We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fraoch Lodge

Save
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Ratings and reviews
GreenLeaders Gold level
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good27%
  • Average3%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“porridge”(16 reviews)
“other guests”(12 reviews)
“light breakfast”(4 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Free Wifi
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness centre
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair access
4 Star Hotel
We invite guests in to our home, Fraoch Lodge, to use as if it were their own. You can sit in our lounge in front of the open fire, join us for meals (or cook your own); share stories of your adventures or play board games. We have chosen not to put a TV into the Lodge, but instead...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Fraoch Lodge Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Hotel website
22.9 miles to Inverness Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
84
35
5
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
84
35
5
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgeother guestslight breakfastopen firewalking holidaycooked breakfasta great place to staypacked lunchdrying roomshared dininghomemade jamswelcoming hostsmeal timesroom was clean and comfortableperfect baseunderfloor heatingscottish highlands
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 135 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

ATMOSPHERE Only Andy took notice of us. Unfortunately, this was not the case for Rebecca. It seemed to us that she was not really interested in her guests. This was very irritating and did not change during our 2-days stay. Not to mention that the...More

Thank Konstanze2018
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked into Fraoch Lodge at short notice when organising a walking trip in the Scottish Highlands. I stayed in a twin room as a solo traveler, with shared bathroom and toilet. The room was clean and comfortable with clean bedding and towels provided. Fraoch...More

Thank Graham C
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Lodge so much. We hope that you will consider returning to the Lodge if you are back in the area. If not, do tell your friends.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not the best place to stay at. We arrived like supper time and had already exchanged emails stating when our daughter beded as check in is 5pm but traffic was bad anyways. Couldnt even have something to eat that night as we were expected to...More

Thank Shannan G
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry to hear that you were not comfortable during your stay at Fraoch Lodge. If you had only mentioned some of the issues you experienced at the time we could easily have resolved them. Our boiler is a biomass boiler with an...More

Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Loved our stay here. It's a great place to stay and Andy and Rebecca are very welcoming hosts who have obviously put their heart and soul into running the place. It's far superior to youth hostel kind of accommodation. Yes , you're asked to take...More

Thank AlexaGreen16
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch LodgeResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you were happy and would love it if you keep us in mind for future visits to the area as we're sure there is plenty more for you to do here.

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic place! I would highly recommend Fraoch Lodge to anyone, Rebecca & Andy are very friendly and welcoming, Gregor is hilarious and more than happy to beat you at chess, we enjoyed a very present few days walking in the Cairngorms, Andy is...More

Thank Paul M
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch LodgeResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you. We do hope you're able to find time to return to the Cairngorms before too much longer.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$58 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Family Rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$58 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Family Rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kazzle000
12 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Rebecca F | Property representative |
I'm afraid that we don't have space for dogs within the main buildings. We have had guests bring dogs in the past, but only when they are happy for the dogs to stay in the car or to have a bed in one of our garden sheds or... More
0
Votes
JayJay701
4 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Rebecca F | Property representative |
Hi JayJay, Thanks for the query. We do have 2 rooms with private bathrooms. These are a wee bit more expensive and we hope to have one more private bathroom facility provided by January 2016. If you book 2 standard rooms... More
0
Votes
JayJay701
4 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steve F | Reviewed this property |
The bathrooms are shared, but there are several. Depending on where your rooms are, you may not be sharing with anyone else. I've stayed 3 times and have never had to queue for the bathroom.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"En-suite bathroom has limited headspace to sink if you're tall."
Read review
"Ensuite twin room in the annex is nice."
Read review
"ask for an ensuite"
Read review
"the ground floor one behind the dining room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing