of brilliant activities to enjoy, there’s so much to get stuck into. There are many ways to stay at The Lakes Rookley, you’ll be spoilt for choice. Classic, comfortable caravans, cottages and hot tub holidays – there is something to suit all family sizes and all budgets. The Lakehouses include cosy log burners, bi-fold doors and outdoor decking overlooking the lake. The premium cottages can sleep four to six guests and provide a luxurious base to explore with stylish open plan living areas. There is an accessible caravan and an accessible cottage; they have wet rooms in them and a ramp to access them.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Public wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range

Location

Main Road, Rookley PO38 3LU England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Eastleigh Airport
20.9 mi
See all flights
Bournebouth Intl Airport
26.1 mi
See all flights
1,539Review62Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 488
  • 399
  • 243
  • 196
  • 214
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JaynTee wrote a review Jan 2020
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom94 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely quiet week in a 2 bedroom lodge but there are a number of areas that need improvement and from what I’ve read here most of our issues although minor, are common throughout the site.
The accommodation has been recently refurbished and very nicely carried out however here are the things we noticed that could do with addressing.
Future guests may like to take note...
Lack of hooks in bedrooms and bathroom for hanging clothes.
No blind on front door which has plain glass, it’s possible to look straight into the main bedroom.
The bath towels that are supplied are child size and as rough as sandpaper. Take your own.
No instructions for the microwave, dishwasher, or any of the appliances.
No storage for food in the kitchen area.
The can opener didn’t work (and wasn’t replaced when we asked on day 3)
No storage for clothes in bedroom 2 only a frame thing for hanging. It needs a chest of drawers.
Would be nice to have a curtain or blinds in the living area for privacy in the evening.
The mattresses on all beds are well past their best and need replacement.
And worst of all in our lodge, the toilet brush looked like it had been rammed up a cows backside.
There were good points though, the lodge was spacious, well heated, nicely decorated and had an excellent shower.
The staff were also very friendly and generally helpful.
We enjoyed our stay here but probably because it was out of season, it’s not something we would enjoy when in full swing but that’s just our choice, it’s probably perfect for families as there appears to be a fair bit on offer on site and there’s a
co-op across the road and bus stops for those who don’t want to drive. Remember though, Rookley is in the middle of the island and not near any beaches.
Would we return, yes I think we would, but only out of season.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Navigator50958206947, Guest Relations Manager at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback, this allows us to improve our offerings. We do take on board all feedback and we will investigate the issues and concerns you have raised and pass them to our onsite management team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards The Guest Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LukeandAmanda wrote a review Oct 2020
Bromley, United Kingdom77 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just got back from a week stay in a Lakehouse (number 18) Overall we liked the layout/setting of the Lakehouses though there is room for improvement as follows.
It was my wife’s birthday and I emailed reception beforehand to see if I sent them some balloons they could blow them up and place them in the accommodation as a surprise. I was advised this was possible and to post them which I did. It was nice to find out that if you’re staying in a Lakehouse that you can check in from 3pm instead of 4pm. We arrived shortly after 3pm and I was swiftly checked in. We headed up to our accommodation which was situated towards the rear of the park, there was no parking by the side of our Lakehouse which was a bit annoying but it wasn’t too much of a walk from the parking area. As we first opened up I noticed instantly that there were no balloons as I had previously arranged. I had to tell my wife that her surprise hadn’t happened.
Alarmingly it soon became apparent that the accommodation hadn’t been thoroughly cleaned either. After 5 minutes of our 3 year old son crawling around on the floor I had noticed that the floor was absolutely filthy (as shown by the picture of the dustpan from when I swept up) I then proceeded to wipe down the dining table which as you can see by a picture of the wipe, was very dirty indeed. The TV remote was another thing that was very dirty which in turn made us have to clean down all the surfaces. These surfaces should be cleaned anyway but especially during these pandemic times extra cleaning should be carried out. I went to reception to raise these issues along with the balloon issue. With regards to the balloons the girl on reception subsequently produced an envelope with my balloons and apologised they had not been put up so I arranged for them to be put up the next day whilst we were out. When I raised the issues regarding the cleaning I just got a reply of “ok” with no remedy for it. Another issue I noticed the next day was that the rubber seal was coming away from the bottom of the bi-fold doors which wasn’t raised with reception. In addition our duvet cover was ripped revealing the duvet itself.
