We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Horse and Jockey

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Horse and Jockey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely country pub with open fire and flagstone floor charm in abundance. Menu is varied and good value, I have eaten here many times and meals are freshly prepared and of excellent quality. Friendly and welcoming with excellent service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjsd2016
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night here.Nicely decorated. Room was warmish. Bathroom freezing in cold weather. Food is hit and miss. Not the warmest of atmosphere. Located in a convenient location. Refurbished nicely after it had succumbed to a major fire it sadly misses the historical character it once had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
TheHorseandJockey, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we have heaters in all of the bathrooms, we would really encourage our guests to raise any issues at the time so we can quickly fix them.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A normal Saturday for us out and eating locally, unfortunately this is starting to become a bit of a struggle. This has been led by a decline in some local favourites changing hands or just seeming to have given up. But very pleasantly satisfied with the Horse and Jockey well I say satisfied but we were surprised by the cuisine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We dropped in and had a great dinner, staff were courteous and the food excellent and prices reasonable. Clean spacious tables. Food came in a reasonable time given I ordered the steak. It wasn't too busy but on a Monday evening what do you expect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelvin F
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

On arrival at just before 10pm, I asked if I could have a cheese sandwich as I realised it was too late to get a meal, and was quickly told the kitchens were closed. After travelling all day, I didn't need to hear this. However, the waitress came out the kitchen, all smiles, yes I could have a cheese sandwich....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G P
TheHorseandJockey, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed about breakfast. We understood you had booked on a room only basis, if this is not the case please contact us directly. None of our mattresses are more than 2 years old and all have mattress toppers, so we're at a loss to understand why you did not find it comfortable, this is...

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Your typical English pub with a very low ceiling! But quite expensive. £9 for two glasses of white wine. However, the bar ladies are charming and we had an enjoyable stay in the pub, that afternoon. Will come again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StrontiumDogeh
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch here with my wife and parents and the food was probably the best Sunday roast I have had anywhere! Everything was cooked to perfection and just the right amount. Service was very good and at £11.95 was great value. Thank you! Would definitely recommend. Make sure you book!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonj796
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We have just had a lovely overnight stay at this pub. Room was lovely bright and airy with tea & coffee making facilities in the room. The shower did have one of those hot/freezing cold moments which can happen we know. The food is first class and their mushroom stroganoff was superb! Lovely freshly cooked breakfast which had high quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabulous17
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Grand place to stay when travelling.Good food, Free WiFi and central location.200 words are over the top when commenting on a venue which speaks for itself.What more can a person say without saying too much !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ton S
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

We have been to the Horse & Jockey twice now for food. Food was great - served quickly and staff all very polite. We have been for Sunday lunch & dinner on a Wednesday night and both were lovely. I'd say that it's definitely more of a foody pub than a drinkers pub. We'll definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie G

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford in the Vale
3.2 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
276 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 4 in Faringdon
123 reviews
3.5 mi away
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Old Crown Coaching Inn
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
144 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Eagle Tavern
The Eagle Tavern
#1 of 1 in Little Coxwell
105 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge
The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge
#1 of 1 in Buckland Marsh
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Horse and Jockey

Address: 25 Faringdon Road, Stanford in the Vale, Faringdon SN7 8NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon > Stanford in the Vale
Price Range: £59 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horse and Jockey 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Horse and Jockey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horse and Jockey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check whether you can have breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 272gp, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are only 3 rooms which are outside the pub, all very clean and cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles susan_hN3965AS, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“we thought it may be noisy whilst pub open but we were wrong it was quiet all the rooms were at the back in a small converted period building”
 of 5 bubbles 60Daisy47, 1 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Book earlt is the tip with the Horse & Jockey as they only have a very small number of rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles colin_gregory, 15 Dec 2012 | Read review
“Do try the amazing home-made icecreams.... the diet can start tomorrow!”
 of 5 bubbles cotswold017, 11 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay