We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wessex Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Street
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Wessex Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Street, offering a quiet environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Rooms at The Wessex Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. Room service is one of the conveniences offered at this hotel. Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Wessex Hotel, free parking is available. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Street's popular fish and chips restaurants such as Frankie and Bennys, The Lantokay, and West End Fish Bar, all a short distance from Wessex Hotel. If you’re looking for something to do, Hecks Farmhouse Cider (0.6 mi) is a nice way to spend some time, and it is within walking distance of Wessex Hotel. Enjoy your stay in Street!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
490Reviews17Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 103
  • 177
  • 109
  • 55
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
WRIGHTFLYER wrote a review Mar 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom45 contributions50 helpful votes
I find that I feel at home in this Hotel, the staff are so engaging you feel like an individual not just another guest.The Manager who checked us in served our breakfast on Sunday it was clear there is a more of a family/team structure than most hotels. Our room was perfectly clean and maintained and good value, the underfloor heating in the bathroom and toilet was a winner with my wife. Being on an organised break you cannot expect an a la carte menu, but the food we had was well cooked and presented the portions we found more than adequate.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: On a dance break if you need a shoe repair turn left at LLoyds bank, 50yds he is brilliant.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us, Im pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at The Wessex. It was a pleasure to have you here with us. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our team. We hope to see you soon! Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melanie B wrote a review Feb 2024
5 contributions
Such a lovely area to visit staff are so helpful nothing is to much trouble for any of them all so friendly and welcoming we were made to feel so special we will definitely be returning and are really looking forward to our next visit here already looking at coming back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us, Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff here at The Wessex. Im so glad you got the warm welcome every guest deserves. Im glad you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robin S wrote a review Jan 2024
Crewe, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
Great hotel - very friendly staff Bed Very comfortable! Breakfast was excellent Parking easy and plenty ! Great value hotel Central location for shopping and food Bar and restaurant were closed but wasn’t a problem (breakfast cooked to perfection) Would definitely use again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay wiht us, Im so pleased to read that you had a comfortable time with us. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our kitchen team regarding the breakfast. We really hope to welcome you back again in the near future, Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wiseolly wrote a review Jan 2024
Llandudno, United Kingdom286 contributions185 helpful votes
Where were these people staying? Staff working very hard. Christmas meal half undercooked, and half overcooked. Entertainers worked hard but very dated. Music from the Youth Club I never wanted, or expected to hear again. Oldsters expected to be old !!! Did anyone check their pillows. We asked for new ones, at reception, but the 'manager' hadn't, or didn't 'want', to hear about pillow case liners as said he didn't know about them being necessary and it would cost him a fortune. From friends who rent self catering, plus 4 in a bed, and The hotel inspector, understand that pillow and mattress covers a necessity. Christmas coach trip of oldsters and bedrooms, and bathrooms, totally NOT set up for their convenience or safety. Overhead bath shower impossible as bracket broken and couldn't regulate water, either boiling or cold. Slippery bathroom floor and no bathmat, only tatty hand towel. Don't start me on towels... terrible and small. Beds....didn't investigate after checking pillows because would have walked out. I had 2 blood spots on duvet cover, didn't put anywhere near face. Blankets left on top of dusty wardrobe, not in sealed cover. Bedding 'has' been white. Water inside the 'patio' door style windows and flapping electric cable crossing window and banging on window ledge. We have stayed in 6 hotel rooms, including self catering, this year and no comparison to these bad conditions. I was warned about this hotel and shouldn't have booked. Tour company doesn't want to know and neither does hotel. Room 210. Something has to be done. The staff are lovely and trying to cope. Too much food, especially meats, if you want to save money. Pitiful to see carried away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't use this hotel until they have better standards. Beds and bathrooms and bedding, towels,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Im saddened to read you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Firslty your comments regarding the entertainment supplied. We offered a live singer, 2 different djs, bingo, quiz and a man playing a baby grand piano. We try to cover all basis on entertainment on our christmas break and its a shame you didnt seem to enjoy the selection on offer. Our hotel is designed for every age group and we do our upmost to cater for everyones needs in our bedrooms. If you had requested to have a more accessible room with a walk in shower than that need would have been met. All our bathrooms come with a rubber slip mat in our baths and a bath floor mat for when leaving the bath. We have a selection of towels on offer and if you wished to have a larger bath sheet than this would have been supplied. Any maintenance issues would have been resolved if we were notified of them. All our bed linen is laundered externally and we are supplied fresh linen on a weekly basis. I can only apologise if our housekeeping team overlooked any stain on the linen when making the bedroom for you. If this was brought to our attetion our housekeeping team would have happily changed this for you. All our rooms have mattress protectors and pillow protectors. For any reason that your room was missed of pillow protectors. I further apologise. Im glad you found the staff to be lovely. Christmas is a busy time in hospitality and we work hard to ensure our guests are having an enjoyable time. Thank you again for raising your thoughts. We do hope you have a lovely 2024. Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ElaineG32 wrote a review Dec 2023
Swansea, United Kingdom835 contributions414 helpful votes