There was a small pool area you could reserve however we decided against this. In addition there was a bar/restaurant area which again we didn’t make use of. They were offering a “takeaway” menu which consisted of a few burgers and pizza’s which didn’t really appeal to us. There was a very handy CO-OP a few minutes’ walk from the entrance to the park which was helpful.
The park is well placed on the island that you are in the middle of most things and where the Lakehouses are situated it is quite picturesque. We would say though that they seriously need to look at their cleaning procedures (as seen on other reviews) as well as their maintenance as these Lakehouse’s are only a couple of years old and could potentially be amazing however if their maintenance procedures continue then I feel they will fall into disrepair quite quickly.
In summary we did enjoy our week here as a base to explore the island and the accommodation had everything we needed although we probably wouldn’t return if their cleaning procedures continue as they are.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jolene Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Hi LukeandAmanda Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you felt the cleanliness of your accommodation fell short of your expectations and that of our usual high standards. Our housekeeping management team will be notified. We are continuously improving and of course our usual procedure is to have any issues rectified as soon as possible. With regards to the decorations sent in to us - I am very sorry these were not done before your arrival. However, our team members were delighted to visit the accommodation the following day to surprise your wife on her special birthday weekend. We hope she thoroughly enjoyed her break on the Isle Of Wight. I am pleased you liked the overall setting of the Lakehouse. We would agree that the area of which our Lakehouses are situated are very picturesque with stunning views. We would love to have another chance to welcome you back to The Lakes and change your recent experience. Warm regards Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adele c wrote a review Oct 2020
Seaford, United Kingdom12 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had Lakehouse 13 which had its own driveway outside the front door which was perfect for us with our 17 month old toddler. My first impressions were that it was smaller than the pictures make out. However, that's marketing for you. The lakehouse was clean and tidy. There is a washing machine and dishwasher but no tablets or powder from them. You do get a mini kitchen starter kit which includes a (ver thin) tea towel, mini bottle of washing up liquid, jay cloth, a washing up sponge/scourer 2 PG tea bags, 2 coffee sachets, 2 sugar sachets and 4 uht milk sachets. In the bathrooms there is also mini starter kits including shower gel, shampoo and moisturiser. No shower cap or hair dryer so bring your own if you use those. One of the towels had a black mark on it but all other laundry seemed clean. The shower water temperature was perfect. Lakehouse 13 has 2 shower rooms. The TV worked well but was difficult to see in the afternoon due to glare from the sun so could have been placed better. The lakehouse has no WiFi and our mobile signal was non existent so that was annoying as we use the internet a lot on our phones and couldn't look up things to do without going into communal areas like the bar to get the free WiFi. There is a co-op just 1 minute walk from the site. We also drove past a Morrisons 10mins away. We are in the bar on our first night. The food tasted nice but the 'toddler' food came out on a china plate which is not practical for a toddler and they didn't have toddler cutlery (luckily we had some). They followed covid guidelines. You have to pre-book table but I pre-booked ours 20mins before we wanted it. It wasn't busy so we were well spaced out from others. Our toddler loves brooms and brushes and he found the broom and dust pan and brush in the cupboard. The toilet lid in the twin room didn't stay up properly and neither of the toilets had loo roll holders. You only get 2 loo rolls. There was a log burner but no fire wood or lighter. There is some you can buy at the local coop. We didn't use the swimming pools as it was raining the whole time and you have to show up in your swim wear which wasn't practical as we didn't bring flip flops and would of had to walk across the resort wet. Also, we couldn't fit it in around everything else. We also didn't walk around the lake as planned as it was raining. But our toddler had a whale of a time exploring his new home for 3 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jolene Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Hi adelec715 Thank you for your feedback - it really is so important to us. I am pleased to read you had a nice little get away here at The Lakes and your toddler had a whale of a time (especially with the dustpan and brush). We would love to see you return to The Lakes in the near future! Best wishes Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mike w wrote a review Nov 2020
Christchurch, United Kingdom54 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First time booking with Aria resorts and on this experience will certainly be at the bottom of the list to use again, we booked a premium lodge , on arrival were told our accommodation was ready.

