We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Black Horse Inn

35 High Street, Swaffham Bulbeck CB25 0HP, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • The Black Horse Inn
    0.0 mi
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed 1 week ago
Nice Pub Accommodation
A good warm welcome on arrival; rooms are around the... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Clanfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A good warm welcome on arrival; rooms are around the courtyard/car park at the rear of the pub. Comfortable and with all the necessary functions - perhaps a little utilitarian - but a good nights sleep nevertheless. Good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
cleveland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Greeted by friendly barmaid and owner as soon as we walked in, felt genuinely welcomed. The room was quite tiny but covered all needs, very comfy and clean. Meals are pub meals but plentiful and delicious. We stayed for 3nights and will readily return. The shower cubicle in our room -Downing Room- was very tiny but the shower was great,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jan k
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We were very impressed with this place, fantastic service and a very warm welcome. Food was excellent and the rooms were very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. We could not fault it at all and very reasonably priced. Would highly recommend .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summar1164
Gwynedd
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We were delighted with the welcome that we received, and the cleanliness of our rooms. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel and I had the best burger that i'd ever eaten in my life. Serving staff were friendly and efficient,infact they were second to none! Breakfast was superb too, really delicious, cant wait to return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A G
Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed here, the bed was so soft it was ridiculous the roll together was terrible, I ended up sleeping on the floor as it was more comfortable, there was no life in the pillows. We went to breakfast, no cereal, ordered a breakfast but most was inedible, as we left we spoke the owner and was informed that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APAJOA
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Went for lunch on a Saturday. Great looking pub, clean, tidy, and it looked like somewhere you'd love to have as your local. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Menu is very good, and the food was great. The bar had a good range of beers and ales. Will most definitely be going again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0hnhulme
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms, good shower, good ale, good meal, good breakfast what's not to like. Stayed with wife and daughter 21st July for one night and hopefully will return one day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Visited Saturday 16/07/17 the Barman was very nice and the place was clean and looked inviting. The menu i thought a little strange and quite basic but we choose and looked forward to the meal unfortunately they didn't have my first choice so i choose again and after five minutes i was told they didn't have that either. Rather poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
james A, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Phillip, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Feedback is important to the business to assess where we do things right and well, then, where we perhaps dont. The issues you have raised in your review are being looked into, certainly the comment made about getting drinks from the bar, as we do offer full table...

Paris, France
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We spent 2 nights here as we were visiting nearby Cambridge. The room, which was part of the old stables, was large and clean. The food in the pub was excellent, and all the staff charming and helpfull. A very pleasant stay indeed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm J
james A, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you again!

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

I have had three fabulous meals at the Black Horse this week. A very good menu all beautifully cooked and served by very friendly staff. My personal recommendation is for the vegetable lasagna and also the nut roast which I thoroughly enjoyed even though I am not vegetarian. The desserts are fabulous too. I recommend the apple crumble with cinnamon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham Bulbeck
3.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
6.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,558 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
7.8 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,076 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the idyllic village of Swaffham Bulbeck overlooking the village green. The Black Horse Inn offers a warm and friendly welcome. Locally sourced food served daily and a great selection of Wines and drinks available at the bar including locally brewed ales. The accommodation comprises of 7 converted stables in a courtyard setting, all rooms are en suite with complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: 35 High Street, Swaffham Bulbeck CB25 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Swaffham Bulbeck
Price Range: £69 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Inn Swaffham Bulbeck, Cambridgeshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go is the only way to get a good room”
 of 5 bubbles APAJOA, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Queens is a double and single, Kings a double and all quiet not by the road that is busy in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Penniandpaul, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try to get an end room so you do not have to hear the television, talking from both sides”
 of 5 bubbles daveypam, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are the same, depends how far you want to stagger home from the bar!”
 of 5 bubbles jonezee371, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“All on 1 level so good access. Nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles missdizzyuk, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5