We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Green Climbers Home

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thakhek
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Green Climbers Home
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of Green Climbers Home
 Click to rate
Leoben, Austria
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Christoph&Erich from Austria: We had a fantastic time here at Green Climbers home! The accomodation was great, the food delicious, everyone of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The climbing was amazing, super tufa climbing as well as the technical face climbing, everything within a 1-10 minutes walk. Good that we brought the long rope for the 40m monster...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christophka2017
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

First of all the climbing is great and the equipment they rent is in good condition. Overall the settlement is clean. We stayed in camp 2. The service is disapointing. Unfriendly, especially if you order close to closing time for the kitchen, 10h30 for breakfast and 21h for supper. The food is OK, portions are good, but not cheap, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jérémy L
Management response:

Dear Jérémy, I am really sorry to hear that you were so disappointed. We really try to say hello to all our guests and hear about their day and if there is anything they want to talk about. Yes we are kind of strict with our kitchen times, because our staff needs a break. Especially now in high season where...

Reviewed 8 February 2017

The climbing here is very unique in style with all the crazy tufas and stalactites, the rock quality is excellent, and I didn't see any bad bolts. Another nice thing, the rope anchors are really nice to grab, makes threading the rope much nicer. The food was good, and not expensive at all for Laos, that might be a vegetarian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
Management response:

Hi Donald, your comment brings up a lot of emotions. We are very sad to read that. Although you did point out that you want to come back as soon as possible. Here are some things that we want to put right: At the time you were here we were in high season, what means around and above 100 people....

Palma
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We spent 10 days at GCH and Just don't have enough good things to say about it ! First of all big shout out to the GCH Team for making our stay warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived ! You Guys Rock ! We stayed in a bungalow which had everything a climbing couple needs to rest and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank imsostrong
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

The long list of dos and donts took away from the experience. They don't even want you taking photos or having a copy of the map of climbing spots. It also felt like I was inconveniencing the staff by asking questions. Food is very expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Beijing, China
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The GCH is a unique place and is certainly one of the best climbing destinations in Asia. Few if any places can match the quality and amount of climbs with a very chill atmosphere and an almost ridiculously easy walk to the crags. The amount of work and care that has been put into GCH is amazing and guests feel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Howard B
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Perfect get away from crowded cities, heaps of awesome climbing all around! The staff is friendly, the food is pretty good and there are adorable cows and goats all around. Highly recommended if you're here to climb, I came alone and had no problem finding partners.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah H
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Is true thah dee vibe are weddy good here end zee jarmins are weddy nace end frenddy , bud mosst of all eef you lak too akswelly clime proper flippin hard woof clime ees weddy weddy good. Alodda shankers talky talky indah dining room abowd the sixes bud really iss good just to calame hard aschew possibly can indah woof...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank YuleftYikakiss
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We stayed in the dorm for 5 nights and then moved into a bungalow for the final 2 as our budget allowed. I think that both types of accommodation were expensive for what they were, as they were pretty basic, but on the plus side, they were both clean, spacious and came with fans and good mosquito nets. All the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Clolouise
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

The staff here are mostly really kind, helpful and friendly. The food is tasty, fresh and good value, the huts are comfortable and clean, the showers are temperamental but ok. The location is incredible with stunning views. We stayed two weeks and including gear rental, food, beer and accommodation it was something like £220 each. It would be cheaper if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank komal k

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thakhek
0.0 mi away
Daokham Guesthouse
Daokham Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Thakhek
3 reviews
8.3 mi away
Inthira Thakhek
Inthira Thakhek
#3 of 18 in Khammouane
212 reviews
8.4 mi away
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
Le Bouton D'or Boutique Hotel
#2 of 28 in Khammouane
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Green Climbers Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We slept in a tent which was perfect for us but the wooden bungalows looked even better - so reserve in advance!!!”
christophka2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are tents and bungalows - the bungalows were great, tents have mattresses.”
  • Climbing Class - view from above
livvyjeffs, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Tents are good value for money. ( + you have acces to the hot showers from the dorms)”
ClaudieBF, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“If you are a couple and want a bit of privacy, then book a bungalow, but if you want to get to know people then go for the Longhouse Dorm, I spent 4 nights in the company of Spanish, Canadians, Argentinians, Americans, it was fantastic, but then that is one of the main ideas of Backpacking.”
smithr668, 19 Mar 2014 | Read review
“The bungalows were good - nothing really to choose. there is a dorm for those traveling solo and camping as well. Look on the web site for photos”
JonZBentley, 10 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5