However the lady on the check in desk had to radio for a a key, which turned up shortly after , however when arriving at the actual lodge we were stopped by a very nice maintenance man working on a lodge opposite and advised us the lodge we were booked into was already in use !!!. Hence why no key was available at check-in. After him getting on the radio to reception and checking the neighboring accommodation was free , we were moved to this and was advised it was cleaned.

Albeit the above may be seen a trivial mistake you would have to question the security , without the intervention of of the maintenance man we could have entered a property with other residence own personal belongings freely available if you were that way inclined.

On entering the accommodation the floor was covered in Grit and debris for a premium lodge allegedly COVID safe it was not even cleaned to a basic standard. not even a matt to wipe your feet on entrance to the accommodation.

At night the accommodation was like a goldfish bowl no privacy curtains provided were net curtains only, so when light on you were open to the world,

Although the kitchen was well equipped with all the mod cons such as cooker oven microwave , fridge freezer, dishwasher , washing machine. there was NO cupboard space to put any food you have !!!.

The entrance door was clear glass so you could see in from neighboring accommodation directly opposite about 2meters away day or night with only a small 5ft fence not obscuring the view.

The tables had more scorch marks and chips in basically a few table mats would have prevented this if supplied (after all this is supposed to be premium accommodation ).

Bath towel's provided were more like hand towel's and about as useful as chocolate in a heatwave .

Hot tub basic no lights for after dark and fan with blowers very poor and not many bubbles as the hot tub is at the rear of the property for a premium service would have expected bath robes to be provided as with other premium providers such as Darwin Escapes.

On a plus side the bar staff in the restaurant were excellent service was quick and with a smile. Food we ate in house was very good. however it was quiet but not taking any credit away from from the bar staff.

I would also say the maintenance team extremely helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pootle wrote a review Mar 2020
Banbury, United Kingdom16 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third stay at Rookley, there wont be a forth. Previously our stays had been entirely satisfactory and we had stayed in a 2 bed cottage. This time we stayed in a premium 3 bed cottage as we had invited other family members too. On arrival the receptionist wasn't particularly friendly, not rude, but certainly not welcoming.First impressions of the cottage were good, modern and clean, towels supplied and the property was warm, but sadly we had a number of issues. Kitchen had good appliances for a self catering property,hob, oven, fridge freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. Lots of utensils and pots and pans but no where to store food, which when you're self catering is rather essential. We had to empty the contents of a large drawer to make space. The property was supposed to be for 6, but only had one 2 seater sofa, a small armchair and a chair that you'd usually have on a patio. So if there are 6 guest all wanting to sit down, 2 people have to use dining chairs. There's no storage for clothes, not even a bedside table (or lamp) in one of the upstairs bedrooms. No mirrors in the shower room or upstairs bedrooms. So you have to use a very nice large mirror in the living area, personally I'd have preferred a small mirror upstairs to do my hair and makeup in. Lastly the mattresses were like bare springs covered with tissue paper, utterly awful sleep and this really ruined our break. Of the facilities on site we only used the swimming pool. It was nice and warm, but only has 2 changing rooms/ showers so a bit of a wait on a busy sunday morning. On the plus side the receptionist on our departure was far friendlier and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Navigator50958206947, Guest Relations Manager at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear louiset2511, Thank you for your honest feedback, We are sorry for the service you have received on site. As a repeat customer you will be aware that this is not to the high standard we strive to achieve. It is clear on this occasion we have dipped below our usual high standards we expect from ourselves. We will of course pass on your comments and feedback on to our senior management team on site. This will ensure similar issues do not occur again. We hope you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back for a much more memorable Aria Resorts break across any of our resorts. Kind Regards The Guest Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma Wilson wrote a review Sept 2020
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a premium cottage in August and for what we needed it for it was fine. We spent the majority of time out and about so for us it was just a base and somewhere to sleep but had we wanted to spend more time at the lodge then we would have wanted a better standard.
Good central location to get out and about across the IOW, near to Newport which we ventured to and found the cycling route to Sandown - a great off road track and flat so suitable for the family.
Level of cleaning in accommodation needs to be better, particularly considering we are in the middle of a pandemic. From day 1 if you walked on the floor without shoes your feet were pretty dirty, quite dusty all around, floors should have been completely cleaned and washed. Bed linen was stained which gives the impression cleaning is not high on agenda. Mattresses need to be changed, clearly they are trying to leave it as long as possible as we had 2 separate toppers on the mattress to our double bed to try and make it more comfortable. Staff friendly. Used the outdoor pool which in 18 degree weather was nicely heated, didn't use many other facilities so couldn't comment. Would be good to have something to lock bikes to around the accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jolene Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Hi ewils88 Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the central location of our resort to explore our beautiful island. Your feedback is very important to us and will be discussed with our senior management team to assist us in improving moving forward. We have just had brand new mattresses delivered for accommodation across the resort. If you do ever return to the Isle of Wight - we would love to welcome you back to The Lakes. Warm regards Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louie wrote a review Sept 2020
Dunstable, United Kingdom9 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the VIP Cottage 3 (with hot tub) for 4 nights Sep 2020, The check in times have changed since we booked - check in was 5 and check out was 9, To be fair they did call us at 4:30 to let us know we could check in as the lodge was ready, Staff and social distancing fine all checked in nicely and given a map to our lodge.

