We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macclesfield Road Eaton, Congleton CW12 2NH England
E-mail hotel
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (169)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#2 of 12 in Congleton
Travellers' Choice
The Plough Inn is a beautiful Grade II listed Coaching Inn with traditional Oak Beamed Wedding Barn and 17 en-suite bedrooms.You will always be afforded a warm welcome at the Plough Inn where you can choose from our selection of Cask Ales sourced from local micro-breweries and our Best of British Menu which showcases some of the very best cuisine from around the British Isles
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
521Reviews1Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 316
  • 119
  • 51
  • 19
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LauraDaveJames wrote a review 14 May
Solihull, United Kingdom3487 contributions690 helpful votes
This pub/restaurant is in a pleasant rural location just outside Congleton. It is an attractive old building inside and out. We visited for lunch while travelling north on a Saturday. The staff were friendly and professional however the food was not great. We may have been unlucky as there was a wedding reception taking place at the same time possibly stressing the kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Dave and Caroline Howitt wrote a review 7 May
1 contribution
I cannot recommend The Plough Inn enough. We got married there yesterday and everything went like clockwork and we didn't have to worry about a thing. The staff were attentive and seemed to know exactly what we wanted when we wanted it. The food was excellent and all the family were raving about the rooms also.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Sleep Quality
Nicky H wrote a review 6 May
12 contributions1 helpful vote
We wished we'd booked a longer stay. Staff welcoming, room and facilities good and lots of places around to visit. Restaurant had a good selection of food and very accommodating towards food allergies. Nothing was too much, would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Mick P wrote a review Apr 2022
Catterick, United Kingdom211 contributions176 helpful votes
We travel down from North Yorkshire to visit family in Congleton. We have eaten here a few times. We like the atmosphere, the Staff are always very friendly. Food is always well cooked and very tasty. Reasonably priced. We have tried a few places around the area but we prefer the food here. Will no doubt be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
PeterBA wrote a review Apr 2022
Congleton, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked on a whim after some really shoddy service at The Edgerton Arms, Astbury. They did us a favour, really. It was no problem for them to fit us in, in the newly opened Orangery, it has views over the side garden, very light with plenty of room between tables, you do not feel crammed in. We were taken to our table with menus for the adults and a child’s menu that had a picture to colour on the back with the small box of crayons provided. Someone came immediately to take our drinks order, that was delivered very quickly. The place was busy, but they had enough staff to cope. The attentiveness of the staff was excellent, not at all pushy, they made time to talk to you. They took our nibbles order, that came quickly, then took our main course orders. The menu is a very good mix of traditional with some real showstoppers and a good choice of well thought out options for vegetarians. We had a Plough Steak Burger, chick pea jurk burger, a Beetroot Wellington and kids spaghetti bolognaise, all well cooked and served in good time. The drinks were good, too. A good selection of local real ales. An overall excellent decision to try the Plough at Eaton. We will be back and will recommend to all our friends, thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: I would recommend booking in advance
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Freedom314825 wrote a review Apr 2022
19 contributions8 helpful votes
What a find. I had probably the BEST stake & ale pie i ever had. My wife had medallions of pork which were excellent. Everyone was so friendly and efficient. Breakfast next day was also excellent. So all in all i could not fault the place! We will return!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Crispydoo wrote a review Apr 2022
Witham, United Kingdom32 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed here over Sunday night when there was a wedding on. There was loud music until midnight which made sleeping impossible. Check with the venue before booking. The following night (no wedding) was fine and the breakfast, cleanliness and staff are great, such a shame about the noise.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Suzanne B wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
We had our wedding and honestly couldn't have asked for a better day. The Plough Inn had been great from the day we booked the venue right through to the actual day. So attentive. Amazing food for our wedding breakfast, accomodated our dietry requirements(coeliac and dairy intolerant). We was talked through everything that was to happen on the day. The day went so smoothly, with everyone commenting how amazing the day/night was 😁. We arrived the day previous and felt welcomed immediately, staff knowing who we were. Couldn't recommend them enough, even our photographer was overwhelmed with the venue, she was in her element. And we hot to have our dog with us the entire day
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
AC wrote a review Mar 2022
Congleton6 contributions4 helpful votes
We go for a drink here and like to sit outside, the only problem is when there is a wedding you are told that you can only sit outside near the door where there is about 5 tables. I dont mind sitting here but when there is a wedding on they should stop the guests sitting at these tables, when they have their own area to sit in, we cant use their area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Plough Inn
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear AngelaM3914 Thank you for taking your time to review The Plough Inn at Eaton. I apologize we didn't have our main beer garden to provide more seating however we extensive building works being carried out we felt it would be safer for our guests not to use that area for a few weeks. I have spoken to our wedding team to try and encourage wedding guests round into there garden in the future. We will return to having full use of our beer garden in the coming weeks. I hope you do revisit us soon
Read more
Sue H wrote a review Feb 2022
Wilmslow, United Kingdom36 contributions36 helpful votes
What an amazing occasion, venue, staff and event. OK it was my sons wedding so very special but it was made by the slick organisation of the Plough wedding team, the chefs and attention to detail. There was no stress just pure relaxation and success. Well worth checking it out. You won’t be disappointed. Just perfect. Thank you The Plough Team.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Plough Inn
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear Sue H Thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn at Eaton. I am glad you found the day so smooth and relaxed we have a brilliant team of coordinators who enable every wedding day to be so special. I have passed all your kind comments onto the staff We look forward to welcoming you back too
Read more
US$99 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the plough hotel congleton
United KingdomEnglandCheshireCongleton
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Plough Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Plough Inn?
Nearby attractions include Little Moreton Hall (4.8 miles), Cloudside Shooting Ground (3.0 miles), and Biddulph Grange Garden (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Plough Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Plough Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Plough Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Plough Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Povey's Oatcakes, DV8 Bar Congleton, and Stock at the Pavillion.
Does The Plough Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Plough Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Little Moreton Hall (4.8 miles), Gawsworth Hall (3.0 miles), and Capesthorne Hall (4.8 miles).
Is The Plough Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.