We were with a coach trip from S Wales. On the Sunday we visited the Clark’s Village and on the Monday we went to The Festival of Light in Longleat. The trip itself was only spoilt by this shockingly awful hotel. The bedrooms were actually not too bad except for our room, a non smoking room, smelt of cigarette smoke. The food was just awful. In the evening I had the vegetable soup. I took one spoonful of it and put the spoon down and left it. It tasted like all the left over veg from a previous meal had been blended together and heated up. Just awful. My main course was the chicken - like rubber ! With watery gravy. I ate some of tte carrots and cubed potatoes. Breakfast was the smallest cooked breakfast I had ever seen. One fried egg, one rasher of bacon, one cheap, small sausage, 1/2 a small tomato and a dessert spoonful of cheap baked beans. During the evening I’d twice had to ask to exchange my glass for a clean one for my drink. Where we were sitting there was a thin layer of dust across the table. As for the staff. I don’t know as not one of them spoke to me or my family!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review fo your recent stay with us, Im saddened to read some of your comments from your time at The Wessex. I find it very suprising as our friendly team are on hand to assist with any issues you may have. If you had brought to our attention that you werent enjoying your meal an alternative option would have been offered. There is a selection of choices on the menu that you selected from. All our food is supplied by local butchers and suppliers. If you wished to have any addtional items on your breakfast this also would have been supplied. You can have as many Heinz baked beans as you wish. A buffet of cereals, toast, fruit, jams and juices are also on offer from our Buffet. Communication to our staff may have solved some of the problems you were faced with as we are always happy to help our guests. We do hope you enjoyed Longleat, Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geraldine wrote a review Dec 2023
Swansea, United Kingdom8 contributions
Stayed 2 nights here as part of a trip with Majestic Coaches. The hotel does need a bit of updating in some areas but our room had new windows and a new carpet so this is probably in progress. Very clean, comfortable bed, TV in the room as well as tea & coffee tray. Shower was rather weak. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant especially with regard to my dietary requirements. As a coeliac, I had asked for gluten free options and there was no problem with that. All the sauces at dinner were gluten free so the only thing off limits for me was the pasta. Plenty of choice at breakfast. We rather liked this hotel and would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review The Wessex, Im glad you had an enjoyable time with us and i hope you enjoyed your trip to Longleat! Im so glad staff were able to assist you with your dietary needs. Im pleased that you found the rooms to be clean and cofrtable for your time with us. Carpets and Windows have been replaced in some bedrooms. And further plans are in progress for 2024. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future, Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mandbt wrote a review Dec 2023
Market Drayton, United Kingdom27 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a larger group on a dance weekend. We've stayed here before so knew we would have a great time. The check-in procedure was quick and efficient and included an explanation about how the car park log in worked (free parking though). Also dietary requirements were discussed and these were sorted out there and then which we thought was great and very considerate. Our room was on the first floor; it's a great size with plenty of storage and a good size wardrobe too which makes such a difference (especially in winter weather where you need more room for coats etc). Due to the weather that weekend, the room was a bit on the cold side, but the staff were more than willing to get extra room heaters where needed. The staff at the hotel are amazing; they go above and beyond to make sure the guests are happy and comfortable. Credit too to the chef and the restaurant generally as the food was great, piping hot, tasty and served efficiently too. Thank you to all concerned. We'll definitely be staying here again; in fact we've already got our next 2 visits booked. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Its a pleasure to read a full circle review of your stay with us. Im glad staff were able to assist if you found the room to be a bit colder than you would have liked. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food you enjoyed. I will be sure to pass those comments onto our kitchen team! Im so pleased to read that we will be seeing you again on another 2 dancing holidays! We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janet wrote a review Nov 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Having read previous reviews I was very unsure what to expect. However hotel is very nice and our food was really good. Our Christmas dinner was enjoyed by all. What let the hotel down was the room. The metal windows let so much cold air and the radiator was ineffective below them and behind the curtains. Our other issue was the shower over the bath, it was almost impossible to control the temperature. Such a shame about the negatives because on the whole we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately we cant always please everyone and reviews dont always reflect the true nature of a business. But everyone is entitled to there opinion. Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the food enjoyable. We have started to upgrade our exterior bedroom windows. It is a work in progress and we hope to have it completed in 2024. If any room issues are raised to our maintenance team they will do there upmost to fix any issues you may have. We do hope to welcome you back to The Wessex in the near future. Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DTL965 wrote a review Nov 2023
Sheringham, United Kingdom32 contributions10 helpful votes
We had a 5 day break as part if a coach party. Staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble, so friendly and helpful. I had a particular dietary need snd they were brilliant in being so flexible with my meals. We had a twin room - loads of space, crisp cotton sheets. It us a little tired and worn, but clean and comfy. Breakfast was the only little let down - due to limited choices. But excellent value for money and lovely comfy stay. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us, Its wonderful to read that our team helped you confidently with your dietary need. They are always happy to help. Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff here at The Wessex. Im glad you found the rooms to be comfy and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future! Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tdsjp wrote a review Nov 2023
Bromyard, United Kingdom568 contributions200 helpful votes
Hotel has had some refurbishment. Our room was smart, clean and had good space. Tea, coffee making etc. The hotel restaurant was well laid out. Evening meals were good quality as was breakfast. Staff were smart. The ballroom has a lovely floor and there was space for all to sit. Even though our room faced the main street. It was quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wessex AM, Guest Services / Front Office at Wessex Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us, Im happy to see that you had an ejoyable time with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our food, bedrooms and staff. Its a pleasure to read. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another dancing holiday! Kind regards The Wessex Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Street area.
PRICE RANGE
£86 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wessex hotel glastonbury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetStreet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WESSEX HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison (Street)

Frequently Asked Questions about Wessex Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Wessex Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Clarks Village (0.2 miles), Greenbank Heated Outdoor Swimming Pool (0.2 miles), and The Strode Theatre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Wessex Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Wessex Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Wessex Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wessex Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tamburino, Prezzo, and The Cornish Bakery.
Is Wessex Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Street.
Are pets allowed at Wessex Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Wessex Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Wessex Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chalice Well (1.6 miles), Glastonbury Abbey (1.5 miles), and Somerset Rural Life Museum (1.5 miles).
Is Wessex Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.