The lodge has decent allocated parking and the lodge itself its very nice, the hot tub was warm ready on arrival and the lodge was clean enough to use, moving onto the reason why it only got 2/5 was for the following reasons: In the main bedroom the mattress was awful these really need replacing straight away, clearly complaints have been made in the past as a cheap mattress topper has been put on the bed which has also past its best before date and one of the main reasons for going on holiday is to relax and get some good rest, in all honesty this is literally the worst mattress ive ever laid on and from someone whos slept on friends sofas and on floors this is probably the worst ive slept on ever, the 2 spare bedrooms single beds also - in desperation of trying to get some sleep found these just as bad. The TV in the front room is tiny (for a most expensive lodge) i would expect something better, I get i am not on holiday to watch TV but a little effort would be nice, no TVs in any of the bedrooms which i found odd? Also there is no mirrors in any of the bedrooms so you have to go to the bathroom not good if you want to use a hair dryer (which they didnt have), lastly but quite minor for me the property could really do with some TLC there is loads of cracks bangs and bits missing, doesnt bother me as much but just some TLC would be nice, These lodges seem to be aimed at the explorers of the island who dont spend much time in them, not a family who's come to relax away in peace and quiet for a week (which is us) which is why it got 2 stars from us (a very tired and sore family)

Just to add - not the lakes rookely fault but hoseasons as a company are awful to deal with customer service, I booked the ferry through them as you get a discount never got any paperwork just a text conformation of booking ref dates and times (no location of where to go etc etc), When i tried to speak to someone about it (and being on hold for just over an hour) Emily who works in customer service argued with me that i booked with wightlink direct and i need to contact them, however in fact i did book with hoseasons who in turn booked with wightlink so for anyone else with this problem (as i need a few people have had problems) please go straight to wightlink with your reference as hoseasons are painful on getting information from them and really i dont expect someone to argue with me over it from customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jolene Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Hi Richey88 Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear there was a few aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We have now had brand new mattresses delivered for across the resort. Unfortunately there was a delay in the delivery due to Covid, so I apologise these new mattresses were not here for your holiday, as I feel this could have changed your opinion hugely on your stay at The Lakes. We do value our customer feedback and will look into the other points you've mentioned. We will also feedback to Hoseasons your comments. We would love to welcome you back to The Lakes in the near future. Warm regards Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rogerc700 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sandown, United Kingdom53 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lakes Rookley offer good value.
The staff there are extremely helpful especially Jolene on reception who went the extra mile.
It is worth paying the extra for one of the Lake Houses which offer Dishwasher, Washing Machine,
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Navigator50958206947, Guest Relations Manager at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback, we will be sure to pass your comments on to Jolene. Our staff love hearing that our guests have had a great time. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind Regards The Guest Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ford wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a lovely last minute family break in the Isle of Wight!
We decided to book a last minute holiday, after lockdown and having a new baby in July, we waited till the last minute to book! We got a great deal for a weeks stay in the lakes rookley. We had never been to the Isle of Wight before and wanted somewhere that was family friendly and also that we knew would be safe with the current covid situation. Having 2 young children with one of them being 12 weeks old we wanted to be sure that the accommodation would be safe and clean!
Upon arrival we was impressed with the site and also the accommodation, we had picked a premium cottage 2, plenty of space for a family and located well with plenty of things to do on site, the indoor swimming pool was a must for us with having a 3 year old and having somewhere to go if it rained (luckily we had glorious weather). Currently you have to book the pool with families being allocated half hour slots to comply with covid social distancing.

However I have to say I was rather disappointed with the cleanliness of the cottage, with covid I expected cleanliness to be a lot more of a priority (this should always be the case anyway) but even more so now. The bathroom floor was dirty, there were cobwebs throughout the cottage and we found dog biscuits under the sofa, clearly this cottage hadn’t had a thorough clean. I had to mop the floor throughout myself to make sure it was clean for my children. Luckily I took plenty of antibacterial cleaning products with me! Some of the bed sheets were stained and even ripped! The table leg was being held together by cable ties (not ideal for safety when you have children) and the sofa was very stained!
Also utensils and kitchen items were very limited, 1 tea spoon in the cutlery draw, no scissors, 3 side plates (accommodation for 4 ppl) and very little of other things you may need when cooking very poor for a self catering accommodation! The external of the properties are not very well maintained, and it’s such a shame as these cottages are lovely and such a great place for a family. I felt the cleanliness really lets this place down and the attention to detail, it’s such a lovely set up and has the makings of a beautiful resort! We still had a great week and would definitely return to the Isle of Wight again, I definitely would of returned to this resort again if it hadn’t been for the cleanliness it really let the place down.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jolene Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Hi fordy46 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologise that you felt certain aspects of your stay let down your experience. We pride ourselves on our high standards here at The Lakes. If on the rare occasion we do not get it right we kindly ask that our reception team are made aware so we can pass the comments on to the relevant departments to have rectified immediately. Reviews like yours are so important to us as feedback really is the driving force behind our continuous improvements. I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments. I am pleased to read you had a lovely family break. We understand given the current situation that family getaways are even more special. I love that you enjoyed our swimming facilities and that the weather shone whilst you were here - giving you the chance to see our beautiful island in all its glory! We would love for you to give us another chance and would gladly welcome you back to The Lakes. Warm regards Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon Boekestyn wrote a review Aug 2020
Spalding, United Kingdom12 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this on good faith after careful research. We come to the Island several times a year and this was our first time at this resort and an Aria resort. Unfortunately it will be our last as it certainly didn’t live up to expectations. The cleanliness of the property fell short of our expectations at normal times, let alone during the pandemic of COVID 19 when you would expect cleaning procedures to be even more thorough than usual.
I have attached photos but on arrival we were met by the last occupiers dirty linen in a pile outside of the front door, (this was finally cleared after 24 hours of it being there)
We noticed that the upstairs shower didn’t look as clean as it should after a clean and actually still had soap scum and hair in the shower tray. We also found that the contents of the bathroom bin were still present. This included discarded contact lenses and other items such as tissues. I find this disgusting in normal times but even more so during this pandemic and the risks involved.
In the kitchen we found the plates to have been left dirty and needed running through the dishwasher before we could use anything and when we finally tried to make a cup of tea the milk provided was spoilt.
We had booked a bungalow with a hot tub but due to all the cleanliness issues we found in both the living areas we really didn’t feel comfortable in the knowledge that it probably wasn’t clean so therefore didn’t use during our stay.
The accommodation cleanliness aside was spacious but an unusual layout with the master suite downstairs and the children’s rooms upstairs. With two young children and no stair gate this didn’t work for us and therefore had to split up and take one child in each of the upstairs rooms in the small single beds.
I can’t comment on any facilities onsite as on arrival at check in we were told all swimming slots were already full.
Overall not a positive experience for us at an Aria resort at all, which is disappointing as we had been considering another of the groups resorts in Cornwall for next years holiday
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jolene Thompson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Hi SharonGentle Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry that the cleanliness of your accommodation fell below our usual high standards and that your overall stay on the resort was not very positive. We do not always get it right as exampled in your review, however as soon as a member of our team are made aware we will endeavour to get things rectified as soon as possible for you. We really do value your feedback and all comments raised will be taken on board. Warm regards Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarah s asked a question Jul 2023
Southampton, United Kingdom12 contributions53 helpful votes
Looking at booking may 2024 half term do they have entertainment in may half term?
Answer from Nadya
Birmingham, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Not sure as we entertained ourselves and our kids elsewhere on the island.
Answer from DC1
Petersfield, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
Property not clean after last guests yet key given to us. Had to come later and queue yet again for arrivals so able to check in but past 6pm Still had some bits from previous guests and damage to fence so dogs could escape despite dog friendly accomadation paid for Staff did not communicate well in rectifying matters so had to complain and given partial refund after two days We expected they would still get issues sorted but nothing done still by day of check out therefore gone direct to Away Resorts for resolution but not how we wanted to spend our holiday complaining
Sue J wrote a tip 17 Jun
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom167 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check position of accommodation "
Read full review
Vera B wrote a tip 16 Jun
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book an Island cottage, they are listed as luxury but are not! If going with children be aware that entertainment is not on in June! "
Read full review
dee wrote a tip 3 Jun
Par, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The place is full up with rats and is in the middle of no where"
Read full review
Kayleigh H wrote a tip May 2024
10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make reservations for restaurants and pool."
Read full review
Witchypoo69 wrote a tip May 2024
Thurrock, United Kingdom502 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"My grandson loved the pool can get crowded at times. Please note this is not a hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rookley area.
PRICE RANGE
£49 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rookley country park hotel rookley
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rookley Country Park
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightRookley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LAKES ROOKLEY HOLIDAY RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Nearby attractions include Monkey Haven - Primate Rescue Centre (3.7 miles), Random-Rooms (Escape Rooms) (3.4 miles), and JURASSIC JIM (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burr's Restaurant, Slug and Lettuce, and Cook & Baker.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Godshill Church (1.6 miles), Arreton Barns (2.2 miles), and Appuldurcombe House (3.1 miles).
Is The Lakes Rookley Holiday Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.